"Tell Me a Story" Chapter 1: Hope (TV Episode 2018) Poster

(TV Series)

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Good start
schubej-127 November 2018
Enjoyed episode one, especially Beth's take on a world in which there is mayhem, murder and hateful people. What happens to her in this episode is ironic. The criminals wearing pig masks, the character of Kayla who is a confused "party girl" and Gabe who is easily influenced into a world of drug usage are all disturbing. Through all of this are individuals who try to do right and are continually challenged. The characters are divided among the innocents, the bad and the confused and I found myself caring about some and looking for others to be brought to justice.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Opening Sequence was Cool...
xanyquarllzya31 January 2019
...All downhill from that point on. Political leanings needlessly added. Hate the lame attempts (Always so in your face obvious) to convert followers to their way of thinking. Turns my stomach in much the same way as a Jehovah's witness at the door does. Then the BLATANT sex. If you have a good story, you don't need all the nudity to capture the viewers attention. So over it....
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Tell Me A Story - If Only!
TK322 November 2018
I waited patiently for this to premiere, with high hopes. Alas, there is no "story" here. This also has nothing to do with a retelling of fairy tales - that was completely misleading. Most of the episode was spent taking digs at Trump. Do not waste any viewing time on this.
15 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
You could make a good drinking game, for anti-Trump rhetoric.
CindyH27 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Usual Disclaimer... Caution: *May* contain spoilers.

I watched the entire series, so don't get me wrong, I actually really like the show but I had to make myself move forward after the first episode, which I didn't like all that much. I found Beth whiny and full of disgust, but I get that this is how she felt and I value freedom of speech, even if I disagree. In the terms of eating a quality steak, this was way overdone. I'm talking beef jerky here. Take a drink every time she complains about the world and you'll forget all about her because you'll get totally wasted.

That said, the story moves forward quickly and we're introduced to a lot of characters that do not seem connected, but will. As is usual, this is the introductory episode that requires getting you hooked. The action begins quickly so that is a definite plus.

There are hints of things to come, but they are incredibly subtle. Pay attention to surroundings in later episodes, art, posters in offices, et al.

The show itself centers around 3 stories that are supposed to be like modern fairy tales. The Three Little Pigs, Little Red Riding Hood and Hansel and Gretel. The first two stories are obvious (Pigs, Red Riding Hood) but the third takes some time before you see the connection to Hansel and Gretel. That comes later.

I must say I love the actors involved and I think the acting is superb. You get to see points of view of the bad guys as well as the good guys, which is different than the usual formula. It's not about being sympathetic to the bad guys, it's about seeing their point of view. Their motives and their feelings about crime.

It's the suspense that made me want to continue the most. I am a steadfast Alfred Hitchcock fan and this is something that I believe might have impressed him. They build suspense slowly but they don't take it too far. That is, I hate films and shows that leave you with more questions than answers. Like Lost anyone?

Lost was an epic show until the writers lost sight of where the show was going and it turned into a weird failure. I can promise you that this won't happen.

Finally, there are so many tropes that you could make a drinking game out of it, but there is a reason tropes exist. Everything has been done already and you have to piece a plot together in a show like this and tropes are unavoidable.

This is a show where Lost meets Pretty Little Liars meets Prison Break meets 24. Phew! It's pretty darn good and the politics eventually is toned down.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
6
Edvis-199720 March 2019
Didn't find it something interesting or unique. Simple,basic TV Series. I was hoping a lot more...
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Couldn't finish
jhallmc5 December 2019
Acting was so terrible I couldn't get through the first episode. Usually I give shows a chance and will watch a few episodes but couldn't with this- which is a shame because I really wanted to like it and like a few of the actors/actresses in it
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
it is getting interesting but it takes little time
leonidasstathopoulos27 December 2019
Once you start the first episode,it just spontaneously comes the thought that this is gonna be another teenage follish story,and the problems of marriage of all couples Suddenly we have a turn of events from a bunch of robbers killing a woman through gunfire,a hotel room accident,and the sinister hidden face of a young teacher
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
How can I watch this??
boersyana24 August 2019
I don't know where to click to watch it. can anyone explain this to me please?
0 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed