Til Death Do Us Part (2017) Poster

(II) (2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
60 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Rip Off
BabyGirll4514 October 2017
This entire movie is a total rip off of "Sleeping with the Enemy", and a horrible version at that. They had a couple different twist but its the same movie. Although the actors in the movie are all beautiful, and they tried to do a good job but its just a bad movie. It definitely touches domestic abuse issues but it sometimes become unbelievable. Don't dare pay for this one just wait it out I'm sure it'll be on BET soon enough...
28 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Copycat script
onlyveneziame11 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
No imagination from the writers, it's the Black version of SLEEPING WITH THE ENEMY, STARRING JULIA ROBERTS. Julia character fakes death by drowning, this version fake by car accident. Instead of Julia's character stealing apples, this version the male neighbor steals lemons. Instead of Julia's mother in the hospital, this version, the father's in the hospital.it goes on, and on and on... I mean really disappointing!,,
31 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Save Your Money
phreespyryt4 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is a poorly produced and written rip off of "Sleeping With the Enemy". If you like "crappy" movies, then this review may not deter you from supporting "Til Death". There were too many transitions between scenes, the story time line was off, and the movie was not believable AT ALL. Please save your money and wait for it to come to Bounce TV, BET or TV1.
31 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Weak
subxerogravity4 October 2017
I have definitely scene better melodrama. I was expecting some thing better considering that it was released in theaters. 

So the first twenty minutes is dull. Real dull, almost makes me want to leave the theater. So like in the movie The Perfect Guy, Madison thought she found the perfect guy, but the fact that he does not want children is a contradiction to her wanting to be a mommy.  So they start to argue, and he gets psychical with her, showing his true colors. She tries to deal with it for a little while, but then realizes it's not worth it and finds a way out. This is when the real action happens.

The movie is fine for watching late at night on BET but I was expecting better from a major release in theaters. Something like No Good Deed or something. Maybe that was too high on the scale to expect this movie to be ( I mean, I can't expect anyone to be as good as the combo of Idris Elba and Taraji P. Henson) Taye Diggs is good in it, as Alex, the guy Madison meets after running away from the perfect guy. Very charming. Not Charming enough to hold this together, however.

I will say that every women in this film was really beautiful. Even in small roles as waitresses and Nurses, any women who had a line in the movie was smoking hot. That did catch my attention.

Really cool that R&B Artist Marques Houston Wrote and produce this thing, but all and all it's still really generic. If you saw one on BET you saw them all, and that's the only place you should watch it. 
14 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Wow... how horribly awesome!!
jenniferlynn-495555 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This will only contain spoilers if you haven't seen Sleeping with the Enemy. Either way spoilers ahead... I gave this a 3 only because it made me laugh when it wasnt supposed to. The acting was so bad. 1. Crying with no tears, beatings with nothing to show but a busted lip. I'm sorry she did not act like someone who was afraid. 2. The escape... paying someone to pretend to be a doctor requires sun glasses, a hat, a hoodie, a discreet location, with money in a paper bag. So obviously take the money out and stare at it, so it's visible to anyone around. 3. Fake death, no record, followed by no investigation from the life insurance money being collected. 4. Alex survives on lemon meringue pie alone. 5. Water breaks, instant contractions. Don't worry, she will have the baby the same night and be released from the hospital the same night. 6. Baby's name is Peace probably not piece. 7. Worst fight scene ever. Which also leads to the best anticlimactic death scene. This movie will hold a special place in my heart.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
what am I watching?
realityinmind2 August 2018
The setup is now 15 minutes in and it is so overly exaggerated with the sappy "baby I love you, no baby I love you more" stuff... this would be unbearable if I wasn't multi-tasking. These people are supposed to be married yet they don't seem to know anything about each other. The wife brings the husband water -- "baby you know I don't like water" so she responds "oh yeah baby, I forgot" and he responds "baby is something wrong that you forgot?" and she responds "no baby everything is fine" kissy kissy smooch smooch. This is so horrible. The worst aspect of it all is that the writer and director (they are a team) went out of their way to make this an all black movie with an all black cast about all black people's lives, yet it is almost completely devoid of any black culture whatsoever. Isn't the term called "whitewashing"...? Why did the writer and director whitewash this movie? Horrible.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just bad
jlnewma220 August 2018
I give no f_{<$ if this is a remake. I appreciate the flattery of most remakes. This movie is just bad - writing, acting, cinematography, score. The premise was (forgive me) a very stereotypical African American cast attempting to make a very stereotypical Anglo American movie. It was borderline comical how white people are perceived by the black folks making this film. Also, Stephen Bishop is not a believable wife beater (way too lovable), Tate Diggs totes doesn't listen to emo rock (way too old), and nobody meets the love of their life by threatening to call the police because they picked lemons from their tree. Can we agree this is just bad?!
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Brazen Thievery With Horrific Results
stellbread17 August 2018
Yes, there is a dearth of originality in Hollywood, but I certainly didn't think it was THIS bad. If this was intended to be a black version of "Sleeping With the Enemy," and it appears it was, then the writer, director and actors failed miserably; in fact, the director should have kept his dignity intact and attached the Alan Smithee moniker to this monstrosity of a movie. Some scenes from Sleeping are blatant ripoffs with perhaps a touch of role reversal. So this begs the question, "Do the people who produced this have ANY scruples?" Surely they saw Sleeping and noticed the string of copycat scenes--or are we the viewer to assume those ripoff takes are an eerie string of coincidences? Moreover, there are plot holes galore and the few that the writer does try and fill only underscore the poor writing. In the end you hate all the characters for the lack of depth. There is so much predictability here that you might as well break out the Julia Roberts/Patrick Bergen original. Far more tension and superior acting.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Uh hello copy much??? Sleeping w the Enemy
toriwells20026 August 2018
Why copy a movie, like even some of the exact same lines " wear your hair down" this is sad.

Be original!! This movie is NOT!!
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
It's an EXACT COPY of Sleeping With The Enemy
helena-730234 August 2018
Either the original sold their rights or there's going to be a lawsuit. It's the BET version of Sleeping With The Enemy. Instead of stealing apples, it's stealing lemons. Instead of faking death via drowning, it's a car accident. Instead of the neighbor guy love interest having a 6 year-old niece, it's a daughter. Instead of wearing the black dress for him she wears the red. Instead of the matching wedding rings, it's a matching set of necklaces. Instead of a mother being in the rest home, it's a father. Instead of straightening the towels on the bar, it's leaving the toilet seat up. IT IS A COPYCAT OF SLEEPING WITH THE ENEMY FROM START TO FINISH. And, it isn't very good. Enemy came out back in 1991. It was extremely popular, about as such as Alfred Hitchcock's Rear Window. As with Rear Window, practically everyone has seen Enemy, young and old alike, so it's kind of weird to see such a poorly made version.
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Disappointing
hilary_mae-912-805611 December 2017
Badly done. Although there are some good acting efforts, the production can't support the actors. It's also way to close to Sleeping with the Enemy to be a movie on it's own. It's almost a mirror so what was the point in making it? It seemed to have been shot with a cell phone. Very disappointing as a result.
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Exactly Copycat's Comments
isaiahpone12 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
If they had said it's a spin off of Sleeping with the Enemy, I could of been ready, but scene for scene for scene, right down to the boyfriend at the door knowing that something is not right and busting into the house. In Sleeping with the Enemy he was obsessed with neatness and straight towels and classical music, in this movie the guy never puts the toilet seat down and loved the song Living for the love of you lolol. Sooooooooo bad, with the copying. I hope they got the copy right approval for biting every scene bit of Julia's movie. It wasn't completely bad as much as a total Black copy of the White version. Maybe he said that this movie was a updated version of Sleeping with the enemy and we missed that part if he was interviewed about it. Nice to see Draya doing something other than Basketball wives. Hope she does not go back to ratchet reality t.v. I commend the brother for trying it.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Although This Movie is a Much-Done Cliche and Copy-Cat, it Wasn't Terrible, Just Bad!
mbe253312 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The only reason I watched this movie was because I saw that it starred Taye Diggs, so I figured it couldn't be too bad; it was, and he didn't help it at all.

This is one of those over-done cliches that you already KNOW how everything is going to play out, even the lame ending. They did try to throw in a twist--the whole faked death segment--but that was utterly ridiculous. You'd have to suspend reality in order to even pretend that that could happen. All I could think about was: (1) when is she going to be arrested for insurance fraud; (2) the cremation story was stupid, and what were the ashes in the urn?; (3) when was Taye Diggs going to burst thru the door only to be knocked unconscious by the husband (which he was)?; (4) she is NOT going to tell the police that "there is an intruder and I shot him," like Sleeping With The Enemy, is she?; and (5) why do all African-American films portray characters who live in multi-million dollar homes, yet do not have jobs that, in real life, cannot afford such mansions?

The female lead's acting was simply awful! And veteran actor Taye Diggs was a bumbling idiot which was a disappointment. The one good thing about the movie was ... um ... I'd have to think about that for a minute.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Spoiler Alert
shantiamims23 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was very weak, however, I got a lot of unintentional laughs. I won't bother going into how it is a complete rip off of SWTE because so many others have mentioned it. However, I thought her great escape was completely ridiculous. Why pick a fight with a man who has no qualms about beating you senseless while pregnant? Why not just leave and then fake the car accident? What person isn't going to see the body if their spouse just died? Making him think she was dead is one thing, but defrauding the insurance company is illegal and fraud. Will she return back to her own identity now that he is dead and face consequences of defrauding the insurance company? Why did she only move a car drive away? Did he kill the friend or not?
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not bad
giftstewart16 September 2018
It's not as bad as people are saying it is. The actors did a good job the writing was just bad. Give it a chance. Yes it's a copy cat of Sleeping with the enemy.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Wow bad
vmm-446283 August 2018
This is a really bad black version of 'Sleeping with the enemy " and the main female actress ..so so bad, talk about over acting. She needs to go back to acting school!
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
This type of story can only be told well when told subtley
marneederider30 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I'm not an expert at abuse, but I have talked to many abused people (both men and women) and read a lot about it. I have never heard of someone going from 0-60 on controlling and abusive behavior in the first abusive incident. The husband didn't hit her, the immediately apologize, then justify it, then repeat. He went straight to, "I'm the king. It's your fault I hit you." And her reaction in the first scene was as a person who this has not been done to before. She should have either acted too scared to kick his ass, or should have kicked his ass. She definitely wasn't at the accepting or cowtowed stage yet, but that's her reaction.

I really liked the actors. I didn't make it past around minute 30, but I really liked the actors. The direction was okay, so long as I can think the director was at the mercy of the script. The script was terrible if it called for what I relayed above. If it was the director's call, then the director needs to move out of his/her parent's basement and experience some life before directing something like this.

This type of a movie can only be really good if it is very subtle, with a lot of great nuances. It can't be a Hollywood, shallow, cliche movie. Doesn't work for a subject like this. The Hollywood movie only works for bit, grandiose themes.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Copycats of sleeping with the enemy
capturedbybelinda12 October 2018
I'm kind of shocked that they basically copycatted an entire movie. Just watch Sleeping with the enemy and save yourself.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Skip this one and watch Sleeping With The Enemy
beagles3-319 August 2018
I watched the whole movie. I kept saying throughout, that this was just like Sleeping With The Enemy. Small variations, but right on, just like it. A copy cat. Why mess with succes? I wish people would leave great movies alone. Or at least give credit where it is due. I wonder if this this screenwriter had to get permission.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Another Hollywood Let-Down (spoilers)
carolsparks-4358711 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Although, the actors are beautiful and it is visually appealing, the entire script is an embarrassing copycat version of Sleeping with the Enemy, a little less believable. Sweet husband turns abusive, wife fakes death, leaves town, cute school teacher boyfriend next door, bakes pies, hubby visits sick parent in nursing home, hubby finds wife. They didn't even try to make it different. We need to resist these low grade movies Hollywood is cranking out. Pure laziness. Rip off.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Poor Ripoff
jillianbrown-902178 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I tried to like this movie as the acting wasn't bad. The movie however is a poor ripoff of Sleeping With the Enemy. There were far too many scene "coincidences" to actually label them as original or well, coincidental. It's too bad because the plot, unfortunately, is still a reality for many people and it deserved to be executed in a thought provoking and respectful manner. Instead, it's a cheap copy with some good performances.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
It wasn't as bad as people are saying.
mspann-1658623 August 2018
Yes, it was definitely a remake of Sleeping with the Enemy which is a classic that I absolutely love however, it was not that bad. I just think that they could have changed it up a little bit more but I think the effort was there...it wasn't awful I still enjoyed the movie.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Black Version of Sleeping With the Enemy
Chris-5004 September 2018
Yes it was a sleeping with the enemy with a black cast but It was well done. The acting was good, Script was okay, and the look was very good. The reviewers acted like they put in the money. There are a lot of overt poorly done movies out here and this was not one of them. I know what it takes to get a movie done and I can appreciate the effort. Christ Stokes and Marcus Houston, I love the locations, I love the choice in actors and you got money to get the movie done and I'm sure you made profit.... forget these haters and keep making your movies fro one Indy producer to another Indy producer.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Shameless Theft of Sleeping With the Enemy - Save you time.
fisherbee1-121 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
If you've seen Sleeping With the Enemy, then you've already seen the story as it should be. If you haven't, watch it, instead. Far superior movie, in every way. I seriously hope there is a lawsuit over this one.

Beyond this is spoilers, so DO NOT ADVANCE if you haven't seen this, or Sleeping With the Enemy.



How many parallels? I counted at least two DOZEN. Literally. Same sort of houses, in both areas, control freak dude who takes his workouts too seriously, demands on her clothing and hair, big parties, music that has bad associations, dancing in the yard, stolen fruit for pies, teacher new beau, and on and on and on. Her hair even goes to curly, fro straight, by the end. Beyond shameless, and drags as well, enough to put you to sleep. I only finished to complete a list of just how much they ripped off from the GOOD movie.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
All the negative reviews are so over dramatic! It's basically a remake. I thought it was good.
andreamclark-2543822 May 2019
Anything that brings awareness to domestic violence is good to me. Yes it's like Sleeping with the Enemy and so what. It's worth the watch I thought it was good. I'm sure Julie Roberts is fine with it lol. Sleeping with the Enemy is a classic for sure but that doesn't make this movie not any good.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed