The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance (TV Series 2019– ) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
323 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Do some research first....
kevilar31 August 2019
Just to address some points made in a few of the review below... 1) lbinki666 complains about the British accents in the series, compared to the "American" ones of the original film. Both Stephen Garlick (who voiced Jen) and Lisa Maxwell (who voiced Kira) are English... as were all of the voice-actors for the original film. 2) petera00 describes this a rip-off of Harry Potter. The Dark Crystal was released in 1982; the first Harry Potter book - which is hardly the most original of things anyway - wasn't published until 1997 - 15 years later. If you're going to make such statements, check your facts beforehand. You're only embarrassing yourself with your ignorance.
745 out of 799 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I'm so glad it's back!!
ariannadeligianni1 September 2019
Why aren't more fantasy movies/series like this? It's unique, beautiful, moving and enthralling... It's evident that so much effort and attention to detail has been put into every little thing; the costumes, the sets, the voice acting. I am so glad one of my favourite childhood movies has been brought back and I hope the younger generation will learn to appreciate it as well. Not everything is better with tons of CGI. Brian Froud and Jim Henson are a fantastic duo.
112 out of 118 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Skeksis need not review.
georgiagirl-936202 September 2019
To start the negative reviews are by people who obviously didn't see the movie, don't appreciate old school puppetry of Jim Henson and more likely skeksis. This is my childhood and even though now I'm in my 30s I'm still just as creeped out by the skeksis and their voices. The puppeteers are awesome and gives a true throwback and keeps Jim Henson very much alive for the show. I love it.
67 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Henson would be proud!
wiezeboe30 August 2019
I've been looking forward to this tv-series for a long time, and the wait was well rewarded. As a big fan of the original 1982 movie I was wondering if the series could live up to my expectations. The short answer is YES, and then some! I have watched the first episode with awe!

The production looks gorgeous, the puppets look very much like the originals, but with much more diversity. The puppeteering has been brought to the next level, as the movements are a bit more realistic. Very well done!

But the most important aspect is of course always the story. In my opinion they have succeeded in making an interesting prequel, slowly progressing toward the situation at the beginning of the movie.

If you like the original movie, you will certainly love this series!
209 out of 234 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It grows on you!
andyhodges782 September 2019
I wasn't sure at first, but it does grow on you, with some very subtle and brilliant humour towards the end. I am writing this review mainly to pay homage to SIMON PEGG'S voicing of the Chamberlain. This has to be one of the best voice artist works in TV history, its hard to tell it is even Simon Pegg, but the accents and inflections are quite simply superb, and you can tell he enjoyed every minute of it!
58 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An epic fantasy adventure that will please old and new fans alike.
robfollower30 August 2019
The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance is more family-friendly and has a general sheen of class that might make it more appealing to a wider audience. It's absolutely gorgeous, with delightfully physical puppets giving a weight and realism to the colorful fantasy imagery. Some viewers might be put off by the fact it's acted out by puppets, but they'd be missing out. Age of Resistance is a compelling and powerful story packed with relatable characters.
223 out of 251 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Dumbfounded that you can even pretend it's less than 9/10
melissa_j3 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
1) To every single person who complained about the "bad CGI", there is very little CGI used at all. It was used merely to remove puppeteers and to help on green screen. This is an amazing achievement for the Jim Henson Company and the puppeteers involved should be so very proud of how it's turned out.

2) People talking about official lore and the changes that were made. Sometimes, lore needs to be modified. However, as I sit watching the last gut-wrenching episode, I find myself completely absorbed in the world and mythology of Thra. It took 2 episodes for me to fully acclimate to the story and get past the nostalgic rose colored glasses. It was a journey well fought. You can see 2 halves of a circle coming together to create a full and immersive story.

3) The voice work. The voice work is COMPLETELY stunning. Anyone who says otherwise is a troll. If I wasn't already a fan of these actors, I would be now and I will forever be in their debt for bringing their considerable talents to this enjoyable epic. Truly a Netflix masterpiece. Watch out Emmy season, The Dark Crystal is here.

4) To anyone that compares this to the modern day blockbusters like Harry Potter, go suck an egg. As a Potterhead, I appreciate it as much as the next person, but this movie in the 80s was unlike anything seen before it. This series is not like anything that's being seen now.

5) Somebody complained about the puppets being so old fashioned and not moving their mouths "properly". Umm, if you're complaining about it, you're not a fan. The puppets in the series were created in the images of Gen and Kira from the original movie. Is it Gen or Jen? I always thought Gen but whatever, no matter.

6) To anyone who brought politics into it, or feminism, or any other bs, can't a story just be a story? Leave politics at the door. This was the happiest (politics free) 10 hours of my week,

Basically, this series is amazing and I know a dozen people that I've introduced this series to that are already obsessed. I need a season 2. I need a season 2 immediately.

And don't trust a single review if they say they stopped halfway through the first episode... #Eyeroll. It took me an episode to get fully involved, and I'm a fan. If youcan't dedicate 50 minutes to figure out something, I pity your sad little world.

RIP the Gruenaks... Rest now, you superstars. Not all heroes wear capes.

BTW, am I the only one who though Rian + Brea = Kira? I actually was pulling for Rian and Deet because they were actually a better match but I'll take what I can get. HOWEVER. If Gen and Kira (Jen and Kira?) are brother/sister, I'mma riot.

And may we all find someone who looks at us the way Hup looks at Deet. #TruePalladin
87 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Any bad reviews are clearly written by skeksis
prehartwork31 August 2019
This is an amazing series, creative and true to its origins! That is all!!
199 out of 229 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
They finally nailed it what so many others could not
feest181 September 2019
When I first heard that a prequel of Dark Crystal was in production, I must admit, I was a bit skeptical. What about the original magic that was used by the late Jim Henson and his team. Will they focus more on what the current young folks want, nowadays (aka hyperactive action scenes and overkill of CGI). Well, thank God they did not. They respected the work of Jim Henson and if he were alive today, he would be proud as hell of what has been created. So glad to get a full background on the world and the people in the dark crystal universe. Perfect voice casting and last but use of the nostalgic puppets, we all learned to love. One worry I do have. Since this is a prequel to the movie, I wonder how much seasons they can produce before they reach the point where the story of the movie starts. I hope we do get a few seasons extra of this majistic master piece. A wel deserved 10!
61 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Skeksis are back and as bad as ever!
RussHog30 August 2019
Oh wow - this magnificent Netflix series tells the prequel of The Dark Crystal. It's visually magnificent and extremely dark and disturbing. The Skeksis made their long awaited return to the screen and it does not disappoint. They are pure evil. If you are a fan of the original - like I am - you will love this show. If you have never seen The Dark Crystal - start now. Thank goodness we get a show that has great puppetry and creativity.
135 out of 156 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Expands the universe
myfriendjuliet1 September 2019
Wonderful retelling of a cult classic through the use of puppetry and modern day cgi. It's simply magical, the voice acting superb, each episode adding to and building on the fascinating world that Jim Henson created. As a child I loved the original and for once it seems like the production team have paid attention to the original source material. Thank you for not ruining another childhood memory. Strongly recommend this show. There's nothing else like it!
39 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
WOW... WOW... WOW
jack-4336230 August 2019
Ummm ok so never seen any of this before, didn't have a clue what the 'The Dark Crystal' was but Elementary has now finished so needed something to watch and this popped up. Watched one episode and was hooked. Sooooo good. Now on episode 7. Watch it!!!!
133 out of 157 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
How could anyone give this less than a 10?
MistressLola2 September 2019
Just finished watching The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance and it was the most incredible, creative, imaginative, mind-blowing, beautiful piece of moving art I've ever seen. I am completely awestruck right now. There are no words to express how much I loved every second of it. I'm crying. An absolute masterpiece. The amount of work and creativity that went into making it is astonishing. I wish I could give it 100 stars.
42 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
IT'S A PREQUEL NOT A SEQUEL
emilpall2 September 2019
While reading through the reviews of this amazing series i saw alot of "super fans" dissing it after saying they are only 5 minutes into the first episode, while some of the facts they state are true they haven't happend yet in the story as this happens before the original movie so them calling them selfs "super fans" is stupid id they don't even know what time period it is
39 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Here we go..we can dream again
rgin8830 August 2019
These are dark times for those looking for stories that make them dream, thankfully, combining old and new style, "The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance" leads us to dream again. Recommended but not for closed minds
109 out of 131 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pure Fantasy Epic
garrinschlink1 September 2019
I'm a fan of the original Dark Crystal, but it has plenty of flaws. Netflix has taken that crazy, 80s, puppet movie and updated it, polished it, and given it a heck of a lot more depth. This series has dialed up the story and the lore to 11. The music is powerful, there is emotional story telling, and wonderful lessons if you're looking. This is a fantasy epic in the same vein as Lord of the Rings and Game of Thrones, but it is so different from both of them, and not in a bad way. If you enjoy fantasy, if you enjoyed the old Dark Crystal movies, if you enjoy set design and special effects, if you enjoy epics that are larger than life-you will enjoy this movie. I'm just a random guy on the Internet, but I strongly recommend it.
33 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Way better than anticipated
joe-131823 September 2019
So well done. I thought it was going to be a full CG over production of a classic, I was so wrong. Some younger viewers might be off put by the earlier puppetry style characters growing up in this computer generation age, but not this guy! The characters were true to the original, yet used modern technology to enhance the background and scenery. I think this production was created by people who are true fans of the original motion picture. In my opinion Mr. Henson would be extremely proud.
23 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Actually watch it, before reviewing!
aruki731 August 2019
Ignore the negative critics, this is art! Why do people need to write bad reviews when they ve only just watched 20minutes in??The story stays true to the original narrative, if only you bother to give it a chance and watch past the intro! Stop reviewing projects if you are not ready to follow them at least halfway through, if not till the end.
92 out of 112 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pure magic! Thank you netflix
jodo151-654-15249030 August 2019
Im absolutely loving Netflix right now, great flash of nostalgia, What a fantastic cast and wow the production! Pure amazing magic
77 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Beautiful
chinzzxaltamura30 August 2019
The low ratings from some reviews only highlight that they've not watched the original 1982 film.

I had no idea Netflix had this in production; coincidently I and my 9 year old daughter watched the film about 4 months ago. She loved the film and now loves the series. In her words "the effects make this look more real than the film".

We're both engrossed by the story and the production values are phenomenal. Netflix has produced something really special. To those who call this a rip off of LoTR/ Harry Potter - get an education! :p.
93 out of 117 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"By Gelfling Hand Or Else By None"
chilldgreese31 August 2019
Beautiful. A masterpiece. Jim would be so proud. A must watch for anyone looking for the next fantasy masterwork.
43 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Keep watching before you post a review.
itsthejord3 September 2019
Most of the negative reviewers I see keep complaining about the history of Thra that is told in the first few minutes of the series. It's the history as the gelflings currently understand it. If these morons would just keep watching they'd see their issue resolved. The first two episodes are a bit slow stick with it. It's good!
17 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
They have improved upon the original!
hoffaleksander1 September 2019
While this is looked at as a prequel to the original, this series has gone into some details the original never had the time and chance to do. Netflix has really shown that they can make this a series worthy of staying on the shelf as an all-time epic fantasy adventure. Absolutely amazing! The few haters giving low scores forget that a new audience, such as myself, need something original and great... and Netflix has done that. Just following the old recipe would be to retell a story we have all heard before, I am glad they chose to do it their own way.. and actually as a side effect, I would say that they have improved upon the original. The voice acting, story, visuals and basic feel of the show is breathtakingly fantastic!

For all fantasy fans out there, watch it!
27 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Monumental achievement!
daniel-loyce-dean31 August 2019
Blown away! A gobsmaking achievement. The only real problem is the original 1982 film that this series is building toward now seems small and insignificant in comparison. Age of Resistance takes what Jim Henson started and ratchets it into the stratosphere. A++++
48 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Give it a chance before going in a huff.
yanjoh2 September 2019
To everyone complaining about the change to the Skeksis origin story.. maybe watch it all before commenting. The series does start off very colourful and playful, which I must admit almost put me off too, but this is meant to be Thra in a very different time to that of the film. You also have to be realistic; Netflix obviously wanted their investment to have reasonably wide appeal. But thankfully the general tone does get darker the further into it you get (I'd maybe not recommend some scenes for smaller children) with various grim moments.

I do agree that some of the voices don't seem to sit right for whatever reason, but then some are absolutely spot on, Aughra in particular.

I really don't get how anyone can give it 1/10; even if you didn't like it, it deserves more than that for the technical aspects alone; the world that they've (re)created is amazing. As for complaints about the puppets, if they'd been any more realistic it would have been harder to see the link between this and the film.

Personally I loved it, though it did take a few episodes for me to really get into it.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed