The Great Indoors (TV Series 2016–2017) Poster

(2016–2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
29 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Why though?
fball1145 November 2016
Both Joel McHale and Stephen Fry knows what funny looks like. Why did they join this project? Please, I want to know! What am I not seeing? This is like what Community or a modern Fry&Laurie would make fun of, this mindless millennial vs 80s kids laugh track.

It's not BAD, it's just bland. I expected more. Which is funny, as they endlessly tag my demographic for being entitled and bored. Thats, like, the tagline. But this pilot doesn't help me with either. It doesn't contribute to any reflection or understanding, and it doesn't entertain me.

I really hope it gets better. PLEASE, get better. Pretty please, I'll share it on lots of social medias. Like, all of them, I promise, for realzies.
30 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Gen X vs Millenials
Eagles4092 December 2016
After reading the other reviews on here I'm apparently the only person who thinks this show is hilarious. I'll just start by saying I'm an Gen X person and yes they make quite a bit of fun of our generation. That being said, they also make fun of millennial's as well. Of course they use stereotypes for both, but they make fun of each generation pretty equally. The premise of the show is about a outdoors adventurer type that is forced to work in an office setting with a bunch of people very much his junior. The humor is simple and this show isn't a thinker, it's a "turn off your brain and laugh" show. It seems most people disagree with me, but I like it.
17 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Oh the humanity!
al1-328 October 2016
Stephen Fry's lines would be the best thing this show has to offer but even that won't keep it from drowning in the sea of mediocrity. The worst thing I've seen for some time and certainly the worst thing I've seen Stephen in I'm sad to say. From the canned laughter to the cringe worthy banter, I won't be bothering to see if there's more to come. I'm not a fan of so called comedy soap shows from the US generally but I was curious to see it as I imagined Stephen Fry would only put his name to something worthy.

Blimey Stephen, there's no need to stoop this low, take some more pills and call your agent, stick to your proved track record of challenging the audience with mental health issues or such, you are better than this!
31 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I love it!
rosabellax26 February 2017
I don't get all the bad reviews! This has become a favorite of mine. I watch it with my daughter who's gen Y (I think) as she's 18. We both laugh so what more can you want out of a show. I think it started off slow but picked up speed when they made the main character Joel McHale sort of a cynical bad boy. I hope they keep the series as my daughter and I both really enjoy it. Some reviewers seem to take the comedy personally. I think all generations are portrayed (comically) in a not so flattering light. But it's funny!
14 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Still waiting for a good laugh
dshrout-571-79055417 December 2016
This show relies on narrowly drawn characters based on cruel, inaccurate stereotypes. Millennials are made to look incompetent. Of course, Gen Xers and Boomers hired these incompetents and spend their time being exasperated at their antics. It seems to me it would certainly be possible to find millennials who are indeed interested in outdoor activities.

The Gen Xers and Boomers do not understand any form of technology. Somehow a man who spent decades traveling the world and only recently was called back to the head office has no understanding of video links, uploads, tablets, social media or any other technology. He must have been sending his info back to the magazine by carrier pigeon.

The show is wasting wonderful actors on poorly drawn characterizations and lame story lines. The overblown laugh track cannot disguise how unfunny it is.

As a person born on the cusp between the baby boom and Gen X and someone who works in tech, I can say this unfunny sitcom is well off the mark. There is real humor to be found in these situations. Unfortunately the writers haven't found it.
19 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not good
blahblahblah9128 October 2016
Horribly stereotypical representation of both generations. Millennials being shown in a big baby needing to be pandered to while Gen X being shown as the "get off my lawn" type. Very untrue, insulting and incorrect. Not every Millennial is online. Not every Gen X ISN'T online. Not every Millennial got a trophy for simply showing up-I honestly have no idea where this assumption even came from cuz I've never seen it actually happen when I raised my daughter. Not every Gen x is ornery/stubborn. Each character seem one dimensional, and I know they have more to them! "You can't ask that" got REAL annoying. If this continues to be the direction, it'll be canceled as society is no longer in the mind set of giving/receiving being made fun of.
24 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Perhaps A More Fitting "Gen X-ers Vs. Millennials"??
MovieHoliks28 October 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I just saw the pilot of this new CBS sitcom starring Joel McHale (fresh off several seasons of "Community", which was cancelled last year or the year before?), and it's a winner! CBS also currently has a season of the long-running reality show, "Survivor", which pits Gen X-ers vs. Millennials, and I'll tell ya, I think this show is actually more fitting.

McHale stars as a world traveler/adventurer columnist/reporter for one of those "Outdoor" magazines that is switching to all-digital, and he's given the task of supervising a group of "Indoor"-type Millennials who've never ventured into the actual wilderness in their lives, in spite of them running this publication. LOL A nice added touch to this is having Stephen Fry as the magazine's owner. He adds a nice touch of sophistication to this, and I think this may in fact be the best new sitcom I've seen this 2016-17 season?
16 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
I love you, Joel McHale, but no!
kraftwerk326 January 2017
I wanted to like this, I really tried, but it's impossible. Joel McHale was hilarious and incredible witty in both "Community" and as presenter of E!'s "The Soup". Why he accepted to star in this incredible dim-witted show is beyond me. The premise of the show is that McHale plays a former outdoor reporter, who now has to work in an office with a bunch of pampered millennials. Yes, it's the old, stillborn sitcom idea: the generation gap. So a typical joke would be that Joel (who is 40something, I guess), has no idea how to use an iPhone (cue to canned laughter) and then Christopher Mintz-Plasse (30something?) helps him out. Now, isn't that funny? Hell, NO! And then there is veteran Britishcomedian Stephen Fry. He plays Joel's boss. And, like him, is completely wasted on this show. I have no idea what leverage CBS used to blackmail them into this stale sitcom, but it must be something punishable by death sentence, because anything less would be the better option.
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Goes for the easy laugh every time
cherold15 December 2016
There are certain comedic concepts that lazy joke writers love. These involve things like mothers-in-law warring with daughters-in-law or residents of Alabama trailer parks marrying their sisters. They require no cleverness or originality, just a knowledge of how such jokes are structured and the ability to recall previous jokes and change them around a little.

The Great Indoors is a show that always goes for the easy, obvious laugh. It's the sort of show that, even when you do laugh - which happens rarely - you don't enjoy the laugh that much, because you've already laughed at that joke hundreds of times before.

The premise is simple. A macho, outdoorsy writer is forced to take an office job amongst callow millennials. He teaches them something about "real life" and they teach himself about the "modern world."

The first thing I find odd about this series is that the clueless old guy is a Gen-Xer. I know a lot of Gen-Xers, and many live on their iPhones, texting and tweeting and posting selfies on Instagram. I feel the character is more like a Baby Boomer; it would make a lot more sense if the part was played by Robert DeNiro. Although I'm a Baby Boomer and look, I'm using the Internet!

The portrayal of Millenials makes me think of elderly comedians on stage going, "man, these kids today with their podcasts and their hip-hop, what's up with them?" It's as though the series is written by aliens who have simply read some joke books but have never actually met any humans.

This is not to say that there aren't young people are technologically adept but a little clueless, or that there aren't fortysomethings who lives have not intersected much with technology. The problem is not showing such characters, but in acting as though these characters aren't individuals but are rather generational archetypes.

I was ready to give up after one episode, but then I happened to see that a couple of people on the IMDb message board for this series said that episode 2 was so much better. This turned out to be untrue; perhaps it was the writers trying to save their show. If so, they put more work into IMDb than they did in writing their jokes.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Yet more insulting tripe that misrepresents and demeans Gen X
tlorsa3 November 2016
Warning: Spoilers
The premise of this show is that the older Gen X lead who has spent his life as a rugged outdoors-man and head of a print magazine about same is trying to join and understand the modern world with the help of a team of Millennials.

The actuality made brutally obvious by the writing, dialogue, and scene setups is that Millennials are the savvy and modern now-and-future, and Gen X is old, technologically illiterate, increasingly incapable of understanding the processes of the digital world in which we live, and generally clueless about the modern world.

Aside from the fact that none of these things are true about Gen X, this show is part of an accelerating trend in which the same kinds of shows and tropes once employed with characters 15 or 20 years older are being applied to Gen X.

(For those of you not certain, or who have seen some of the crazier definitions of Gen X, the broad conception of the generation is that it's between the ages of 35 and 50. The actor playing the lead is just 45. In fact, over 15 million "Millennials" today were for quite some time Gen X until later efforts from within the advertising and marketing sectors fed into broadly-adopted changes in the generational definitions, producing a "largest generation" by shifting millions from the "Gen X" cohort and into "Millennials".)

And while Millennials come in for the standard-issue digs in the show, they mean little for two reasons perpetuated by the show itself: 1) Millennials are "young", "on the rise" and capable of "improving"; and 2) The knocks come from "old" people who are in clueless, incapable of growing intellectually and achieving new heights, and are in terminal decline.

Gen X has sat largely mute and unacknowledged for while the world speaks only of Boomers (and now Millennials), and now suddenly when we exist we're portrayed ... like this.
16 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
I've seen this before...
davidleebates31 October 2016
I have already been watching this show for years. It's called LAST MAN STANDING. Just give the main character a wife and a couple kids and it's the exact same show. Conservative guy gets pulled off the road and has to work indoors with a bunch of millennials/liberals. Good job writers. You are have the ability to plagiarize. You are just as bad as White House Down/Olympus Has Fallen, Just Friends/Friends with Benefits, and every other Marvel movie that is just based on a comic book... Only reason I gave this a 3 and not a 1 is because I really like Last Man Standing... Where has all the creativity gone? I think I am going to write a book about guy who builds a droid, goes to space and fights his father with a light saber.
15 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Generational Stereotyping As Punchline
atlasmb6 November 2016
It's funny to read the reviews that take this series to task for its depiction of Millennials. And those who think the show belittles Gen-Xers. In reality, I think it does disservice to both groups, first by trying to define every character by one of those two groups, promoting stereotypes.

Almost all of the "humor" in this show stems from the generational skirmishes that occur between the two camps--the Gen-X lead character (Joel McHale) and the Millennials who staff the digital magazine. The comedy is treated like a zero-sum proposition, where one side can only gain laughs at the expense of the other.

Frankly, I think the Millennials take a worse comic beating, but that may just be my personal perspective. These "journalists" seem to know almost nothing about the subject of the magazine, journalistic methods, or even how to relate to readers (or anyone else).

At its core, I think the show should be judged, in part, by how funny it is, i.e. how many laughs it generates. And the first two episodes did not elicit many. There was a brief scene involving a bear cub that managed to feel real and connected to actual feelings (though it was nearly undermined by some weak jokes about the three-second attention spans of the Millennials). Maybe the show will have to reach for more of those moments and fewer laughs to be watchable.
10 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So accurate and funny
dwhit-340835 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Joel McHale is hilarious and the show nails the major differences between the generations. I managed more than 100 millenniums and it requires the patience of Job from a baby boomer. This show makes it easier to understand them and I have a new respect for their unique intellect. This show is so funny and educational that it should be a full hour. Joel seems like a natural fit for the role; he is so believable, both jabbing and understanding. It outshines Man with a plan, Superstore, Kevin can wait just to name a few. Please be sure to renew it as it appeals to multiple generations. I think it would be more impactful if there was a little more compromise or adapting by the millenniums. Joel spends way more time accommodating them.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Honestly haven't laughed that much in a long time
mirco-wilhelm28 October 2016
Sick of stupid "10 things to do" listicles? Want to hit thos special unicorn millenials with their stupid selfiesticks every time you see them? Have you actually been out of your house recently?

Then this might be just the sitcom, you have been waiting for!

The great Indoors is an entertaining clash of the generations sitcom, dragging out every cliché there is about young and old people and lets them struggle through everyday life working at an outdoor magazine... indoors.

If you're easily upset, like most of the current generation is, this might not be the one for you. But grab you participation award at the door anyways.
12 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
It's indoors..its not great.
colinrogers13 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Stephen Fry was the best thing in this. Leaving after 3 episodes was the best thing he could have done as this nosedived and changed course of story line almost immediately. The main characters have no real depth and the sub plot of the intrepid explorer navigating his way back to a regular life is going to pan out as is now painfully obvious even after so few episodes. The three millennial types are portrayed as shallow and vapid, so in a way , accurate. For a drowning publication, they do little or no writing or journalism if you can call it that. So no wonder it's on the ropes, mind that's hardly the point but the premise and you should stick with that or the story becomes tiresome. This looked like it was going to have a slant toward wildlife and a story about the planet but that's now forgotten, possibly part of Fry's contract clause that his 3 episodes would have such story line. And what about the guy in the tent? That had something funny but now forgotten. Did he die?

Dreadful and forgettable situation comedy. Will be very surprised if this gets a second run.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Generation Wars ....... Always ends in the inevitable stalemate
edwindhinesh4 November 2016
Joel McHale sporting the same beard from his final season (and hopefully a movie) of Community and the great Stephen Fry are the two best reasons to watch out for this series in the coming weeks.......Being a guy born in the early 1990's I have always been thrown between the need to identify myself either as a Millennial or to be a part of the Gen X....So this series is perfect for me but for others looking solely for comic relief it still hasn't reached its stride yet....The characters are your basic stereotypes with modern influences so no one really stands out....But its refreshing to have a varied cast of people portraying these characters.....Also the female lead seems to be just a pretty face.....With just 2 episodes in no one can predict this series's fate but we can all recognize its potential...Hope the creators use the talent at hand well...P.S. This series at least has some hope when compared to other CBS duds this season....
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
not a good humor for the public
hkpuppy13 November 2016
the humor of this show, obviously is in the expense of people whom are not very good with the internet and social media. and keep making fun of it making all these people feel awfully stupid. i am not very good with social media and then when i watch the show, i feel the show is laughing at me and saying i am old and stupid. i really don't enjoy this feeling so i am going to stop watching this stupid show. and i don't know how the other feel, it is such a waste of talent for actor like Stephen Fry to be in this show. not only it doesn't fit him at all, the show actually make him seems totally out of place. the other actors as well seems just to be portray as mean and self centered, and yet, they have the upper hand in everything. who will feel good watching such a show?
9 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Millenials vs. Old People
jdoneagain8 April 2017
It's a different take on an old concept - generations collide, etc. But, face it, it's current. It's something that a lot of us over age 30 have to deal with - changing technologies and we wonder how in the heck we're supposed to stay up to speed with them. Heck, I'm an IT guy - and have been for 20+ years. I LOVE technology. I've explored new stuff, though usually on the back-end. (The servers that host the stuff, the networks that keep them connected, etc.) But, I don't tweet. *gasp*

The characters are fun, the concepts don't go all that deep, but it's some lighthearted fare that is good for some laughs. I've found myself laughing out loud at some of the jokes, and Joel McHale is rocking it.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Shameful writing, shameful acting...no talent hacks
jcov-7879923 February 2017
How does this incredibly poor effort get on television? Poor acting. Poor writing. The story line should be funny. This is not funny.

How does this incredibly poor effort get on television? Poor writing. Poor acting. Poor writing. The story line should be funny. This is not funny.

This show does not deserve five lines of criticism.
7 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ignore the Pretentious kiddies that have a PC stuck way up their....
agiuliano-390374 November 2016
I'm one of the those rare things a New York a Conservative and an IT Director and I love this show, I'm in my late 40's and can't stand dealing with these little Apple toting babies that can barley operate their devices. The show hits it right on the head, "Stereo Typical" is applicable when a majority of a group acts the same way.... and this group acts just like their generation. Yes they do really think everyone gets a trophy, and are hyper sensitive. Cry, Cry they picked on my generation, get over yourselves and learn to laugh. The cast meshes well and makes the characters easy to to identify with. I'd recommend this to any one from the 80's generation... you know that group all the Millennials wish they were from.
12 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not bad....
trans_mauro25 November 2016
As someone else mentioned, the main character is almost an exact copy of Tim Allen's Last Man Standing.

But, the show has another approach and another focus.

It is really good to see someone make fun of the so-called millennials, their "safe spaces", their need for "diversity", and medals and trophies not for winning but for "trying their best"and all that brain washing called political correctness ...

I wonder whether all that whining and these these over-sensitive easily- offended brain-washed gender-repressed cry-babies could accomplish anything such as putting men on the moon.
8 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Really funny, if you're not a wuss
riodoce-advogado12 November 2016
So, this is my first review. The show is really, really good. Unfortunately, the younger people/viewers (millenials in the show) probably will not going to enjoy it. Sadly, because it portraits them as they are, not all, of course. The differences between the outdoor Jack, and the indoors crew shows more than some jokes. Just look at the scene with the HR woman and the lawyer: true as hell. I hope it endures. The cast is great and, as always, Stephen Fry is awesome. Joel McHale and Susannah Fielding are also very good. And if one pays attention, there will be some kind of "thing" (again) between those two.
7 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Underestimates and Insults its own Audience
violettesla27 October 2016
I want to preface by saying this show had me SO hyped. All the actors and actresses are people I've seen before and always thought they had great potential. Almost all of them let me down, and I can't figure out if it's because of the writers or not. This review is based solely off of the pilot, which for me aired tonight.

The older characters (particularly the lead) are written to constantly belittle the ideas of the younger ones. The lead insults a woman with a service dog within the first thirty seconds, other older characters say things like "Go back to your cell phones" or "I want to beat them with their selfie sticks" either at or in reference to the younger characters. They're always self- righteous about not needing technology or about the fact that they do things in the 'real' world. The lead shows no respect for boundaries or basic decency in an attempt at humor that never lands. Joel McHale may play this guy, but he's no Jeff Winger, not by a long shot.

The younger characters are written to be stereotypically "Millennial". They all have journalism or tech jobs but somehow they're all less intelligent than the main 'older' lead character who, (of course) just so happens to be the only rational one. They're written to be self-obsessed, entitled, and easily offended. They always have a screen in their faces and were actually handed trophies for finishing a day of work. The writers for this series have refused to write realistic characters in favor of blowing up massive stereotypes because they assume it's hilarious (Spoiler: The only indication that a 'joke' has just been delivered is the studio laughter track, because you won't pick up on it yourself simply because the lines just aren't funny at all.)

I'm not even trying to be cynical, there are just shows (Like 'Younger') that do these type of stories and character relationships better. Watch that instead, they actually take the time to write realistic characters for each generation and THEN slate humor on top of it, not try to belittle the generations in an attempt at humor.

The only thing that prevents this review from becoming a 3 is because the interplay between the 'Millennial' and older perspectives offers a funny moment. Literally ONE funny momenT. Singular. No 's' afterwards.

Hopefully the writers just went overboard with the stereotypes for the pilot and begin tone it down now that the show was greenlit to the network.I'll give it one more episode before closing the casket and encourage you to at least try to do the same. There's potential here if the writers/producers pull their heads out of each other's..
12 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Yep, this show sucks!
shypl-5320213 January 2017
The main punchline to every joke is Stereotyping Generations. The jokes are that "Jack", the Generation X adventurer guy, is oblivious to social media, and really, everything about the internet past 2003. The other jokes are that the 20-year-old Millenials live the internet and constantly make references to it and can't fathom 10 seconds without it. THIS ISN'T FUNNY WHEN THE WHOLE SHOW IS JUST THAT.

The show is not funny and not entertaining. I don't recall laughing once. The episodes are painful to watch and I barely made it through them. I don't understand why Stephen Fry would agree to be on this. I guess the paycheck was good.

The show is vapid, stereotypical, unfunny, and tries to give a moral lesson about offending delicate human flowers.

To sum up the show: "SOCIAL MEDIA OMG YASS", "The internet, WHAT IS THAT?"
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Embarrassing to watch :/
jen_yoder29 March 2017
Joel McHale and Stephen Fry--this should be hilarious, right?

Except no. The writing is dismal, sophomoric and menial humor. The characters are shallow one note parodies that serve no purpose other than for Joel's character (couldn't even bother to remember the name) to bounce his flat jokes off of them.

Deficiencies like that aside, it's just so generic. It's the typical formulaic sitcom in the same cookie cutter pattern of other sad flops like Undateable and Outsourced. My own preference is that when I watch a show, I don't like being able to predict the entire premise, lines, and jokes in the first 6 or 7 minutes.

Joel deserves better. Stephen can do better. Not sure what to say about the rest of the cast. Just a really bad show.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed