The Perfection (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
430 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
The trailer makes u believe that it is another film on infectious disease....
Fella_shibby28 May 2019
But this is a solid thriller with enuff twists n turns. The acting is top notch. Do not read more about this film or the climax might get spoiled.
48 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Defintely not your run-of-the-mill thriller
EpimetheusA127 May 2019
This film changes at least twice. The first twist will catch you off guard, for sure. Luckily I went in without knowing anything about this film. It's different than most films and the story is a bit addicting, albeit nonsensical. This is a thriller to have fun with but defintely not to be taken seriously. Don't expect some groundbreaking plot line or characterization but know that there are plenty of twists and turns to keep you hooked until the end. And if you don't focus too much on it's ridiculous storyline, the film is actually quite fun.

It does get gruesome at parts. Don't say you haven't been warned.
116 out of 165 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Perfection?
maaz299924 May 2019
Had to write a review because people are giving it negative reviews and calling it a feminist propaganda movie. First of all, I'm a guy and I really found most of the movie compelling. The cast does a superb job. Specially Alison Williams. The movie also goes in a very different direction and kudos to the writers and director to make such a different thriller. The only nitpick I have is that the movie has a very weird way of showing flashbacks. I found it annoying. But, the movie is a good netflix thriller.
260 out of 406 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The mind games this movie plays...
SheNamedCoconut26 May 2019
This was a pleasure to watch. You change who you want the protagonist to be multiple times. The mind games this movie plays with your psyche.. Keeps me wanting more. It's a definite watch
97 out of 149 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Gross but good
ryannfortune24 May 2019
This movie was bizarrely gruesome and somehow hilarious. Some weird twists and a very dark underlying story of "The Perfection." Probably would not recommend to those who have uneasy stomachs. Felt the need to write a review after seeing some on here are instantly making it political. Enjoyed the movie for what it was.
165 out of 266 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
First time I've been surprised
kittyhead-226 May 2019
I was given the advice to go into this movie totally blind. I am so glad I did. This is the first time I've been totally surprised and didn't know where the movie was taking me the entire time. That's so rare. It was executed well, the acting was spot on, and right when I thought it was going to get cliche, or boring, or cheesy, it flipped the switch and again I was surprised. This blended multiple genres seamlessly. It was creative and I was totally engaged throughout.
86 out of 136 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
The Perfection: Far from perfect
Platypuschow25 May 2019
What a weird creature this new Netflix movie is, I went in knowing absolutely nothing and walked away wishing I had.

Starring Allison "Get Out"Williams, Steven Weber and Logan Browning it has no problems with its cast at all, solid performers who deliver great performances here.

It's a strange little tale that would be hard to describe on here without giving away spoilers. Let's just say it twists, it turns, it provides flashbacks and I found it utterly unpredictable which is at least something in its favor.

The production values are great, the soundtrack is near flawless, so why the low rating? Well sadly as great as everything else is (And it really is) the plot/script fall apart in a truly impressive way.

The more you think about the plot afterwards the more bafflingly ridiculous it gets. So it doesn't matter if the cast are great, the movie looks good and the soundtrack delivers if the story is a raggedy mess.

If you've seen it take a moment, think about it, think about the decisions that people make and the whole think becomes rather offensively silly.

Memorable, but not even remotely enjoyable.

The Good:

Steven Weber and Logan Browning

Looks and sounds the part

The Bad:

The plot is an abominable mess
164 out of 290 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Nice little thriller
rgu-2974425 May 2019
Hey, why all the negative reviews. This is just a story. And pretty well done. Good acting, unique story, and a bit of fun. Not a blockbuster, but well done and entertaining, even for a couple early 60s. It's a suspense, thriller, horror, with a comedic twist. Ignore the bad reviews, sit back and have a bit of fun. Life's too short.
96 out of 173 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Welp, that was unexpected
tiffanymattzela26 May 2019
So it's not what I thought it would be. It's not as good as I'd hoped. But as soon as I realized how ridiculous it was going to be I was able to strap in and enjoy it.

The acting was quite good. Special effects were extra - in a B movie kind of way. Again, I believe that this is done purposely. I absolutely think that this style was intentional and I think we're seeing it more and more. I think that a milder example would be Get Out.

Watch if you liked: Get Out, Us, Antichrist
62 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Great setup, then a bunch of stupidity
raduargento26 May 2019
I was in love with this move for the first 20 minutes or so. After that it just got lazy and rather than going for what would make sense, it decided to go in an entirely different direction that came off as not only predictable but offensive in the generic and popular way that it approached it.

It's been a while since I've been so disappointed in a movie. What a way to waste an interesting premise. I initially was thinking "Wow, I can't wait to recommend this" and by the time I realized what was happening I thought "Glad I waited."

Thanks for wasting my time. If you want to watch this, watch the first 20 minutes or so and then turn it off. That's the best part of this. After that it just becomes a terribly generic and contrived movie that just embarrasses itself at every turn with how poorly thought out it is.
181 out of 349 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The Pointlessness
pomeu-6385027 May 2019
I feel bad for everyone involved in this clunker. This script needed SO much work before it was shot. This movie seems more like an idea that was workshopped in front of the cameras.

The dialog is atrocious, the story doesn't move forward coherently and every single character is a despicable, conniving villainous c---. There's nobody to root for and I could care less about what happened to any of them.
129 out of 252 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great watch
N-whymark28 July 2019
Read so many negative comments decided to see what the fuss was. I enjoyed it. Few twists and turns. Few sick parts . Great acting great ending and worth a second watch 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Cut it out
rentprop26 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Why are movies and shows on Netflix trying so hard to be edgy, and their attempt of trying to be the first to do something seems like they are just recycling other people's work. Also, if Charlotte wanted to protect Lizzie why didn't she just kidnap her and help her "see the light". Viewers would have thought she was torturing her but in reality she was performing electroconvulsive therapy that worked on her to not be brainwashed anymore. She chose the weirdest route of all which was to make her cut off her hand which is a form of abuse. This movie is all over the place and Netflix needs to stop trying so hard.
135 out of 272 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Very disappointing
FrenchEddieFelson15 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Another movie with a dummy scenario. It's really disappointing because, even if it's definitely not a masterpiece, the film is rather well done and well interpreted. Nevertheless, it's crippled by a script polluted with a few completely far-fetched plot twists.

So... when Lizzie cuts her right arm with a butcher knife, Charlotte has a satisfied or even perverse look. In fact, we may think that she acts so out of jealousy. Moreover, everything is done to make the audience thinks in this way. But, this behavior was driven by empathy and kindness: she tried to save her new best friend. Of course!... Uh ... how to say it gently? That's desperately appalling!

With a scriptwriter worthy of this profession, the movie might have been immeasurably better.
38 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not exactly what I was expecting.....
bangel332226 May 2019
I sat down expecting a horror film, and the first half of film seems to be heading in that direction. However it's more of a psychological drama/thriller with a few twists. I have to say the acting was good, and the storyline itself unexpected but decent. However I would have liked to have seen this film go in a totally different direction. The ending was a little cliche for me, they weren't very imaginative there. It really had the potential to be something so much better than it was.
33 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Mean Girls 10.0
moverton-9358826 May 2019
Crazy movie ; predictable until it's not! Very sinister movie
50 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Utter rubbish
peterb-4926 May 2019
Truly one of the few movies that I have seen with zero redeeming qualities. Absurd plot, terrible acting, full of plot holes. Come on Netflix you can and should do much better.
93 out of 205 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Absolutely Amazing
bobbylebay26 May 2019
...amazing that this trash made it to production.

Do yourself a HUGE favor and pass this one over.
122 out of 276 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
intense
natcalgary27 May 2019
Where I thought it was going but a fun movie.

Enjoyed the twists and turns along the way

great acting great story

7.3
42 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Decent acting potential...wasted
dpoland-7658925 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Don't bother! Started off interesting and then took a complete nose dive.

I have enjoyed the two leading actresses in other series and films but I'm not sure why they signed on to this. The story is off to a good start but instead of turning into more of a Black Swan direction it just gets bizarre. And perverted. I for one am sick of sexual violence/abuse being casually used as a driver of a plot. I'd give it a zero if possible.

Horrible, just plain horrible.
79 out of 177 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not Perfect, But Intriguing Warning: Spoilers
I'll say SPOILERS just in case, but I'll try not to include any. Just better safe than sorry.

I like to find elements of other films in newer ones so in this case I would say The Perfection pays homage to Black Swan and Whiplash. Now, while this film does not really contend with the caliber of those two Academy award winning films, what puts it in common is the desire of the teacher to infect perfection, and the desire of the pupil to have perfection be infected on them. It's an interesting and intriguing concept that does work very well in the psychological horror genre. Granted, Whiplash was not considered a psychological horror, the borderline insanity of the instructor could convince one of such.

The Perfection establishes the notion of wanted to be perfect and the pain of being replaced when not. Much like Black Swan, you see the turn of the "replaced" with the naivety of "the next best thing," the insane lengths at which the former wants to bring the latter down, but the motive then becomes the turning point to create a brand new characterization of what was once believed to be the antagonist. The realization is shown a bit hastily, with a visual headache inducing "rewind" series that almost pays homage to Darron Aronofsky again with his visual cuts in Requiem for a Dream. But if you can get past that, the story moves along with its new turns fairly well. The bad guy is not who you think.

Others on here may be unsatisfied because the film is not what the trailers probably made you believe it was going to be, or that the film was too predictable and my response to those two points would be: if a trailer makes you believe and lures you in with one thing, and the film shows you something completely different, how is that such a bad thing? I would think good storytelling is when multiple points can be approached within the same story, and not to mention that then if the trailer wasn't deceiving, then of course the film was predictable as most films then could be from just their trailers. In 2019, especially in the horror genre and if you have been exposed to most psychological thrillers/horrors of the last 30+ years, most are predictable because there's only so much you can really do anymore in storytelling. It's how the audience is brought to that conclusion that's intriguing.

The closest thing this film was to perfection was its own title, but it's subject, characters, and twists were what kept it somewhat original and for that effort, I give it 6/10. Don't expect much, go into it with an open mind, and let yourself decide.
34 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Netflix Orginals starting to break apart
doruksen125 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I would say "awful", characters were terribly illogical. There is a some kind of music school where children get abused, and the main child gets greedy for revenge.

I did not like this movie at all, expecting to see something more realistic. The effects used to make the movie was shame. Especially last fighting scene was terrible. Netflix originals should stop making movies like that.

And i should say if in a doubt, do not watch.
68 out of 158 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
So awful it ended up being good!
hughep117 June 2019
That ending... haha what an amazingly awful/somewhere great film experience!
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Had no idea what the hell was going on 90% of the time, but didn't mind in the slightest. Good movie.
kaylee-nelson217 June 2019
I went into this movie with no expectations. While I think the script could've used a little fine tuning (lol), the acting was great, the twists were great, and it definitely kept me on my toes.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Twisted story
hadeeltaqwa26 May 2019
I watch a lot of thriller horror movies. This was not one of the best but but it had a very twisted plots and in a way was unique. I loved it. Didn't think of the story that much tbh. I felt like it had like few different stories. Just sit back and enjoy it. So much better than most of the high rated horror movies these days.
34 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed