Heroes Manufactured (2016) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Great Documentary, A little long but fun, interesting and educational
meltuvik5 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Heroes Manufactured, A Great Documentary, A little long but fun, interesting and educational.

The film touches on the lives of Canadian comic book illustrators and how they take on the world of comic conventions as well as the competition of producing and selling their work to fans while growing their audience.

The film focuses on a number of artist including both male and female.

I personally would have wanted to see more representation of the female voice in comics; however, they seem to have had a limitation on who they interviewed as you don't spot many women at their events. This could have been due to the nature of the industry.

The film does focus on Studio Comics and their owner/creator quite a bit as his story seems to be one of the main story arcs.

What I found most interesting was the part about Stan Lee where the film opens up with his famous line from Spiderman comics " With great powers, come great responsibility" This theme is introduced early but is brought back towards the end as we see an example of how comic book representation accomplishes this in the real world.

The film also touches on Canadian comic book history which was interesting and used quite nicely in the film but dragged a little too long.

Overall a great film for Comic book fans, Really enjoyed this!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
**** A good Overview of the Actual Canadian Comic Book Scene ****
testomail15 February 2017
I have the chance to watch this documentary during the GeekFest 2017 and I was engaged with the pace of the film, the movie covers a lot of what the current comic book scene is all about. There was a few extra appearances of celebs in the film that feel too much but not to the point that it feel that was over done.

The film also cover a variety of different artist from Canada like Ty Templeton and Richard Comelly however the real deal of the film is the participation of Alfonso a Canadian-Mexican comic book artist publisher and great supporter of the industry with his own publishing company named Studio Comics, he added a great piece in the doc making it feel real and you can truly see the reason of his success in the comic book scene. At times it feels incomplete and wanting to see more about what Alphonso does.

Also the participation of Ty templeton to the doc adds a nice touch of experience.

over all is a nice educational and "want to see more" film.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Heroes, Artist, Cosplay, Celebs, and Stan Lee!
petermako17 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
A good entry level documentary. Feels a bit slow and mundane at times buy a good first take on the Canadian Comic book industry!

I personally would have wanted to see more about the comic book artists in Canada but the film took a turn into a different area that I did not expect which made it interesting but steered away from its Canadianism.

The film portrayed the story of a Mexican-Canadian artist by the name of Alfonso Espinos, who runs a comic book publishing company called Studio Comics Press.

It follows a variety of artist in a balanced sense but turned away from the fact that it is Canadian by nature. I really enjoy the interviews and think that the story was interesting on a whole. Great Film with a unique twist at the end, hint, hint Stan Lee appearance!!!!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
An Inspiring Doc - Takes time to get into but a great story!
sergiobrian25 January 2017
I managed to see this online via the Atlas Awards closed online film festival. The doc is very inspiring overall. It drags a bit, but some very awesome footage of Stan Lee, Kevin Smith, and celebrities. As a writer and filmmaker myself, I was really inspired after watching this film. The doc explores the various motifs and struggles that independent artists and writers must face when entering the industry. There are so many cool examples of this throughout the film. They explore the story of Mexican-Canadian Artist as well which gives the film a nice touch. The only problem I have with the film is that at first, it seems a bit disjointed. I wasn't quite sure who we are following in the story but eventually, this was evident and clear to me as you keep watching the film. It's one of those films where you have to keep watching to get the full effect of the message and understanding of the subject matter. Great take on the comic book industry in Canada and Abroad. I recommend anyone who wants to get into comics to see this film. I would also recommend filmmakers watch this doc as it gives insight into a massive industry that is filled with surprises, let downs and successes. I really enjoyed this film and would honestly recommend watching it if you like documentaries.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Feels like I am going to the comic con!!!
jessbaron18 January 2017
I'm huge comic convention follower.

I met these guys in Montreal last year. Loved this movie! I especially liked that they really took the time to speak to artists.

I wish to see more of Canada in the film.

Very much love for Canada and Comic Art and illustration.

They have William Shatner, RUN DMC, and many other celebrities.

Thank you for supporting Montreal and French-Canadien Art and Comics.

Many Artist represented from Montreal Comic Con and Toronto Fan EXPO.

I also really like, that there are so many fans! I love this documentary. I am putting it as one of my favorites now! I truly enjoy this movie!!!!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The main story is the spine of this doc.
moviefan-684375 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I enjoy watching the movie at Cineplex, a story never seen before. the best part of the movie is to come to the realization that a greater number of the comic books are created in Canada. Stan Lee participation is fantastic but the real hero of the documentary is Alphonso's Story, at times you can feel what he feel throughout the movie, his energy is what it makes the film go quick with the desire to see more about of him and his comics. the participation of a great number of other no-so-well-known comic book creators is amazing too, the selection was simply great.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Cool Film, Comic Culture Galore
minnienorwalk23 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Pretty interesting flick.

The film explores the inside look into the creation of independent comic books in Canada and abroad. The film lays out the sensationalism of pop culture and mass media. Celebrity culture galore and comic book culture galore.

Some really neat insight into dc comic book creator Ty Templeton who worked on Batman animated series comics. I also like the bit about Neal Adams, He is a really interesting guy. Seems abit of clown but he gives you the facts about getting involved with the industry and how crumby some people can really be around you.

I would give this film a good rating. 7 out of 10.

If you like pop culture and sensationalism, watch this film. If not you missed out I guess!!!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An enlightening film with cool cameos and artists
juleskane-4193417 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Very nice doc put together.

A lot of Cameos of Celebs, not real big on that. But the subject was good and they didn't overdo it with Cameos. I almost think they were not needed.

It does help move the film a little though, Which I would like to add.

Very cool insight into independent comic culture and Scene. I would have wanted to see them get out of just Canada. There is a bigger world of comics out there.

But for what they made, it was nicely arranged!

I'd give it a 9, but it needs some work on the story as they focus too much on one artist!

I recommend it as a good watch!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed