Crawl (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
385 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Please Crawl To Me
ymyuseda14 July 2019
Rating 8.5/10 One of the best croc movie of this year. Suspenseful and well made. Overall, really enjoyable tense movie & superb scenery.
238 out of 309 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Croc you like a Hurricane!
shanemoose-8871514 July 2019
I know that some people are kind of on the fence with this one, but trust me when I say that this really is a fun Creature Feature. 'Crawl' doesn't try to poke fun at itself but is still fun and startling at times. The acting is top-notch and there's plenty of monster violence to quench any Horror fans thirst. So what if it's not the most original film out there, that does not change the fact that this movie has the right amount of tension to keep you hooked.
89 out of 126 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Crawling In My Skin
kidmetal-matheny12 July 2019
Crawl is most certainly what you would expect a film like this to be, but it isn't bad by any means, however it know's the nature of it's premise, and just goes for it. The intensity is genuine, and the gore/kills are well executed, and I do believe there are some pretty nice practical effects utilized throughout. The CGI on the Alligators is good, but sometimes (in the beginning of the film) looks shaky. The setting in a crawlspace during a hurricane is inherently claustrophobic in nature, and the film does play that up a fair amount. The pacing is excellent, and the ending is good even if a bit predictable.

The acting by our two leads Haley Keller (Kaya Scodelario), and Dave Keller (Barry Pepper) is believable, and genuine, both do a great job with the father-daughter dynamic. There are some minor plot conveniences, and characters that are introduced just to die, but that can be overlooked due to the small scale nature of the story. It's a very self contained film aside from a hurricane ravaging Florida. There are a few "jumpscares", but they aren't dialed up to 11 like Annabelle: Comes Home for example.

Overall, if you want a good modern "creature feature" that doesn't go above and beyond to makes itself feel absurd, and unrealistic. I'd recommend you check this film out, it was a surprisingly good time at the movies, and I walked out happy.

I give Crawl, a 8/10. A fun time at the movies.
97 out of 148 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A snappy summer hit: but it should have been much better
bob-the-movie-man8 September 2019
As a bit of summer fun, "Crawl" is a real B-movie... but with a decent premise at its heart.

But who came up with that title? It's been out for a few weeks before I got to see it last night. But for that whole period I have been cheerfully mis-calling it "Chomp!". This is a far more satisfactory title. Ladybirds crawl! Beetles crawl! Alligators chomp!

For this is a tale of those creepy, ice-cold reptiles. Haley (Kaya Scodelario) - usefully a leading college-swimmer - is called by her older sister Beth (Morfydd Clark) concerned that she's been unable to reach her Dad (Barry Pepper). He lives in the Florida Everglades and a category 5 hurricane is moving in. Haley goes against the tide of evacuees to reach her old family home looking for her Dad and his dog (mangy cute canine alert).... but finds more than just him there!

With nature advancing in multiple forms, will the father, daughter and dog all weather the storm?

There's a nice idea at the heart of this film. In the same way that sharks creep a lot of people out with their unblinking cold eyes - making "Jaws" such a hit - so lots of people - me included - get freaked out by alligators. If you've been to the Everglades, as I have, there is something totally unnerving about the size and (normal) stillness of these monsters from a prehistoric age. A "Jaws with 'gators" had the potential to be a fun summer hit.

It's also a good move for the scriptwriters (Michael and Shawn Rasmussen) to put the action in the heart of a hurricane. How else could you strand two people in the middle of a civilised area? (You imagine the writers going through the same mental exercise as the army geeks in "Close Encounters"). But it's the most inconsistent Cat 5 in meteorological history. I've heard people tell of riding out a big storm at home: that they can't hear each other speak, and that's within the four walls of the house. Here (in an obviously studio-dressed set) the storm barely registers for 60% of the running time: there are moments when you could hear a pin drop! And although the "fan machine rental" store next to the studio lot must have been empty, even in the external scenes I've seen stronger winds on Bournemouth sea front.

Once we get into the basement of the house, things get pleasantly claustrophobic, keeping (at least initially) the tension high.

What exactly is the deal with these gators? WIth the T-rex in "Jurassic Park", the deal was pretty clearly spelled out and stuck to: they could only see movement, so stay still and you'd be OK. In this flick, the rules of engagement are far from clear. There is a speech by Dave about them being able to see you, even in the dark... but I was never clear whether they could see you, still or otherwise, and whether they responded to noise or not. And the rules seem to be flexible throughout the film: at one point the duo stay stock still as 'gators swim right past them; in others they stay still (and OUT of the water) yet the gators suddenly launch up at them. Make your mind up!

Unfortunately, while the story has potential, the dialogue is truly awful. You know you're in trouble when the lead actress is explaining the backstory aloud to a dog! "Jaws" has a brilliant and personal back-story of a misunderstood sheriff battling the greed of local businessmen against common-sense. Here, the writers clearly feel the need to add some family-based angst into the story, but the lines between Haley and dad Dave are SHOCKINGLY bad. And they are spouted at the most inappropriate points in the action! It's actually laughable, and not in a good way. At times I literally had my head in my hands.

As a B-movie with a limited budget, the cast is small and made up largely of unknowns. Barry Pepper (sniper Private Jackson in "Saving Private Ryan") is the best-known name of the cast. Unfortunately, having to emote the lines he's contracted to say in this movie doesn't help his CV.

Kaya Scodelario - who was in the "Maze Runner" films and was the love interest in the last "Pirates of the Caribbean" flick - suffers the same fate but fares slightly better. She strikes a good action heroine pose, and is one of the better things in the film.

Directed by Alexandre Aja ("Piranha 3D") this is a sub-90 minute film that at least doesn't outstay its welcome. It's been a decent summer hit for the studios (at the time of writing it has made $75 million on a meagre $13 budget).

It's certainly not for the faint-hearted in its gore. It delivers a lot of chomping, with the action getting progressively more ludicrous, reminiscent of the "flesh-wound" scene in "Monty Python and the Holy Grail"!. Some jump scares work well. But I can' t say its a great film, because it's really not. In the hands of a Spielberg, this might have really had legs (...to chomp on, LoL). It's CERTAINLY no "Jaws". It's not even a "Deep Blue Sea". But it's mildly entertaining nonetheless.

(For the full graphical review, please check out One Mann's Movies on the interweb or Facebook. Thanks.).
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Enjoyed every minute!
Sallorah11 July 2019
I enjoyed it so much from the start to end! I was so focused and tense all the time hugging my bag nervously waiting for what will happen next! Are they gonna make it? Will the dad survive?! How about Sugar " the dog "?!! All the people at the theater ended up cheering and screaming, it was so tense!! The acting was amazing and the drama is also so good and emotional. Watched it with a family and we all enjoyed every minute of it. Highly recommend
97 out of 154 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Loved it
kaekaewright13 July 2019
I really enjoyed it .The actors were great and so was the simple plot.It kept me interested the whole time.im pretty picky and I definetly enjoyed this one .go watch and you will be pleasantly surprised. It's one that's good to see up close and on the big screen with the surround sound of the theater.I think sitting close to the screen is what made me and even my husband jump at certain scenes ! Side note My favorite actress was the dog Sugar !!!
50 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Survival/Horror fun!
steveassault12 July 2019
Crawl was an enjoyable survival/horror romp. The Hurricane disaster element mixed the the alligator horror element is pulled off well and the characters are people you root for to survive (esp the dog). Its a very simple premise which is handled well. Doesn't skimp on the gore either. Its good, bloody, stupid fun if you like horror/suspense/survival type movies you should be entertained for sure.
56 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Stressful and entertaining at will
FrenchEddieFelson26 July 2019
Despite 3 or 4 irritating scenes that transpire script mediocrity with let's say 1 or 2 appalling minutes, the film manages to scare the audience with panache, at least me anyway. I was indeed gesticulating in my armchair each time an alligator grabbed and shook a protagonist. Actually, it's not really surprising: as an euphemism, in the horror / thriller genre, Alexandre Aja is definitely not a padawan. Thus, Alexandre Aja has managed an effective film that successfully fulfills his objective: to keep the audience on the edge of the seat during 90 minutes.
25 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Good production values and acting but it cant hide a terrible script
gluonpaul23 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
So there is plenty in this to like, the special effects are decent, the acting is decent and the production values are very good. Unfortunately its all built on the foundations of a very very poor script.

The father seems to only be there to provide someone to constantly need rescuing by the daughter and provide a backdrop of history for the protagonist (often at very stupid times). At one point they had just seen a police officer get torn apart & eaten and he launches into a speech about the daughter learning to swim. I mean really????

On top of that the protagonist is basically the very definition of a mary sue. At one point for instance this huge alligator has her leg clamped in his jaws and this 80 pound woman kicks it in the face with her bare foot to get it to let go, on top of which all she had as an injury was a minor gash on her leg. Absolutely crazy, and this goes on througout the movie, we see her outswim alligators in the water as well for instance.

Overall I have to say with a decent script it could have been a good concept but with some frankly student film level script problems it just isnt that great in my opinion. Not a terrible movie, but not really worth seeking out.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Simple, Solid Flick
cawlztothewall-7612512 July 2019
If your only research before viewing was a glimpse at one trailer, you may be put off by the mid-grade cast and CGI, but this movie takes those elements and runs with them. It wastes no time telling a concise story that leads into the action/horror, which keeps you on the edge of your seat the remaining 95% of the movie. Both of the lead roles play out of their minds and deliver unexpectedly incredible acting that puts you in their shoes.

I've seen nearly every alligator movie you can name. Many of them are debacles and a few are decent at best. This breaks the scale in a wonderful way. Take anyone you care about to see this movie. Despite the R rating, I consider this safe for anyone 13 and older if they can put up with the scares. The movie and the acting are so convincing, you'll have yourself wondering if this very scenario can happen in real life. If you're a Floridian like me, this could be YOUR scenario.

Summation Pros: strong, connected acting (actors work well together), believable story that's easy to follow, keeps the drama at a low

Cons: some cliches, bland small roles

Verdict: a pleasant surprise that'll have you gripping your seat throughout the movie
53 out of 89 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Something is CRAWLING out of the Water!
bhernandez221612 July 2019
"CRAWL" is a very intense survival horror film of the summer. The director of "The Hills Have Eyes" Alexandre Aja, did a very good job making this movie pretty good and a hell of a bloody good time. It had good jumpscares, in the movie, where you'll never see it coming to the big screen. This is a pretty good story about a massive hurricane that hits Florida, a young teenage girl named Haley, ignores the evacuation in order to search her father, Dave. But, that's not the only problem. The problem is the Killer alligator as they became trapped by the rapidly encroaching floodwaters. OMG! This movie is way better then Piranha 3D. I mean, I know Piranha has a lot of beautiful sexy women in it, but, wow, "Crawl" is way better.
49 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
"Crawl" for the exit!
mccraydavid15 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I had no idea where to start and I owe that to Crawl being horrendously bad. Stuffed to the brim with predictable clichés, brain dead acting from its lead protagonist, and CGI that rivals SyFy channel quality, it's difficult to stomach. Horror movies are supposed to invoke a sense of fear but here we are yet again with another "movie" relying on jump scares. People doing ridiculously stupid things in movies does not make those situations suspenseful. It just kills the movie. Just in case you didn't know, humans are now faster swimmers than alligators! Yep, totally believable!!

Olympic swimmers 🏊 = 5-6 mph, Alligators 🐊 = 20mph Random college swimmer in movie Crawl = 25+mph

Makes sense......
56 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Total Garbage
thebogofeternalstench12 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Where to start? A lame backstory with the girl being a top swimmer so she can out-swim a gang of patrolling alligators and the father and daughter's pathetic sentimental conversations in between their boring as hell attempts to evade the naughty alligators.

The movie is filled with lame jump scares, and the first Mr Snappy is shown way too early, totally killing any suspense. The characters make dumb choices over and over. The girl gets death rolled under water with her arm in the alligators mouth and doesnt lose her arm? Yeh...sure. Pointless supporting actors/extras who we know are gunna die are on screen for a few mins then get gobbled up. Why bother?

The girl goes through a hole in the wall and discovers a nest of eggs which would indicate a mother alligator, hinting at a bigger croc which we get to see briefly after she finds a gun on the dead cop, shoots another croc while it munches on her hand, and then crawls through a pipe with her arm intact. We get to see the mother alligator i believe and then the girl goes to save her drowning father. After reviving him from death, he gets up like nothing has happened and is like "hey girl, go swim through all those alligators and get the boat yah?" So instead of going on the roof which is what any other sane person would do, Olympic swimmer girl goes for a gold medal in a race against the Mr Snappy's.

Blah blah blah...anyway, they end up on the roof at the end and you are expecting some final show down with the huge mother alligator, the rescue helicopter conveniently shows up and swimmer girl lights a flare and.....THE CREDITS ROLL!!!! HAHAHAHAHA.

I couldn't believe it. What a scam artist the director is. You cheated your audience dude.

What an awful movie. The main actor was unappealing and i didn't care about her at all.

Avoid like the plague. This movie is a 'croc'.

Summary: Do not waste your time on this garbage
99 out of 187 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Unexpected and entertaining
anilnayak-4355113 July 2019
My first review here...you guys can give it a shot.It was made pretty impressively,from what i saw in the trailer i was not at all interested but after watching it...i was surprised at every nail biting moment in the film.its damn good.
37 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very Intense!!
kyleallencole912 July 2019
Absolutely terrifying animal attack movie!! It was suspenseful and intense throughout!! Most of the attack scenes were brutal too!!
40 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Solid flick. Ignore the haters.
benjigrissinger11 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
People seriously complain about everything these days....horror movies are not "realistic" enough...blah blah blah. It's a MOVIE! A FICTIONAL MOVIE! People were bashing this movie at my screening because "houses in Florida don't have basements." Really? So freaking dumb lol. For the record, though, it is a crawl space below the house that is still above ground and is indeed common in Florida. This movie takes the overused basic formula of racing against time to escape whatever situation the characters find themselves in before they die.....house in Florida...hurricane hits....extreme flooding and people are trapped with the water levels rising higher and higher...can they find help or find a way to escape before it's too late? That alone would be enough for a movie these days....it has been enough over and over again and has been done a million times before...so let's make it interesting and throw in some crazy aggressive ass alligators to spice things up- another Hollywood favorite, as far as themes are concerned....killer shark/dinasaur/gator/dog .... Combining the two themes certainly wasn't breaking any barriers but it was fast paced, creative and super fun to watch. The characters are likable.enough for people to root for them. No one on the set of this movie was eyeing a freaking Oscar nom when creating this...they knew exactly what kind of movie they were making, and for as "unrealistic" and "basic" as this movie was, they jam packed a whole lot of suspense, gore, thrills and fun into a 85 minute movie, and it was a great movie theater experience. If you are looking for a simple, fun and entertaining thrill ride, this is for you. If you think movies need to be 100 percent realistic, and are a sucker for great dialogue, this may NOT be for you. Personally, I would absolutely recommend it to others.
73 out of 138 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pretty scary and worth your money
lovespidey12 July 2019
Really well made. Has some good scares and will keep you on the edge of your seat.
38 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Dumber than a box of rocks...
scragglywags10112 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Sorry Aja, I've loved most of your movies in the past. But this one was SO STUPID. How many times is this woman going to get bitten by an alligator and be fine? She nearly got her arm AND leg ripped off but she can swim faster than all the alligators? Yeah okay. Why do they keep walking around in the water? Get the hell up on roof in the first place instead of trying to walk through water to get to a boat after you just made it out of the crawl space. And yeah, let's just stand in front of a window as the water rises above it. Duh. So idiotic. At least it was short.
87 out of 169 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Thoroughly enjoyed this!
scuzzo13 July 2019
Very suspenseful, not cheesy, well done, zero superheros. I really great rollercoaster ride, which I loved a lot.
39 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Never ending suspense
arifkontraktor13 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
It's not a long-winded movie. It shocks you to the bone. My only question is why did she have to call 911 from the open space....? One thing for sure: "saatnya menggigit!"

*time to bite
36 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
It'll probably be on Netflix in 2 weeks
p_ortensie200515 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
What I thought sucked (besides the fact that this was basically a really bad Netflix movie) was the lack of logic and common sense. They're trapped in a crawl space, yet they're along a wall where the outside of the house is visible, behind what looked like very thin brick. Which could have easily been broken with the shovel. Had they done that, they could have easily escaped. And been back to town before the storm really hit. Eventually they finally escape the crawl space, but instead of doing the smart/logical thing of trying to get on the roof and signal for help, they ignorantly decide to make a run for it (so to speak). But before their eventual escape, there was a scene early in the movie where some college age kids stole an ATM machine from a gas station and then loaded it onto a boat. All of a sudden a giant gator smashes through the back of the boat destroying it in the process and then the gator proceeds to eat a girl on the boat. Later in the movie after their eventual escape from the crawl space and then stupid attempt to make "a run for it" that same boat that was demolished by a giant gator is somehow in perfect condition, with the motor reattached when the main female character out swims a bunch of gators to reach the boat. And speaking of out swimming gators: the average Olympic swimmer averages about 5 mph in the water. An alligator averages 20 mph. So basically this movie had viewers believe that the girl had superhuman swimming abilities and could swim at an amazing rate of 25 mph. It wasn't just the acting that sucked. I didn't feel any connection to the actors, I didn't care if they lived or died. At one point, I began cheering for the gators, and laughed hysterically anytime someone did something stupid to get themselves eaten. The only character I cared for and wanted to survive was the little dog.
38 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
You have got to be joking
elizrug17 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I cannot even begin to understand how anyone could rate this highly. I am starting to really question whether people are paid to write fake reviews.

1. No person can out-swim an alligator 2. If a gator grabs your arm or leg, you will be missing an arm or leg 3. Dried blood will not stick to your skin after you have spent hours underwater 4. Every decision made by the protagonists was stupid and wrong 5. The whole "Oh, why did you and mom break up?" part while they are dying is so far-fetched, I wanted to gag

I could keep going but not even the review is woth too much of my time.
20 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Stupid
Gorgorgorgoroth17 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The main chick gets both of her arms and one of her legs chewed by gators but she can still outswim them. Does anyone think this makes any sense? The main chick's dad gets his arm torn off by a gator but when a gator bites the main chick's arm and starts the death roll, her arm is still intact and she can still fight off the gator.

Holy crap, she is invincible!

And how do the gators lay eggs in the basement and the eggs start hatching when the gators have been in the basement for not even a day?

Some of the shots are nice, such as the storm and the ending when the main chick lights her flare. But other than that, I have no idea why this movie is getting so many positive reviews.
34 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Maze runner is swimming this time !!
manmadan-112 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Well.. I got a chance to see this movie on the first day.

Went without any expectation but came out with full satisfaction.

Mainly, recently most of the films are based out of female leads role and half of them are not clicked somehow, but this one came out pretty cool. Kaya had given her 100% for this movie.

The SET : wow, hurricane based movie, starts with dripping and ends with flooding. the special effect is not top of the notch but better then any of this kind of movie, especially the music. It is having some scare jump scenes. worth the music.

Totally this movie is keeping the audience on the edge of the seat. Good one!!!
33 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Crawl is a comedy!
w-ykema15 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
They didn't tell me it was a comedy. So many stupid things in this movie, you can't stop laughing.

Girl finds daddy almost dead, but during the film daddy recovered amaizingly fast. Girl is bitten in leg, arm, tossed around many times by croc on other arm, and what? She still swims and runs miraculous fast.

O I lost my phone! I must go back to where the crocodiles are. The phone is faar more important than my life.

The crocs don't smell blood while swimming very nearby ("as long as you don't spatter, they don't notice you" duh).

She is swimming to a boat, jumps in and immediately goes full speed. How the hell did the motor starts that fast. Pure magic.

And so on and on.

I hoped in the end that after all the miracles, they were still killed by a croc in the last shot. But no, happy end. Even the damned dog survived.

Two stars for the laughs.
35 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed