"When They See Us" Part One (TV Episode 2019) Poster

(TV Mini-Series)

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
22 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
22:22
ameliek8116 June 2019
I had to hit pause, it was exactly 22mins and 22secs in. I want to throw up. I want to hug those boys, I want to run into the room and protect them. I want to yell at the cops. I feel so helpless watching this, I feel anger. These young boys were terrorized, it's hard to watch.

The emotions I'm feeling is a testament to how well this episode is directed and executed. The actors, the boys.. those boys, the parents... the cops, the lawyer. My heart aches. I feel nauseous
22 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is just the first episode and it's giving me cramps...DAMN!
robusm31 May 2019
Are you being serious? I literally went on google to read up on the crime because I couldn't believe what was happening. Don't know, just needed some validation. But, watching it play out, the gross incompetence of every 'adult' in charge was so so so much on me as a viewer. Talk about anxiety. And to think, this kind of racial profiling is happening still, after almost 40 years. Just last week, a guy picking up trash from outside his home was racially profiled. PICKING UP TRASH??? As a poc and a male, this literally gives me anxiety of what goes on in the minds of officers, treating everybody as a suspect and not human first. YOU'RE SUPPOSED TO PROTECT FIRST!
40 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Children's Lives Taken
Magnolia_Green3 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The first episode covers the night of the attack and the subsequent 24hrs. There are some who never heard the story of the CP5. They are five young black and Hispanic boys (14yo-16yo) who were railroaded into stating that were a part of the attack and rape of a white woman in Central Park in 1988. They were held for up to 20hrs without food, water and in most cases, no parent or guardian present. These children were told if they said what the police wanted them to say they could go home. They were told if they signed a confession they did not write, they could go home. They were told. They were told by adults who were knowingly breaking the law. They were told by adults who knowingly violated their constitutional rights. They were told by adults who took issue with their black and brown skin. They were told by adults who repeatedly referred to them as animals and spoke to and treated them as such. As a parent of a little brown boy, I see how in 2019, that could be my child. This episode is like watching a slow car wreck and not being allowed to look away. So many people want to say this was over 30yrs ago. But it isn't. Kalief Browder was given the same treatment in 2010. So many others weren't given that treatment, but the judge and jury treatment of being shot and killed in the street. It is hard to watch these kids being drug down without holding your heart. It is hard to watch and not pause, look away, or fast forward. But you cannot. You have to watch. You have to look at every moment and internalize it. Keep that fear and anger right at the surface. And next time you hear a young person of color is being treated poorly or not being given their constitutional rights...ACT! Stand up.
24 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hard to watch knowing that this actually happened
trollerbrendan3 June 2019
A very griping pilot that is extremely hard to watch. You just have to watch it yourself to understand.
19 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hard hitting !!
Extremely gripping & at times really tough to watch. Direction, writing & acting are all outstanding!!
14 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant
lindseyannex11 June 2019
Those kids need to be nominated, brilliant acting and brilliant pilot
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So Many Emotions
This is one of the most infuriating, tear jerking, maddening, sickening pieces of art I've ever seen. It's an important story that everyone needs to see with BRILLIANT performances, but it is a VERY TOUGH watch. Do not let this deter you.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It takes your breath away
perverz7 June 2019
I've Never written a Review on imdb but this pilot just took my breath. It crushed me in pieces. You see the plot unfold and realize 30 years later there is no significant change. People still beeing pressured to tell lies. Criminal Justice is non existent. Seeing the cops talking, hitting and pressuring the boys in to telling lies makes me so damn angry and sad at the same Time.

The actors doing a great Job, the screenplay is awesome, the whole unfairness of the situation/setting gives you goosebumps and leaves you speechless. The Pilot caught me off guard and gave me shiveres.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Unbelievable yet so engrossing from minute 1
jackashbourne253 June 2019
Now I've seen some series opening episodes in my time but nothing like this. So powerful, so sad, so hard hitting, so well done and some amazing acting. Everything a series opening episode needs and more. Riveting, gripping, emotional and just leaves you wanting more. All this - yet it leaves you questioning everything you ever thought. Special.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
If I was on drugs I'd probably jump into the screen to punch these cops into their faces...
aarongnr3 June 2019
God they do a good job at getting me angry in this episode.

Loved this first episode, a must watch!
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My opinion
Ahmedfadil0030 July 2019
A sad and influential episode .. I feel pain my stomach because of this series .. injustice difficult to accept
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I feel sick, but it's riveting
tooraredie19 July 2019
Anything that inspires the level of feeling that this does is clearly good, but it's not positive feelings, so if you're feeling fragile, don't watch until you're feeling a bit stronger. It's sickening knowing the cops didn't care whose life they ruined, what they did, just so long as someone was sent down - and I can't imagine much has changed since.

These poor kids - and the poor woman who got raped with none of them caring about getting the actual attacker/s taken off the streets.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Upsetting to watch
scarlettyforest17 July 2019
This was so well directed, written and acted that it made me feel physically sick watching it. Such an upsetting experience, but it needed to be made, especially during this time.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of the best Pilots I have ever seen
mathiasgoodman31 May 2019
WOW!!! This Episode did his job perfectly. Amazing acting, fantastic cinematography, great dialogues etc.. I was truly angry after this episode. I know after this episode...this show is something special. It does so much right. Life tells the best stories, but also the worst...

Well it's not a Mindblowing Episode though. It didn't shock me as much as Fargo the first episode for an example, but damn...not many shows do have such a great start. Definitely give this show I try, if you like law stories. It won't disappoint you.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Part One
Prismark1017 June 2019
Ava DuVernay's dramatisation of The Central Park Five is harrowing viewing. To see young teenagers who are still minors arrested and abused by the policed who fit them up for a crime they know that they were not responsible for.

In the first episode you see these minors being interrogated, lied to, coerced to confessions without any lawyers present. The parents who attended did not know what to do or in one case frightened by the police themselves.

The police and the District Attorney's office rejig the timeline of a woman who was raped in Central Park so they can have a strong case against the five suspects.

In an earlier scene Linda Fairstein (Felicity Huffman) from the DA's office who attends the crime scene only make reference to one attacker. However she then goes on a crusade wanting predominantly black and hispanic youths rounded up and getting the police force all fired up.

It looks like a cunning and cynical ploy by the makers of the series and Netflix. Make Fairstein out to be an outright villain. The question then is will see sue Netflix for defamation? That means she will have to go to court, something that might end up costing more than her reputation!

It was a tough watch knowing the events were true. I am sure NYPD would like to say that was then, today it is different. However I have my doubts.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My opinion
ahmuuuu24 July 2019
A sad and influential episode .. I feel pain my stomach because of this series .. injustice difficult to accept
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great pilot
obdyahia5 June 2019
If this is the pilot how is other episodes bye, it's downloaded already
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I cried watching this
drsiiiiin10 October 2019
Had to pause many time , felt so sad watching this even worse this is true story . Written well and soundtrack was perfect .
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wow
sadxz-2710429 June 2019
DjddjdjejjejejsjensojwwowoksjeisineixjejdNcjdjejdjdjdjdjejjdd
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
When they see us, is the best and most important tv show watched by me
lyes-metta17 July 2019
This episode is a amazing story about 7 childs and there mistake is not true
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Heartbreaking.
mjoseph-9870118 June 2019
First to time I've left a review. This story is hard to watch.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Yes it's great I love the game
alhumali8 June 2019
Yes I don't think it's a great game it's a good idea
1 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed