Dead Ant (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
21 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
For this genre it wasn't bad.
deloudelouvain22 March 2019
I can understand the reviewers that thought it was horrible. Those reviewers are looking for something of higher quality, a serious movie with a suspenseful plot and with great special effects. Those things are all absent in Dead Ant. It's all just a bit of fun and mockery for the horror genre. It's a cheap horror/comedy with some mildly gore moments. The special effects are lousy but it just adds the right ambiance to this movie, nothing taken too serious. But it was entertaining, or at least to me it was but that's maybe because of the wacky tabacky, something I would recommend to have some nice good laughs with stupid humor like in this movie. The acting wasn't bad, it was supposed to be funny and that's exactly what it was.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Super Fun
jenirosester3 May 2018
This is a super fun monster movie! It has a retro 80s vibe and features gigantic killer ants that are terrorizing the members of a has-been rock band. Tom Arnold is hilarious and the entire cast does a great job. This is a fun movie, nothing serious just a really great time!
22 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Nicely Done
Tweetienator30 January 2019
Watched this with a friend and both we really enjoyed it - yes, Dead Ant is for certain no masterpiece but nevertheless entertaining - if you like horror + comedy + trash movie style. Alone the rock 'n' roll cliches are well played and here and there you get even a sip of gore. Not to forget the hot chicks provided, and last but not least, the acting and cam work are rock solid.

To sum it up: Dead Ant is a good one if you like trashy horror-comedies which you can watch "braindead" ;)
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Definitely not eight legged freaks...
keithbet26 January 2019
That's because ants only have six. Hoping it would be as fun as 8lf which it was to a point and then got rather stale. Not worth the effort; even on a very slow weekend.
7 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Worth a watch
mistydmorris28 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I wasn't sure if I was going to like this as I wasn't a huge fan of the opening scene but I like silly creature movies/horror comedies so I decided to give it a shot. I was pleasantly surprised and laughed a lot. The cast is great which is what drew me to it as well. It is definitely worth watching to make your own decisions about it. Personally, my husband and I loved it. We laughed from beginning to end. I will definitely be watching this one again. I'm glad I gave it a shot. If you enjoy movies like this with oversized creatures and comedic gore, you should definitely check it out.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Unoriginal and over all Crap.
baxtoryabass11 December 2018
A poor a attempt at humour, clearly took inspiration from other better made movies, and doesn't even try to hide it.

Don't waste your time go watch "Spinal Tap".
11 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Oh. My. God.
gothic-fiction13 March 2019
This was down right...a fail. Such movies have no reason to exist, no point to them as clearly they can't even get a cult following from the It's So Bad It's Good group.

Productions like Sharknado look and act better than this one, I can not believe I wasted so much time on it. How did it turn out so bad? Was there no script, no readings of it, did they took no precautions into making a movie with some sense to it. They tried so much to hit that funny note and it was just miss after miss.

Dead Ant is one of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. Does not work for a black comedy, for gore, for some eye candy with beautiful women, it just does not work.

Cheers!
6 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Why is Tom Arnold still cast movies?
livinglifing28 January 2019
Clear example of marrying-into-fame, why is Tom still being cast in movies? A TERRIBLE MOVIE, sure, but a movie regardless. Hollywood California is a mess...
9 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Curses, Foiled....er....Peyoted Again
PaJRJ13 October 2019
This is the movie that answers the question: What would it be like if someone with mediocre talent, limited budget and was really high wanted to make a movie after watching the double feature of Them! and This is Spinal Tap?

It's pure camp, grab a side bo...er...brewski and turn your brain off entertainment.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Movie!
gelmorejr-127 July 2018
A must see feature! Great writing, acting and special effects!
8 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Enjoyable and ridiculous
jonnytheshirt11 June 2019
Was not too sure at the start of this - a lot of homage to B-movies can fall flat. Watched this in a sunday afternoon however and it was perfect. Its a stupid movie doesn't pretend to be anything else. However the notable cast were obviously enjoying themselves and this came across as they delivered gung ho. Had quite a few laugh out loud moments. Even the songs were'nt too shabby either. Wasn't perfect but I did enjoy mucho, and I'd totally go see this band if they existed.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Has Its Moments
larrys316 May 2019
This horror comedy spoof has its moments with some laughs and chuckles along the way. But, to me, the positives were not consistent enough to rate any higher.

There's a good cast here, as the nearing has-been status metal band Sonic Grave and their manager (Tom Arnold) are traveling to Coachella---oops! make that the Nochella Festival (as they couldn't get booked into the big one). Stopping to buy some hallucinatory peyote from a local Native American with the hopes of creating some new songs, they're warned to not even slightly desecrate the land or living things in the area or there will be terrible consequences for them. Well, I don't have to tell you that soon they'll be battling and running from giant killer ants as the consequences.

All in all, this film, written and directed by Ron Carlson, offers some eroticism from young lithesome bodies, some gruesome horror scenes, and, as mentioned, some shock value laughs but I would say the 5.0 rating on this site is about right.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible
arfdawg-114 March 2019
I can't even discern what the plot was supposed to be. Ants and drugs and rock and stupid. Nothing made sense. Nothing.

It's a horrible movie that shoudl never have been made
3 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
If you want to see a hobbit with make-up
bashum-6573331 May 2019
This movie is just like a big joke with blood, boobs, giant ants and hard rock . If your ok with that it could be unjoyable if your on a good day.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's totally rad!
Robobutt13 March 2019
Dude, this movie is totally rad! Giant ants and some totally rad hair metal songs, the band plays songs by the excellent band Kix and that's rad. Jake Busy is in it and that kid from Encino Man and the Goonies is also in it and they are pretty rad and some is Tom Arnold, I totally recommend it!
2 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
This isn't going to end well
nogodnomasters7 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Sonic Grave, a one-hit power-ballad 80's glam band is on their way to a small desert festival. On the way there, they drop peyote and kill an ant. They are then attacked by giant ants.

This is a comedy/horror which is amusing but doesn't live up to its potential. Sean Astin is underutilized. He is from the Shire. Tom Arnold claims he has court documents which prove he is not a "creeper." The humor is a bunch of one-liners, most of which miss the mark. Who does peyote in the desert and doesn't see Michael Berryman? The film opens with a gratuitous nude scene from Cortney Palm again.

Guide: F-word, nudity. No sex. Short people fight.
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Revenge of the Ants
robertmurray-7063710 October 2019
This is one of those low-budget monster movies (giant ants this time) where the cast is so obnoxious you are on the side of the bugs and are delighted every time someone gets eaten. Tom Arnold, as the manager of a truly repulsive and washed-up heavy metal rock band, is hilarious, and if it wasn't for him the film would be no fun at all because most of the jokes that don't involve him aren't funny. Oh, and it's shot in the desert, and its really HOT, so the female cast members wear practically no clothing at all, not because the producers are pigs, but because it's integral to the plot (somehow). Finally, this film is offensive to native Americans but there's nothing unusual in that, right?
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sonic Grave
ttrimble-4336314 September 2019
This movie is excellent. The writing, directing and cast do an excellent job. Tom Arnold steals the show. It's a fun movie to watch. A comedy first and a mild horror movie second. Watch the movie and see for yourself. I'm not sure what the negative critics expected.

One reviewer said " it's not eight legged freaks." Well you are right. It's Dead Ant.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
If you like sharknado! But want a little more.
gowestie29 August 2019
I actually thought this was better than sharknado but it is in a similar vein. The movie is not good but it isn't trying to be. It is just fun and ridiculousness.

Tom Arnold has some great lines. Who knew there was another Busey actor but I recognized the teeth.

The whole thing is a crazy survival horror flick. Even a little person fight in the end.

Several B and C list actors. Even Sean Astin is in it.

It is just plain fun. Ridiculous without being corny. The acting is good enough to prevent it from becoming just corny.

I put it on cable on a whim to kill time and got hooked. I believe it is on Showtime beyond now (August 2019).

It doesn't take itself serious. I am sure none of the cast thought "this is my breakout performance opportunity" when they signed on.

It is worth a watch.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Starts out stupidly...
mhorg201820 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
... and goes downhill from there. I can understand why has-beens like Tom Arnold and Jake Busey are in this, but Sean Austin? Did he need the money? This was an utterly worthless, stupid, boring, ridiculous film. Some pinhead wanna be rockers looking to make a comeback eat peyote and release ants that, the more you kill, the bigger they get. Lame acting. Bad SFX. No story worth repeating. Garbage like this is why I never want to see THEM! get remade. It'll end up in the hands on no talent fools like this. Avoid at all costs.
0 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not a great movie, not even by a long shot...
paul_haakonsen6 May 2019
I didn't really know what I was getting myself into when I decided to sit down and watch "Dead Any". But still, I enjoy watching movies a lot and believe that all movies are worth giving a chance.

So I sat down to watch the 2017 "Dead Ant" movie without having heard of it prior to finding it, nor did I know who was in it.

While "Dead Ant" actually combines two ingredients that on paper and in theory would make for a fun movie and great combo, that being gargantuan insects and metal, then it turned out that the movie wasn't really all that enjoyable. It was trying to be campy and really didn't succeed overly well.

It should be said, however, that the movie does have some fairly interesting enough names on the cast list, such as Sean Astin, Jake Busey, Tom Arnold and Danny Woodburn.

I wasn't really amused nor entertained throughout the course of the movie, but I did manage to sit through the entire movie to the end. The movie's highlight was when Sean Astin's character said something about The Shire.

As for the special effects and CGI, well the ants were fairly poorly made and appeared quite horribly fake most of the time, which really didn't help promote the enjoyment of the movie.

"Dead Ant" is not really worth the time, effort or money.
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed