Superior Donuts (TV Series 2017–2018) Poster

(2017–2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
32 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Rare to get a good wholesome show these days...
lmcfalcon1215 February 2017
It really is rare to get a good wholesome show on TV these days. The pace of the show is very smooth and the content is not raunchy or over the top like you see in a lot of other shows these days. I would go so far as to say that you could probably watch this as a family.

The stereotypes are funny, but they're not offensive. A Jewish donut shop owner, working with a black guy, and a middle eastern business owner next door who all make cracks on each other all around. It's downright funny.

The show itself addresses real life issues like stereotyping, racism, and the decline of small business as it's overshadowed by corporate America. The show conquers these issues in a funny, yet respectable way and the way they bring these issues to light to viewers is well thought out and not offensive.

I really think viewers would be missing out if they didn't at least give the show a chance. My family was hooked from episode 1 and we plan to watch if for as long as it airs.
28 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
PC killed it....
sven-vanrompaey2 December 2018
They've learned one thing after season 1. Getting rid of the bad apples. And that they did, too bad that wasn't the only thing making the show unwatchable.

Political Correctness simply killed this show.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What do you get when you mix Taxi with Married With Children? You get a Superior Donut. Give it a try and you will love the taste!
Ed-Shullivan2 February 2017
Mmmmmmmmm, a coffee shop experience with a neighborhood of characters who all enjoy the taste and retro ambiance of Superior Donuts. I am writing this review after just watching the pilot episode and with the wide variety of interesting characters the show has a lot to work with for some good comedy. Old Arthur hires new and cool Franco and voila' we have a new recipe that works!

Arthur Przybyszewski (Judd Hirsch) has owned the same donut shop Superior Donuts for 47 years and although his neighborhood is always changing, his donut shop has not changed one bit in decades. Of course all cops like donuts and this neighborhood's cops Randy Deluca (Katy Sagal)and James Jordan (Darien Sills-Evans) are steady customers of Arthur's. Randy has been enjoying Superior Donuts since she was just a little girl while first visiting Superior Donuts with her father for donuts. We also have the donut shops self-proclaimed black Jesus savior Franco Wicks (Jermaine Fowler) who is trying to convince the shops owner Arthur that he needs to consider new ways of encouraging a whole bunch of new customers in to the shop.

Fawz (Maz Jobrani), Maya (Anna Baryshnikov), Carl "Tush" Tushinski (David Koechner) and Brad (Stephen Guarino) complete the dirty dozen of first customers that like to hang out at Arthur's shop for the nostalgia and of course for the donuts. Since Arthur has been able to hold on against the new Starbucks that moved in across the street I have confidence that the eclectic ensemble of new characters that hang out at Superior Donuts will keep us entertained.

The first episode appealed to Mrs. Shullivan and I. We look forward to some more fresh donuts coming in to our home each week and I give the pilot a 10 out of 10 for providing wholesome comedy for families to watch together.
40 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good To See Judd Hirsh Back In PrimeTime...
MovieHoliks7 February 2017
I've only seen the first two episodes of this new CBS sitcom starring TV legend, Judd Hirsh, and so far, so good. This, in many ways is your classic "workplace comedy", with an assortment of characters -- in this case set in a Chicago old-world-style donut shop. Hirsh plays it's old- school owner who takes in a young protégé to help bring his place (and himself?) into the new century!

One character I find particularly amusing is played by David Koechner. He plays a laid-off factory worker, who now works an assortment of different "for-hire" jobs, and has his own portable fax machine! LOL
17 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad show
reaper-1742724 February 2017
It would be a good show if it wasn't for the political statements. When I sit to watch a Sitcom, I want to be entertained....not given views on gun control and racism. We see too much of that everywhere else. Hollywood needs to entertain and stay out of politics. Bringing back old actors won't create longevity for the show, so the writers will need to find a way to bring new people in while phasing out the old. I really don't see this show making it to season 2.
33 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Definitely, laughable
jazebelle20 February 2017
Just finished the first three episodes of this comedy. Given that I'm a Maz Jobrani fan (and that I've met him in person and watched him live), I have to say he's probably the reason I was even interested in this series. Nevertheless, it's quite funny. The dialogue whilst some may argue is cliché and done before several times, I still think Judd Hirsch brings out a special spark that just makes it funnier.

Crossing my fingers so they don't take this off the air. Jobrani is hilarious in anything he does and Superior Donuts is no exception. I'll certainly be looking forward to this now each week.
14 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great comedy
kirubel-5941526 April 2017
This show has a classic feel to it. The puns are funny the characters feel authentic. I barely comment on diversity but on this show, everything was so natural that I did not think about it once and it's like no other TV sitcom's out there today which is subtle and one everyone can relate too. I plan to watch it as long as it airs. So I ask everyone reading this review to support it cause there isn't one like it left.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Timely
chimps-1742720 March 2017
The episode with Arthur bringing out all his '60s protest stuff was very poignant !! Hope they continue to write about important issues these great actors pull off so well! The timely diversity of the characters is so necessary right now!! Our country is at a crossroads concerning racism/bigotry and people speaking out against these things and just uniting as decent human beings....we need more shows like this on regular TV!
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Love this show
johnburke-8601013 February 2017
Now this is comedy. The way the owner and the kid engage is really cool. I like the old guy because he is cranky and difficult and I like the kid because well I just like him. He reminds me of Reno on Mike and Molly. Don't get me started on that UPSET though. This show I hope will make up for my Mike and Molly rip off. I think Katy will make a splashing comeback in this sitcom that is well suited for her. And the Starbucks guy is funny as well. Iim looking forward to this weekly and hope it does well and stays on the air. I hope that this show gets placed in a good time slot and gets good ratings. I need the laughs and this show hits me in all the right places. My stomach usually hurts from laughing after watching. Really Really good show.

What i hate the most is the review process that this website makes you go through. THis place bites. I just want to tell everyone to watch the show not get hyper-regulated.
10 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
love this show, remind me of B99
rayoomqtr24 April 2017
I love everything about this show, its a mixture of two of my favorite shows which are that 70s show and Brooklyn 99. Maz Jobrani is hilarious and I can't wait to see the evolution of Frankie and Arthur's weird father and son like relationship. please watch this show this show is going to be a hit, they should call me and ill help them write
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
How is this show rated so highly?
maxerix16 May 2018
Normally, the discrepancy on IMDB is between 1-2, possibly 3 on the odd occasion. However, this show's rating is weirdly over inflated. It is so poor that I literally cringe with the acting, delivery and the never ending over use of outdated clichés. The pay must be the only thing attracting these actors to keep on filming as surely they must sense that it's not working. Please put them out of their misery and cancel this rubbish and not The Last Man On Earth!
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Predictable
yastepanov23 February 2017
This is just another "Chico and the Man." All the plots are incredibly hack and predictable.

The jokes are about as stale as last week's, well...

It is the usual "old guy has to overcome his bigotry, you guy helps."

The characters are stock stereotypes,
14 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Don't care for the show
ThaRider3 May 2017
Maybe it's me. I don't really like the show very much. I keep watching, hoping I'll like it eventually. I absolutely cannot stand Maya, Faws, and Randi. The Maya character adds nothing to the show. The Faws character is too stereotypical and not funny AT ALL. Katey Sagal has been acting WAY too long to be this flat. It sounds like she's reading her lines from teleprompter. However, I do like Sweat Pants.
10 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Started GREAT...and now it's not so great.
jritty15 February 2018
The first season of this was great - like most who LOVED it - I loved it within the first two episodes. I knew I loved before the opening 'credits' of the first episode. The only character that was out of place was Maya... I really loved the first season, great to see Judd Hirsch back. He had a lot to work with in the first season... Then I started season 2 and it's trash. Losing two cast members and adding a latina character that added nothing - I REALLY don't like her - I'm just not diggin it. The 2 second season was all whiny baby PC crap - and Hirsh has nothing to do. James Burrows direction in the first season - I can see now - was a BIG reason it succeeded but man season 2 is flat and preachy. I love the laugh track (anyone over 40 should feel comfy with it, kids today have taught to hate it) and performances in the first season but season 2 is painful after the first 2 episodes. It really has lost it's way and I'd almost say don't even bother after season 1... VERY disappointed with season 2, it seems like a totally different show now... I'm almost ready to bow out - I'm really torn cuz I'm so happy to have Judd back. The entire cast deserved better - and so did we.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just awful comedy
eurofreeman8 February 2017
Cliché, cliché, cliché just about describes this tosh.

The humour does not transcend outside the USA. The comedy acting is simply second rate with stop start before each gag line. This is one to miss unless you are easily pleased. I could practically spew out the punchlines before they arrived.

Sorry to say but nothing new or innovative here, just the same ole, same ole.

The writers really need to to better to take comedy up a notch otherwise we are stuck in the past.

Series 2 - I hope not.
18 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Literally anyone could come up with funnier content on the spot
rfloom9 July 2018
I can't belive I'm seeing reviews saying "now this is comedy". Is the world completely brain dead? "Comedy" nowadays is scary bad. I've watched several episodes waiting for the "comedy" and it's literally cringe-worthy bad, as most sitcoms are nowadays.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Nice Show
pithawg-127 March 2017
Lots of Love/Hate for this little show with lots of heart. It translates well across the pond. Thought i would make that clear. Two show's with heart are "Superior Donuts" and "Kim's Convenience" as for the other comedy shows i have seen in the last 3 years.. none compare. As a former stand up and sinner of stage and screen by far the best acting. Cliche's sure but not swearing to get laughs, no outrageous sexual deviance for laughs. Clean is a much harder form of comedy.. a little campy is cool. Times have changed as ethics are a thing of the past with comics.. a true comic uses timing not "f" bombs. Kudos on those shows trying hard to bring back playful and endearing happiness, something much needed everywhere. Happy humor is my choice for a winning shoe (w).
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Just awful.
OrangieTooDope15 June 2017
I watched the first episode of this the day it premiered and I thought it was a decent show. In the months that followed they added characters and changed actors and it has devolved into utter trash. Not surprising for a CBS sitcom. They brought in David Koechner and Katey Sagal to punch up the the show and surprisingly, they failed hard. I absolutely love Koechner and everything he has done in the past but this is by far his worst work. This show is just the same jokes over and over. An old guy doesn't accept change and the hip, young black guy is broke and does drugs. Another terrible American sitcom.
7 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
You can't score this higher than a 3!
maxerix16 May 2018
People who rate this more than 3 must be connected to the show. Awful
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Agreed Chico and the man ripoff!
gurpee666-12 March 2017
Predictable comedy not 10 minutes into it and I started thinking Chico and the man, and the character "Fawz" making jokes about Iraqi germ warfare I thought was a little dry. Did anyone else just imagine a bunch of dead kids laying in the streets of Iraq after Saddam Hussein gassed them all? Maybe I'm over critical but that's the 1st thing that came to my mind. I've always liked Judd Hirsch and Kathy Siegel maybe it will get better, I loved Chico and the man!
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Love the show!
wardanaqvi-9939122 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Hope it gets picked up for season 3 by another network.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
New hit show
cbxpapichulo10 April 2018
Loved this show, it's like a modern day "Cheers". Good humor, funny characters, good moral stories.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not so superior
drjgardner23 February 2017
There's nothing wrong with "Superior Donuts". It reminds me of "Cheers" with an ensemble cast of customers who seem to spend their lives at the store, each with their own backstory. Judd Hirsh plays the main character and Jermaine Fowler is his main foil. Chewing the scenery are Maz Jobrani, David Koechner, and Darien Sills-Evans.

The action takes place almost exclusively inside the donut store, which can get a little claustrophobic after a while. Most really good comedies today (Big Bang, Life in Pieces, Fresh Off the Boat, Mom) give us a variety of places and situations, so the single-set Donut store seems a little retro.

Most of the comedies I enjoy nowadays have much snappier dialogue. Donuts generates snickers and a few laughs, but rarely anything else. And the few attempts at "meaningful" moment s really fall flat.

Superior donuts is not superior, but it's OK.
6 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Just Say Superior!
Sylviastel8 June 2017
I have always been a fan of Judd Hirsch (Taxi, Dear John) and am thrilled to see him return to sitcom in prime time. As Arthur, Hirsch plays a man who owns a Chicago doughnut shop for 47 years. While Superior Donuts hasn't changed, the neighborhood has over time. Arthur is a widower and hired a young African American man to help him in the shop. Katey Sagal (Married with Children, Sons of Anarchy) returns to prime time as a Chicago cop and regular on the show. The show has some work to do but they have all the right ingredients to be a hit series. The genius, Tracy Letts (playwright of August: Osage County), wrote the play that inspired the series. The play was originally produced by the famous and world renowned Steppenwolf Theatre Company, a Chicago institution.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very funny
s_jhill200326 May 2017
A great TV show with well thought out jokes breaking numerous boundaries throughout the whole season. It contains a balance of mild racist stereotypes while preceding to break them in the audience's perception using funny and unlikely characters. Overall it is a great series and I hope it continues.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed