The Last Laugh (2019) Poster

(I) (2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
72 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Richard Dreyfuss Doesn't Disappoint
cpbirdie12 January 2019
Of course I'm going to watch a movie starring Richard Dreyfuss and Chevy Chase. And I wasn't disappointed. It was funny with a message, but not so bleak as say "The Bucket List". I totally enjoyed this, yet another, movie about not getting older, but being old. I never think I'm going to enjoy these movies, too close to home, but this one was outstanding to me because of Richard Dreyfus. He always excels, whether in a dramatic role or a comedic role such as Bob in "What About Bob". He is wonderfully believable in this as a former standup comedian. Chevy is mostly the straight guy, and good at it, but I miss his goofiness. One restaurant scene allowed him some schtck and it was hilarious. The writing was excellent; the jokes didn't fall flat except when they were supposed to. And who doesn't like a good road trip? Could have done without the lengthy musical scene - nobody sings very well in it and it felt out of place with the rest of the story. Loved the cameo appearances by some great, old, comics who are still very much relevant today. Another good, watchable flick from Netflix.
34 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Sentimental Memory of Great Actors
QuickMilt15 January 2019
Past memories of stars I grew up with and how I remembered them in all the great movies they stared in. Sort of a blast from the past which I quite enjoyed seeing them act again from a long absence on the BIG SCREEN. It was great to see Andie MacDowell, Richard Dreyfuss and Chevy Chase (and many uncredited actors) in a wonderful movie that shows a people can still act and do a wonderful job at it. I hope many other viewer find it as enjoying seeing these actors make it big again an also see some amazing country side and with some pretty good jokes on the side. Great actors.... but how they have aged since I last saw them in recent movies.
26 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A happy movie
mstubbsegginton16 January 2019
I thought this was a happy movie that made me smile as much as it did laugh
21 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Grumpy Older Men!!
vandrist15 January 2019
Richard Dreyfuss steals the show in this movie while Chevy Chase holds the clipboard. Most of the comedy is by the former. This movie is filled with dad jokes, and if you like them as much as I do then you'll enjoy this as well. Mildly entertaining with some parts that drag on a bit too long. Not as bad as I've experienced from Netflix films.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Really enjoyable
grahambutcher16 January 2019
I like both actors, both hilarious in their own right. This was an enjoyable movie, made me laugh and think....Dreyfuss and Chase worked brilliantly....both characters were believable. The shrooms scene was great. This film gave me a warm fuzzy feeling.
15 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Classic Comedy
mksmith116 January 2019
Classic comedians showing a new generation that being funny doesn't mean you have to be foul mouthed.
18 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good comedy film with a bit of tragic drama, it features popular veteran actors
svhot23 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
"The Last Laugh" definitely made me laugh a lot, and that is the main reason that I enjoyed watching it. It features 3 popular veteran actors - Richard Dreyfuss, Chevy Chase, and Andre Mcdowell. First of all, let me highlight the fact that I am not a senior citizen, I am in my 30s right now. However, I still experienced pure entertainment and delight while watching "The Last Laugh".

The veteran actors in this great movie definitely teach (indirectly) the younger generation of movie-makers and actors how they can do clean comedy ; that is, no need to have foul-mouthed dialogues, unnecessary explicit scenes and goofy sexual references unless the script really demands it. The other thing they teach us is how to do good, natural comedy without going over-the-top.

Furthermore, the screenplay was nicely plotted and well-paced. The direction was right on target. However, the long musical scene was unnecessary, it should have been deleted on the editing table. I highly recommend this movie to all viewers, especially to those who enjoy watching natural, realistic type of comedies.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Disappointing with some nice moments
icymi-3790618 January 2019
I thought it started out okay, nothing special but a typical Going in Style, Sunshine Boys, Grumpy Old Men type story about old people coping with the adjustment to their retirement years. And it worked fairly well as a buddy picture, road trip movie about keeping dreams and hope alive no matter what one's age was. However then it decided to try to shoehorn in a love story, a few musical numbers, as well as predictable dramatic plot line and ended up a muddled mess.

Richard Dreyfuss as others have mentioned, did very well as the comedian who gave up his career for his family... I thought the roles might be reversed as Chevy had more experience doing live comedy but instead he tried to rehash a version of his uptight Clark Griswold persona playing his agent and Andie McDowell was wasted as the love interest.

So bottom line, if you're looking for the next Kominsky Method or Grace and Frankie... you are probably better off moving on to the next on your queue.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not Much To Actually Laugh At
morganmf15 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
OK I am 69 and don't mind admitting that I sometimes like to have a lightweight comedy to laugh at or maybe even shed a tear or two over. And seeing the names of the two main leads, I thought this could have some quality. Well the acting was pretty good but the writing was terribly lacking. Just too much feel-good factor based on what - almost nothing. What comedy audiences start by giving extended applause to old (or young) comedians they've never seen before? That happened several times it seemed. The worst part was the ending when he makes it onto TV and the audience are falling about laughing - at what? We don't actually hear any jokes, just a few basic platitudes. There is so little substance here. Plus Andie McDowell spends 99% of her time throwing huge toothy grins, for no reason. And manages one single tear at the end. This is a dumb movie, a cheap shot at handing us emotions ready-made on a plate. Pass.
21 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Good idea with bad execution
williamjpenfold23 January 2019
Chevy Chase should not be the lead in a movie like this. There were numerous times where the camera would follow him around looking dazed for no particular reason. The script is rather flat and the direction is all over the place. This is a film that cried out for a strong director to take control.

Compare this film to the vastly superior The Kominsky Method starring Michael Douglas and Alan Arkin and you will see what The Last Laugh could have been..
14 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
No Matthau and Lemmon.
quickonamac18 January 2019
Was hoping for something light-hearted and funny from a new comedy duo. This fell flat on its face. Poorly written. Poor character development. "C" grade editing. Bad jokes. No emotion. Not believable. Completely unnecessary 4-letter words, to the point of being token 4-letter words. You guys are above that. These two have the potential to be an ongoing duo in movies, but they'll need better material. Having grown up with their movies, our age group needs more boomer movies from actors like Chase and Dreyfuss. I expected better. They should have expected better.
17 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good feeling
njorgo119 January 2019
It's always nice to see these old classic actors in new movies. It doesn't have to be a lot of action, cause the actors give the movies a deep and a meaningful touch. Watch it and enjoy.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Lovable movie but choppy as crazed karate master
donttouchmeprimate17 January 2019
I will keep this very brief as there isn't a great deal to say.

The cast were great, the plot was well meaning with a warm and fuzzy feeling.

The only thing that really lowers the score for this movie is how a LOT/MOST of the scenes are just mashed together and it really makes the story look messy, sometimes actors deliver a line in such a way that you can tell they simply cut a 3 minute scene down to 44 seconds. That's all though.

All in all, it's a nice and easy to watch movie, just try and forgive the bad editing and you'll be fine
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
The getting old laughs don't last
brianaleclaire26 January 2019
Richard Dreyfus isn't bad. He was so over the top when younger; age has mellowed him out. Chevy Chase never could act and this vehicle allows for only one or two of the facial expressions that made us laugh. Andie McDowell is okay but cast completely to type and unoriginal in the extreme.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful
bcarsonmail8 February 2019
What a waste of electricity! Don't use up resources watching this. Absolutely nothing good to say about this. No laughs, weak plot, charmless cardboard-cut-out characters. Totally predictable, apart from not predicting how bad it was. A movie about washed-up has-beens acted by washed-up has-beens. Painful.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Boring
davenmaxy13 January 2019
I was really looking forward to this movie because of Chevy Chase & Richard Dreyfuss but I found it boring and a very flat movie, just wasn't for me, some may like it but I didn't
25 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
weed and cancer....WHY?
delidimoudisp26 January 2019
First sorry for my english.second,why the hell all american movies deal with weed pot and that garbage cancer.i don't feel relax when i hear from a movie the word cancer.especially a comedy.I rate it with 4 stars only because i want you to take me review serious,if i was put one star they will call me hater....

p.s . the movie sucks.
12 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Chevy Chase should have stayed retired
Ann_Jones_Atlanta12 January 2019
I tried really hard to enjoy this movie. The cast seemed like an incredible pairing for a good old fashioned funny movie. All I got was a lot of Chevy Chase walking around looking bewildered. Wide eyed and mouth opened, he reminded me of an old broken man. Save your time and watch something else.
13 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Sunday afternoon movie
otanerarm14 January 2019
Nice to see two big names of cinema on a comedy scenario. Nice and easy to see and funny enough
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Perspective on Aging and priorities
slkanger-113 January 2019
I really enjoyed this. Age is just a number and they go on the road to fulfill this comics dreams. His first agent and reunite and agent helps him with his quest. Especially fulfill the dream he never got to complete 50 years before.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
THE LAST LAUGH
hotwheelerd13 January 2019
I Give this Movie a 10 out of 10 WHY? Because it was a Great FILM of Course IT WAS UNDERRATED THE COMEDY WAS PRETTY CLEAN. A Older Man retired and his Older Friend. What made it Interesting both in a Retirement home. The one MAN JOB in LIFE WAS to Help People get work in LIVE Performances. So HIS OLD time Buddy in the Old Folks HOME. WAS his very first person that he got a job for. So ha why NOT end your Last Job with the First Man you Started with. That's what made the MOVIE Sweet, Loving, Funny, Charming, and it Helped using 2-GREAT Old time ACTORS from the 70s and 80s. Chevy Chase and Richard Dreyfuss those 2-WORKED REALLY GREAT WITH EACH OTHER. It's CRAZY NOW that there Both in there 70s. Time flys BYE these Days. Anyways anyone hearing that this Movie sucks. Don't listen to the Media JUST WATCH THE FILM. IT IS A TERRIFIC FILM.
12 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious
cindyp-7615 January 2019
This was hilarious and poignant. Love the predictable plot and the actors.
11 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boring
irishjenna16 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Coming from someone who grew up with the movies of these 2 actors I was highly disappointed. I found this film to be extremely boring, not funny, and emotionless. Just a bunch of one liner grandpa jokes. There is no way he would have been a popular comedian in the end. He is on tv in front of a large audience and says "You may recognize me from America's got dentures". Uh, what? He rambles on about how there needs to be funny people everywhere, at the grocery store, the dentist office...then thanks Ed Sullivan, or whatever, and says he will see him soon. He gets a standing ovation and everyone in the audience is in tears because they are laughing so hard. Laughing at what? I will never know!
13 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Must See.....!!!!
eaglespiritnews-5694314 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Beautifully acted... of course, you wouldn't expect anything less from this trio, Richard Dreyfus, Chevy Chase, and Andre MacDowell. This movie is a must see for anyone who is over the age of 60, giving up on life, has been diagnosed with a life threatening disease, or has a friend or family member who fits one of these situations. So that includes almost everyone. The movie is hilarious as well as moving. It also highlights why some people facing life threatening situations or end of life expectancy might make, what would seem to you as, rash decisions. Watch this movie to learn and understand why and possibly how to deal with it. There is nothing morbid about this movie whatsoever. Are you kidding me?? With Chevy Chase and Richard Dreyfus at the helm? No, it is uniquely designed. Rather it is quite interesting and funny. Watch and enjoy!
10 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
This was pretty bad
rvdear18 January 2019
Wanted to like this and hoped it would get better. Couldn'ti get through it.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed