Save Me (TV Series 2018– ) Poster

(2018– )

User Reviews

Review this title
60 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Gripping, keeps your interest til the very last.
Sleepin_Dragon2 November 2018
Save me is a truly excellent watch, I must start by commending Lennie James, for his writing, acting and work rate, I get the impression he's a bit of a perfectionist, every aspect of this series is on point. The writing is fantastic, you're made to think you're watching a purely domestic drama, half way through comes the switch, and you realise you're faced with something much grittier.

It's a character driven series, with some superb performances, in particular I must compliment Stephen Graham, Alex Arnold, Suranne Jones and Lennie himself of course, all are incredible, each plays a complex character, but all with a sense of reality.

The first few episodes are casual, but once you reach part four, you're literally on a knife edge, the concluding episode is a harrowing, powerful and thought provoking watch, it brought me to tears.

I'm so glad we're getting a second series, as there are still plenty of questions. I would have to highlight some of the dialogue was muffled at times, we all seemed to be saying 'what was that' quite a lot, but that's the only minor gripe I had.

I thoroughly enjoyed it. 9/10
24 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Brilliant acting , gripping storyline
jupiter_jup166 March 2018
Have just finished watching this series and have to say its one of the best british series i have seen for a while. The whole cast is perfect and the acting superb - Especially from Lennie James, Stephen Graham, Alice May Feetham and Suranne Jones who really put in powerful performances.

Episode 1 starts off a little slow but stick with it , the final 2 episodes are really tense and gripping to watch and the bond between Lennie James and everyone that surrounds him (especially Stephen Grahams character) is something special on screen.

Its no secret that Lennie James has confirmed series 2, there are a few lose ends unresolved in episode 6 that some people were a bit disapointed with but i think it was clever writing from Lennie and the whole feel of the show was gritty, tense and brilliantly done. Really looking forward to more episodes and would love to see Lennie write and act in more gritty powerfully acted shows like this in the future
40 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Refreshingly Different
arjsinga9 March 2018
Good points: this has great character development, each with their own quips and nuances, excellent acting especially from Lennie James, and submerges the viewer to working-class inner city London and uncomfortable insights into a murkier world. Highlights the plasticity of people - no one is all good or all bad - most are shades of grey. Overall, a fantastic and unconventional drama.

Bad points: a few moments where you would not expect a character or human being for that matter to act or react, making these moments implausible. Ending also a let down for some.
15 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Top notch crime drama from the UK
iffqu19 March 2018
I must admit I love crime dramas. Courtroom and police dramas are my thing so I can be pretty selective in what I watch. I've recently been disappointed by some of the series coming out from the UK (Trauma, Next of Kin and Collateral). They were too predictable and didn't leave me curious. Save Me on the other hand was incredible. The actors Lennie James, Stephen Graham, Alice May Feetham and Suranne Jones did an excellent job . I'm not going to give anything away, but if you are looking for a top notch crime drama with real characters which have you hanging on the edge of your sit then this is the one to watch.
20 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Give it time and you'll be rewarded
Bertaut4 May 2018
Nelson "Nelly" Rowe (Lennie James) is a popular self-styled womaniser living on a London council estate, whose life is turned upside down when he is arrested on suspicion of kidnapping his thirteen-year-old daughter Jody (Indeyarna Donaldson-Holness), whom he hasn't seen in ten years. After convincing the police of his innocence, and frustrated with the way the case is progressing, Nelly decides to take matters into his own hands and try to track down Jody himself.

Save Me starts very slow, but picks up in the third episode. Lennie James, who also wrote the show, is predictably enthralling, with a simmering rage just below the surface, which is constantly threatening to boil over. Stephen Graham plays Fabio "Melon" Melonzola, a convicted sex offender trying to put the past behind him, bringing his usual chameleonic abilities to a difficult part. Suranne Jones, however, as Claire McGory, Jody's mother, isn't really given a huge amount to do beyond a few generic scenes as the quintessential worried parent, and a subplot involving her husband Barry (Barry Ward) is inexplicably dropped in the penultimate episode. These missteps notwithstanding, this is a fine amalgamation of a Ken Loach warts-and-all tonality with a more thriller-esque core that's well directed by Nick Murphy. The last episode is superb.
18 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Please disregard the bad rating
weinstockstfleur-2271016 March 2018
This show is in every way amazing , i serioulsy created an account just so you guys wont be discouraged from the negative reviews this had excellent acting ,great story line and very very much thrilling plot. D o yourself a favor and watch
18 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Most enjoyable
info-444994 March 2018
Lennie James and Stephen Graham are excellent. It's a slow starter so don't give up after ep 1. Sky allowing you to download all 6 eps, if you can't wait for the weekly show. I found it a slightly disappointing at the end, with a few lose ends not resolved, series 2 maybe?
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Staggeringly brilliant.....but there is a big "but"
darrenlloyd18 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This was wonderful with a gripping plot, brilliant die reaction, fantastic acting, and sweaty palm suspense..........until the last 5 minutes. And therein lies the big "but". Either the scriptwriters just forgot to finish the story off or else they realised just before going into production that there was a lot more coin to be turned by not bothering as they could save that until series 2 and just not bother with any meaningful ending to justify the previous 6 hours of screen time.

I still have to give it an 8 out of 10 as the previous 5 hours and 55 mins were amazing. But why oh why did they have to ruin the ending that way.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Addictive viewing
millerlightuk3 March 2018
Brilliant acting from Lennie James and Stephen Graham. Based around south London, this has a hint of nil by mouth about it. Filmed with a gritty darkness . Really enjoyable, even though the subject matter is depressing, well worth a watch.
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Gritty
Flunkstar13 March 2018
Captures a small part of modern London life perfectly. Great acting with believable characters throughout. Well paced direction and script start to finish. Possibly you'd think 'umm phone the police' every now and then but that would negate the 'drama' and they are not sophisticated people from the off! Worthy of a binge.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Worth Watching
bryangary6526 March 2018
Captures the characters seen every day in London well.

Subject is a dark matter but relevant in the world we live in today.

Lennie James shows there is more to his talent than just killing Zombies on the Walking Dead. His character is very charismatic, and well supported by a tense Suranne Jones and the always watchable Stephen Graham.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Terrible
deborah-8786917 March 2018
Really slow starter but stuck with it because im always a sucker for a high IMDb rating! What a mistake! Found myself unable to care about pretty much any of the characters. Whatever a drama is supposed to elicit in terms of that feeling you get where you give a damn.... this did not deliver. Suranne Jones portrayal of distraught mother of abducted child was woeful. Her Irish husband and his son... what the hell was that about? The ingredients were all there to deliver something great...I just think they got the recipe wrong.
30 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Stunning.
PippinInOz4 July 2018
If you have not seen this before, I strongly encourage you to give a go. As you can see by some of the negative reviews here this will not be up everyone's street.

The strengths are: Strong three dimensional working class characters (thank you, I appreciated - and recognised - some of the characters here) If you are looking for Cor blimey trousers stereotypical Cock er nees, then this isn't for you. I loved most of these people.

The acting is first class. If you are a lover of English dramas you will recognise most if not all of the faces here - they are magnificent.

The various mise en scene: again fantastic. Apparently they decided to shoot on location rather than use a lot of studio shots - and it shows. People on the estate let the programme makers use their flats to film inside, lending this a genuine feel of someone's home, rather than someone's 'idea' of what a council flat looks like.

There are some absolutely beautiful little 'asides' - watch out for the little boy sitting in a blow up boat in the middle of the ashflelt making up a story to amuse himself. Lovely stuff.

It is gripping, gritty and down right sad at times. Well done to all who contributed.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant show - must watch!
daniel_joseph_gillard20 March 2018
This show is gripping and very well made. Brilliant main act. Surranne Jones is amazing, as always.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Life is not wrapped up into neat little packages
teawren-672612 April 2019
I wasn't sure what to expect from this show given some of the terrible reviews.

I watched 3 episodes last night and couldn't wait to get back to finish the last episodes today. I'm not entirely sure I was watching the same show as those who wrote the bad reviews. This whole series was fascinating; the acting and writing were both superb. The ending which seems to have let a number of reviewers down was very well done especially given that a second series has been confirmed. Often I will go ahead and multitask while watching a show but this one held me glued to the screen. Give this show a chance and remember that life is never wrapped up into neat little packages
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Poor Acting, and Not Realistic At All.
Steven-UK5 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I mean, your 13 year old daughter is kidnapped, and the mother of the child is laughing and joking over breakfast the very next morning? Erm, yeah, Ok, that happens in the real world...

The stepson comes out and just says "She's dead" without any explanation, or reasoning behind his comment, and the mother does not even question it?

The writing for this is absolutely horrific.

Totally unrealistic story line, and the writers have tried to paper over the cracks with well known actors.

Sorry, it is not great.
18 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Six hours of my life I'll never get back
barriethorpe3 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Writing this review in the hope that I can save others from wasting six hours watching a very engaging drama with the most deeply unsatisfying ending ever. I have literally just lost 6 hours of my life with this to be thoroughly let down on the end. Yes the acting is really actually quite good but I lost count of the number of times that I just thought to myself "what not calling the cops here then?" Then in the end he finds a girl that isn't his daughter and we don't get to find out what happened to her at all. He says that he will continue searching for her "until the devil turns to dust" then in the end he's in the pub having a jolly old time with his mates and still has no idea where his daughter is. If you enjoy things that leave you feeling really disappointed and let down then go for it, otherwise if you value your time on this earth then don't waste it on this massive let-down of a programme.
20 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Boring and Lifeless
brightspark-7823916 July 2018
So many good reviews on here, hard to believe they are genuine. I honestly wanted to like this show just based on the premise - an estranged couple, a missing daughter, a hint of human trafficking - what's not to like. Turns out it's all been done before and much, much better than this drivel. Save Me is sadly lacking in suspense or intrigue and primarily consists of the father hanging about in his local pub. Hugely disappointing!
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
An irritating cop-out.
cerimears12 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
When you don't resolve the central theme of a drama after committing six hours or so of your time to it, it's not big, clever, edgy or challenging - it's just plain annoying. Trying to eek out a second series on one premise is a total cop-out. I realise that most production companies want to ride the gravy train for as many series as they can get away with these days, but in doing so they treat their audience like a bunch of mugs. Have your second series, but I for one won't be watching it.
10 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Can't believe it has some good reviews
jenniferlarner27 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Utter rubbish! Storyling was not realistic in any way, shape or form. Terrible acting but I stuck with it just for the ending...and there wasn't one. Do not waste your time
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Some of Nellie's Blues
Lejink22 April 2018
And so yet another story about a missing child and the disappearance's affect on parents, friends and communities. Set in London and with a varied cast of characters, to say the least, this was gritty and at times hard-to-watch drama. Particularly as it drew to its anti-climactic finish, scenes where a teenage boy uses information about the missing child to force the girl's mother into having sex with him and an excruciatingly disturbing auction amongst low-life deviants to buy a little girl might have had some viewers reaching for the off button.

For me, it was all just a little too full on. The main character played by series writer Lennie James answers to the unlikely alliterative fictional name of Nellie and runs about everywhere in a bright yellow bubble jacket. On the face of it a likeable rogue, look deeper and you see a guy casually flitting from woman to woman, mooching favours from all and sundry, who's abandoned his daughter years ago when an out of the blue message from her on his mobile phone before she's abducted sets up the events which follow.

About that varied mix of characters, prominent amongst Nellie's friends is a guy who goes by the name of Melon previously convicted of corrupting an underage girl, only she's stood by him although not without lingering doubts as to his continuing proclivities no doubt as she moves past her own teenage years, a transvestite with a heart of gold, a group of young jeering teenagers who may know more about matters than at first seems, all of Nellie's ex and current girlfriends, including the one who mothered Jodi many years ago and who he's never quite got over and her slightly shady new husband so willing to try anything to erase her memories of Nellie he'll go to loan sharks to get reward money for news on the girl's disappearance.

As usual when these shows play out over 6 episodes, there are several sub-plots, red herrings and false climaxes en route, although I can't deny the last episode was gripping if tough to watch.

The acting was as you'd expect given the subject matter, deadly serious and mostly overdone by all. I found the direction unnecessarily quirky too with surreally strange background scenes inserted just for their weirdness it seemed to me. I also found the dialogue unrealistic in too many scenes for what purportedly was a near-to-real-life drama.

At the end of it all and after watching a slew of similarly themed programmes of late, I was quite drained and glad it was over.

Any happy-go-lucky shows out there just for a change?
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Awful
ljsyid8 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
What started as a possible good show soon changed and became very boring and predictable. The police did less and less. Wish I hadn't wasted just short of 6 hours on this to then not even find the answer just to drag another series of this show out. Shame
9 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Absolute, disappointing rubbish!!
linyore7 April 2018
I have just finished watching this series of Save Me. What an absolute waste of time. The cast are well chosen and professional but are let down badly by the story line and the direction. Let down very badly. The plot is a conventional step-dad searches for abducted daughter tale which is presented with little depth of character and many amateurish twists and turns. It moves slowly for the first four episodes and then, in an attempt to speed it up, the plot goes completely ridiculous. I watch most British dramas and this is the WORST I have in a very long time. Absolute rubbish. If you want to enjoy a properly made abduction drama go for Taken P1+P2. Vastly superior to this nonsense. This is the first time I have posted a review of any TV show but In this case I felt it needed to be done. Thank you for your time.
9 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Shockingly Awful Ending!!
stuartgallagher-3802512 March 2018
Ridiculous ending which left me asking myself why they would build up to a great gripping ending then blam!!! You've wasted six hours of your life because of the last hour of the series. I put some shoddy unrealistic acting to one side in the hope the finish would be worth it. It wasn't. Avoid like the plague and don't believe the hype sky are shoving down your throat!!
9 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
vanity project
oblitenation22 March 2018
SPOILER: I did enjoy Lennie James' acting. He could have hogged the screen a bit less, though. I also enjoyed Jones' and Graham's work, too. But this looks too much like a vanity project. The writing is wobbly, and the ending is just deplorable. The term cop-out was invented to describe endings such as this one.
11 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed