Bless the Harts (TV Series 2019– ) Poster

(2019– )

User Reviews

Review this title
89 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
I do not understand the negative reviews
ennisennis30 September 2019
I am only reviewing this show to provide additional perspectives because most of the reviews here rated this show pretty harshly.

This show is probably a 7 or 8. However, a 3 point whatever rating is insanely low for a show with a pretty good start. It's funny, but so far it's not laugh out loud funny. It is entertaining for sure, and I am looking forward to the next episode.

I imagine that this show will build develop these characters as it already shows great potential for being funny and heartfelt. The voice work is outstanding. I could listen to Kristen Wiig and Maya Rudolph argue about Crystal Light all day!

If you grew up broke, there might be a lot of aspects of this show that are familiar to you. I liked that it was relatable in a lot of ways.

UPDATE: I've now seen 8 episodes and I can't get enough of this show! The voice work continues to put a smile on my face, but the biggest attraction for me is the family's love for each other.

I liked Wayne from the start (he's possibly my favorite character along with Louise), but watching the story of how this family supports each other through it all has made me rewatch these episodes more times than I can count.

This show gets funnier and funnier (especially anything involving Maya Rudolph's character Betty), and it is almost painfully relatable. The stories of utilities getting cut off (last time our water got disconnected when I was growing up was just days before Thanksgiving and we couldn't pay all of those fees for a while), and I know all too well the process of putting $2 on one card, and $3 on another.

I adore this family, love how much the show makes me laugh, and I'm super impressed by its rewatchability (is that even a word? Well, it is today!)
52 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Hilarious!
kooo-0732717 November 2019
So funny, my kind of jokes! They are crazy but not toooo crazy, poor and cheesy sometimes, but with the best quality of hears. Love this show.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Super funny show!
burnthis30 September 2019
It IS very KOTH, and very funny! People are complaining that the show is "stereotypical", yes, because that is the show! It's making fun of stereotypes like this other little FOX show called The Simpson's!
36 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
I read a review...
Mr_Sophistication_Uk30 September 2019
...Which said 'Bless The Harts' was like 'King Of The Hill' with all of the heart and charm taken out of it.

This is a very accurate critique, but what the reviewer forgot to mention is a few other minor elements: like good jokes, two-dimensional characters, decent animation...

Who are the hugely original protagonists here? A sassy waitress. Her sassier mother. The waitress's 'misunderstood' artist daughter (who has a beanie and blue hair, of course).

...Oh, and the muscular dumbass boyfriend. Because these days, it's impossible to write a male character with biceps AND a brain. It's either one or the other, kiddo.

These uninteresting, unpleasant individuals inhabit a fictional North Carolina suburb rank with Southern stereotypes (I'm British, and even I can tell you this) that some may call 'quirky' but I prefer to refer to as 'childishly juvenile'.

There's even a Jesus figure that comes to life in the waitress's place of work from a wall montage. You might think this could be a source of good comedy at least, but no.

He says and does nothing funny whatsoever in the mercifully brief time he's onscreen, a trait at least he shares with the rest of the show's ingratiating cast.

All the reviews for 'Bless The Harts' online seem to focus less on whether it's any good or not, but the fact that it's the first female-led animated show for FOX.

Woo! You go Emily Spiveyl! Stick it to the patriarchy! Next time though, perhaps you could try creating something with, I dunno, a bit of quality?

To wrap things up then, let me just say I highly doubt that this stale bunkum will last more than a season.

At least I HOPE it doesn't, for the sake of good programming everywhere. If my initial suspicions are proven correct, there may be hope for us yet. Pray with me, everyone.
47 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Thought something was King of the Hillesque about it
geurtsdustin30 September 2019
Thought it was pretty funny. Something about it reminded me of Mike Judge writing. Then read it was confirmed to be loosely set in the KOTH universe. I hope it makes it just to see the mom and daughter run into Peggy one day. On its own though, it's funny enough to check out the next 3 episodes.
40 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Where are the jokes?
mark_cortese30 September 2019
I was hopeful for this show and usually the first episode uses up all of their best jokes. This had none so I'll move on to something else.
31 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
GUILTY PLEASURE! 9.5 / 10 Great cartoon with not great animation.
karlmurfitt-6048130 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I just watched it and I loved it. I respect your opinion if you dislike or hate it or like it and hate it. It is basically King of the Hill in the southeastern state of North Carolina and sharing the same universe of King of the Hill: Love the show. 9.5 I am neutral over the animation. 5.0 Jokes 9.0 Violet Hart=Bobby Hill Jenny Hart=Peggy Platter Hill Betty Hart=Luanne platter Wayne Edwards= Hank Hill. Don't dislike the series based on the first episode. It might be like South park or King of thr Hill.
31 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Why is this show rated 3? Clearly you shouldn't judge by one episode
bugssponge30 September 2019
This deserves higher than 3. It's relatable realistic and lightly entertaining. I can't wait to see more.
52 out of 99 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
First season, lots of potential
sherae-8268514 October 2019
I'm so here for the halfway decent NC accents (I'm born and raised) and letting them work out the kinks. I laugh at least twice an episode, when compared to Simpsons is a lot. Love Kumail/Pakistani as Jesus.

Great cast. And way better than simpsons while I wait for bobs burgers to come on.
18 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Nearly unwatchable
mrnerdymcgee2 October 2019
Despite my adoration for Kristen Wiig and Maya Rudolph, I have to agree with the majority of the other reviewers in hoping for the swift cancellation of this abomination. What is supposed to pass for humor seems to be based solely on tired stereotypes and unidimensional caricatures of southerners. Possibly more egregious than the terrible writing is the insufferable voice acting. Why does everyone in this town, even everyone within the same family, speak with a strikingly different accent from everyone else? The whole show is simply a frustrating waste of time with nothing interesting or original to say.
42 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love the heartfelt humor
ainadumlao30 September 2019
Had the chance to watch an advance screening of a handful of episodes. Love the balance of quirky humor and heartfelt (sometimes tearjerky) moments of this show. I don't quite get the vitriol-loaded reviews I've read so far. Not sure what I'm missing here....
34 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Ummm??
titanslife_630 September 2019
What exactly was it trying to be? Just alot of stereotypical lingo but not in a good way, it was brutal and cringing to not only watch but to listen to as well
40 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Another cartoon I like that most people hate
BoxwoodExpress30 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
At least this has a high RT score of 80%, but the rating on this site is far too low in my eyes. Once you get pass the visuals, the show is a fun treat.

I understand that the character designs are ugly, but you should never judge a book by its cover. You can still tell a good story with mediocre visuals. For example, Bojack Horseman has ugly animation, and yet it's one of the best cartoons of the 2010s, and one of the most acclaimed and successful at that. Even ignoring the designs, the animation itself is pretty fluid.

Speaking of the character designs, let's talk about the characters themselves. They're stereotypical, but they have a lot of charm to them (much like the characters in "The Loud House"). Wayne is probably one of the best ones - he knows he can't live up to his girlfriend's former husband, and yet still tries his best to be a good father figure to Violet. Everyone can have a character to relate to.

The voice acting is spectacular and provides a lot of energy to the show, especially Maya Rudolph as Betty. The plot in the pilot episode that aired on September 29, 2019 wasn't the strongest, but it wasn't anything too terrible. It was heartwarming though, and had some pretty funny gags.

The most infamous part of the show though, aside from the character designs, has to be its depictions of many things, such as the south and Jesus. Jesus Christ is shown to like drinking beer, but come on reviewers, Christianity has been lampooned in adult cartoons forever, this isn't anything new. Also, Jesus is shown to give good advice to Jenny, so he also has some positive traits. Speaking as someone who lives in the south (North Carolina to be exact, which is the most 'Northern' of the southern states and is where the show takes place), I'm not offended at all. The same people who get overly offended by the show's depiction of the south are the exact same people who complain that 'lEfTiStS gEt oFfEnDeD bY eVeRyThInG'. Everyone gets offended by something, stop acting like you have a tough skin when you don't, review section.

Bless The Harts is looking to be a fun, heartwarming sitcom and, if FOX gives it a chance, the next big hit since The Simpsons, Family Guy, and Bob's Burgers. Please support the show. We need it to be a hit like those 3 shows I mentioned, and for it to still be around by February 2020.
19 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Please feed this family lots of cholesterol.
Nominalis25 November 2019
A well written comedy, whether live action or animation, can get a laugh with very few lines or a simple sight gag. But the characters in Bless the Harts recite line after line after line in monologues that go absolutely nowhere, they're just descriptions of aspects of everyday life that I suppose the audience is supposed to relate to. But the monologues don't lead to any laughter, they just give the other characters reason to say, "Oh Mom!" or some other banality.

One would think that the writers sit around talking about everything that bugs them and suddenly the day is coming to an end so they scribble down their various pet peeves and call it a day. Some people do thinks it's funny to pick apart the world and have a "life's like that" irony fix but that has nothing to do with comedy and neither does Bless the Harts.

Its curious that my main problem with King of the Hill was that Peggy Hills character was far too real and although hysterical she'd bring back cringeworthy memories of my younger years. But nobody in Bless the Harts seems at all genuine to me, they seem like composite characters created solely so that the audience can look down upon them and go "Ha Ha!" in our best Nelson impression.

I only give Bless the Harts 2 stars because I have seen worse.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just stupid
eswenk-9857030 September 2019
No substance. Typical Kristin Wiig character. Not offensive enough to be funny, not smart enough to be offensive, not funny period. Basically room temperature water covered in a film of dust for sitting out too long
37 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Who greelit this?!?!?
lusciousmuffins30 September 2019
This is one of those shows that makes you wonder who listened to the pitch and didn't tell whomever was trying to sell it to leave and never return. It also makes you wish IMDB had an option for no stars on its ratings.

So what's so wrong with? First, it is not even remotely entertaining. It's neither funny, nor clever, nor engaging in any way beyond evoking disgust. Basically, it's a King of the Hill rip off devoid of the heart and likable characters that particular show had. Believe it or not, the animation is also less sophisticated, which was kind of hard to wrap my head around. I mean, after all the amazing technological developments in animation since King of the Hill went off the air, how did they manage to create something that looks worse than a show made what... over a decade ago?

This show's second and most fatal flaw is that it is grotesquely offensive. It offers nothing beyond Southern White trash stereotypes that are just repeated over and over and OVER AGAIN! It's not clever or subtle; it's merely an excuse for the show's creators to hammer home their belief that White people in the South are dumb and poor and deluded and weird and have bad taste and did they mention White people in the South really, really dumb?

They also slipped in an effeminate, presumably gay, Jesus Christ who hangs out drinking beer with the main character, lest you miss out on their disdain for Christians. Hmm... Love to see the same people try to do something similar with Mohamed, but I think we all know they would never even consider that.

Naturally, they also included a big, even dumber than the other characters, White male who is everyone's favorite punching bag.

To sum up... imagine all the most hateful, bigoted, intolerant opinions those on the far Left hold about White Americans in the South playing on a loop and you have this show, complemented by extremely disappointing animation.

This show cannot die fast enough. Seriously, Fox would be smarter to pull it after the premiere, apologize for making it, then air reruns until they come up with something that won't offend the majority of potential viewers.
53 out of 123 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The half baked accents are offensive, the whole thing reeks of mean stereotypes.
watsongrand8 October 2019
I'm not even southern and I could tell the voice actors didn't bother to put any effort into giving the characters actual accents.

The writing is terrible, every episode's plot turns on mocking the stupidity of one of the characters. Who in 2019 thought we needed a show where single note characters play one trope and that's it. No heart here at all.

To compare this with King of the Hill which had well rounded, real, dynamic, complex characters is like comparing lobster to worms.
18 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Wow
fleck05-485-2089811 October 2019
We get it, the south is full of imbred hillbillies living on Mountain Dew. Stupid story with no humor.
27 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Much better then the ratings show
nykstar26 January 2020
It's not a groundbreaker but it's definitely entertaining. A lot of reviews complain about the stereotypes, but I'm a northerner who's lived in the Carolina's for 7 years and I don't think the stereotypes are overtly offensive at all. If you find this show offensive you should just turn off all media because you are gonna get offended by everything. If anything I think they are pulling too many punches. I think the Jesus character is a good premise but poor execution. I'd like to see some more laugh out loud moments but it's still entertaining as Is and could be a very good show if they bring in the right writers to help it along.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Out there, well written, and Maya Rudolph!
ericjamesduerr30 September 2019
Some of the finest comedic minds of this generation on one show written by another comedy icon! It's exactly what an animated show should be. Clever, hilarious, and weird! The characters look like Bitmojis, is that a spoiler?
24 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
No, no, god no
arc-ts2 October 2019
I don't understand how this even got made. It's horrible. From the animation, to the story, and even the voice actors, it's all horrible.

There's no doubt this'll quietly die--as it deserves.
22 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
I chuckled only once.
acharrell7 October 2019
In two episodes I let out a very mild chuckle one time. This show isn't funny. I love everyone involved for the most part, but the writing is just not very funny. It's definitely not at the level of King of the Hill, which it is very obviously trying to emulate.
10 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not good at all..
coldcrush39030 September 2019
It lacks many things and was overall was just bad.
23 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Comment even finish it
jordanschmid1 October 2019
I gave it a chance didn't get past 5 minutes, unfunny,outdated,cliche, all around not a good time
18 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Total crap!
c-lawrence-brown21 October 2019
The only redeeming thing about this show is that it will not last long if it stays as bad as it is.
12 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed