Final Score (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
141 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
How stupid do the writers think we are?
rtedwards887 September 2018
Action films are often a bit far-fetched, but are we really supposed to believe that West Ham reached the European Cup Semi Final?
311 out of 370 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Fun & Entertaining
rwilliams_197712 September 2018
Not sure why this movie is getting the hate. It does not pretend to be anything but a fun, entertaining die hard type movie.

Grab the snacks and enjoy some, British humour, fun fight scenes, silly stunts.
72 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Final Score
henry8-38 September 2018
Bautista takes his beloved niece to a football match and has to stop terrorists blowing the place up.

Ok, so this is absolute nonsense and if you started looking for plot holes you'd never see the film. However, Bautista has presence, the action scenes are well put together, the villains are nasty and the climax impressive given the budget.

You could do a lot worse with a beer on a Friday night
59 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Very watchable!
Lime887 September 2018
No offence to the big man, who I think is actually a good actor and plays to his strengths, but usually any film with a Wrestler as the lead I'm not watching ( minus the Rock ) But this works, it is what it is and doesn't try to be anything different..

Give it your time and you'll not be wasting it
35 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Better than you'd assume. Slight Imperfections.
leedavidodea7 September 2018
As a Briton, after seeing the trailer for this, I thought it'd be brilliant to see a bunch of football fans blown up. So I watched it the day it was released. I'm also a Drax fan, played by Dave Bautista, who also headlines this movie as a humble-but-hard ex-Army soldier visiting the UK to see his niece and sister-in-law. His brother died in action. The movie is reminiscent of Die Hard, and also Sudden Impact, of course, which it was clearly inspired by (to his credit, and no surprise, Dave Bautista is as enjoyable a lead as prime-era JCVD). I liked his sidekick, a wimpy Brixton-born Arab, who at the beginning of the film an old woman assumes is a terrorist (there is a great 2-in-a-row pay-off to this scene near the end of the film). In the last 10 mins, the story has a few implausible beats (mostly after the end result of the terrorist's actions), I think the screenwriters had written the main action of the film, and resorted to 'the numbers' in wrapping up, but I liked it, it was better than you'd expect. There is a bike chase sequence where I would've chosen subtly different shots, but the Director is quite good overall. Also, for Brits, look out for the Irish-accented supporting role by a star of the British "Shameless"! For Americans, for Brits, for soccer fans world-wide, watch this film. It's pretty great overall, given it's modest budget of $20 million - they got a lot for their money. May Dave Bautista do more British productions...
48 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not too shabby!
TheTopDawgCritic23 September 2018
Good story, great directing, decent action, perfect length and pace, adequate humor - most of the time, and mainly good acting, although Bautsita should have shown better combat fighting instead of sorrowful sighs when getting hit. And the chicken and life story conversation with Brosnan whilst his daughter was caught was a little lame. A fun lazy-day watch nevertheless. It's a 7/10 from me.
32 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A Comedy
Byrne647 September 2018
A decent enough film along the same lines as Die Hard. I enjoyed it but didn't realise it was a comedy until it showed West Ham in a European Cup Semi Final. That was so funny, even playing a made up Russian team they struggled but the words European, Semi Final and West Ham haven't gone together for a generation or two.

Forgetting tribal rivalries it was a film that followed the typical genre formula but nevertheless was a good watch.
54 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Relax and enjoy!
Ffolkes-324 October 2018
"Final Score" is exactly what you expect it to be, and a bit more. The story is tight and simple, and the pace of action is fast. The idea of taking hostage a whole stadium of football fans is both current and real. In fact, making a film about it might seem as a safety valve as it will hopefully discourage anyone wanting to implement such a plan.

The added quality of the film is Amit Shah as Faisal, a bit clumsy, but extremely nice chap. He makes a fantastic Laurel to Dave Bautista's Hardy. That is if you take the film tongue-in-cheek. Bautista is, however, well cast. He's a charming big man with enough authority to convince the audience (and Ray Stevenson's villainous character!) that you don't mess with former US Army men.

Pierce Brosnan, fully bearded for "The Son", has a cameo role. It's always nice to see a household name supporting small films like this. Enjoy.
16 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
What fun
guy-118-6142511 September 2018
Good cast - original setting Films dont need to be oscar rated to truly entertain Accebt this as a fun action story with heart and you will not be dissapointed.
30 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Bautista is on the ball in this football themed heist
shakercoola7 September 2018
A British-American action thriller; A big, fun, brash, muscular, noisy action flick with a "Die Hard" feel. Bautista is more than comfortable, and capable, playing the big uncle to take on the terrorists should they strike. The film is full of clichés and it has a predictable storyline but it is executed handsomely. Tension doesn't run very high because the fight scenes feel too neatly choreographed, but its sentimental moments work quite well. The villains surprise with their audacious plot and their unrelenting menace and so the clock runs down quite enjoyably.
20 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Better than expected.
stuartgrover8 September 2018
Actually this film surprised me, I had my doubts as previously Sky Original films have been a bit poor. This with its Die Hard in a football stadium premise has it all. Great fight scenes some taken from the Spooks text book! Ticking clock to keep up the suspense and with lots of funny parts too. Overall a good film worth a watch.
27 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not bad at all.
davidlovesphotography10 September 2018
A good film. There's something silly bits but overall well worth the watch.
16 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Most far fetched movie of 2018.....
andycollyer-418457 September 2018
.....not talking about the ridiculous acting

.....not talking about the mockney London accents

.....not even talking about making a poor mans Die Hard movie in a football stadium

....,,but having the audience believe West Ham would play in Europe! Have a word with yourselves!!
91 out of 167 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
If Sudden Death hadn't been corny and stupid....
theroscoevine28 February 2019
....It might have been as fun as Final Score. Silly action romp with the great Dave Bautista. It's super fun. I really enjoyed it. Another reviewer compared it to Sudden Death, but the main difference is that this one wasn't completely stupid. I'm a fan of JCVD from way back, but that was not one of his better ones.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Modern Die Hard
eli_bodkin13 September 2018
The story line closely follows the original Die Hard movie ... right down to throwing the bad guy off the building with a message for the cops on him. However that doesn't take away the fact that this is a pretty good movie.

The action is pretty much non stop and very realistic in places.

Have it a worthy 7/10
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Action pack movie
haarnahimanunga19 October 2018
Very nice action pack movie Dave Batista is awesome Actors are awesome Story is quite good Overall you can watch this one time definitely.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Hard watch
campbellmark-394269 September 2018
Don't be fooled by the high ratings. Having been billed as Die Hard in a football stadium, I thought I would give this a go. My expectations were not particularly high and I like mindless fun as much as anyone. Preposterous plots, poor acting, over the top stunts and bad scripts. This has it all and not in a good or so bad its good way. It was totally boring. The cast were lost in an awful script and dire dialogue. Do yourself a favour and watch Van Damme's Sudden Death.
27 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The Case of Good Actors in Bad Film
nightringer-7684014 September 2018
3 points for the good actors who tried very hard to make this movie watchable.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It's not soccer. It's football.
nogodnomasters13 November 2018
Warning: Spoilers
If you have seen "Die Hard" you have a plot outline for this film. Mike Knox (Dave Bautista) is a mercenary who lost a company in Afghanistan. He visits the family of a fallen comrade in London and takes 15-year-old Danni (Lara Peake) to a football game...one with terrorists and C-4.

This was an enjoyable action film that had the right amount of humor, although I don't think" FU cupcake" is going to enter pop culture like that "Yippie ki-yay..." but they tried. Alexandra Dinu needed a better delivery.

If you enjoy the genre, this film is worth the time.

Guide: F-word. No sex or nudity.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
If having your intelligence insulted is your game, this is your kinda movie.
sbeall-9905614 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Are people in the UK oblivious to anything but soccer...sorry, football? It seems you can have raging shootouts involving military helicopters and motorcycles driving through the stadium and jumping from rooftops and no watching the game notices. I mean, I get the whole suspend your disbelief thing, but at least try to make it look like there was reason for the myopic behavior other than a game on the field.

They also don't notice a very bloodied large man walking around looking like he was in a car accident, yet draws no attention by even the security...until he runs on the field that is. Don't mess with the game buddy! Typical hooligan I guess. Based on this, I'm pretty sure much of the UK will not know when WWIII starts because you know...football!

Add to that the typical 100 or so moments where normal people in similar situation would be easily killed by getting an iron pipe smashed off their head several times, or punched and kicked in the face repeatedly, aaaaand the status quo 85 lb angry girl who can lay waste to a 280 lb ex-soldier who just moments before did pretty well for himself taking care of a 350 muscled freak of nature, and you have the modern action fantasy in it's finest form, with not even a hint of believability because, why bother? This genre is about as plot-centric as low grade porn.

It's just too much when you ad it all up to give it more than 4 stars as the plot is too thin to carry it regardless of the copious amounts of drama-tinted destruction tacked on that humans obviously thirst for.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Don't bother
Fileepo7 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I was so excited about this movie. It was being heavily publicised as being die hard in a football stadium so I was expecting a good old fashion tense action thriller. Sadly from the opening scenes I could tell straight away why it was released on sky at the same time as the cinema.

The plot is ok but takes far too long to get going. And it's not even a tense build up. Whenever there is a child as a central character you know it's going to be a terrible action film. When are writers going to realise that we simply don't care whether these annoying brats live or die?! At least make them likeable!

So Bautista is ok as a leading role, there's no character development but that doesn't bother me too much in these sort of films. I'm not sure what has happened to Pierce Bronson nowadays. He's not even trying in this, basically keeping the same expression throughout the whole movie. The Russian bad guys are instantly forgettable...there was one big guy at the start that gets killed far too quickly and after that the rest seemed pretty tame. Also, cutting in an action scene in with a free kick in the football was just jarring. I wasn't sure what we were supposed to be more excited about?! The goal or Bautista on a bike? The only other noteworthy character was the steward who was incredibly whiny and annoying throughout . Gutted he survived.

Quick point on the plot. Would blowing up the cell towers really mean noone had contact with the outside world? What about all the TV and radio crews? Surely they broadcast outside of phone networks?

All in all it wasnt a fun action movie, it was a struggle. I wouldn't bother. A wasted opportunity.
23 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Sudden death
Prismark107 September 2018
This Die Hard in a football stadium knock off is too far fetched. How did West Ham ever reach a European Cup semi final?

I used to visit that part of London often. Sadly I had to explain to my kids when pointing to the statue of Bobby Moore who exactly he was. There is a nice pub nearby, they serve a pint which I call Anne Boleyn. It has no head!

Filmed in the old Upton Park ground before it was demolished. Bautista plays Knox, an ex army special ops veteran who is visiting the family of his dead army buddy. Knox takes his 15 year old niece to watch West Ham play at home for the last time. However some Russian dissident terrorists have seized control of the stadium and are searching for an ex revolutionary leader.

Bautista is a likeable presence, finding himself in the wrong place at the wrong time, Knox uses his special set of skills to fry, slice and blow up the bad guys. He is assisted by Faisal Khan the ground steward who wishes he took the stewards job at Arsenal instead.

There are plenty of set pieces including a nifty motorbike chase scene, some humour including Knox making clear his disdain for soccer. Somehow the crowd never notice all the shooting and police helicopters above and realise they are in jeopardy.

It is an entertaining action film, rather cliched though. It would had helped if the movie's villains were more enigmatic than just brutal thugs. It also needed more inspiring set pieces and I do not mean Pierce Brosnan's dodgy Russian accent.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It was a good action movie which I enjoyed watching
rundmcconry29 March 2019
It was a good action movie I enjoyed watching it was fun entertainment
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good action flick
deannie-989832 March 2019
Good action, decent plot. Movie has good pacing. I enjoyed watching this movie.. the more he is in movies the better Dave Bautista gets.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Better than last 2 Die Hardz
bogdan-132409 November 2018
I gave it 9 stars because I appreciate it better than last 2 Die Hard movies with Bruce Willis. I like Bautista, he's credible and works hard to prove he's worthy of a action man. It suits him this type of action movies. Hope to see more. Thank you for continuing to entertain people.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed