Reverie (TV Series 2018– ) Poster

(2018– )

User Reviews

Review this title
70 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Wonderful new show
celestekent12 July 2018
The main character Mara, a former hostage negotiator, takes people out of the dream like settings of their computer simulations they get trapped in. This is a densely psychological thriller, with surprising implications. While there is little physical action, the psychological and mental anguish is compelling. There usually is a motivation in the real world that pushes what action there is.

Warning: there is a hook, still undiscovered, something in Mara's background which will eventually lead to her own personal issues coming out. So far only hints of it and probably related to her history in police work.

This could turn into some rather mushy gooey mess if it wasn't being rooted in proper and carefully constructed mental imagery. This is a gem of a show and I hope it lasts a long time.
22 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
very promising opening for a new SCI-FI concept
spasticfreakshow31 May 2018
Shockingly good casting on the lead, Shahi, who demonstrates a versatility here that one couldn't have imagined from her time on PoI. The sci-fi choose-your-own-virtual-reality theme is inriguing and the visuals are stunning. There are some unlikable characters, a few predictable plot points, and I already fear an episodic save of the week feel (which I hope the producers/writers can overcome), but I want to see more of other people's dream worlds! Is there drama to this? Sure. But it's incorrectly categorized, though I've tried to add sci-fi to the genre on IMDB. Leaving the main genre out of this show's IMDB page and marketing is an absurd tactical error. Marketing hacks must have gotten stuck in their own reveries, and phoned this in, bc there should be a lot more hype online for this premise and pilot.
36 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Reboot of VR.5?
teriwilliams-743297 June 2018
No one else has mentioned it so maybe a generational thing but it was the first thing I thought of. VR.5 was way ahead of it's time and was slow to pick up the pace, but this is a thinking persons program, no shoot outs, no car chases, it is supposed to make you think, and as a person who is more than a little leery of technology, this is right in my wheel house
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
MY FAVORITE NEW SHOW!!!!
nipper-3742615 August 2018
So... I binged watch this show over the weekend. After the first episode I could not get enough. Thank you for such a creative, suspenseful, imaginative series. I pray there will be a Season 2. Already have 2 other friends sucked in too.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
So so show until episode 8...then I stopped watching.
anacasaux4 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This is a predictable but somewhat entertaining show. The premise is excellent, the writting mediocre. In spite of everything, we kept watching it with my daughter ... up until episode 8. The ignorance they showed in this episode about chilean culture was unspeakable... do they think that all latin american people look, dress and speak like mexicans??? Why would they write an episode about chilean 1973 coup d'etat without any real reference?! The kids manage to cross the border? Where? USA?! Because they end up all there in the end, right? Don't they know any geography? (It is in southern South America) They spent thousands of dollars making a show but couldn't bother googleing anything about the country? Why even bother to write a show about Chile if you know nothing about it!! I am not even chilean and I felt it was a disgrace.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Interesting!
annamariaangeli3 June 2018
I loved the Pilot episode and the theme, I enjoy my world but there are many including myself that does wish they could go back and be with loved ones and get some closure or change things. I've read the other reviews and respect their opinions, mine are I will be watching, only sorry Jim Caviezel wan't involved.
15 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Not based on "The Cell" at all
sanclan5 June 2018
The Cell with Jennifer Lopez was based on a lady kidnapped and kept in a water tight cube/cell with water slowly filling throughout the movie. This is not that, the reviewer that mentioned it must not have gotten past the first 5 minutes in the pilot. One thing similar happened, but was then over.

I thought this was a good pilot and I think it will be a good series. Interesting and refreshing for a summer premiere.
18 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Kind of Boring
AngelsAngel1 June 2018
I don't really have a better headline for my review, this was not a promising pilot episode and that's pretty much most of what I can say for it. Everything was grey, there were tons of tragic backstories for literally every character, which are hard to care about off the bat. It all felt kind of plain, failing to capture my interest in any way except with their special effects, which were amazing, in my opinion, for what appears to be an otherwise lower budget TV show. I found myself wandering through the guide looking for something better to watch. The plot itself could have been interesting. Entering your dreams through virtual reality? Hell yeah! People getting trapped in there and the main character having to save them? Hell yeah! But the filming, acting, and execution makes it fall flat. What should be a magical, action, sci-fi, whatever, is simply a lame full out boring drama. The characters in their debut are not very interesting, they should come to life right away, but they're just kind of there. The plot is complicated at best, confusing at worst. Basically, it wasn't what I expected it to be, and it left me disappointed.
46 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Dreamscape
Ridgeback0815 June 2018
This pilot episode takes me back to the movie "Dreamscape" which depicts a near future (1980s era) where psychic individuals from a government funded agency can enter people's dreams. While visiting people's dreams and changing their outcomes (to help their waking lives) they discover a conspiracy. Some other agency is also entering people's dreams.
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just found this hidden gem
didiguire15 August 2018
It's so hard to keep up with new shows that are added and know what's going to be good. But I found this show on Hulu and LOVE it.. I hope it isn't too late and I hope it's renewed!!
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Engaging - think about the possibilities
jim9tan31 May 2018
What if we could go back and correct our mistakes? What if we could prolong our happiness forever, or re-visit whenever we needed a boost?

Like Westworld, this show is about fantasy. To create a fantasy around ourselves, and the pitfalls inherent.

Sarah Shahi plays a role very different from the assassin in Person Of Interest. Does well in the first episode.

The narrative is slick, the CGI is convincing and the storyline requires empathy.

The only negative is the quick and easy way that the problem was resolved in Episode One.

That said, the show has promise, and I do hope that it will remain interesting.
17 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Hotel California
stevenbyrd31 May 2018
Little early to tell but after the 1st episode found myself wanting more. Always liked Dennis Haysbert commanding presence and plays his role convincingly. Good surprise was Sarah Shahi, eager, committed and passionate in the lead role. The story is very interesting being so close to reality.
22 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Dreadfully unimaginative
zomboide7 June 2018
Ok, I resisted just two (whole!) episodes, so it's fair to take my review with a grain of salt. This show has many problems, from the formulaic structure, to the very generic setting, to the not that good performances of the actors, but the worst part, for me, is that for a show that explore virtual reality is just too bland. It's like it was made by someone who heard of this virtual reality thing the day before yesterday, and is yet to figure out that the possibilities are indeed infinite. There's no imaginations, no creativity, nor sign of something truly particular or eccentric, everything is so "already seen a thousand times" that ultimately the virtual reality aspect seems useless. I understand that TV budget has its limit, but I also know that a pinch of inspiration can take you miles away, and that's exactly what seems to be missing here. The story is ok, not the worst but not that good either.
17 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Cliched exposition to set up a tired trope.
stephen_wild4 June 2018
Reconstructing a "person" from their online presence has been done before and much better. I am thinking of an episode of Black Mirror but I wouldn't be surprised if it hadn't been done even earlier.

Usual formulaic US writing and acting and directing drivel where they all have perfect teeth and great hair and bodies to kill for and the stilted "what?" type dialogue and facial expressions and body language. Nobody dies and they all live happily ever after.
34 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Weak
pietclausen14 June 2018
Having now seen 3 episodes the only conclusion one can draw is that this series is nothing but a filler without development to make it interesting. It's just a show within a show, where the negotiator has only one task: to convince the participant in Reverie to get out as he is wanted back at home in the real world.

The production is good but the stories are not worth watching. I am exiting from Reverie too . . .
14 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Addictive
sammedginton19 February 2019
I have to say I watched the first episode and was like "what did just watch". I had to watch another episode and was addicted ever since. So hope for another series 👋
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Writers need to pick up the pace/action
gr-655707 June 2018
I have watched a few episodes and know this is a very promising show...however the pace is very slow and you must really get into it to appreciate it. The slow pace I feel lulls a viewer to almost boredom, I realize what the show is pushing, but we all know that Sarah Shahi was seen as an action type person as well. Just once in a while during Reverie and her battles with others, it would be nice to show her bad ass side again, then the nice side...The viewers then would anticipate her one side or another show up to take care of the people she is helping....Kind of a "giftedsuperwoman" , type person that no one can mess with, but also have a tender and caring side as well. Pick up the pace writers or this show, although really good will not keep the interest of the viewers much longer. This will please the viewers that like a little of both caring and action type personalities. Sarah Shahi has as huge following and then she was gone for awhile. People only really remember her on POA and her role on that show...She has always had the looks and that is a plus, but many like myself will be checking out her new role and trying to adjust to her new "calm" role.
10 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
another attempt to create "lost"
davidm-142 June 2018
Since 2004, the major networks have been ploddingly trying to recreate another episodic dramatic show that engages people like "lost" did, with varying results. the problem is, they never give the shows enough time to gain an audience or to allow enough of the story to be told that it will engage viewers. i predict that this show will go 10 episodes at the most before nbc cancels it.

a damaged ex-hostage negotiator is recruited by her old boss to assist with the "issues" a fledgling vr program is having - putting the users into comas. they want to send her into the program and bring the people back. so, possibilities for exotic cgi scenes and dramatic, but not necessarily real, danger.

not bad, really, but it has that "vancouver vibe" (filmed in overly blue and/or grey tones, lots of woodsy scenes. trappings that shows filmed there have had since the "x-files". i don't like that vibe, so they would have to make it up in addition to making the show a bit more interesting. i'll try it out, but i have little hope. after all, it's been 14 years since "lost".
20 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fun and entertaining
mediamieck22 July 2018
This show has just the right amount of suspense, intrigue, humor, love and action in it! Easy to watch put keeps you on the edge of your seat to!
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Already a fan, just with the pilot
rivermcfly4 June 2018
In the pilot, they introduce us to this virtual-reality program in which you can literally live your dreams. But some people are in danger because they have lost their sense of reality, and there´s where Mara, the main character, enters. With her knowledge on human behavior she will try to help them. The series has lots of side plots, secrets and mysteries, and great acting. If you like science-fiction, artificial intelligent, and imposible worlds , you should watch it.
11 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Reverie
tmgonzales-6376417 August 2018
I absolutely love this show, it's a creative show and refreshing to watch besides the usual shows that come out. Please renew it.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Dramatic entertainment
korihoyt4 June 2018
I enjoyed the pilot of the show. It was well written but went a little fast developing characters. I look forward to seeing where they go from here. I was in tears, so it got to me. It was just the right amount of emotion.
10 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
not a bad show
shimaone4 June 2018
Pilot was good wasn't boring. yes probably not the best show i have seen but give it a chance. could turn out to be like inception ;)
12 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A good show in need of some polishing to become a great series
rmullen-3473314 July 2018
First....it's a great plot and concept, whether it's based upon 'The Cell' or not and it's clearly well cast, specifically utilizing a very under-rated actress Sarah Shahi.

I'm a sci-fi geek to begin with and find myself struggling to watch most series and movies of that genre because of poorly conceived plots and assemblence of poorly casted actors/actresses out of their elements. Yet this one has all the special effects, characters/personalities that mesh, believable and well-conceived story-lines, etc....and comes close to really pulling off a great series.

I think NBC has a winner here and look forward to this show developing and growing into the potential it has....it'll be interesting to see how they can keep the underlining concern and issues of the main character, who has some deeply set issues of her own to deal with outside of her admirable instinct to preserve the lives of others first.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Can't mix Sci-Fi and melodrama - by definition
Zen-2-Zen3 September 2018
I know that Spielberg signed his name under this and I can't hold it against him, who's going to produce Sci-Fi if he won't? But when he signs his name he also needs to exercise some actual creative control, slap that stupid guy and send him back to do a rewrite instead of being an absentee landlord. He made the same mistake with that nonsense show in which dinos "liked to eat nickel" by a "great mind" of that Braga creature.

Sci-Fi is a genre of ideas, genre for smart people. Melodrama is genre for stupid people to wipe their tears on stupid "oh so emmo" concoctions. They don't live in the same universe and if you mix that you lose all audience. Melodrama lovers can't understand even a single word of Sci-Fi and Sci-Fi lovers puke when they see sappy "designs". Every character has a "sad backstory" which stinks on PVC and formaldehyde beyond endurance and destroys what could have been a decent average show.

In this show every episode is a steaming pile of sap concoctions. What was supposed to be the Sci-Fi "part" was spent in 16 min of the 1st episode, 8 of the 2nd, 4 of the 3rd 2 of the 4th, 1 of the 5th. Then it flatlined but didn't awake as The OA :-)))

Seriously, if he wants to do something really good he needs to stand behind a show like "The OA". I'm sure Brit Marling wouldn't have refused extra budget :-) and a better distribution channel and he'd have something he'd be proud to show around instead of having to hide his name (literally in this case).

The sole bright spot of this show is Sarah Shahi. She's in that class that can make a wooden pole look alive at the other side of the frame but she can't revive brainded scripts - even gods have their limits :-))

So, Steve, be nice, next time, give Brit this budget and you can ask Sarah to join her latter :-) At least she'll get to practice some good non-verbal acting and to learn text that is worth something.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed