The Spanish Princess (TV Mini-Series 2019– ) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
92 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
Really Different from The White Queen and The White Princess
amylunabelly26 May 2019
What happened? The White Queen and the The White Princess series were such a breath of fresh air that actually gave the women of history the respect to be full human beings with intelligent heads, passionate hearts and mature agency. This series plays more like a Lifetime TV soap opera. Women are obsessed with sex and love when they're not slut shaming each other. And then there's the contrived gratuitous nude scenes of female characters. Did we really need to see Princess Catherine naked in her bath before her wedding? Because nothing communicates depression and disillusionment like full body nudity? Instead of spending time on the fascinating politics of the era (like the previous two miniseries did), viewers are forced to sit through fabricated scenarios with fictitious minor characters such as "helpless damsels in distress" being rescued by "male saviors." Ugh. Remember how Starz had a different version of The White Queen for American audiences that had more gratuitous sex scenes than the UK version? My guess is that this time, Starz must have pressured Phillipa Gregory to dumb down and sex up these women from the get go. What a disappointing bait and switch.
59 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A third in a series, but not Getting better
LadyBogangles20144 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I was a fan of The White Queen and The White Princess, and as much they are excellent, there was a small quality drop between the first two, the drop of the third is much more drastic.

The book it is based on has a lot more detail that was skipped over, from Catherine's correct Spanish pronunciation "Catalina" to the wardrobe, which was much more Spanish/Arab influenced.

To the fact she did not Speak English, when she came to England!

The book was correct that she and Arthur had to speak in Latin mostly, as that was the primary language they had in common.

People are praising the costumes- which are very elaborate, but not very period correct. The hair and veils were much too modern.

We have portraits of these people; historians can give advice on correct costuming.

Harry was much too old in the show; he was 11 when Arthur married Catherine.

That is only a few of the issues.
15 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
More fiction than fact
msecour8 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I enjoy historical dramas and am generally tolerant when warned that "some historical facts" have been altered for dramatic effect. HOWEVER, Prince Arthur was only 16 years old when he died 6 months after marrying Catherine. His younger brother (who would marry Catherine and become Henry VIII) was only 11 years old at this time. Portraying him as a randy young adult is a bit over the top. Production values were pretty good which is why I gave this four stars, but we won't be watching any more.
66 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hollywood Version of History
fryer-8603415 May 2019
Philippa Gregory wrote the Constant Princess which was based on the history of Katerina of Aragon, Infanta, Princess of Wales from the age of five, then Queen of England. The fictional novel took the basic history, added excellent real characters and very good writing. It strayed somewhat from history only to fill in the gaps that are missing from historical records. This all combined to make a very good read. This series, however, has made up history, changed real characters and written very bad dialogue. There are so many blunders that are too numerous to mention, I am sure others will probably point them out, but for me it will be the big disappointment of changing history to suit Hollywood's child-like vision of what audiences want. How the author could let this happen to her book is a mystery, especially after the two previous series did a good job of her novels. I suppose money would have played a huge reason for her to succumb. What a shame!!
53 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Inconsistent
jaskg30 August 2019
Has no one noticed that Richard Pole grew his arm back.........
17 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
More Soap and then - Some More
Tweetienator9 May 2019
Another mass soap-opera from Hollywood with costumes, no matter in what time or what Court, you will always get the same old dish, the same old plots and lukewarm characters. Boring and full of historical wrongs and rewritings - but why wonder, Hollywood got no history, and maybe, maybe torturing the audience to a brain-dead stupor is the hidden agenda/aim of the industry ;)
72 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A soap opera with pretty costumes.
adiyatnashrah-1890927 May 2019
The only reason I gave 3 instead of 1 was the costume design. Not only was the story filled with historical inaccuracies but also illogical and stupid plotlines. The acting was unimpressive.
25 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful
claerewen15 May 2019
If I could give this negative stars and have it taken off the air I would. This show is a sham. Was really looking forward to it being as good as the White Queen and the White Princess, but after watching the first episode it failed so royally that google is censoring most of the negative feed back. To back my proof, not only have I historical text books relating to this era but I have almost all of Phillipa Gregory books including those that this was "supposed" to be modeled after. Henry Tudor for starts was supposed to be 10-11 when Catherine of Aragon and Arthur Tudor we'd. Why the heck is he in his teens to early twenties???? Not to mention there is no historical evidence whatsoever that a prepubescent child that Henry Tudor was at the time wrote love letters to a woman older than he! It's a disgrace to the men and women being portrayed. It's a disgrace to history. And it barely follows the books the series was derived from. Absolutely disgusting.
48 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
should have checked the reviews first
beraycayli-9922015 October 2019
If you know absolutely nothing of this era, this is your show. If you do, you must ignore the very obvious historical inconsistencies.

Honestly, why? They have the money. The history is very interesting on its own. I am so disappointed, Catherine of Aragon deserved better.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I wish they'd stop ignoring facts in these dramas!
crystlstar17 June 2019
1. Catherine did have red-gold hair, most likely inherited from her Plantagenet bloodline. Her great-grandmother, Catherine of Lancaster, for whom she was named, was the daughter of John of Gaunt and Constance of Castile. John's father was Edward III.

2. Her chief lady-in-waiting, and close friend was a Spanish noblewoman, María de Salinas, who married William Willoughby, 11th Baron Willoughby de Eresby. She was the only friend who was with Catherine at her death, according to legend she forced her way into Kimbolton Castle after being denied permission to visit, and I have no reason to doubt that was true.

3. She may have brought a group of her African attendants with her but none would have been a lady in waiting.

4. She *was* accompanied by her duenna, Elvira Manuel, who supervised her Spanish retinue. The woman famously refused to let Catherine go out without a heavy veil completely covering her face. She even tried to stop Henry VII from seeing her!

I could not watch this for even part of an episode, much like that awful "The Tudors". Ugh.
24 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Complete letdown
chrisvargo-1207713 May 2019
After the White Queen & White Princess, this is a disappointment. The inaccuracies and incontinences are numerous. The actor/actress choices poor. The quality of this installment is nowhere close to the first 2, I'm unsure if I'll continue to watch.
34 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Political correctness gone mad!!!!!
yvettelangbridge13 May 2019
Phillipa Grergory, shame on you for allowing this travesty
54 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
History gone Hollywood (but why not?)
rse22 May 2019
If you know nothing about Spanish or English history of this era, this may be fun for you. But there are so many historical inconsistencies that to me it was sometimes annoying. Nice costumes though! In spite of that said, the series is very watchable and easy to enjoy. The liberties taken with what is actually known of the story of Katherine of Aragon could possibly be justified or even possible. As the saying goes, history is written by the winners.
36 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Were they really unable to find REAL Spanish actors?
toothlessgator2 June 2019
Literally one of the Spaniards is ACTUALLY Spanish. You can say "that's just good acting", but I beg to differ. The acting was not great and the "Spanish princess" was born in england. Could they not have at least found an actress of Iberian decent? The casting was very poor in the fact that she didn't even resemble her parents from this show or the white princess. It really bothers me that they felt the need to pass off English and other ethnicities as Spanish people. It's insulting.
27 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The SPANISH
jaytrejos26 June 2019
As a Spanish speaking person myself I was not able to get past the 2nd episode. These actors butchered the Spanish language. Usually that wouldn't bother me but it was not possible as even as decent. Really not hard to find Spanish artists
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A lot of mistakes
grinzo31 July 2019
Has anyone noticed that Catherine's eyes keep changing colour, one episode they are blue and then another dark brown. Very strange, apart from all the other wrong facts.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
It just keeps getting worse and worse
sftrojan7 July 2019
Historical timelines aside, from my history knowledge, the Tudor dynasty had enough drama without altering it to this ridiculous scale. I thought maybe the next episode would be better, but it continually goes from the trash bin to the garbage dump. Not even good performances. Watch at your own risk.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hate when history is falsified
Emperiumnostra8 July 2019
If white actors can't be blackfaced to play black historical persons, the black actors can't play white historical persons - this multicultural attitude is wrong and will cause further division between races!
34 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't waste your time...
jexe-5114510 June 2019
Complete fabrication. I don't even know how this is contextualized as a historical drama. FYI this has nothing to do with history as it pertains to this period in time. Even the costumes are inaccurate.
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Story is untrue!
kricket161724 June 2019
I have read every book, fiction and non-fiction, about Henry 8th and English history for over 40 years! I have watched 2 of these episodes and can't watch anymore! The true story is interesting and I don't understand why the writers have to make so much of this untrue. Lady Margaret was not a villian! She didn't stay at court. She lived in the country! Her character bothers me the most. But Prince Henry being so old is ridiculous! He was 10 years old when Catherine arrived! If you want the true story, don't watch this.
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Another Hollywood hidden agenda film
ragnarflokithor27 May 2019
I'm bored with the politically correct series. Black people that do not correspond to historical periods. And they are always good and strong... The hidden agenda of hollywood ;)
61 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful show.
radarmikemo7 August 2019
Stupid teen romance. I loved the white queen and the white princess. they had class. this show is bunch of collage kids talking. and please, whats with black woman as lady in waiting? it would be very nice if it was historically like that , but it was not. why cant they make little bit historically accurate or atleast not go off track like this.
18 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Absolutely terrible
pillybee17 June 2019
Why does hollywood feel they have the right to destroy history, so many others have said it better than I can. Please don't waste you time on this rubbish, they have put a tag on the show saying this is not historically correct doesn't stop them putting black people where their were non. Please include them if they were there but not at he expense of truth. RUBBISH won't finish watching waste of time.
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Soap Opera
shontemc27 August 2019
I'm black and even I know this was a travesty.... the accents we're awful and the actors didn't match the real accounts.... but the costumes were nice.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Yet another disappointment
Opinion0212213 May 2019
There are MANY elements that go into creating a good film, whether it's a movies, series, or miniseries. Casting is one of the most important. Unfortunately, The Spanish Princess missed by a mile! The cast has a myriad of accents, from American, to English, to Spanish, to TERRIBLE attempts at accents. It's very distracting and annoying.

Charlotte Hope, as the title character, is central to every story line. Her acting is below par. She was alright for a few episodes of The Game of Thrones, where she was a minor character, but she can't carry a series, and her attempt at a Spanish accent is painful to listen to.

I forced myself to watch the first two episodes, hoping things would improve, but they were even worse in episode 2.

I'm SO disappointed. I enjoy historical dramas, and, with Game of Thrones ending, I was hoping to find a series that would at least entertain! Nothing can replace the quality of Game of Thrones, certainly, but this series is so far below that quality, that I am removing it from my DVR recordings, and will look elsewhere to be entertained. This one is PAINFULLY poor.

Laura Carmichael, known for her role as middle daughter Edith on Downton Abby, is the one saving grace of the series. Unfortunately her talent is wasted here.
21 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed