The Mick (TV Series 2017–2018) Poster

(2017–2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
85 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
SAVE MICK - Amazing, but freaking FOX canceled it
pavle_z12 May 2018
I L O V E The Mick, it is one of the most promising new show, and definetly the funnies one! The humor is priceless and epic! Mick is freaking queen of disaster and that's why we all love so damn much! BUT FOX CANCELED IT I am so pissed off right now, FOX cancels all great shows they have, Mick, Brooklyn 99 and Lucifer. ITS A DISASTER

SAVE MICK SAVE MICK SAVE MICK SAVE MICK WE WANT MORE, WE WANT SEASON 3
122 out of 127 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Cancelled???
melaniestmn2 March 2019
Are you SERIOUS! Why on earth would you cancel THIS show??!! Listen to the people, we want it back!!!!!!! Seriously, best show ever!!!
57 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Bring it back!!
aisyaa-3463329 August 2018
I'm in love with all the characters and I miss the show a lot since FOX cancelled it. Now we all are not going to know if Sabrina survives the lightning or not. Shame on you FOX! It was a one of a kind show. Bring The Mick back!
61 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So Pissed at FOX!
Rocket20213 August 2018
Is there a CHANCE that we can save this show? So many other good shows like Lucifer, and Expanse have been saved by their fans, why not The Mick!? I really enjoyed this show, and the comical writing that was more high-brow than the normal FOX comedies. Someone please post a petition page, if there is one, and I'd be more than happy to sign.
26 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
FANTASTIC show !! Watch this !!
merileeis20 March 2017
This is by far the funniest sitcom on TV. It's fresh, smart and hilarious. I fell hard for all of the characters. They are surprisingly well-rounded and beautifully played by the respective actors. The far- fetched-ness of the plot really fades into the background and the situation of the moment really cracks you up. It's not cute-sy like a lot of shows with kids tend to be. The themes are adult, but not crazy inappropriately so. The physical aspect of the humor contributes greatly to the fun.
65 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Save Mick!!
sapiraminov24 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Can NBC buy The Mick show since they bought Brooklyn Nine Nice! It's a great show and funny, I don't understand why you had to cancel?
17 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very, very funny - from a Sunny Philadelphia fan
t-5764021 March 2018
I'm a huge It's Always Sunny fan and I regarded both The Mick and A.P. Bio with ambivalence. These aren not one-off movies that the actors could do and then forget about - they could be permanent jobs.

I gave The Mick a shot and it grabbed me instantly. It's very funny, very smart. Some see it as a flaw that the character Olson plays is almost exactly Di from Sunny, but I see that as a plus... but that's just me.

It's a real comedy, not a light-hearted drama. It's based around laughs. But there are no canned laughs.

I'm still in season 1, but I give it a 9/10 so far.
21 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I CAN'T BELIEVE THEY CANCELLED THIS SHOW!!!!
mollyvoorheis18 August 2018
This was an amazingly well written comedy. Most comedies today are awful. As a matter of fact, I do not watch sitcoms at all with the exception of this show. It was hilarious. Each character was carefully developed. It pushed the envelope and stayed fresh week after week, but alas, it was cancelled. I would recommend watching the first two seasons. Enjoy.
14 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Improving every week, it seems
ex761712 April 2017
while many TV shows- dramas, comedies, whatever - seem to start strong then peter out, content-wise, this one, week by week, gets ever-better!

for that reason alone this show is remarkable but the cast, also, could not be any better, proving that a Mundane Premise combined w/ superlative Casting + brilliant Writing works just fine!
30 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Say it ain't ...so
wildcapri5 October 2018
How in the world did this show get cancelled! I adore Kaitlyn Olsen, and this show is amazing . Someone needs to pick this show up....Hulu, Netflix, or whattimeisitrightnow.com. I guess I will have to rewatch the show again.
15 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Excellent Show!
naileric30 September 2017
Really plays heavy on situational humor, but, nails it. Great show and cast. There is always another plot twist, surprise, or shocking moment coming. The overarching plot is a bit outlandish but still, manages to remain inside the realm of possibility. The endless comedic situations tormenting the characters can be eerily similar to those faced by your average person. Overall just a terrific show, can't wait for it to return!
21 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Genuine laughing out loud
khaycock29 March 2017
At last. An American sitcom that is actually funny to people from England.

I have watched lots of American sitcoms, and although some actually help time pass in an enjoyable manner, very few since "Friends", "Modern Family" and "The Big Bang Theory" have actually made me giggle. The Mick however has broken this situation. When I watched the pilot I laughed out loud even though I was watching it alone. I then watched it again with members of my family and we all were in stitches with the fantastic storyline, brilliant acting (Ben- why does America have such talented child actors, whilst we in the U.K. get wooden, false ones??? But I'm digressing) and an hilarious script.

I have watched 13 episodes so far and I can't understand why there is not more chatter about this series. Surely more promotion is needed. As someone from the UK I had never seen Miss Olsen before, but have found her to have excellent timing and she is really likable.

This series is fresh, funny and full of quick witted lines. I have scored this series 8 as I can watch an episode more than once and still giggle and notice something I missed previously. Love the fact I now have a series I look forward to watching that fills my house with genuine laughter.
38 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Promising new comedy, that could go either way
NickBrock15 February 2017
The Mick is the second most promising new comedy of 2017, after Santa Clarita Diet, which I give a clear 10.

They both thrive on being wildly inappropriate, to a degree where you either can't help laughing out loud, because it all is so outrageous, or get in touch with your inner prude.

Personally, I find it hilarious.

Where The Mick falls a little short is, that it can at times get too focused on creating a happy or moral ending to an episode.... stuff is forgotten or forgiven a little too easily.... and it seems like they are rushing to create harmony amongst the cast during the first season, rather than leaving room for long term development.

But, that is something the writers can tighten up for the next season - I have no doubt it should be renewed.

The cast is really good, albeit, I wonder what they are going to do with a 25 year old playing an 18 year old..... if the show catches on ;)
17 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I wish they would bring this back
mandybravo1628 February 2020
This show is so funny. I don't know why they canceled it.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
How was this show cancelled!
tylerbwilson5 April 2019
I hope this picked up by Netflix, Hulu, etc. This show is great. With all the other garbage out there that keeps getting episodes and this gets canceled. Make no sense.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Funny new FOX show for Kaitlin Olson
swilliky4 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Kaitlin Olson strikes out on her own from the gang in a hilarious new comedy series that sees her troubled character Mackenzie "Mick" Murphy in charge of three kids in a mansion. When Mick's sister escapes with her husband from an FBI investigation, Mick is left in charge. Her first order of business is to let the maid Alba (Carla Jimenez) off the hook for work and to relax. However, the three kids Sabrina (Sofia Black-D'Elia), Chip (Thomas Barbusca), and Ben (Jack Stanton) Pemberton are more than Mick bargained for. Each has their own issues as Chip tries to stand up to bullies, Sabrina sneaks out to party, and Ben obsesses over fire. Mick tries to establish rules but her own lackadaisical discipline and her boyfriend Jimmy (Scott MacArthur) don't set the best example.

Mick encounters problems with the rich neighbors, the wealthy school's principal, and other tenants of the extreme wealth the Pemberton's inhabit. She finds that the kids have had little to no guidance in life when it comes to dealing with the complex issues of childhood and budding adolescence. The show touches on several complex issues from gender identity to income disparity. Mick usually takes a route that is most convenient and suits her new lifestyle as she becomes accustomed to immense wealth and the spoiled children.

Check out more of this review and others at swilliky.com
12 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Finally!
kemro20023 January 2017
I have to start by stating that I love 'smart', intellectual comedy, and clearly this is not it. Firstly, the problem I have been having lately is that a lot of the today's comedy is actually too dramatic and not as easy to watch as I would like it to be. Secondly, the other, bigger, problem is that a lot of the 'easier' stuff is not so good. The good news is that 'The Mick' is somewhere in between, satisfyingly good and super easy to watch.

I had a really high expectations when I watched the trailer, and I could not wait to watch the pilot, and although I can't say it lived up to the expectations I was genuinely entertained and satisfied it.

The cast is solid, and Kaitlin Olson seems quite good as Mackenzie Murphy, but I might be a bit biased cause I find her incredibly funny and I would watch anything she is in cause I am a huge 'It's always sunny in Philly' fan.

Easy to watch and fun is what this show is, and what I really think is missing on TV, so I vote 'Yay'!
29 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
If you're a Kaitlin Olsen or "Sunny" fan, enjoy!
gcummings-889004 January 2017
Kaitlin Olsen is one of those actors that has a particular character that is done superbly. "The Mick" lets this character run free, and so far I love what I'm seeing.

MacKenzie Murphy (the Mick) is a streetwise, sarcastic babe with zero regard for the law and little regard for right and wrong. She is forced by circumstance to take charge of her sister's mansion and wonderfully over-entitled offspring who have no love for her, nor she them.

I am impressed by every character in the show. It is rare to see a new show where everybody's character is already likable and filled with potential.

"The Mick" is hilarious, fun, and refreshing, and is my new show to watch.
26 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Good "Uncle Buck" Spin
patrick-720413 January 2017
It was a fun tryst of sophomoric bits which is nice to see. If you're getting tired of TV shows trying too hard to be funny and failing miserably, I think the light humor in "The Mick" will give you a place to enjoy a little "guilty pleasure". The haters are going to push you away from this show because it doesn't fit their pseudo-intellectual comedy guidelines, but it's worth the watch. I really does have all the "Uncle Buck" attributes, so if you wanted more Uncle Buck, you will get somewhat of a reprisal of the show with "The Mick". The obtuse Older daughter, the middle child with a stronger sense of understanding than a kid his age should have, and the little kid with all the questions in the world. So take this quarter and go have a rat gnaw that thing off your face.
27 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
For All You Haters...
shoguncrosse19 March 2017
This is an EXCELLENT and genius PHYSICAL comedy series...All the children (even though in real life some are adult lol), and Kaitlin Olsen are genius in the series. For all you haters hating because of its crudeness and borderline and sometimes non-borderline controversial themes...mmmm...ITS WHATS ITS SUPPOSED TO BE! lol...If you're a fan of dark comedy, or Its Always Sunny, you'll love this show. Kaitlin Olsen actually made a plug about being a physical comedy genius on Sunny not long after this show's release lol...the episode where she gets her head stuck in the staircase ;)...lmao...It was a nice little plug - they kept teasing her saying she couldn't carry her own show lmao...Well, her'es to kaitlin and all the genius kids who make me laugh each week...The only con to this series is the network its on and how far they could really go with it ;) lol. Netflix would be genius picking this up if the network drops it.
17 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funny and sweet
stephydrools-0332111 April 2020
I found this show by accident. I binged it with my children. We burned through two seasons. I'm super disappointed to see that it was cancelled! This show is smart and funny. Please bring this show back!!!!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
BRING THIS BACK!!!!
sharlypenney26 February 2020
Honestly one of my favourite shows, and although Kaitlin Olson is my FAVOURITE actress, she is not the only reason to watch this show, every single character is what makes it, it could not be done without any of them and there is just nothing else out there like this! I will NEVER understand why it was cancelled, PLEASE some one pick this back up and give us all what we need... MORE THE MICK!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of the best, albeit craziest, shows of recent years.
aharon-izraeli24 January 2020
It did take me a while to get really into this show, but once I did I became addicted. The fact that it's been cancelled while so many derivative, badly written and acted shows continue is witness to the decline of quality programming on network television. I hope that someone steps up and saves this show, but if they don't they two excellent seasons stand as a memorial to the writers and actors who created something truly original here
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
IT WILL FLIP YOUR FREAKY WIGS. BAKE A FEW & ENJOY
j-rbarnett6928 December 2019
I've seen many so called edgy comedy TV shows in my 55 Years But "This Sh+t right hear Folks is up there with Best of the Worst. WHATCH THIS SHIiznit. IT WILL FLIP YOUR WIG COUSINS IT'LL HAVE YOU SCREAMIN
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Save The Mick
christianjoven20 December 2019
Best Sitcom Ever!!! I loved every episode of The Mick and for me this show has a Perfect Cast.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed