Ma (2019) Poster

(I) (2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
234 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Missing Something
mawhinney31 May 2019
I thought Octavia Spencer did an amazing job. I can't quite put my finger on what is missing from the film but it was okay, not amazing. I suppose I was hoping for more horror, less thriller.

With a tiny $5M budget, they will make a profit.
70 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Entertaining: almost. Predictable: always. Cheesy: sometimes. Scary: not really.
FrenchEddieFelson6 June 2019
Beyond a far-fetched and almost-laughable script, the actors play pretty well, especially Octavia Spencer, Diana Silvers and Juliette Lewis. The introduction languishes, lasts about an hour and one has overall the impression that the mountain has brought forth a mouse. Although I obviously do not belong to the intended audience which is probably narrowed to teens, it's worth a try with low expectations.
58 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
An average story improved by a talented lead actress
jackgdemoss19 June 2019
The entire genre of horror movies has been improving rapidly over the last 5 years. Where we used to only receive consistent hot garbage, a handful of phenomenal films have snuck their way into the mix each year lately. Ma is not one of those films, but it contributes to the genre by having above average suspense without relying on jump scares. It is ultimately only made possible because of Octavia Spencer's always impressive ability to sink into character.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Weird but entertaining
lejlah8330 May 2019
I came in to the movie thinking it's probably bad but let's see. Turned out I had quite a good time. Don't expect spectacular acting but just enjoy the movie and i'm sure you won't hate it. Octavia Spencer really surprised me in this role and that alone is worth your time.
63 out of 98 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Another Blumhouse Production to Rake in the Money With a Low Budget
Yee_Reviews30 May 2019
Good: No doubt, Octavia Spencer carries the film and without her, the film would have easily crumbled and been unwatchable. And that's about it for the good....

Bad: The story's goal/main theme is not interesting and the choices of the characters are, like always, stupid and ignorant. The romance is forced and unbelievable. The story and characters are under-developed and are not given detail. The film lacks a scare factor/shock-value and the only times the audience jumped were in unnecessary jump scare scenes throughout a campy horror flick.

Overall: Besides Octavia Spencer, the cast is throw-away and do not add much to the film making it its own. This is a skip, at most a wait for Netflix. Messy with loose holes as it never fully develops and dark humor that's cringe and laughable.

*The movie's lesson here is to have common sense!

1.5/5
80 out of 131 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
pleasantly surprised
AdrienneGrayceMusic30 May 2019
Octavia Spencer...wow. She nailed this role. Totally out of her comfort zone in this film and thats whats great about it.

Nice suspense, drama and entertainment. I didn't go in expecting much because there have barely been any horror or thriller movies that I have enjoyed lately. I was pleasantly surprised though. Go see it.
90 out of 153 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Dont believe the hype
hms-6304531 May 2019
I expected so much more. Octavia Spencer did a great job , but she didn't have much of a script to go by. Predictable and you've already seen all the best parts. All in all a let down.
56 out of 104 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Different But Sub-par "Horror" Movie
ghettocouch-a-holic20 August 2019
I wouldn't even necessarily call this a horror movie but more of a thriller and like Misery and Get Out combined. This movie isn't bad but it isn't really all that good either and falls into the Netflix horror category so to speak. Octavia Spencer was really spectacular in her role and a big reason why this movie worked out. The plot is quite cheesy but not necessarily so easily predictable as you might think. In general this movie is a good saturday night watch if you're bored and have nothing better to do and if you have no expectations you won't get dissapointed.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Entertaining, if predictable
shelby_takai13 July 2019
A good number of people didn't like the film because of its predictability or lack of "horror" elements, but that wasn't the point of the movie, in my opinion. I liked that it was predictable. It's about a group of teenagers that want to fit in and disobey their parents, they obviously won't be making the smartest decisions. It was scary in the way it's so possible in real life. It doesn't have any supernatural elements that make it surreal, it's creepy and weird because it could happen in real life. I loved the realistic reactions the characters had to certain events. Even if the dialogue seemed odd sometimes, it was good acting and wonderful cinematography that kept the movie on its feet. It's better to go in with low expectations, but it really was a good movie to enjoy with friends!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Ma
Jo_Blo_Movie_Critic20 July 2019
8/10 - excellent thriller and Octavia Spencer truly killed this role - she really made me feel sorry for Sue Ann
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disaster
info-281-69078431 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Lol at the ppl who give this movie a 10. Must be the players or producers. So many loose ends. Sue Ann runs over Mercedes middle of the day no further investigation or anything. Sue Ann kills her enployer, no one gives a funk.... This movie was a disaster.
85 out of 172 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Waste of money
chanetsoto1 June 2019
This movie was a waste of time. The plot of it sounded good but the way they portrayed it was terrible. Wasted money going to see this movie. Went in with high expectations and left disappointed.
50 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Worst of 2019. Feels like made for TV Garbage.
Joetampa903 June 2019
Holy hell was this one exceptionally bad. First off do not go into this movie expecting any kind of scary moments or really any horror at all. Secondly outside of Spencer (passable not great) do not expect anything but horrible acting. Thirdly this script is laughbly bad and cringe. Ma even blatantly rips off other material. You want to sit through 65 minutes of dull poorly acted unrealistic buildup? Followed up with what may be one of the least satisfying payoffs in "horror" history? Then go ahead and see Ma. But if your sane and like decent fun horror or even good horror please stay far far away from this pile.
42 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A weak Horror movie elevated by the Ma
AdrenalinDragon31 May 2019
Amazing how one excellent performance can make a weak Horror movie like Ma more fun. Despite this, it still wasn't a good movie and nothing really made any sense. However, I kind of had a good time with it due to how over the top Octavia Spencer was in this. She elevated it significantly and overshadowed pretty much everyone else here. Any time she was on screen I was engaged into it. Everybody else pretty much sucks though, so any time she isn't in the spotlight the movie becomes generic and cliched. Characters make dumb decisions and stuff so that the plot can keep going and more issues arise, so that's pretty typical. There's alot of issues with the dialogue and writing, and how the story is structured too.

As for the other actors, they range from bad to functional at best and most of them are Teen stereotypes or one dimensional. There's a few forced Jumpscares in there just because the movie has to have Jumpscares I guess? Nothing too special about the music and surprisingly not much violence at all. To sum this movie up best, it's basically a sub-standard Horror movie that's elevated by one really good performance, and everyone else is lurking in the shadows. I did get a few laughs out of it though, both intentionally and unintentionally, so it's not the worst thing you could watch. However, if I tried to be objective about it rather than seeing it as a Guilty Pleasure, Ma would probably be somewhere around a 3 or 4/10 rating.
32 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Very disappointing--I thought this was supposed to be scary?
paul-allaer1 June 2019
"Ma" (2019 release; 99 min.) brings the story of Maggie and her HS friends, and Sue Ann. As the movie opens, Maggie and her mom arrive with their moving van somewhere in Ohio, Even though Maggie is new, she makes friends at school in no time. The "Group of Five" soon try to by alcohol, and eventually Sue Ann, a veterinary assistant who happens to walk by, agrees to buy the alcohol. More, Sue Ann suggest they hang out in her basement, and Maggie and her friends agree... At this point we're 10 min. into the movie but to tell you more of the plot would spoil your viewing experience, you'll just have to see for yourself how it all plays out.

Couple of comments: this is the latest Blumhouse Production, which has built a very strong niche for inexpensive but well-made scary and horror movies. This one is directed (and co-written) by Tate Taylor, who recently also gave us "The Girl On the Train". And last but not least, the movie's lead is none other than Octavia Spencer. When you take all elements into consideration, I felt reasonably certain that "Ma" might be worth checking out. Alas, I couldn't have been more wrong. From almost the get-go, things happen that are frankly implausible (5 high school kids accept invitation of complete stranger to "hang out in the basement", literally, and many more examples I will not mention so as not to spoil), In addition, there is nothing scary in the movie. I thought this was supposed to be scary movie? Octavia Spencer, bless her heart, tries the best that she can with the material that she is given (which isn't much). By the time we are an hour into the movie, I frankly had completely given up on this film, as I wasn't interested in any of the characters, and did I mention the movie isn't scary in the least? But I decided to stick it out until the very (bitter) end. I shouldn't have...

"Ma" opened wide this weekend. The Saturday matinee screening where I saw this at here in Cincinnati was attended okay but not great (about 15 people), although the picture perfect Spring weather may have been a factor. I cannot recommend "may" to anyone in good conscience, but of course I encourage you to check it out, be it in the theater, on VOD, or eventually on DVD/Blu-ray, and draw your own conclusion.
33 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good horror worth the watch ... So watch it 😃🔪
waynehorrorshow17 July 2019
Was a good horror, creepy a tad scary, but the story and plot made me enjoy it , wasent like my best horror halloween but it was great (People who made halloweeen made this) was all round good worth watching 👍
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Decent
neil-47610 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
In a small down-at-heel town, a middle-aged woman provides her basement as a venue for local underage highschoolers to get drunk.

We learn early on that, for all her bonhomie and helpfulness in facilitating underage drinking, Sue-Anne aka Ma has her own agenda for helping out these teens. Octovia Spencer, playing both with and against type at the same time has a nice line in dark and brooding glances as the plot and backstory both unwind.

This is a predictable story with some unpredictable wrinkles in it. Ma is a pleasing character - a monster who you sympathise with. And Ms Spencer is as good as always, in an unsettling role.

This is more a dark psychological thriller than a horror movie - it sits in a shared borderland. It's quite good.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Creepy Imitation of Small Town Life and the Livelong Effects of Bullying
jadediamond12 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
For those of us who grew up in small towns and feared being stuck there until death, for those of us who tried to leave and circumstances forced us to return home, for those of us who allowed one traumatizing moment in past hinder our growth and never moved passed it, this movie is a chilling reflection of life. It's simple tale of a group of bored high school kids in a small town with nothing to do, trying to have fun by getting an adult to buy them alcohol. They are constantly rejected until they run into Ma who at first rejects them, then when she sees the name of the van, she agrees to buy them alcohol and even let them eventually use her basement as a safe place to hangout, get drunk and get high. She relives her high school days vicariously through them and finally feels like one of the cool kids when she didn't fit in when she was in high school. She imagines the cute guy to be the cute guy she had a crush on in high school. When they reject her after she snaps at them for breaking one of her house rules, she becomes unhinged and begins her revenge on those who wronged her in the past.

Ma is a chilly tale of a woman whose mental growth was stunted from a cruel act done to her back in high school by the parents of the high school kids. Physically, she is a woman with a mediocre job, house, was married, and is a mother, but mentally is forever that socially awkward teenaged girl stuck forever in high school by a cruel prank she never got over. It was so cruel she tries to stunt her daughter's growth and intentionally makes her sick in order to stop her from going to school and facing the mean kids like she did when she was in high school. For those individuals who have their lives together, this movie is mediocre and idiotic. For those individuals who don't and let the sins of the past become their whole life or no matter how hard they try to better themselves, they continue to fail and return to their hometown and face the ridicule of adult bullies who rejoice in their failure, it's scary accurate and kinda depressing if you are in that predicament.

It's a simple movie with so many hidden, deeper meanings. There is even one scene where Ma paints the only black friend of the high school kids in white face and tells him there can only be one black friend. For bullies who bullied weaker kids in high school or elementary school, their lives go on without a worry of the effects of their bullying did to those kids they tormented. Sometimes those kids dust off what happened to them in high school and move on with their lives. Then there are those like Ma, who are forever tortured about being bullied as a child. And the cruel prank done to her was pretty traumatizing. It is a crazy reminder of how as children and adults we need to aware of how actions and treatment of others mentally affects them. Otherwise our children must suffer for the sins of our past.
22 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pretty Good
davidsaunders8611 June 2019
Octavia Spencer is so talented. She nailed it. A very suspenseful drama.. I went into this not expecting much but it was really entertaining. Worth a watch go check it out.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Another hit for Blumhouse
justin-fencsak9 June 2019
After seeing the trailer for Ma numerous times before R rated movies, I thought this movie would be soso...turned out it's very good watching. The pace is good yet short and the soundtrack is a mix of different decades of pop. Juliette Lewis is hot and so are the teenyboppers that are the victim of Octavia Spencer's title character of the same name. Go see this movie while it's in theatres..it will scare the living daylights out of you!!!
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome movie!
romeovision20029 June 2019
Ma (2019) was an excellent movie. So many scary movies about white males as the lead. This movie was a refreshing alternative since it had a black female as the horrifying lead character. The movie is definitely underrated by critics. The fans are showing their strong interest by the movie sales! I already pre-ordered a copy. I hope to see more!
13 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
She aint yo mama!
kathyd77720 August 2019
This movie was better than i thought it would be after hearing so many divided reviews. To be honest i watched it because Juliette Lewis was in it but i kept on watching because of Octavia Spencer. I would've given more stars if it didn't make me feel so claustrophobic and dirty.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
See Godzilla instead
veselik-227352 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I took my son and his friend to see this. I love a good horror/thriller movie. Unfortunately, this isn't one. The ONLY jump scare in this film occurs about an hour in and that was it. Wasn't really much of a jump scare, actually, and did I mention is was the ONLY one? Then there is a weak SAW movie scene that ends up being more like a PG-13 thriller where some teens get slightly stabbed or have their lips sewn closed (sounds worse than it was, and none of the teens were killed). Octavia Spencer must have agreed to do this movie because they gave her an exec producer credit.
35 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Ma. Sub-par.
BA_Harrison31 May 2019
Considering the popularity of Get Out and Us, I think we're going to be seeing a lot more horror films with prominent roles for black actors. I sure hope they're better than this latest offering from producers Blumhouse: Ma is tired and predictable, stretches plausibility, and, worst of all, is not in the least bit scary.

The intended subject of terror is an overweight middle-aged woman named Sue Ann (Octavia Spencer) who befriends a group of high-school students, allowing them to party in the basement of her house in the middle of nowhere. But Ma, as Sue Ann is called by the kids, has a secret agenda, one that anyone versed in horror movies will have no problem guessing.

Ma borrows heavily from both Carrie and Misery, Sue Ann being part Carrie White (mercilessly bullied at school by her peers) and part Annie Wilkes (nutty plump female psycho, handy with a syringe), but nowhere near as effective as either. Spencer tries her best to instill a sense of fear in the viewer, but the trite nature of the plot-hole ridden script, the pedestrian direction, and the plodding pace rob the film of any tension.

I have no doubt that if it hadn't been for the massive box-office success of Us, we would have seen Ma going straight to DVD/streaming service.

4/10, although I nearly dropped it down to 3/10 for having the nerve to steal the 'ornaments in the wrong place' plot device from Misery, and not even do anything of note with it.
36 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Plastic Prada You Have Never Been More Wrong
jericw161 June 2019
Go watch a Hitchcock film. I'm sure you haven't and probably won't since you adore this steaming pile of a "movie". Don't watch, worst thing to come out in 2019 so far.
29 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed