Avengement (2019) Poster

(I) (2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
79 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Definitely should break out but probably won't
Both Jesse V Johnson and Scott Adkins should be making bigger budgeted films than this by now. Their body of work together alone deserves it. That said, if they continue to make such polished B movie fare as this then long may their reign continue!! This is how you take a small budget and make a big statement!! Adkins has turned in his best performance to date by far!! Johnson has created a genre piece for the ages although alot of credit goes to Lorentz in the editing. The fight scenes in this absolutely nailed the tone of the story, they weren't flash spin kicks or any over the top Tae Kwon Do, Luke Lafontaine was spot on in this respect, just brutal on screen carnage!! I like Tim Man's choreography in previous Johnson/Adkins efforts but it would have been unrealistic in this. All the actors involved were solid, Fairbrass included, which I never thought I would say. In summary this film both cracks bones and should allow Adkins and Johnson to crack on to bigger and better things
25 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Superb British gangster movie from Scott freaking Adkins
phanthinga27 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Out of all the movies Scott Adkins has done in 2019 for me Avengement takes the cake as the best one so far and it also another reason why I think he needs to stick with director Jesse V. Johnson and writer Stu Mall as long as possible in the low budget action movie scene. I heard many people on the Internet praise the hell out of Scott for delivering the best performance of his life in the role of Cain Burgess an escaped convict on the way to return all the disgusting stuff his life throws at him and they were right because I hope he keeps testing his acting range like this because Avengement is one hard-ass movie with some of the bloodiest action scene I saw from Scott since Universal Soldier: Day of Reckoning. Seriously I love watching Scott chew the hell out of every scenery he in and once the movie got to the climax fight it even more beautiful than I thought but one tiny thing that holds back the movie from perfection is how Cain let that Bez chick alive after what she did to him
38 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Watch out for the knee n skull exploding scenes. Adkins' fans rejoice.
Fella_shibby25 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This film is relentlessly brutal n has tons of fighting but nothin memorable. It has a very gory scene like the one from American History X. Lots of hand to hand combat, one neck biting scene, skull n face getting smashed by a hammer, etc. Jesse V. Johnson's direction is commendable. His last film Triple Threat was a major disappointment. Scott Adkins gave a solid performance.
34 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Better than expected
kme-194-43855831 May 2019
A better than average fight movie. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it has a decent story and is played out nicely being interspersed by brutal but realistic fight scenes. The tension is kept up by some good storytelling without you having to think too hard. Definitely worth a watch and will have me curious to see if Mr. Adkins and co can reproduce it again, maybe next time with a few more twists.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Top film
ZonnyLondon1 June 2019
Old school revenge at it's best. Uashamedly violent. Scott Adams is on his way to becoming a bit of a name. I bet the old east end has invested in ths and will make a bundle out of it. The only bit i did not like was when he left the bartender alone. they should have cop it good and proper
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Scott Adkins delivers - non stop action!
TheTopDawgCritic25 May 2019
If you're a Scott Adkins fan, this film delivers non stop action and brutality. The directing was decent, but the screenplay needed some work. The flashback scenes worked well, the length and pacing perfect. The score was a little overbearing, but the great fight choreography muted it. Better than I expected. A well deserved 8/10 from me.
32 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I loved it
roberthancox1 June 2019
There hasn't been a film since ID that really glorified violence and pictured it in a way that you were cheering for the leading character he's awesome and the whole way through you want to cheer him on and wish him well he's been picked on and now he's going to make it right if your not afraid of blood keep watching
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not bad, better than I anticipated.
I don't think the story was the best, but the fight scenes kept me engaged. A stellar performance from Scott Atkins. This is is the first movie of his I have watched. And I really enjoyed it and will probably watch one of his movies in the future.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Scott Adkins re-teams with director Jesse V. Johnson for Fast, Crazy Action Packed Good Time!
canike0725 May 2019
I look forward to every Scott Adkins movie, I grew up watching anything that had Van Damme's name attached to it. Adkins is today's Van Damme! His movies are pure entertainment and everything I love about action films. Avengement is another win for him. It wastes no time getting down to the action and the story had me totally hooked in his transformation from regular guy to a man with nothing to lose out for revenge. The fighting choreography in the film is not the same style as in undisputed, triple threat etc. it's quick, brutal and a damn good time.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome
rambo7824 May 2019
Take this movie for what it is, a straight forward revenge story. Its been done many times ,but then again so have most other ideas. So its in the execution, and in this case its done very well. Scott Adkins does a great job in the lead role and creates a very likeable but very disturbed man that has been pushed to the absolute limit by the repeated violent encounters he faces and ultimately has to turn himself into a savage to survive,(he looks psychotic, but kinda cool). The rest of the cast is excellent and theres some good bits of humour injected into what is otherwise a pretty dark story. The action is bang on as you'd expect but more grounded and violent than usual. All in all its a well made film that keeps its pace and holds your attention to the very end, and if you're a Scott Adkins fan, as I've been for many years, you won't be disappointed. 10/10 (ps, look out for the after credits scene, its quite funny)
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Scott Adkins is getting better
videosfriend24 May 2019
Scott Adkins is a good actor, but he has a bad taste in choosing his work. The film showed that his taste is getting better. The film was well-structured and its combat scenes seemed realistic and overall worth watching.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Adkins best movie yet!!
safsurfer5 June 2019
The title says it all....Avengement. Not sure it's a real word but it is a great movie. The story is very well written and unfolds on the screen with Adkins giving narrative and grit to the plot with lots of very real looking action and fight scenes. The choreography was spot on and it was obvious from the beginning this was going to be a great ride. It delivered and gave more, not a dull moment or even time to take a piss, lol. This has to be Scott Adkins best work to date and the supporting cast deserves the same cudos.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Slow paced revenge movie
dr_bonone27 May 2019
This is a slow paced revenge movie. I like Scott Adkins movies because from time to time are quite original and brutal. Best one was Boyka, and this movie mixed the best of Boyka with a kind of Lock&stock two smoking barrels ambiance. The action is brutal and the main character characterization pretty well done. Overall a solid action movie.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
No brainier. It was all about the action and it was surprisingly good.
cynicsick27 May 2019
I'll just say it that the story is pretty bad, like a 3/10. The opening music was almost enough for me to give up but I'm thankful that I didn't. I'm also not a fan of British films either because they usually have ramblings in the script with too many unrealistic characters. The fight scenes reminds me of Jet Li's Unleashed. Good camera work and in your face not like that full of cuts and shaky camera effect. Its no BS, its raw and violent.and there are plenty of it here until the end.

This one is raw and violent as it should be.
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Story plus action supprising change
priorallen4 June 2019
A well put together movie with action and a purpose. Scott as usual kicking arse, but with a moral to add. This would be a smash hit movie if it was Hollywood produced. A must for all action fans you won't be disappointed
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Old fashioned gory action fun!!!
aramt-0793529 May 2019
Old fashioned gory action fun!!! Beautiful non stop action!!!
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It's been a while since I liked an action movie
kaetem31 May 2019
Sparks nostalgia for Bruce Lee and Jean-Claude Van Damme movies
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Really Brutal Fightscenes for the Scott Fans
wwaigl25 May 2019
This movie will keep your attention. Its very much the opposite of say the stylized mayhem of John Wick - the fight scenes in this movie are visceral, brutal and bloody - and they comprise a good chunk of the movie. Scott gets all the good lines and exercises that sardonic sense of humor he is well known for in his movies.

I do wonder sometimes why he is cranking out movies like this at the pace of 3-4 a year. He is prime material for more A list movies and has great screen presence. Love his martial arts & action movies but hope to see him in more high quality big release movies sooner rather then later.
14 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fun B Grade Action
DeadMansTrousers28 June 2019
You get what is advertised when you watch something like this and I always enjoy Scott Adkins films. He always creates some great fight sequences and there are plenty of them in this film. Some fairly funny moments in this as well that had me laughing out loud. I definitely recommend it to fans of the genre.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Amazing
tracy101125 May 2019
Amazing amazing bar and prison fight scenes an awesome job Scott, I really love his movies you don't get raw fighting scenes in movies anymore I miss that until now it reminds me of the old martial arts Movies from the 80s with van damme. This movie highly delivers thanks I really loves Adkins movies 🎥
16 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Scott Adkins Must-See
hampersnow-2890525 May 2019
If you are a fan of the God known as Scott Adkins, this is a must see. Well written, well acted, never dull, great dialogue written with plenty of wit, spectacular fight sequences, some gore, a ton of violence and most of all Scott, this is extremely entertaining. Cain Burgess needs to make it to the screen again. Bravo, Scott Adkins and an excellent supporting cast.
17 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This One Had My Jaw Hanging Wide Open During The Fights
darthsitkur27 May 2019
Scott Went So Berserk To The Point Where It Would Make Wolverine Blush, I am NOT joking, He Doesn't Play A Hero Or An Anti Hero This Time Around, For This One, He Plays A Raging Lunatic And It's A Performance That Both Excites You And Terrfies You, The Scars, Burn Marks, And Metal Teeth Basically Make You Say "Okay, I Don't Wanna Mess With THAT Guy". But Anyway, As Mentioned Earlier, The Fight Scenes In This One Are Stone Cold, Hardcore, And Bloody Raw (They're Even Gory Too), Cain Shows No Mercy On His Opponents And You Can Feel His Rage As Well As Every Hard Punch And Kick. Fans Of Scott Besides Myself Will Like This One, And It Will Surely Go On My Tablet And Phone
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Good movie
rands-2093325 May 2019
I love watch fight in movie like this He deserves to witch👍
12 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
excellent
watcher201926 May 2019
This is a very fast paced film. scott adkins is really great in this . I havent seen many of his films but this was fantastic. Our very own jason statham only better. watch this you wont regret it.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
lots of cray cray
thedavidcanuck27 May 2019
This movie is well worth the time to enjoy with lots of action
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed