Paterson (2016) Poster

(2016)

User Reviews

Review this title
202 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
The poetry of people and places
Albert_Orr5 August 2016
Paterson is a celebration of the small details in life. A poetic and charming love-story about a perfectly ordinary couple, living in a perfectly ordinary town.

The town in question is Paterson, New Jersey. Home of poet William Carlos Williams, comedian Lou Costello, and one of America's largest waterfalls. The man in question, in true Jarmusch style, is also named Paterson (played with pinpoint subtly by Adam Driver). Paterson is a hard-working bus driver who quietly goes about his duties, all the while allowing the scenery and eavesdropped conversation to inspire his main passion in life; writing poetry. Meanwhile, his girlfriend and the love of his life, played without fault by Iranian actress Golshifteh Farahani, is a stay-at-home creative. She spends her day baking imaginative cupcakes and making new curtains from scratch. The films narrative centres around a seven day week. Each day brings a new variation on the theme, and each moment a reflection on two people who wholeheartedly accept each other for who they are.

Paterson is a quiet and contemplative film that sits perfectly in Jarmusch's repertoire. It's a film about how people choose to live their life, regardless of the necessities to work and make money. Like poetry, the words and images flow with little dramatic tension or conflict. Jarmusch explained at Cannes that he intended Paterson to be an antidote to the modern action film, and if this is the case, I'll definitely be coming back for another dose.
187 out of 236 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The kind of movie you wish you could see more often. A pleasure!
jmarinko92512 July 2017
Paterson is a character driven joy to watch and see. I felt as if I was watching reality programming about characters that you can not help but root for. I became emotionally invested in the first 15 minutes and by films end was concerned for and gave a damn about all of their outcomes.

The theme of the film is the poetry in everyday life that surrounds us. The triumph's and setbacks faced by real people and how they deal with the obstacle's that get in the way of aspirations and dreams. A breath of fresh air from films where the stakes and risks are larger than life itself. Paterson is a journey in the life of the main character his charming and spontaneous girlfriend and her territorial but one of a kind dog Marvin.(One of the greatest movie dogs of all time!) Paterson is not a generic "feel good" movie but I felt great having seen it!
25 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Life itself is poetry
howard.schumann18 October 2016
I'm not sure if Jim Jarmusch ("Only Lovers Left Alive") in Paterson wants to make America great again by giving us his vision of the way it used to be, or is telling us that we only have to look around us to discover that it's great right now. Performed by a brilliantly authentic Adam Driver ("Midnight Special"), Paterson is not only the name of the city in New Jersey known for its resident poet William Carlos Williams, but is also his name. He is a poet whose Haiku-like verses (actually written by Ron Padgett) are reminiscent of the city's own poet William Carlos Williams. He writes a new poem every day (or finishes an old one) on the #23 bus he drives before and during his trip. Though his loving, energetic, somewhat scattered wife Laura (Golshifteh Farahani, "Finding Altamira") keeps asking him to make copies of them, he resists the idea, preferring to keep them in his secret notebook.

The film has little conflict, family dysfunction, or mental health issues. It is about what works and even (wonder of wonders) about a marriage that is not falling apart. Like most people with jobs and families, Paterson has a daily routine. There's too much variation in his day to call it a takeoff on Groundhog Day, but it does have that "same old, same old" quality. He awakes shortly after 6am, has a bowl of cereal that looks suspiciously like Cheerios, walks to his job driving the #23 bus through the streets of Paterson, listening in on conversations (often with a broad smile on his face) of passengers who talk about anything from Italian anarchists to boxer Hurricane Carter and comedian Lou Costello.

He comes home at six, corrects a leaning mailbox that moves daily thanks to his grumpy English bulldog Marvin (RIP), has dinner (some on the exotic side) talks with Laura who fills him in on the many projects she has going on including painting black and white circles on draperies, learning to play the guitar, and making cupcakes to sell at the local farmers market. He then takes Marvin for a walk and goes for a beer at the local pub where he chats with the owner Doc (Barry Shabaka Henley, "Carrie"), and often acts as a moderator between Everett (William Jackson Harper, "True Story"), a dramatic actor who desperately wants to reunite with his ex-wife Maria (Chasten Harmon.

The poems that Paterson reads as the words are flashed on the screen are not about odes to nightingales (though there's nothing wrong with that) but about down-to-earth things, such as one about matches, inspired by Ohio Blue Tip matchboxes that have disappeared from our lives. In "The Run," he says, "I go through trillions of molecules that move aside to make way for me while on both sides trillions more stay where they are. The windshield wiper blade starts to squeak. The rain has stopped. I stop. On the corner a boy in a yellow raincoat holding his mother's hand." In other poems he lets the world know how much he is in love with his wife, though he confides in us that he occasionally looks at other woman, something which as far as I know is still legal.

To Paterson, a poem should be simple and direct and he is moved by one such poem by a 9-year-old girl who recites it to him while she is waiting for her mother and sister. He complements her on her poem about a waterfall, remembering a few lines and reciting them to Laura when he gets home. Contrary to most films where, except for films about wealthy financial elites, work does not play a big role in the life of the characters, Paterson makes real what daily living is about for a majority of working people. The film has warmth and humor wrapped in a portrait of a city which has seen better days, a city in which Jarmusch creates a structure of closely observed small moments revealed with empathy.

Paterson is a man who is not looking for life to give him satisfaction but who brings satisfaction to it, a man who knows that satisfaction does not depend on accumulating things but in being grounded in who you are and what you can bring to the world. He comes to appreciate that poetry is not extraneous to life but that life itself is poetry. Although the film presents an idealistic picture of a city without visible slums, drugs, and crime which we know exists, Jarmusch may be providing us with a welcome counterpoint, showing us the way our cities should be and can be again.
120 out of 170 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Poetry can make life easier
Life is made of routines. Everyday we wake up towards the same places, meeting the same people. If you want drama and action, then this movies isn't fit for you. This is a movie about routines, but more than that: a movie about how we can find beauty in the routines. Paterson, a bus driver, does the same everyday in a village that never leaves a sleepy, foggy state. But he faces each day with joy, together with his ally: the love for poetry. Watch the movie if you like to see normal people, doing normal things but still, finding beauty in the small things.
24 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Alluring, Charming, Unforgettable
Raven-196922 October 2016
From reflections in a puddle, cardinals singing, waterfalls, a harlequin guitar, shadows, designer cupcakes and more, the love of a creative and happy couple spills over the small town of Paterson, New Jersey. The ordinary becomes extraordinary. Paterson, who shares his name with the community at large, is a bus driver. The daily bus route takes him through the heart of town where Paterson overhears intriguing conversations, records observations in his notebook, generates poems and opens lunchbox surprises from his lovely and artistic wife, Laura. The couple's chemistry, expressed in kisses, constant conversation, cheer and trust, is remarkable. "She understands me really well," says Paterson. Lucky guy. Lucky girl. The attractiveness, talent, color and charm of Laura and Paterson is infused in everything they do including Paterson's nightly tavern visits, the plain yet peculiar meals they have together, waking up in the morning and walking the dog.

Even in all its outward simplicity, there is astonishing and wonderful depth to the film characters, scenes, themes and conversations. This artistic sensibility that is infused in everyday life, is something I loved so much about Japan and Paterson shows what this imaginative awareness looks like in small town North America. Truly there is inspiration and beauty everywhere. While the film delves into music, paintings and other mediums, its main artistic focus is on poetry. There are nods to the poetry of William Carlos Williams, Wallace Stevens and others. The poems Paterson comes up with in his jaunts around town are brilliant and beautiful. A box of Blue tip matches inspires, rather sparks, a love poem. A poem called Another One is about seeing other dimensions, which is what this incredible film encourages itself.

Paterson is delightfully layered with surprising wisdom, complexity, diversity and humor at every turn. Twins make appearances every so often, for example, to remind us of one of the film themes; there is always someone out there like us that matches our hearts, and we are never really alone. Articles and images on a tavern wall take us to other dimensions in time in an instant. The on-screen chemistry between actors Adam Driver (Paterson) and Golshifteh Farahani (Laura) is critical to the film, and they are more than up to the task. They are outstanding, alluring and entirely convincing. The compassion and charm of this film is unforgettable. It reminds us that love and splendor spring from the unlikeliest of places. Seen at the 2016 Toronto International Film Festival.
121 out of 174 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Poetic "Groundhog Day" without the fun
Teyss9 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
First of all, I kindly remind IMDb users that, if you want to click on "Yes" or "No" at the bottom of this review, the question is: "Was the above review useful to you?", NOT "Do you agree with the above review?", nor "Do you agree with the rating without reading the above review?". Thank you.

Second, just to explain where I stand, I do like artistic movies, even slow ones, and even some of Jim Jarmusch's. They are offbeat, contemplative and somewhat poetic. In "Paterson", poetry is obviously his chief ambition: the main character is an amateur poet, there are talks about (more or less) famous poets and it relies on "everyday poetry", if this makes sense.

  • One poetic component is repetition: the main character has the same name as the city he lives in; we see many twins (thus a "double repetition"); events occur repeatedly; there are a few correspondences (for instance Laura has the same name as Petrarch's muse); the camera focuses on leitmotifs (watch, cereals, lunchbox, mailbox, beer glass, etc.). All this creates "internal rhymes" that, interestingly, are missing from Paterson's poems. What about these poems, by the way? They are sort of nice in their genre, however do we really need to hear them two or three times each, and see them written on top of that? It would have required an outstanding style, which I think is lacking.


  • Another poetic ingredient is oddity: strange elements slowly spill into an otherwise ordinary life.The black and white motifs created by Laura progressively invade the house: curtains, painting, carpets, clothing, and even the spare wheel cover of their car. When Paterson and Laura go to the cinema, they watch a horror movie which is, echoing Laura's motifs, in black and white (an additional correspondence). Small objects have a magical touch, notably the matchbox. Everett draws a gun in the bar. There are uncommon encounters, for instance the young poetess, the separating couple and the Japanese tourist. Entertaining, in a way.


  • Another phenomenon is the "enchanted bubble" sensation. It is a happy life: Paterson and Laura have a relatively easy time (although he seems on the edge, yet nothing wrong happens); they love each other; everybody is friendly; it is always sunny. There are no news from the outside world. The couple is isolated from family, real friends and neighbours, if any; they have no TV, no computer; he has no mobile phone. The rare issues are trifle: gang youngsters in a convertible just provide a fair warning; the Indian driver's problems are not so dramatic (especially considering how he describes them); Everett's gun is fake; the bus breaks down without consequences. The only drama is the loss of the secret book, however Paterson continues to write on another notebook given by Providence. Moreover, it is comforting to see hidden talents behind apparently simple personalities (writing, cooking, decorating, chess, etc.): it demonstrates we all have something to express.


  • Last, there is some form of humour, notably with the above-mentioned invasive motifs, the grumpy dog and the contrast between Paterson and Laura. She is enthusiastic, eccentric, willing to try all sorts of activities; she dreams of fame and actually is rather talented. He is reserved, quiet, slightly puzzled by her; he just wants a peaceful life and is talented as well, as a writer. She always is onto something new (and sometimes weird) while he is stuck in routine. Amusing, to an extent.


And then? Well, that's about it. The movie mainly relies on these bits and pieces. It is enough for a short film, however here it drags on for almost two hours. In the end, the ensemble feels somewhat pointless: this is partly intentional, of course, but it did limit my appreciation.

So what is missing? Probably, "Paterson" does not go far enough in its ambition. For instance, the bizarre touch could have been pushed further, to explore a different dimension. Or the humour. Or the elaboration of a stronger poetic structure. Or a progression of some sort. Or the inclusion of themes, adding depth and triggering another emotion than just having a pleasant time.

I cannot rate the movie lower than 5/10 because it is not terrible. There are a few interesting ideas, characters are likable, it is laid back, it changes form the standard blockbuster. Yet I cannot rate it higher because it did not appeal to me: it doesn't have much substance, doesn't evolve and doesn't provide a lasting impression, unlike exceptional films that linger in the mind for days. Not bad, not great, just in the middle. Half-baked.

But then, appreciating poetry is very subjective. Hence it is understandable some persons find the movie captivating and rate it 10/10 (which is easier to defend than the same rating for "Police Academy 6"). On the other hand, it also is understandable persons find it utterly boring and rate it 1/10 (which is easier to defend than the same rating for "Citizen Kane"). Question of personal sensitivity to this style.

"Paterson" tries to illustrate James Tate's brilliant quote: "Poetry is everywhere; it just needs editing." Unfortunately, I missed the editing part. Maybe I am narrow-minded.
200 out of 309 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
To be or not to be Warning: Spoilers
I really felt that although folks mostly agreed that the movie captured the "poetry of everyday life", there was much more to be had from the movie, which has its subtleties aplenty. Yes the ruins of Paterson are beautiful, yes the dappling of the light is fine, yes Laura and Paterson are a beautiful couple but go deeper!

Most art that you initially create is going to be derivative. Paterson's poetry is essentially derivative of William Carlos Williams. You have to fight through this phase and find your own creations. So when Paterson's homework is eaten by the dog (remember to see the humour in this), I was mindful that the dog had done him a favour, because all of the early stuff is worthless, unless you happened to be called Rimbaud or Chatterton, and even then I imagine they burned a lot of doggerel before they wrote a good sentence. Derivation can be incredibly apparent in painting, for example Mondrian, where he dabbled with other folks' styles (impressionism, fauvism and even pointillism) before he arrived at his unique mature expression, for which he is famous (termed neoplasticism).

Writing poetry is difficult, as so eloquently pointed out by WB Yeats:

"We sat together at one summer's end,// That beautiful mild woman, your close friend, // And you and I, and talked of poetry.// I said, 'A line will take us hours maybe;// Yet if it does not seem a moment's thought, // Our stitching and unstitching has been naught.// Better go down upon your marrow-bones // And scrub a kitchen pavement, or break stones // Like an old pauper, in all kinds of weather; // For to articulate sweet sounds together// Is to work harder than all these"

Paterson will need to break a lot of patterns and cobwebs if he wants to become a great poet.

Many have looked at this portrait of a relationship and saw something sweet and tender. I'm sorry but I saw two disconnected individuals, a freeloading girlfriend, a boyfriend without a backbone, and a couple that didn't make decisions together. They're both good-looking tranquil people, but they're not soulmates. Laura tells Paterson that his poetry is great, but he needs challenge, not a sycophant, he needs someone who understands him, not someone who uses his wages to buy an expensive dog and gets him to walk it every evening! So when he recites a love poem, it's something false, it's a confection, it's what we want to hear but it's not true, and this is why he's still so far from greatness.

The use of doubles in the movie is far from trivial, what it's saying is that there is a different lives Paterson (or any of us) could be leading, we have to make choices every day about which person we are going to be. The dissolve at the end when Paterson is lying in bed and seems to disappear momentarily is hinting that he might be best off disavowing his current life, he should be running a mile. Yet it's a comfortable life, and everyone likes comfy right? Two guys on the bus have a discussion where both recall recent encounters with women they liked and both had managed to fumble the ball through inaction, they chose, they don't live uncomfortable lives, but they chose not to live passionate lives. So that's why I chose the title for the review, because we all have to decide whether to embrace nonbeing, some sort of Taoist concept of naturalness, or whether we want to bristle our creativity, and streak like comets. Maybe the latter is innately egotistical. I think that the choice is what this movie is about, be humble or be brave. The movie is dualistic, no one interpretation is there to be forced on you. For me when he writes a poem about the song "Swinging on a Star" that's saying something key, he mentions that the only line he really plays again in his head is the one about being a fish, not being any of the others lives in the song. Again this is dualistic because it could be saying that he knows the life of a poet is for him, and it's the only one he thinks about, so he should embrace it, but if you read the full lyrics of the song, it talks about the fish who "can't write his name or read a book". Whereas another option "Would you like to swing on a star // Carry moonbeams home in a jar // And be better off than you are". Seems like the best though radical option that is open to Paterson, to change everything, but perhaps he won't take it.

Ending on a more playful note, congratulations to Mr Jarmusch for yet again working a matchbox into proceedings!
74 out of 119 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Poetry
necid-7096724 October 2016
I owe Jarmusch a debt of gratitude for being a formative figure in shaping my cinematic tastes. I shall never forget watching Stranger Than Paradise (1984) in NY in the early 1980s: the novelty, joy, patient camera movement, the fantastic way of playing Creedence Clearwater Revival's 'I Put a Spell on You' throughout the soundtrack. I have seen most of Jarmusch's movies ever since and more than three decades later, Paterson did not disappoint. Jarmusch is as creative as ever, gifting us with a wonderful film. The set is Paterson N.J., the protagonists are a bus driver also named Patterson and his artistically creative spouse. Paterson writes poetry, reads poetry, and encounters poetry wherever he goes and whoever he meets. This is it. And it is as engaging, uplifting, funny, and as insightful as a film can be. Patterson may be watched as a homage. It delicately portrays a particular place, Paterson New Jersey, reminding us that a place, any place, is always a product of the way its present mixes up with its past, of the way people both walk it and remember it. But the film is not only a homage to a place, it is also a homage to daily life, to the mundanity of just going to work and having a drink after a day's work. One striking feature of this film is that there are no bad characters here, no evil spirits, no mean intentions. In fact the only mean character in the film is the protagonists' dog, but even the dog is not too bad, just a drag. And miraculously, in spite of this, the film is totality innocent of naiveté. As if at the hands of a gifted anthropologist, the camera curiously follows and watches, and the film never falls into anything resembling judgment and condescension. It is truly genius in its ability to draw us into the perspective of the protagonists, to embrace their feelings and movements, to empathize with them and to fall in love with their numerous small encounters. Remarkably, one of the achievements here is that the film feels and looks timeless. It could be shot in the 1950s, or the 1970s, and yet it makes no attempt to hide the fact that it has been shot only recently. Incidentally, Paterson makes a point about not having a mobile phone. It does wonders to the film and its ability to give homage. A truly uplifting film.
74 out of 120 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Poetic afterglow
dogacol17 April 2018
I am not sure if it is because I appreciate Jim Jarmusch's style or it's because this film is something else, but I absolutely loved it. Throughout the film, I had frisson down the back of my neck. This film made me realize how much I love poetry. I had never realized that I liked poetry, on the contrary, I thought I hated poetry. When the film ended I ran to get my poetry books out and read some of them out loud to myself. This is what cinema is about. It doesn't matter if you like a film or not. If a film makes you feel anything at all, to see from different perspectives and immerse yourself in an imaginary visual and temporal experience that you know it's an illusion from the beginning then the job's done. Jarmusch also always shows how the appreciation of insignificance becomes a soothing state almost like a stoic. I love the feeling of "afterglow" of some films. This film has it. The "afterglow" of every day, ironic, poetic existence.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
poetry in life
ferguson-618 January 2017
Greetings again from the darkness. Do you find poetry in everyday life? What about poets … do you envision loners whose lives are filled with angst and suffering? Our lead character here is a pretty normal guy who drives a city bus, has a happy marriage, and walks his dog each evening. He's also a poet – and a pretty interesting one.

Writer/director Jim Jarmusch (Broken Flowers, 2005) often seems like he is making films for his circle of friends … all whom must be much cooler than you and me. This time, however, he takes an opposite approach and brilliantly focuses on a dude that any of us could know. Paterson (Adam Driver) is a New Jersey Transit bus driver who writes poetry based on his observations of life's seemingly minor details (his first poem notes "We have plenty of matches in our house").

You should be forewarned: there are no murders, kidnappings, bank robberies or shootouts. Things move rather deliberately. Also missing are any special effects – heck, Adam Driver even got licensed to drive a bus for the role. Instead, we are forced to slow down and see each of the seven days of a week through the eyes and words of Paterson. He observes. He listens. He people watches. He then commits his thoughts to the page and recites them for our benefit. Sometimes he is eavesdropping on bus passengers, while other times he curiously tries to figure out the newest "dream" for his beloved wife Laura (Golshifteh Farahani). Having the soul of an artist, Laura cloaks her world in a geometric black and white color scheme while energetically bounding from cupcakes to country and western music to cooking as she pursues her place in life.

There are many Jarmusch touches throughout. Paterson the poet actually lives and works in Paterson, New Jersey … yep, Paterson from Paterson. The interactions at the neighborhood bar (run by Barry Shabaka Henley) are simultaneously real and surreal – right down to the wall of local fame (including Hurricane Carter and Lou Costello, but no mention of Larry Doby). Coincidences abound. A young girl recites her poem to Paterson … her writing style, personal book, and delivery make her seem like his poetic doppelganger – all while the recurring appearance of numerous sets of twins make us believe in the law of attraction. Lastly, the closest thing to a villain in the film is Paterson's bulldog Marvin, in what plays like a love-hate relationship with the mailbox being center-ring.

Another local Paterson (the city) aspect is Paterson's (the poet) admiration of the works of William Carlos Williams, a poet whose style he emulates. One of the terrific scenes near the end involves a spontaneous interaction between Paterson and town visitor (Masatoshi Nagase) that takes place next to The Great Falls, and serves as a reminder that we should accept who we are, no matter the challenges or lack of glory. This is truly director Jarmusch's ode to the artist/poet in each of us and in ordinary life. Creating art as best we can is a very personal thing, and for some it's a need - while for others it's one of life's simple pleasures. Regardless, a "normal" life with daily routines is not to be scorned, but rather embraced, should you be so fortunate. If you doubt this, Paterson asks, "Would you rather be a fish?" **NOTE: sharp moviegoer eyes will recognize Kara Hayward and Jared Gilman, who both had their debut in Wes Anderson's Moonrise Kingdom (2012).
29 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It Is Simple
markkbranson18 April 2018
I decided to watch this film because of two friends who claimed they did not understand what is happening and that they did not know how to watch a movie. I saw the and the answer is simple. In fact, the answer is in the movie itself!

If you are a fan of William Carlos Williams or a fan of Archibald McLeish (both poets), then the answer is throughout the film. Unlike many of today's films, this one celebrates the essence of a film by just being a film. McLeish offers an answer in his poem, "Ars Poetica" where he asserts a poem does not "mean," it simply is.

Williams also offers an answer in his works: there is an inherent value in the the "thingness of things" whether it is the bowl of plums reference in this film or in the red wheelbarrow.

What Jarmush has given us is an excellent example of what these two poets told us years ago: there is value in the small and simple things of life. That is all this film is about and we are told, point blank, at the end of the movie: the Japanese poet asks Paterson if he, too, is a poet. Paterson says, no; he is only a bus driver. The Japanese poet says, "This could be a poem by William Carlos Williams."

And, indeed, that is what we have just seen.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Celebrates the mundane in a surprisingly entertaining and subtly life-affirming way.
Pjtaylor-96-1380441 March 2018
'Paterson (2016)' is a feature built entirely upon, and indeed celebrating, the mundane. It follows a seemingly regular week in the life of a bus-driving poet and doesn't stray too far from the confines of reality, whilst still managing to have a fair amount to say and packing a hefty level of symbolism into its relatively layered narrative. The character work is nice and deep, even though there are really only two major ones, and the film works within the smallest of margins to deliver its changes and growth but still certainly delivers both. It also feels palpably real and remains remarkably entertaining. It's a nice, subtly life-affirming feature that isn't ground breaking but is sort of beautiful in its own unique, low-key kind of way. 7/10
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It was the dog that dunnit.
postmortem-books9 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Here's the summary: A bus driver named Paterson drives a bus in a town called Paterson, NJ. He lives with a woman who doesn't work but paints black and white designs on everything that doesn't move. A week in the life of this pair runs as follows: He gets up and goes to work. Writes some poetry in a notebook. We watch as he walks to and from work. There are twins dotted all over Paterson. She buys an expensive guitar as she wants to become a country singer and she also makes cup cakes. There is a dog called Marvin. Marvin eats the poetry notebook. Paterson despondent. But then meets a Japanese man who asks him if he is a poet and gives him a new blank notebook. Closing credits. By which time the red hot pins stuck in my eyes had become permanently embedded. What sounded like clapping rose from one section of the meagre audience, except it wasn't clapping. It was a woman slapping her partner trying to wake him up.

Marvin was good.
164 out of 303 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A whimsical essay into the ordinariness of human existence
CineMuseFilms29 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Jim Jarmusch films can be challenging and Paterson (2016) is no exception. Audiences who are accustomed to plot or character-driven stories will find themselves grappling instead with a mood in search of a reason. Without a genre label to help, we must work through an exploratory essay into the ordinariness of human existence elevated occasionally by the creative impulse to write poetry. If it sounds cerebral, then it's a Jarmusch film. Paterson (Adam Driver) is a bus driver in Paterson, USA. If that sounds odd, then it matches this whimsical story based on the typical week of a nondescript transport worker who lives not a life but a routine. His unchanging beige existence is in bold relief to his beautiful Iranian-born wife Laura (Golshifteh Farahani) who is artistically creative and continually reshaping her goals. Their lovable and irascible bulldog Marvin is the story's primary source of humour. Paterson drifts into writing poems throughout his day, composing lines in his head, and sometimes his silken words appear as on-screen text framed by banality like an urban bus window. His free-flowing verses are a contrast to his symmetrical and ordered life. While Laura thinks they should be shared with the world, he is bashful about them because the sentences do not rhyme. The pattern of his days is always the same, punctuated by what happens to others rather than what happens to him. Quirky characters create capsule sketches that represent the mundanity of living: a woe-riddled supervisor, a broken romance, a curious Japanese tourist, overheard passenger conversations, and a broken down bus – all part of a quiet existential stream notable only for its inconsequence. Narrative turning points work like signposts that tell us that something significant is about to occur in a story, but there are none here. Each time it appears possible that the story might progress in some interesting new direction nothing happens, perhaps to reflect how Paterson lives his life. There are layers of unreality across many scenes and the dialogue often feels as if it is being delivered at a script reading: clear diction, perfect rhythm, without emotion. This slight air of inauthenticity forms a backdrop for the sincerity and lyricism present in Paterson's poetry. It may or may not be good poetry; that is not the point. It is about contrasting layers of reality and they are evident elsewhere, always with the same effect. When a small girl who also writes poetry says "Cool. My bus driver is a poet" we feel like responding: "well, why not?"; creativity hides everywhere. Not everyone will stay with this film because of its minimalist pace, deadpan humour, prolonged silences, understated acting and noticeably sparse music to lift the emotional tone. It is devoid of regular cinematic artifice and feels like we have momentarily glimpsed into the inner space of a true gentle soul and can walk away the better for it. Author: cinemusefilms
35 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Poetry, happiness and simplicity
rubenm12 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
It's not so easy to say what 'Paterson' is about. It's about a week in the life of a bus driver - that's the easy answer. A week in which not much happens, by the way. But it's also about poetry: the bus driver writes poems while waiting behind the wheel. It's about happiness: the film is drenched in it. And about simplicity: the bus driver's life is extremely simple. He wakes up at about quarter past six, kisses his sleeping wife, eats a cereal breakfast, walks to the bus garage, drives his bus, and returns home to the evening meal his wife has prepared for him.

Jim Jarmusch shows this seven times: once for each day in the week. But there are slight differences: sometimes he wakes up at half pas six, his wife's position in bed is different each day (once she's not there because she got up before him), the talk at dinner depends on the events of the day. And small things happen every day: there's an incident at the local pub, the bus breaks down, his wife sells cupcakes at the farmer's market.

When the average Hollywood blockbuster is a roller-coaster ride, this film is a quiet walk in the woods. Some people may find it boring. I didn't. 'Paterson' is a special film, because it has a very rare characteristic: it's not about anything in particular. Or is it about life itself? It's up to the viewer to decide.
38 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Deeply relaxing and enjoyable
rob-benson8 January 2019
It takes ten minutes to get used too the slow pace and unorthodox nature of the film, then it becomes a warm bath on a cold winters day which you dont want to get out of.

The film shows us a week in the life of a couple living a seemingly happy and slightly bohemian lifestyle in Paterson, New Jersey. Adam Driver is a bus driver going also goes by the name of Paterson, who writes poetry every day, drawing inspiration from what at first seem mundane conversations on the bus he drives, and also from his lover, played by Golshifteh Fahani, who spends her days painting and making cupcakes. The poetry Adam Driver writes appear on screen in a soft font which is pleasant on the eye, as he reads them out to himself.

The whole film is routed in poetry, and is clearly made by people who love the art form, especially the poetry of William Carlos Williams, whose poems are quoted continually throughout the film. After a while it felt like the films itself was like beautiful poem that you wish would just go on and on. This wasn't only due to the poetic elements, but also down the softly spoken characters and dialogue, the beautifully shot streets and houses and ambling pace of the film. Nothing about this film feels rushed, but at the same time it lingers a lot but never outstays it welcome. The characters are utterly believable, the chemistry between Driver and Fahani tangible and delicate, as they wake up in bed together each morning, signifying a new day.

It drew me in very quickly, and after a short while i relaxed back and let the film cast its soft spell on me, leaving me with a warm fuzzy feeling for hours afterwards.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Paterson (Jim Jarmusch, 2016)
deanskendy30 August 2018
Charming, quiet and subtle. A film about the moments that make up life, and the beauty to be found in these moments, if only we dare to look.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Gentle, Satisfying Slice of Life
Miles-1015 September 2017
A week in the life of a young bus driver-poet named Paterson, who lives in Paterson, New Jersey (director Jim Jarmusch must enjoy this conceit), is the focus of this gentle drama. While it begins slowly, things do happen, and, ultimately, it all pays off. Everything about the movie is gentle, from the humor to the little bit of violence. (I know that might seem unlikely.)

Jarmusch telegraphs a lot of the plot points, but at least there is a plot to anticipate. For examples, I knew that Everett was going to do something crazy before he did it. (Hasn't Paterson just asked Marie whether or not Everett might do something crazy?) And I knew that Marvin was going to do something crazy, too, before he did it. (Hasn't the camera shown the glint in Marvin's eye before Paterson and his lovely wife, Laura, go out to dinner and a movie? And hasn't Laura spent much of the movie warning Paterson to take precautions?)

Paterson, played by Adam Driver, is a mild-mannered guy. His routine could be described as dull. It is almost the same every weekday, but the nature of life is that at least one interesting occurrence is bound to break up the daily routine, and that happens here. A nice touch is the series of overheard conversations among bus patrons. A brief conversation can tell a lot about people. And a recurring gag is that after Laura tells Paterson that she dreamed about having twins (the young couple is childless), Paterson keeps seeing twins of various ages throughout the rest of the movie.

Paterson wakes up every day, kisses Laura, eats breakfast, walks to work, drives his route, writes poems in his notebook, then goes home. Every evening, he finds his mailbox post leaning, and he straightens it up. The next evening he repeats this ritual. (Finally, we find out what has been making the box lean over.)

After dinner, Paterson always takes his dog for a walk, but this is really an excuse to go to the local watering hole where he knows Doc, the bartender. Doc has a wall dedicated to famous people from Paterson, including the twentieth century comedian Lou Costello, whom Doc and Paterson agree is probably the most famous of the many famous Patersonians.

"I wonder where his partner, Bud Abbott, was from?" muses Paterson.

"He was from New Jersey, too," replies Doc. "Ashbury Park. Born 1895."

Doc seems to know everything. He is also looking forward to a chess tournament over the weekend.

"I'm getting my ass kicked," Doc says as he moves a chess piece on a board sitting on the bar.

"Who are you playing?" asks Paterson after a look around.

"Myself," says Doc.

Few movies are made about poets, especially not about the undiscovered ones. Paterson narrates little poems on his way to work, and he writes them in his notebook, before he starts his bus and on his lunch break. (Jarmush got real-life poet Ron Padgett to provide all but one of the poems used in the movie; Jarmusch himself wrote the poem, "Water Falls".) Paterson also writes at a bench in his basement. His books, lined up on the bench, show his taste in poetry. Wallace Stevens and, of course, William Carlos Williams, a Paterson resident. These poets have something in common with Paterson in that they, too, had day jobs. Stevens was an insurance executive, and Williams was a medical doctor. Paterson also has a slim volume by Ron Padgett.

Paterson adores Laura and supports her, even though he may not fully understand all of her eccentric ideas. She is always painting things black and white, including walls, curtains and clothing. (Paterson checks to make sure the paint is dry.) She wants to buy an expensive guitar (a black and white Harlequin, natch) and dreams of becoming a Nashville star. She also thinks she could parlay her baking skills into a cupcake business. She creates a brussel sprout and cheddar cheese pie for dinner. Paterson may have his doubts about some of these things (I think he is less than thrilled about the expensive guitar), but he is supportive in all cases, just as Laura supports his poetry. He also always asks workmates and strangers how they are and seems to be genuinely interested. He looks out for a ten-year- old who has been left alone, and he seems unafraid when a gang- banger questions him on the street. A photo in his home appears to be of him in a U.S. Marine uniform, but nothing is ever said about this. One suspects that that might represent the only time he ever left Paterson.

Although it seems as if nothing is happening at first, things do, and, if you give this movie a chance, you might be rewarded.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Can somebody please explain !
basel-bb-0024 March 2017
As most people rated the movie between 7 and 10 then I must have a serious problem rating the movie with only 3 of 10 . All I could see is a driver who writes poems which are not that good in my opinion and wakes every morning and so on , with a GF who adores white and Black and do nothing but staying home doing her strange rituals while he works hard to bring her a Guitar she can't play . I mean it's super boring ! No story No conversations No Nothing ! but since I was raised in the Middle-East I suppose there is something missing because of my Eastern culture . I'm not saying the movie was bad , on the contrary , I was bad rating and reviewing . so please , shall anybody explain the secret of the high rating ?
62 out of 118 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not so much a film as a painterly poem
E Canuck14 October 2016
Saw Paterson at the Vancouver Film Festival today and enjoyed to a certain point, while becoming a bit tired of some of its cuter elements (such as the bus driver poet's decorating girlfriend) and the modernist or minimalist pace, which grows contrived in the repetition of both routine days and quirky features. The film is a tribute to Paterson, NJ's famous poet, William Carlos Williams and to the notion of celebrating reality by recording it in a faithful, painterly fashion without embellishment or sermonizing.

If you don't demand a lot of action or forward motion you are more likely to enjoy this film as a kind of modernist poem in itself. You have a cute grumpy dog to entertain you, an idealized love relationship to wonder about, and some complete red herrings such as omnipresent twins to distract you from the static still-life character of the film.
30 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Needlessly slow, lifeless
elenorabirch18 February 2017
I wish someone had warned me about how painfully slow and quiet this wretch of a movie is before I decided to see it in the theater. I can appreciate that the filmmaker was trying to be artistic, but so much of the film relied on images of people sleeping or sitting or on the never- ending rambling of awful poetry being recited, and those long, uneventful moments made for an extremely tense and awkward movie theater experience. Sitting in the cramped quiet listening to my neighbors cough and praying for some on screen action made for a very regrettable two hours of my life, and effectively killed any meaning this story might have been trying to provoke. The characters in the film were likable enough, but the majority of comic relief came from spontaneous shots of the family's dog being adorable. By the end of the movie, I wanted to punch each of the characters in the face, except for Jared Gilman's, who is far too talented to be relinquished to an unnamed part in a lifeless film. If you have to see this movie, rent it On Demand and have it playing in the background while you do something more productive.
45 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Mental torture...
trans_mauro31 January 2017
Instead of waterboarding and other "benign" types of torture, black-ops people should use films like Paterson to try and extract information from dangerous criminals.

The film is so devoid of anything that after watching it for more than 30 minutes even the most hardened criminals will be clamoring to confess anything.

The emptiness of Paterson is like a mental black hole that sucks anything we have in our heads. It is like a sponge that absorbs any thoughts, creative ideas we may try to process while watching it.

It is dull, slow, amorphous, insipid and as ugly as the main star in the film ( a bulldog....)

Paterson is another one for the artsy-fartsy crowd.
89 out of 196 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
No point, No Plot
opus-0754323 January 2017
I really wanted to like this film. The trailer looked interesting but it was just awful. Like a few others that have reviewed it, it really was like Groundhog Day. I usually like a character study or relationship study in a film but this one just had no point and no plot. Bus driver who writes poetry with quirky girlfriend who paints weird designs on everything she sees. And lots of shots of Paterson, New Jersey. That's the movie. Adam Driver does a good job with the script he was given. I thought it might be a little like Garden State (actually Driver reminds me a little like Zach Braff). Very disappointed. Had high hopes.
43 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
No need for this.
xposipx12 March 2017
Jim Jarmusch's films often create witty, thought-provoking dialogue with odd characters to captivate the viewer. Paterson, however, is ordinary in every way.

Paterson focuses on the ordinary, meaningless tasks of everyday life and the audience waits patiently for something to happen. It becomes painfully obvious that the overall point is in the "beauty" of seemingly ordinary instances and observations. The main flaw is this: we experience this every day and it is completely paradoxical to watch a movie based on this concept when we see these events daily. It reminds me of having to watch Groundhog Day without the protagonist growing beyond the first day.

Jarmusch's direction does not help or hinder the film, but the writing severely lacks any passion at all whatsoever. This seems intentional, but the actors painfully deliver awkward lines that do not reflect natural conversations. It actually felt like many of them were reading the script for the first time while they were on screen. Due to this, the movie pitifully plods along predictably and ends with a mild artistic, predictable message as well.

What Jim Jarmusch accomplished with Coffee and Cigarettes and Stranger Than Paradise was impressive, but this takes many, many steps back and will be forgotten by the time I watch another movie.
41 out of 94 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A pseudo-talented poet writes poor poems, thinks about life, Do not be fooled by the reviews the movie was BAD
ahamarsheh5 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
watching this movie was one of the most difficult things i have done this week. It is a slow, bland, uninspired, unwashed, poorly thought out, overstretched, pale and most of all a BORING movie. What makes it all worse is that what was the grand finale was so easily predicted almost in the first half of the movie.

That being said, the reason why i am not giving this abomination a 1 star is that it had some good things about it. I do commend all of the members of the cast, i believe they did what they could with the little they were given, the cinematography and the music were fine as well. I liked certain aspects of the poetry despite the fact that it felt forced at times.

Now, to the horrible part.

The only thing more annoying than the girlfriend/wife character was the grunting dog, man what a poorly written character that woman was, ditsy , childish, boring, could actually be suffering from OCD and very very unlikable.

Adam drivers character "paterson", was remarkably boring , the character is in no way special , men like this do exist and are quite difficult to handle.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed