Who We Are Now (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
11 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Do yourself a favor...
etdc-1740630 January 2019
If you like a great story, great acting and a story that Is not a typical Hollywood, predictable, wrap everything up with a nice bow on it at the end, movie - then this is for you. Particularly excellent performances from Julianne Nicholson, Emma Roberts snd Zachary Quinto.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Justice is a Fragile Balance
Raven-19697 January 2019
Judgment is a monster that can scarcely be seen, much less fought. It cuts inward as well as outward.

Beth is on the rebound after a long prison sentence and attempting to regain custody of a young son from her sister. Jess provides discount legal counsel to those who otherwise could not afford it. Her antagonists include hot-headed clients, a haughty judge and, most notably, a disapproving mother. Peter is discovering that the war in Afghanistan was just the beginning of his world being turned upside down. Each character grapples with temper, temptation, the cruelty of others and the cold, vice-like talons of judgment. To get the results they deserve and achieve harmony from dissonance, Beth, Peter and Jess may need to lighten their reactions, or to strike fast and hard. Justice in any case is a fragile balance.

Who We Are Now is totally enthralling. It manages to be witty without being pretentious. The characters, aided by fine acting, defy expectations and are suitably multi-faceted and intriguing. The film offers profound insight into the American justice system as well as the human heart, the foundation and life line of the entire system. Underlying the film is the belief that we are capable of change. It will keep you thinking long after the screen dims.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fabulous
ray-9589026 May 2018
It's a real look of how hard life can be and the choices we have to make everyday. Do we want to be right or happy? I thought the acting was fabulous and the story was original. Two thumbs up
17 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very good drama !!
fbabka22 July 2018
Great film! An intelligent script interweaving several layers executed perfectly. Not one line out of place and not one orphaned moment to lose interest in. I think the ending was a little out of character but that's only a small blemish on otherwise captivating drama. I really enjoyed this - Love Your Work!
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Well told
fmwongmd3 January 2019
A well told and acted story. Julianne Nicholson looks like a younger Shirley McLain does a good job.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Powerful and moving drama
julianrosser-440-78783930 January 2019
Very impressive. Wonderful performances by Julianne Nicholson and other key members of the cast. The story is interesting and touching and the ending is dramatic but provides the right conclusion.

Highly recommend seeing this.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Well preformed film.
subxerogravity20 June 2018
It's like half the cast was on Law and Order at one time or the other. The movie was good. Just loved the performances by all evolved. It just naturally flowed so perfectly, it was impressive. A true staple of what happens when good actors connect to tell a sto
12 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
blame evryone but yourself.
cdcrb26 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Spoilers. spoilers. If you enjoy a film where people keep doing stupid things and expect the end result to be positive then this is for you. an example would be when a woman is at a hearing to gain custody of her son, after mouthing off, her lawyer tells her to be quiet. and explains the situation to her. she doesn't listen of course and the end result is not good. she tells people her lawyer screwed up her case. it's like that. is was nice to see jimmy smits though.
13 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Zachary Quinto Shines In His Authentic Portrayal of A Haunted Soldier, But Who We Are Now is a Tedious, Overly Vulgar Non-Starter That Will Leave You Empty
ajwatkins-695-9247331 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
"There's a monster out there, and I can't see it, and I can't fight it........"

Ladies and Gentlemen, Zachary Quinto. He says these words with such haunting conviction, such a quiet ache, and I look into those glistening dark eyes of night sky that I love, and I believe him, every word. I see an angel that's been through hell, a man that hasn't stopped fighting to survive, returned from the oblivion, victorious, and yet he has still lost....... everything.

I also see an actor, an ARTIST, who deserves so much more than these peculiar productions he keeps finding himself in, whose mesmerizing talent far exceeds the confines of these obscure titles. In an otherwise convoluted, mind-numbingly dull, frustrated, overly vulgar non-starter, Zachary SHINES as a charming, witty, sweet young soldier, whose handsome smile, and playful demeanor, almost hide the bruises of a tortured soul, a fractured man haunted by a horrific war, and even more by his desperate desire to return to it. What he does with his sorely scant amount of screen time is phenomenal, and with every painful secret revealed behind those genuinely tender eyes, I found myself so feverishly wishing he were the main focus instead of Julianne Nicholson's appallingly abrasive, immoral, flippant ex-con character, Beth. In the 95 minute screen time, which for the most part seemed torturously slow, I felt like I knew Zachary's character, Peter, so much more intimately, than I ever got to know her. If they had made him the main character, given him the spotlight, this would have been a much more intriguing, emotional film, with an actual beating heart.

The premise itself, sounds so compelling! A mother returned from prison, fighting for custody of her son, who falls for a soldier, traumatized by the horrors of war. She's aided by an idealistic young attorney, played adequately by Emma Roberts. But while I should be championing this woman for wanting to get her life together, and get her son back, I don't. She hasn't changed, she's a HORRIBLE person, devoid of any sense of morality, or even one remotely likeable trait. She's vile! She shouldn't have her son back, and while I'm happy she does find love, it's obvious, she doesn't deserve Peter, and could potentially be more harmful for both him and her son, than good. There isn't even an ending! She just gives up.

Zachary's beautiful performance excluded, this movie felt empty. With such a promising, and thought-provoking title like, "Who We Are Now," I wanted more. I wanted to feel inspired by this mother's love for her son, and I didn't. I did however, feel so moved, and drawn to Zachary's character, who literally carried this movie on his back, and almost made it worth watching. We need more of him, we need to hand over the spotlight to HIM, he needs more opportunities for his ohhhhh so obvious destiny as the lovely, leading man. I needed more from this movie, but more importantly, HE needed more, he deserved more. I love you, Zachary, I love who you are now, and who you've always been, and Hollywood is failing you, not understanding the absolute GEM they have!!! Somebody give this man a role worthy of his unique, absolutely transfixing, visceral, infinitely faceted talent! I need more movies that see him for who he truly is, that just let him step out of the supporting actor shadow, and be ELECTRIC!!!!! I'm so proud of him, and even though I did not like this movie, I adored his role, and how he brought such depth to a truly dismal story.

<3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Movie....
samehbeshai19 November 2018
(LIFE IS SO UNFAIR)...This film goes deep into the heart
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Credibility issues
m-torres-61-3196355 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Throughout most of the movie, Beth is a character impossible to like because of her short fuse responses bordering on violence when things don't go her way. Her transformation towards the end, when she becomes a Solomonically wise person to benefit her son,, stretches my credibility at least.

The character of Jess irks me in another, more general way. Emma Roberts, besides being a talented actress, is a woman of exceptional beauty and skin complexion. In America, girls with such physical qualities almost never have as their career goal to be lawyers helping the lower strata of society. They either choose more snazzy and lucrative professions or at least try to get a job with major law firms that provide more career exposure, a better pay, and better marriage prospects. But, this is nothing new. One of the reasons movies, even when they deal with serious subjects, lose some of their verisimilitude is the fact that most actors look much better than common people in the street they're supposed to portray.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed