Rust Creek (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
117 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Nice Surprise
bobtis16 February 2019
I started this movie with little expectation, and found a hidden acorn. I really liked it, it was not just "wrong turn" movie the story had some substance. Acting was good and the story moved along with some twists and turns. Worth watching.
34 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Rarely do I give out an 8 out of 10!
coxpnw27 January 2019
I stumbled upon this movie but was worried about any graphic rape scenes that are included in so many of these type. I think it was very well done. There was action, drama, lots of twists and the acting was good. I really enjoyed just a great drama and thriller without the extra gore many other titles bring. It is definitely worth renting.
34 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Ignore the Feminism-related Noise
alanfiske7 January 2019
Rust Creek is a good little drama/thriller. The story is pretty good. The directing, cinematography and acting are good. I don't remember any cringe-inducing moments where supposedly smart people do dumb things to move the plot along. And if there's an intended female empowerment message it's not obtrusive.

I know that in our current overly PC culture we have a few movies that are thinly-disguised excuses for male bashing (I'm looking at you "Bad Moms"), but this isn't one of them. The main (and only) female character is smart and brave but not unrealistically so. She worsens her situation by making some understandable mistakes. The three bad characters are made up of two men who are truly vile and one guy who, if left on his own, would probably make kinder choices but he's too stupid and weak to not go along with the other two. That's it for the bad men. All the other men have admirable character traits with one whose desire to fight injustice and protect the main character rises to the level of heroic.

This is a good movie made by competent people and I would recommend it.
63 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not A Bad Little Film
gloopy-452397 January 2019
Read the mixed reviews on this but decided to give it a go, yes it's been done a million times over but have to admit, quite liked this one.I never give too much away, if i review anything but please give this one a go, i think you may be pleasantly surprised.
33 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not bad!
rupert-ian5 January 2019
Not sure what the one review is talking about with "feminist propaganda" but this movie wasn't like that at all. I can't stand SJW stuff and this movie didn't have anything in it that gave me that impression.

Cool thriller with a decent story, well acted, good characters.

Cool seeing this young woman knowing how to defend herself. Hopefully that inspires more to take their safety into their own hands. More women learning that would do way more to stop real sexual assault than the pink-hat hashtag movement of the week ever will.

I give it a 6.5/10
45 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
relies on the main character being an idiot
mcochrane-874005 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Once again,the whole premise of the movie is based on the fact that the main character has to be a complete idiot.

Maybe that's the theme with today's lack of common sense in people?

1) gets off highway to get past traffic. Fine, but follows "google maps" to a dead end. Instead of turning around and retracing her route, she continues until the road becomes nothing more than a path. 2) Stops,gets out of the car to read the map. Who the hell does that when it's cold outside? You sit in the seat, spread the map out in front of you and figure out where you are. DUH 3) Gets stabbed, runs away. Fine, Removes sweatshirt to patch stab, then leaves it behind. DUH 4) runs around for hours without tending the wound. Removes socks to treat wound the next day, removes socks to check, runs away yet again leaving "bandage" behind. 5) sees car wrecked by pursuers. Doesn't bother getting warm clothes, more items to bandage wound, immediately grabs phone and wanders around like a moron with her arm in the air looking for a signal once again, ignoring the wound in her leg.

I'm only 30 minutes in, I'll keep watching to see what other idiotic things she does.
21 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Diamonds and Rust
slylea7 January 2019
Rust Creek was a thriller that managed to transcend the genre. The plot had sufficient intriguing twists and turns. More importantly, the main characters were well-acted, and they quietly engendered a strong sympathy. The screenplay was intelligent and well-crafted. The ending was unusually well-done, particularly for this kind of movie..
28 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Average TV Movie
omendata5 January 2019
Having said that this isnt really that bad but its not really that good either.

I was hoping for a gruesome Wrong Turn clone but sadly not!

Some good acting, I have always liked John Marshall Jones and he puts in the best performance as always but the story has been done to death a hundred times before and there is no suspense or real drama.

Its pretty standard TV movie fair you would find on a wet Sunday afternoon on Paramount channel.
37 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Thriller with a Heart of Gold
strangerinthealps4 January 2019
This one's definitely edge-of-your-seat, but there are several truly touching moments between the two main characters. Certainly worth a watch.
39 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Clever
devynclaure_koa16 November 2018
Rust Creek had some clever twists that caught me by surprise. The scenery highlights the beauty in Kentucky's forests and it is great to hear that there is both a female director and writer.
47 out of 94 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Not your average thriller
williamtdailey7 January 2019
Beautifully shot, very well-written, and wonderfully acted. Hermione Corfield is a new name for me but I suspect this film could do for her what Winter's Bone did for Jennifer Lawrence. Very strong performance and a very clever story. I stumbled onto this little gem while searching with my daughter for strong female leads and we loved it.
23 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Perfect Balance Between Drama and Action/Thriller with A Fantastic Score
A_Nic5 January 2019
I was able to see Rust Creek at SDFF, and I thoroughly enjoyed it! It wasn't too scary and had plenty of quiet, thoughtful moments. So it struck a nice balance between drama and action/thriller. I also love how much the environment played a part in the film, and how the Kentucky landscape is really featured. As much as I enjoyed the look and feel though, I have to say, the score is probably the highlight of the film for me.
22 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very good!
josiegirl054 January 2019
Well worth a watch, never dull and entertaining. Pretty much what you look for in a film.
34 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Nothing original
benjaminlauriesmith6 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Aside from the female lead it's a story that's been told before only this time with a weird relationship between the female lead and her would be criminal captor/rescuer It's TV drama level acting and direction with a dull story not helping it out. Pretty sure this would only appeal to those who have a great fear of being lost in hill billy land otherwise avoid watching
27 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Ridiculous
jamessibley-9934517 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Just so hard to suspend my disbelief. A young girl beats up 2 grown men, and kills a third. Really forcing the girl power angle, and with a female director. Overrated.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
More Plot Holes Than Swiss Cheese
james-135-97234312 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Too many plot holes in this film. A seemingly intelligent girl, relying on GPS and ends up on the beaten track. First of all, why not just turn around (like normal people would?). Secondly, when the Pritchet Brothers push Sawyer's car off the cliff (at the request of the Sheriff we find out), when the coast is clear, she doesn't grab her back and food/drink which considering she's injured and cold and needing sustinence would make sense, instead she just grabs her damaged mobile phone. At the point Deputy Nick gets shot by the Chief, I AM DONE. At a minimum, knowing the Sheriff is bent and must have some comprehension his (Nick) life is at risk - he'd have at least shot him in the leg or something to immobilize - no, he bends down for his dropped keys and winds up dead. Even the State Police are dumbasses and accept the evidence planted in Nick's locker after the Sheriff confirms he has "disappeared". Now, I have just lost interest. Not worth the $8 rental. Too many stereotypes with the rednecks in the woods - been done so many times before and so much better.
25 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
An old story badly retold
TheCrustyCurmudgeon10 January 2019
Full disclosure, I couldn't actually finish this. Too many preposterous scenarios and completely unrealistic story that a tries to reinvent the outdated "traveler lost in the woods and threatened by hillbillies" story. Way beyond the outer boundaries of imagination. There are better ways to portray strong women.
15 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Terrible script
andybreymer13 January 2019
Ok, let's forget about the clichΓ© opening of the lost traveller and the gruesome hillbillies. Now I only had to wait and see why Rotten Tomatoes gave this movie an 8.3. The folowing fifteen minutes were certainly original - and I'm not talking about the odd duration of certain scenes (sometimes limping and sometimes running), no, I'm talking about the completely unbelievable holes in the scenario.

Why didn't the goons search the abandoned car of the girl after they left her stranded in the woods. No need for money or valuables? Ok, let's forget this as well. Next item: why didn't the police man search the car immediately (anybody interested in the drivers identity? Hey, what about a drivers license? Ever heard of a dashboard?) - Oh, and of course the police man didn't take a look in the car at all otherwise he could have picked up the girl's cell phone. This last absurdity was right in my face when the goons drove the girl's car to a cliff and tipped it over. Conveniently the girl was hiding under the cliff and the first thing she rescued from the car wreck was... her (damaged) cell phone. Not hair raising stupid enough? How about the car keys? They were still in the ignition when the police found the abandoned car. Why didn't the police drove the car to the police station but just left it there on the road?

Ok, let's forget about all this. Could I? No, I couldn't really... because after watching countless close ups of the grimacing face of the girl - was she wounded? OMG, she was WOUNDED, go tell it on the mountain! - close ups of colorful leaves, menacing clouds and spits and spats of the rustic river I decided I had seen enough of this camouflaged C-movie with its 'scenic cinematography and its layered story that touches upon the inherent horror in being a woman.' (Rotten Tomatoes).
18 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Don't bother
matthewnoorman18 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The movie is so predictable its boring. The only good performance is the cousin who helps her. The main character makes multiple illogical and stupid mistakes I could see her making from miles away. I knew the sheriff was dirty from the start. The story itself has been done many times. Nothing is unexpected or exciting. There is even glare on the camera in multiple outside scenes. Not well made, well performed or well written. Basic as basic can be and so predictable
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
The lifetime version of "I spit on your Grave"
tkaine39 January 2019
"Rust Creek" 5/10 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 This film has "I spit on your Grave" written all over it. Is it because of the outta town woman who becomes terrorized by the local hillbilly boys. Or maybe because the way she's injured and stuck in their neck of the woods clinging for dear life. It also could be the shaky unapologetic sheriff or other locals who seem to not have her best interests in mind not knowing what side of the fence they're on good or evil. Whatever the case may be this movie doesn't provide enough mystery it's very rushed and the predictability meter is off the charts. Even the way it ends just isn't plausible and seems very cheesy for the film to not put more effort into the final sequence. The acting wasn't too bad but nothing marvelous to hold your breath for. I thought the storyline was interesting enough to watch it all the way through but it wasn't worth the wait. I give this a 5 The film was Ok but I would say pass if it's a take it or leave it scenario.
17 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Bad from start to finish.
jtimmons04 May 2019
Bad acting, bad script. So many illogical decisions made. The cinematography is laughable, going for stylized shots that just don't work. If the movie cut out all the extended scenes of people standing while looking at a thing or staring at a person while moody music played this movie would be about 40 minutes long. I like the idea of having a female heavy crew, but there are females out there with real talent. Maybe find them?
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Unique & Entertaining Indie Gem!
dzlcomedy28 December 2018
I came in expecting the stereotypical "damsel in distress" horror movie, but it turns out Rust Creek is not that. At all. Anchored by the impressive performances of Hermione Corfield and Jay Paulson, Rust Creek is a unique little tale that offers both entertainment and food for thought. All the supporting performances were excellent and I liked the fact that it was filmed in the Kentucky woods, something rarely seen in cinema. Always great to find an indie gem & this one checks all the boxes!
38 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Worth it for the expression revealed in the last 30 seconds
mikehannah-629535 January 2019
Fine acting directed to perfection as an unlikely friendship evolves beautifully, to the final scene, to one of loyalty and possibly even love. Expect to be touched as chemistry sets the scene; not only in the talk when they cook, but the male-female kind too.
17 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Delicate Yet Powerful
alexandra-747-3688784 January 2019
Beautifully shot, delicately directed and acted. Production design was also really detail-oriented. And a lot of scores for films like this are somewhat cookie-cutter, but not Rust Creek! The composer did a standout job. I actually noticed how much I liked the music right away. Not to mention a handful of women behind the camera in key roles! Something I love to see. The acting really is phenomenal in this film. Hermione Corfield does such a great job, I almost forgot I was watching a movie. The relationships between the characters are believable and the pacing really kept me on my toes. I want to watch this one again because I feel like there are some details and things that I missed. It kept me on the edge of my seat and made me really take a hard look at how I would be able to survive in this kind of situation (not sure that I could, to be honest...). It was great!!
37 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great thriller, drama
janmanuel28 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I wouldn't label this horror. It's a thriller. I loved the actors. Some say it's been done before. I think the relationship between the young woman and the meth cook was an added bonus to making this a good film and prevented it from being a typical plot that hasn't been done before. Some say it's slow. Not at all - there's a certain crowd that wants constant explosions and gunfights. I myself love suspense in between action scenes. That's what makes a good thriller. I also didn't think the girl was stupid. I thought she was pretty smart and a good heroine.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed