Tokyo Project (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
12 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Nice story but easy to guess the twist, or maybe not.
rlmdamnam31 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Judging by the other reviews not many people get this. This is a story about a couple who have been through the heartbreak of losing a child and are trying to find a new beginning. They both arrange to meeting a foreign land by chance in an attempt to rekindle the feelings of a fresh romance, maybe it will work out, maybe not. The ticket to kyoto gives hope for a positive ending. Nice short but easy to guess, for some. Maybe I am bias actually living in Tokyo but I still got a warm feeling from this.
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Loved it
kareninsilver11 June 2018
I love Tokyo so when I was channel surfing and saw the title, I stopped and watched this short film. It was well-crafted, has great cinematography and the plot was good. I thought Tokyo Project was a series of stories that take place in Tokyo though. I wish that were the case so I'm disappointed that it's just one story.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Tokyo version of Lala Land in a short
jrneptune14 October 2017
It is a short story and I love shorts. They can often be as impressive as a full length movie. The cinematography is great and you feel like you are in the city itself. Wish there were more pictures of the surrounding landscape though but the city is definitely the star.

The story starts off giving you the impression that an American businessman is looking to close deals in Tokyo while he is away from his wife. I don't want to give away too much but a friends makes a suggestion and you think things are going one way and there is a big twist and then another twist on top of that.

If you like adult dramas you will enjoy it.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
great short story ... hope there's a follow up
rcrannel22 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Short stories are always a challenge ... this one is a winner for sure ... mystifying ... holds your attention ... leaves you with unanswered questions ... is she his wife ... is she a stranger ... does she exist at all. If you love short stories read some by Flannery O'Connor. Or take a look at a 25 minute film called An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge by Ambrose Bierce ... read the short story and see the short film ... every college student with brain (they are hard to find today for sure) has seen this in any film appreciation course ... Tokyo Project felt somewhat similar to me ... loved it. Ignore the negative review, certain that viewer also disliked "Lost in Translation"
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Cool,
Sean_Biggins15 June 2018
I really liked this. I don't want to give anything away but it's really worth watching if you see it's going to be on TV. I thought it was quite a different kind of film, also great acting, cinematography and nice music.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Well done short of making connection by luck and chance proving it can lead to intimate passion and a memory!
blanbrn14 October 2017
Just viewed this 2017 short on "HBO" called the "Tokyo Project" and I must say it was a well done little story of escape, chance, luck, and discovery of an ever lasting memory! Set in Tokyo, Japan(a city that I one day want to visit it's on my bucket list!)it centers around two adults one a business man named Sebastian who's traveled to sell his new products and inventions, and along the way a photographer named Claire(the wonderful Elisabeth Moss)is seeing the sights of the city and snapping plenty of shots, only by chance at a dining and bar type place the two meet then after an attraction get together for some passion and hot romance between the sheets! Only this was just a one night stand, not love. Still this short proves that passion and chance meeting is the best way that passion is made as love hurts and is uncertain and may not last forever as making memories of pleasure and intimate feel are never forgotten as this short showcases the theme so well.
6 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
a visually delightful little film.
seaturtle-1816722 April 2019
I just watched it twice. Once last night. and once this morning.

I liked Tokyo. I liked the tight shots of the eyes. it is just a tender lovely movie that is totally worth watching twice. maybe even a third time

The actors did a great job. the movie makers made a great movie
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Refreshing, short, beautiful
natasha-kuzmanoska12 March 2019
I resisted twice - then I catch it the third time without changing the channel and it was surprisingly poetically beautiful. You have to be in slow-motion mode
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I wish it was even shorter
NathanMcDunnough18 October 2017
What a bomb. This thing was awful. Thank goodness it was short. Two young professionals away in a foreign land perhaps escaping from life at homeÂ… questions of their pasts left unansweredÂ… yada yada. You won't care. It's like watching some guy's film school project. The cinematography, music and Elizabeth Moss aren't terrible, but overall it is an absolute bore. There is a scene where a bartender makes a heck of an impressive cocktail. So, it has that going for it.
5 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
God Awful
louislafontaine12 November 2017
I want that 30 minutes of my life back. I mean Jesus Christ was this awful from top to bottom. The only thing I liked was the camera work which did a decent job of capturing Tokyo. Other than that it was probably the most cringe-worthy "project" I've ever seen. The dialog is just creepy and poor, the constant piano music over conversations is annoying, the random zoom ins make it feel like a porno. I wish I could slap everyone who was a part of this thing in the face as hard as I could. Please if you are reading this and haven't watched save yourself from this garbage. I swear to God I could film a better story in my 1 bedroom apartment on my iPhone right now. Every scene feels overly dramatic and stupid. I think the producers just wanted an excuse to visit Tokyo and this crap is what came of their booze-fueled trip. I bet this whole thing was shot in 48 hours.
3 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
3 stars only for the shots of Tokyo
gravit_01324 June 2018
Holy wow what a piece of junk script and acting! All I could think about was how I couldn't stand looking at their faces any longer. Only the three stars because of the shots of Tokyo. I wish both actors were ghosts and I wasn't able to see them!
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great little film
garyously27 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
A treat to the senses. Well laid out. Nice insight into intimate emotions in turmoil. Great music but Who plays the piano? and Who composed the music? Would love to know... Congrats... A treat to the senses. Well laid out. Nice insight into intimate emotions in turmoil. Great music but Who plays the piano? and Who composed the music? Would love to know... Congrats...
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed