Roma (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
1,034 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
I get it.
johnofardeal24 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I get why the numerous nominations and I get why some people were disappointed by the lack of storytelling.

First things first - the cinematography is stellar and poetic. You could pause the movie every 5 seconds and get a stunning photograph. The long takes simply got me.

Secondly - yes, there is no epic story here. And you know what? That's exactly how things are in life. This is what this movie is all about - the silent drama of the boring lives we, normal people, go through as we sit on time's sidelines. In the grand schemes of things, we don't matter. Just as Cleo's drama doesn't matter to anyone except her. She's all alone with her struggles, just as we all are.
501 out of 753 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Really, really great camera panning
Flusenboy24 December 2018
This movie is great if you like, nay, if you love camera panning. There is so much panning, it's truly fantastic. Very artistic. 90 degrees, 180 degrees, once even 450 degrees!! Oh and tracking also. Panning and tracking, tracking and panning, panning and tracking galore. And just when you think "wow, this panning has been so great and so abundant, they can't possibly squeeze in any more!" well, right at that moment you're in for a treat. No spoilers, you will need to see for yourself what treat I mean. Oh, there's also a story in there somewhere about a middle class family in the Mexico in the 70s, marital problems and a Mixtec indigenous live-in household help. But I truly don't think any of that is really relevant to the movie, at least not as much as the panning.
906 out of 1,450 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boring, Nothing film
pjaycuk11 February 2019
After forcing myself to watch this film to the end I just cannot understand the positive comments concerning the film. The film had no interest for me, I felt no emotion, I felt nothing. Someone mentioned the Emperor's New Clothes !!!. After seeing the BAFTA awards and some of the comments I think I have to admit to myself that I know nothing about film art and must be a complete moron on the subject. Some excellent nominations this year and they pick this film. I cannot remember watching a film that had so little interest for me. I have studied the positive comments and still cannot understand why it is claimed to be so good. Please someone agree with me.
578 out of 918 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The emperor has no clothes
mikebakunin21 December 2018
Every now and then a movie comes along that reviewers who want to appear sophisticated and "in the know" feel compelled to heap all kinds of praise upon. This is one of those movies. Boring, slow, tedious, and lame don't begin to describe it. Hate is a strong word, but it is the only appropriate one to describe my feeling towards this waste of film. I honestly don't see how any real human being could like or enjoy this movie, and I suspect that very few actually did, despite their phony reviews.
517 out of 832 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pretentious, plotless and soporific
dierregi12 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I really had to force myself to watch this movie on Netflix, in three times, each "session" lasting as long as I could, before I started to drift off. I knew I was in trouble from the opnening scene of a symmetrically tiled floor being washed. Interesting it wasn't, but for sure it lasted a very long time. The unexciting opening credits were followed by disconnected episodes in the life of a large family and their two maids. Apologies to the politically correct police, but for a while I could not distinguish one maid from the other. After a while I learnt one was Cleo and the other Adela.

We focus on Cleo, who gets pregnant by an "inconsiderate" lover (understatement of the year). In the meantime, Sofia, the lady of the house is dumped by her doctor husband for a younger model. Sofia must take care of their four kids on her own, but does not seem quite up to the task. All this slightly soap-opera drama is seen from a distance, dialogues are boring and few and far between. There is no building of tension or plot development.

Other than this being filmed in black & white to offer a political statement of some sort, there is nothing that strucks me as genuinely moving. As a commercial operation, it's certainly the perfect Oscar bait. Yet another Mexican director will bag the big prize and everybody will be righteously happy that justice prevailed.... I mean, that the best film won the prize it deserves...or whatever
366 out of 584 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A movie about my grandma would be better than this
elvisalex-b21 December 2018
As I said. A movie about my grandmother just walking around her house and doing the loundry, cleaning the dishes or crying about her lost husband would be less boring than this movie. This is my first review ever and I wanted to say that I don't understand what's really the point of this movie. Very slow, showing only trivial events. Please don't waste two hours of your life with this movie.
396 out of 634 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disappointing
pb-0559610 February 2019
The cinematography is not bad but the lack of story and everything else makes it a dull and flat movie easy to forget. Personally a waist of my time.
321 out of 511 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
I tried
scoops3527 December 2018
I sincerely tried to get into this movie. I was honestly bored throughout the film. I loved the camera work and get what this was going for. I just could not get invested as much as I wanted to. Not a bad movie. Just not keeping me tuned in. Although I do say again Cinematography was very nice throughout the film.
724 out of 1,182 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boring
francisco89924 February 2019
Was ready to see a great story beautifully told with the best cinematography. Started by being bored with 5 minutes watching water on concrete for the credits. And that more or less summarises the movie. No story, just scenes of this maid cleaning, getting predictably pregnant. Doesn't deserve a chocolate medal!
180 out of 281 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
??? 😳
nickiquist3 March 2019
This movie is so slow, odd and boring that wathing the lawn grow is a thrill! Yes, the camera work is probably nice. But that's it. I really don't understand the fuzz. It's a horrible story with nothing to keep me interested at any point. Sorry to say..
122 out of 187 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dont waste your time
lilianamawer28 February 2019
The cinematography is good. But it has a flimsy plot. It's boring. The characters are uninteresting. Its one if the worst films I have ever seen. If only Netflix had spent the 24 million dollars to help the homeless instead of using it to promote this terrible film!
120 out of 184 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It will disappear into the ether
drhoads-9374326 February 2019
First, I think Alfonso Cuaron is a good director. But this is one of those films that tries to impress you with how boring it is. Even my Mexican wife, who loves any film, actor, character, or TV show having to do with Mexico, was bored to tears by this.

It's textbook pretentious filmmaking. Nothing to grip you. Nothing to keep you interested. No mystery. No wonder. No real characters. No real tension.

It looks no better than a higher budget film school experiment.

No one will remember this film in five years. It will not be talked about. It will not be seen. It will become one of the many, many forgotten films that some pretentious director suckered a bunch of pretentious people into thinking they liked because it's slow and boring...but that's artsy, I guess.
94 out of 142 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Good for sleeping
mpepio4 March 2019
15 minutes and totally sleep, very bad movie, in my opinion pure marketing What happens in this business? Think that public is smart, and won't go with just this bad strategy Very bad for Netflix!!!
107 out of 163 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
2½ hrs of my life wasted.
amandahenderson-932957 February 2019
Absolutely zero plot and wholly unlikable/uninteresting characters. The main character had no spine, and clearly, no drive to succeed. Also, possibly the most boring movie I have ever seen. Not sure how it's up for a Best Picture Oscar, as it wouldn't be in my top 30 of this year.
197 out of 310 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The worst ever
ernestopa3 March 2019
3 Óscars... Really? This is one of the worst movies I have seen..
110 out of 168 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't bother.
docmus-240-4052502 March 2019
With all the rave reviews I can only imagine that there has been a sophisticated hacking of IMDB by someone who would benefit. Having watched this boring nothing of a movie I totally agree with all the one star raters. Pretentious bilge.
110 out of 168 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Big Waste of Time
therosses51 March 2019
The ONLY reason we decided to watch a black and white movie with subtitles was due to the awards received. The ONLY reason we watched until the end was due to the awards, thinking that certainly it will improve. It's SO slow moving that anything that seems like it might turn dramatic, like a tire rolling over dog pooh, had us anticipating some kind of major drama. But it was just a shot of a tire rolling over dog pooh. That's basically how the whole movie goes. Mexico is so beautiful and colorful, not filming in color was a huge mistake.

The dark video and very poor audio meant we were basically just reading a story while trying to decipher which character was talking.

If this movie is worthy of any award, the movie industry is in very sad shape.
110 out of 168 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Waste of time. It's about ... nothing.
danilcus10 July 2019
I don't understand what's really the point of this movie. Very slow, showing only trivial events. Don't waste two hours of your life with this movie.
28 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
too much Avengers and Game of thrones
asli-950-48316522 June 2019
This is a mediocre film .. There is no depth.. The Academy must have watched too many superficial and non realistic movies and series such as Game of Thrones , Avengers , Bat Man .... that even a mediocre drop of other's everyday reality seems a strike of genius to them... It definitely does not deserve an Oscar .. If you want the reality and with vein-cutting depth , watch Voices of Andes .it is a documentary but with story that tells itself.or there was a 2010 Russian movie How ended this summer ,between just two characters .. a movie with a true heart beat.. So Oscars must be kidding
20 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Couldn't wait for it to be over.
rdturley-400-21963122 February 2019
So boring and unremarkable. I've seen commercials on TV with better plotlines. Tries to be artsy and cutting edge. Just a waste of time and film.
210 out of 332 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
2 hour long walking and talking commercial
joeltryon-407393 April 2019
This is by far the movie that has frustrated me the most. A movie is supposed to be digital storytelling, I repeat STORYtelling. If a movie has no plot and no direction then what is the point other than if you enjoy watching people walk around and talk senselessly for hours in black and white. Yes it's pretty and the cinematography is more than there, but that's not what you rely on to create a movie, especially when that's all that's there. Overall this is a lazy attempt at movie making that somehow surpassed the academy and has duped them into handing them awards for it. You can't film people doing pointless things for 2 straight hours, include no plot, slap a title on there, and call it a movie.
82 out of 123 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Extremely overrated
attiyaa25 May 2019
Well after wasting 2 and half hours of my life I tried to look again objectively and find some good things in the movie. Maybe the direction is incredible but only coz I don't understand. Movies has to be entertaining first they comes the other instruments, the movie is very poor in al aspects, very normal story happens everyday to millions of people, doesn't have a start or an end, it's just filming one boring simple life
55 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disappointing and a disgrace for Oscar repoutation
johnnychoufani14 March 2019
I am so disappointed to know that this piece of non sense no story movie has won an Oscar. Shame shame shame.
108 out of 165 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dreadful. A waste of time.
aphager4 March 2019
What a disgrace to give the Oscar to this director. Nothing about this film is worthy of any award- not acting, not cinematography, not editing. If you want a sleeping pill, look no further
108 out of 165 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I can't even think of a worse movie than Roma
km-equines28 February 2019
I'm completely disappointed in this movie. It is literally so boring that I fell asleep during it. How did this win a single award? The black and white just made it worse. This is the biggest let down, all hyped up for nothing.
95 out of 144 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed