Hang Ups (TV Series 2018– ) Poster

(2018– )

User Reviews

Review this title
16 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Stick with it
chrisjwilkinson-3655525 August 2018
The first episode made me chuckle a few times but overall seemed disappointing. However, having now seen the next two episodes I'm happy to report that it gets much better. The cast is amazing yet all the big names play their parts well without seeming to be there just for novelty value. It's based on the Lisa Kudrow series Web Therapy and I can't comment on how it compares as I've not seen that. It might change your opinion of this if you have, but do give it a try.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Really good.
lornacdonohoe25 August 2018
Ep. 1-4 really good. Original, well written and put together. Very believable, in a surreal sort of way. Later episodes increasingly manic and farce like, people being shuffled around, looked in rooms etc. Needs to slow down a bit and use Charles Dance, Richard E Grant more.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
3rd Rock Anarchy!
Fabfor225 October 2018
This is just ok at the start but keeps building until an absolutely hilarious and anarchic climax to season one. It took great discipline on our part to limit the "Scotsman" sketch to about four replays! Brilliant! Treat yourself.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fabulous
barrygriggs-4713421 October 2018
Just watched all 6 episodes on All 4. Really funny.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best piece of tv comedy in a very long time!
littlebettyjo12 September 2018
Totally love it. Snappy, sparky, mad mix of characters. I love the subtle facial expressions of the main character ranging from mild discomfort to all out dispair. Brilliant cast. I literally laugh all the way through it. Excellent writing. More please!
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Some good parts but needs more laughs
saintetiennelee8 August 2018
Story of Richard Pitt trying to make a success of his online therapy business from home while chaos ensues all around him. All star cast with some funny parts but just not enough laughs in the first episode. I'm guessing the therapy parts are improvised. It seemed that way. Sarah Hadlands character was the best bit of the first episode for me, very funny and nothing like her character in Miranda, which is a good thing!
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Is this just Web Therapy?
shain_dickinson8 August 2018
Incredibly similar format to the hilarious Lisa Kudrow 2011 series Web Therapy. Stephen Mangan is good but the cameo's make this. Only one episode in but worth a watch for some proper LOL moments.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Hang Ups
lexielewis17 October 2018
I love this show. It has great laughs. His facial expressions are so good. I will keep watching.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Watched all 6 in a row
alexandranicol5 January 2019
Good ongoing premis, all over funny. Love the face-to-face time
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant
laurenbtobias19 November 2018
Haven't seen something this funny in a long time. So clever, slick, brilliant use of cameos, use of webcam, every actor is hilarious, please please make another series and don't listen to the negative reviews on here who I bet don't have a decent sense of humour! And I love Starsky and Hutch too!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dreary, tired and very unfunny!
bob-weber9 August 2018
A big struggle to make it through the first episode, thinking surely it must get better, but unfortunately not. Chaotic, crude, not a laugh to be had, and just very old hat. A bore from start to finish.
9 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great show!
shepyanks10 June 2019
Original, so freakin funny, killer cast chemistry. Just so damn good.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Self deprecating crap
kingwyatt26 August 2018
A remake of the U.S. show Web Therapy which was witty and humorous this show is only similar in that it is based on a web therapist. However the therapist character this remake is based on is inept as a therapist and a failure in life. The writers try to drag sex into to script to make it interesting but the script is not humorous or interesting.
3 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Possibly the worst TV show I've ever seen
misterjones-7490930 August 2018
I'm sort of a cinema buff, so to put a title like that means a lot to me. More than that I registered on IBDb just to leave this review and give rating to this piece of garbage (I used this website for a decade but never had to go to such extremes)

The problem for me is not in how well-made the show is, but its content. It's the most annoying and detestable piece of art I've ever seen and mind you, I'm fan of mockumentaries and especially The Office (both US and UK versions). The never-ending ugly ramblings and faces are killing me. The topics they choose to cover and jokes are not interesting, funny or entertaining. The main character is one of the most unpleasant creatures I've seen on earth. It's such a shame they wasted so much money and talent on this dirt.

To those who may find my review biased, believe me, it's not. I have a huge interest in psychology, I'm used to all sorts of discussions. It's just that the content is extremely unoriginal and ugly. They wanted to make every second of this show as noisy and despicable as possible and succeeded.

Also it's like they tried to copy USA's TV-style. With all its glossiness, speed and cartoonish characters. It makes it all even worse.

There are not so many things in art that make you lose your faith in humanity. This one does it perfectly.
4 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
My arse has improvised better dialogue.
nearlymellow15 September 2018
This show, at the time of writing this, has released 5 episodes, all of which I have watched. Bear in mind more are to come, and perhaps, miraculously, something will change the fundamental format of this show which will make it less tedious, unfunny and repetitive as it currently is.

However, within the first episode, the viewer is left with a clear image of what's to come, and, thus far, I don't see Hang Ups doing a Spin Around.

I was enticed to watch this little show by a keen interest in new sitcoms, an appreciation for Richard E Grant and the typical excitement of the rumours of all the cameos to be included. I must say, my faith in all three has diminished since.

The problem with Hang Ups (and there are many) for me, first and foremost, is its childishness. I could compare it to Friday Night Dinner in the way it uses AWKWARDNESS and PECULIARITY to create a... laugh? I'm no stranger to the feeling of shock consequently turning into humour, as in A League of Gentlemen, but I think this whole effect is lost when the show is glossy bright- unrealistically bright- and very fast paced. The main character, Richard the So-Called Therapist, is constantly introduced to weird and wonderful victims of his Skype therapy sessions. And either he goes through with the surrealism of the encounter perfectly naturally, or he acts uncomfortably confused.

The acting is very good, as should be expected from such a cast. I believe it's all improvised, and the improv is decent in terms of consistency (each character has their own ark and backstory), but there's no hugely engaging or funny moments in any of the short clips, or 'sessions', with each character. There's a funny tone, you could say, but real jokes and witticisms are completely missing. I suppose it's too much to ask these professional, well-travelled actors and comedians to come up with something innovative to fill our 30 minutes with. As I've said, I like Richard E Grant, but even his segments don't please me.

One innovation, if I could call it that, in Hang Ups is that all the scenes are filmed from the POV of the webcam of whatever laptop, phone or tablet the character being filmed is using. Most of the time. Sometimes a good enough plot device can't be devised to have X and Y be in front of a laptop, so the directors say 'sod it', and just film normally instead. This isn't as confusing as it may sound for the viewer, but, considering its Hang Ups' USP, it's surprising that they'd throw it away so carelessly.

All in all, this show's watchable. I might continue to absorb each new episode from a small desire to see how the plot will conclude, but never would I call what I've previously watched as 'comedy', and certainly not comedy above the maturity of a 17-year-old psychology student.

If you really, REALLY like Green Wing, Hang Ups might be worth a watch-- but otherwise, stay away.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
So-So comedy with occasional laughs and unsympathetic characters
douglasgcoc28 August 2018
I think the show is OK overall with occasional funny moments from Richard's therapy interactions. The various actors are good but play unpleasant people on the whole (Richard maybe not too bad) making this comedy a bit bleak regarding human nature and a bit.....depressing!
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed