Support the Girls (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
42 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
A rare film about everyday Americans
ikadery2 December 2018
It's a rare film that showcases the hardships of everyday Americans. Hollywood seems to be too busy nowadays with Superhero films, Sci-fi, Historical dramas etc. and seems to have forgotten about the dreams and hardships of average Americans. This film tries to showcase that, and it succeeded without being overly dramatic. Regina Hall delivered an excellent performance in this film.
24 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Well, I liked it
matdog32130 August 2018
Support The Girls was an odd one. It started off promising as an offbeat comedy drama, then steered completely into drama territory. Regina Hall as an always-positive-strict-and-firm-manager was charming to watch as she desperately tried to weave through multiple problems at once during the early morning, stealing almost every scene she's in, and the supporting characters (mostly the girls employed by Regina's character) carry the film well too, especially during scenes of Regina intereacting with these girls almost like a surrogate. For the most part it was interesting to see the work relations of these characters, becoming more evident as the movie went on that the supposed "sisterhood" of these employees that is mentioned early in the film isn't just work motivation but what feels like an actual family. If you like independent dramas then check this out, but if you are expecting an easy string along plot with a feel good vibe avoid this one. I'm not sure what the complete message of it was, but admittedly in the end I was left wanting more. That's not to discredit the touching ending of how a manager and her employees share a thick as blood bond even after the chaos that ensues, which is what pushed me to write this review because I thought at least that deserved some praise, but the climax leading up to the final scenes just felt very rushed and hard to process exactly what it was all for. Some might say this was a boring film but it worked for me, it kept me interested to see how it would all unfold, eagerly waiting for an either positive or negative outcome for each little problem our protagonist dealt with, if you stumbled across this movie and were intrigued enough to look at the reviews, just see it for yourself. It's by no means terrible.
26 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
True to life movie about the service industry
lisparizzi31 August 2018
I really enjoyed this and was very surprised when I saw the negative reviews here. I worked in the service industry when I was younger and so the movie felt very real - it is hard to explain how close you get to others in the team in that sort of workplace, and this movie did an amazing job at presenting it. The acting was wonderful, and each character brought something interesting to the table. However, the pacing is slow, so will probably not please everybody. Recommend to anyone who's ever worked in the service industry before and is looking for a solid drama movie.
18 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Uninspired and Flat
AlGranthamMusic6 December 2018
Not sure what to make of this film. It's branded as a comedy, but it's not funny. As a drama, it lacks a compelling plot and character development. The lead performance by Regina Hall - as others have mentioned - is fantastic. I wish she was in a better film.

Reminiscent of The Florida Project, Waiting and Alice Doesn't Live Here Anymore, but not nearly as self-assured or accomplished as any of those films.
15 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Just not feeling it ... at all
Aktham_Tashtush2 December 2018
I mean,, the plot seems purposeful an all, but the movie itself was just slow and the script is a kinda disconnected and all over the place,

The cast was okay,, i like Regina Hall she always engage well with the scenes and her facial expressions are just good... but the other girls and guys were all mediocre at best.

Not strongly recommended
14 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
No emotions
mureampikebabliha31 August 2018
Well, what can i say... This film did not wake up any emotions. I did not smile even once during the whole movie and this was supposed to be a comedy. There was no excitement in the movie and I looked at the movie when my face was completely neutral.

Acting was at good level, but the characters could not be cared at all

When movie ended i was just like "That's it?"

That's why 3/10
31 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Fantastic film with a lot of nuance
Red_Identity11 November 2018
Support the Girls: This was an incredibly surprising film in the amount of nuance it contained in its storytelling. It's honesty one of the best screenplays of the year and one of the most pleasant surprised.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved this movie, it made me believe there is greatness in people.
amnikotian1 September 2018
I am a guy, though I can get emotional at times too, but this movie brought out the love in me. It is just beautifully made, my only regret is it did not go on and on. Heartfelt cheers to the cast. And pls pls a request to the producers of this movie pls make many more such movies of lives people live that others take for granted and ignore, every human whatever their profession have a heart and the heart feels and protects the one's beside them, this movie brings those lives into screen.
15 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Slice of life, Hooters manager has a difficult day.
TxMike18 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
My wife and I watched this movie at home on DVD from our public library. I am a Haley Lu fan, plus it was filmed right up the road in Austin, Texas.

Regina Hall is Lisa, she manages a place called Double Whammies, a nod to Hooters (this the reference in my review title). But she has a horse's a$$ for a boss, her husband appears to be wanting to get out of the marriage, and a few other problems are nipping at her heels that day.

Cute dancer turned actress Haley Lu Richardson is one of the floor girls, Maci. I like Haley Lu, but I thought her character here is a bit too smiley and ditzy. The cast includes several other cute girls.

As the movie unfolded there didn't seem to be much story, everything seemed disjointed, we kept waiting for it to all come together into a story but it never really did. It was often enjoyable, there are some funny bits, but overall I cannot give this movie a high rating. It ends with the three main female characters on the roof of a building, yelling into the distance I suppose to let out the frustration of the day.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great film.
guilherm-140301 September 2018
A lot of the low ratings/reviews here are people that didn't even watch the film, that 2/10 review is literally a troll review. Give the film a chance it's really great, especially if you like indies.
18 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Lackluster film, at best
jrader-4559313 September 2018
Coming off of seeing Regina Hall in Girls Trip, I thought this had potential to be a decent flick. Unfortunately, it comes across as a poor-mans "Waiting..." without any of the comedy.

This film is one of the rare instances in which a comedy doesn't even bring out a smile. It never reaches a pinnacle and the story has many holes. All in all, disappointed with this flick as a whole.
14 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Why?
crosbyp1200329 August 2018
I love Regina Hall but what was she thinking.....this needed to be a lifetime movie. Everybody has bad days regardless of where they work. Didn't get it. I gave it 4 stars because of Regina. You do these type of movies when you're trying to make it. Mediocre
17 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Edgy but tender movie, not exactly a comedy
dmonroe-190319 January 2019
Small premise, huge impact. It's an indie film, OK? Don't expect blockbuster. The characters are winning, the acting great. It felt so working-class real. The lead is luminous in every scene in a way that's not obvious until there's a scene without her, and you find yourself just missing her face. The ending is pure genius.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Another solid step for Richardson
TheBigSick1 September 2018
From The Edge of Seventeen, Split, to Columbus and this Support the Girls, Haley Lu Richardson is consistently shining in critically acclaimed features and constantly making progress in acting as a young rising star. In this movie, her role is totally different from her previous ones and she is simply unrecognizable. The performances of Regina Hall are also memorable. This is a hilarious comedy for female audiences.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not bad and Haley Lu is the most beautiful girl ever
trenmast2 September 2018
Very real portrayal of how chaotic a day can be on the food industry. A few heart warming moments and seeing Haley Lu is worth your time watching this. This girl oozes sexiness thru every pore. It's a good watch overall, just don't expect anything more than the daily life of a boob bar and its employees.
10 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Support the Humorless Girls
gamebyrd5 October 2018
This movie is aimless, boring and just plain pathetic. There is hardly anything there to excite any joke, come on where was the laugh. I have to check the time often which remain on the movie. The only thing this movie tries to sell are some nudist girls which the theme for them looking like that in the movie didn't make any sense as they were overly sexualized which didn't make much sense since they did not have any sexualized activity. Its just a dumb comedic film nothing to laugh about.
13 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Where's the comedy?
MikeHunt10751 September 2018
I'm 30 mins and so bored I'm gonna fund something else to watch.

The story of a Hooters manager and her colleagues is not very captivating as it's just been shown to me.

Meh... is rather see Regina Hall take over as lead in another Scary Movie rather than have to watch this "in trying to hard to win an award for acting here" dribble.
14 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Likable workplace comedy drama
russellagriffith@aol.com27 August 2018
Follows the workplace of a female manager at Hooters like bar restaurant played to perfection by Regina Hall. Great first half as you follow the training of new waitress. Second is more serious and more uneven. Between this and 'Columbus', Haily Lu Richardson is my new favorite young actress. If you think you would like this you almost certainly will
13 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Better than I expected.
apjc28 August 2018
It's one of those offbeat films you can just watch and enjoy without anything special to recommend it. A day in the life of a sports bar manager, under stress and personal problems, with some laughs along the way. Only real message it gives is man or I should say women management is the true measure of how good a manager and business is.
9 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Another waste of time movie!
nava-481063 October 2018
This movie is perfect if you want some background noise, while you're doing something else. Throughout the whole movie I was waiting for a laugh then I thought not all comedies have to make the audience laugh some of them are feel-good movies but I was disappointed in that department as well. There was nothing to feel good about this movie. From recent times really good feel-good movies would be Chef and The 100 Foot Journey.
8 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Sweet tattoo!
donaldricco17 March 2019
Basically, this film shows us a day in the life of a woman who manages a "Hooters" type sports bar named Double Whammies. It's definitely not one of Lisa's better days! Though slow at points, I liked the movie and it's realistic feel. Regina Hall is great, and Haley Lu Richardson and Shayna McHayle are pretty darn good too! (I think I'm in love with Haley!) I also loved Lea DeLaria as Bobo, a very protective, nosy regular! The end of the movie should have been in a different place, but it's a good watch and worth the view!

p.s. - Sweet Steph Curry tattoo!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Cheerful
varun-250719973 February 2019
One of the sweetest movies I have seen. Haley Lu Richardson & Regina Hall are amazing. The story always relates to a lot of lower middle class girls around the world.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Well done
hiacios2 January 2019
Good acting, script, and filming. My only complaint is that it should've been longer as I think they could've added more to the story.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
More Like a Drama
robertrangihuna-7025917 September 2018
A comedy it ain't. A few (2 maybe) chuckles at the start and that was it. If you want a laugh then I don't recommend this movie.
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The Worst support
atlastu29 September 2018
I didn't expect much from this film,but the poster kinda reminded me of the movie Coyote Ugly,because of the whole girls in a bar thing. But i guess one of the golden rules of watching any movie,if it doesn't get interesting in the first 30 minutes,then it's gonna be lame. This one is no exception. It's really bad,bad acting, bad screenplay,so boring. I just felt bad for everyone involved in making it,and for watching it too.
6 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed