Crashing (TV Series 2017–2019) Poster

(2017–2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
40 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Can't believe it's being canceled!!! :(
arminbilefield21 April 2019
From the first season, i loved this show. I've always been a Judd Apatow fan he has the best sense of humor. And this show is also a example of his great works. It's like really casual, real and entertaining... You'll get to kinda see the behind the scenes of stand-up comedy in NYC which can be really entertaining, funny and cool. Pete Holmes is amazing in the show and every episode is a blast. And also because most people in the show play themselves or character's close to themselves, every character in the show is really well acted and written and the whole thing comes together with the good writing and directing this show has, to create a really good TV-Series. I would follow Pete's story for 10 more seasons really. I can't believe why this show is being cancelled, that really sucks. I absolutely love this show and every thing about it.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Will Be Cult
Jeffronthi-950-5431342 December 2017
Very good show, but it is a slow burn. A little bit of a grower, actually, but half-way through episode two it starts to come together. I like how, situationally, things move on. There are recurring themes and people, but it is very natural.

It's great, actually. Check it out.
24 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
charming, feel-good, very funny
hayleyrhawkins24 February 2017
I love this show so far- i think it helps that i've listened to pete's podcast for a long time, so it feels more like watching a friend's new show. but nevertheless, i laughed out loud multiple times and felt genuinely warm-hearted afterward. Artie lang is a great actor and nice gruff touch to the show.
34 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Truly Enjoyable
pelegirl52848 March 2017
What an incredibly refreshing show about a familiar subject. I have been a fan of Pete Holmes for a few years now and I wasn't quite sure how this was going to work on screen- - especially on HBO, but it is more than obvious that this collaboration has been placed in the best of hands. Pete is doing some really special work, and Appatow knows just how to bring it out of him in the best of ways. After years of learning about Pete's story I am so glad we are getting the chance to see his own artistic interpretation of it---and what better way than with the help of Judd Appatow? GREAT casting, top notch writing, lovely moments---both honest and funny, and I really look forward to whatever is coming next.
33 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A really good show, funny and emotional
baltsanaviv21 April 2017
An excellent show! Pete Holmes succeeds to make a funny show, while having lots of cameos from famous people in the stand-up industry. The plot is great, and the relationship between Pete and his wife are interesting, and evolving each episode. It is really nice to watch the progress of Pete, trying to evolve his career as a comedian. Also, I really like the contrast between the naivete of Pete and the sarcasm of the stand-up world. A really great show. Recommended!
20 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Show really firing on all cylinders in Season 3
Christian-Hunter4 February 2019
What was once a modestly entertaining show for two seasons, has become that and more in its third season.

Watching comics fail (in this quasi-reality tv format) goes back at least as far as Gary Shandling Show, so I suppose it's a bit refreshing to watch things turn around and go Pete's way for a change.

(All that, plus Madeline Wise is a treat to watch!)
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just great!
tadcreepy16 September 2018
Great cast, great acting, great human stories. Recently found Pete Holmes also does some hilarious Batman skits on funny or die. He's definitely one of my new favorite comedians.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
More absurdly and realistically funny...
whitneyfwalker8 July 2018
So I watched this because I love Artie from Howard, and I didn't know anything else about the cast. For me I had to watch a few episodes then it all gelled-like any other sitcom. However, unlike other sitcoms it's not, laugh joke laugh talk a little laugh joke laugh joke. No lsugh track and no obvious playing for the laugh like an act. It's like spying on real life of comedians and all the convoluted situations that arise. It grew on me and I would have binged the whole thing if I didn't have to walk the dog.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This show is a grower not a shower
radejesus25 February 2019
After watching the first couple of episodes I was mixed.. however decided to continue and im happy i did. The show picked up and i really couldn't stop watching. I literally just finished watching the rest of season 1,2 and caught up to season 3 all on a binge Sunday. I hope the show continues on, its funny, warm and I enjoy this perspective of the comedians journey.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Showing what it's like to be down in the dumps with life and love, while struggling to be funny and get on stage!
blanbrn7 March 2017
Been watching this new HBO series called "Crashing" and I must say that it is funny and crazy with a poor guy who simply can't have anything to go his way, he can't get no breaks! It's the tale of a want to be New York comic who drives a rattle trap car named Pete(Pete Holmes)who finds it a struggle to get on stage as all he can do is pay for open mic night, then his school teacher wife Jess(Lauren Lapkus)leaves because Pete just can't spice up the sex life as he's just not aggressive or a freak in bed! So now the struggle is on the road from club to club, yet Pete is helped along the way by some other comedians(watch for appearances from Artie Lange, T.J. Miller, and Sarah Silverman). Overall good funny series that's a fun watch as you root for an underdog guy like Pete who wants to become a great comic. As sometimes you have to crash and burn like Pete before you have success.
20 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I recommend!
emarantz8 April 2017
Very entertaining so far....and clever! I listen to Podcast and decided to check out the show. I am pleasantly impressed. Only halfway through the first season but wanted to say how much I am enjoying it. Can't wait to see more seasons. Definitely worth checking out and seeing if you enjoy.
15 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fascinating and hilarious!
garrett-argenna25 February 2019
This show is a fascinating and hilarious view into the comedy scene. It's amazing how much the show is able to say without being heavy handed with the themes. My fear with the title and pilot was that it would be too depressing, but it actually somehow doesn't go that way. Despite plenty of sad moments. All in all, great show!
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Show
vitorcardia12 March 2018
Pete Holmes shows us how is the life of a poor, hardworking comic. He takes us to his world. It's immersive and deeply reflexive, as he makes you laugh he also make you cry and feel for him. My only complain is about the number of episodes, C'mon Pete, we need more than 8!!!!
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Solid show
raucci-575-1198262 March 2019
Enjoy the show, has been consistently good - the latest episode S3 E6 was probably for me the best of show to date - good characters and kind of like a behind the scenes of comedians lives
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A very enjoyable bittersweet series
dan_megan-246-92536912 March 2019
I didn't like Pete Holmes right away, his good boy persona annoyed me at first but over time really grew on me, which is exactly what he does to the other characters on the show. While he is a comedian and the show is often funny, it also often focuses on Pete's insecurity and loneliness which is very relatable. This show has a genuine sweetness at it's core that is seldom seen on TV today. I found this series to be refreshing and entertaining and was disappointed to hear it was not picked up for another season. The show also give a unique behind the scenes look at how comics come up through the NY comedy scene and features lots of great cameos.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great show, shouldn't be cancelled
julieokulicz10 March 2019
This show is propelled by Pete Holmes who is likable, awkward, hilarious and endearing-such a great series of cameos from amazing comics. Comedy is interlaced with compelling storylines-and lots of heart is woven throughout.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Reminds me of Master of None
stevej-1544031 March 2017
It's very similar to Master of None. It's not as funny or clever but it's very enjoyable. Pete is a religious guy surrounded by the vast majority of vulgar comedians now a days. He's a very likable and trustworthy guy which why so many people like him (other comedians). He's not very responsible (adult wise) bc of how he was raised and the show explains all of this. If you ever watched Pete Holmes his humor is there and it's clean but everyone else is vulgar, i like the diversity. however if master of none is 9+ this falls short. each episode taught a life lesson in Mast of none crashing is more about a struggling comedians story and rise to fame.
12 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I have hope for this series.
jegd-847-63140724 February 2017
I going to start right off by admitting this show isn't very funny. The comedy is forced. I think 'Crashing' should drop the pretense of itself being satire or observational humor. I think it's closer to a drama than anything.

I'm not a huge fan of the urban-fantasy of suburbia life. It's tired and overused; People have been watching these same jokes since 'Saturday Night Live' first started. That old "everything looks perfect on the outside, but you just know it's f'd up on the inside" ... I get that it's semi-autobiographical, but it's also a cliché. It's not funny. It's 1990's water-cooler talk, "Mr. Suburbanite with his 9-5 job has a dissatisfied wife at home who's banging some dirty hippie." Yawn. Drop that shtick.

What is likable about 'Crashing' is the interactions and dialogue.

A. Pete riding the train (with that miserable look on his face) and he opens up to the kids sitting around him.

B. I loved his conversations with Artie and I could care less about Artie Lange. What made me enjoy the two of them together was the feeling that they've probably had these conversations IRL.

C. The competition between struggling comedians where they'll kick you when you're down. I want more of that.

It felt REAL. It felt HONEST. It held my attention. Everyone has something crappy going on, you don't need to shove it down our throats for people to get it.

While Pete's robotic stature & confused face doesn't offer much of a performance; 'Crashing' itself is well-acted. As I stated before, the dialogue feels like it really happened. The puns and jokes make up for some background filler, but keep the focus grounded and on the drama. Stop forcing jokes as if the audience were ignorant and allow the humor to come more naturally.

Mind you, I am 1 episode in and I'm sticking around for the next episode. The inclusion of guest stars is the biggest push here.
14 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not Funny
peterjamesholmes8 March 2017
I've watched three episodes of this and I won't be watching any more. It's not funny. Crashing has little to interest me apart from the fact that I share names with its protagonist. It is the story of a sad loser with an inability to manage his own life. He is an unsuccessful stand up whose wife leaves him out of boredom/frustration. One of the problems is that he seems unable to deal in a realistic way with any situation. Maybe his apathy is meant to be funny but it doesn't work for me. I suspect, having seen a broadcast of his stand up, that Pete Holmes just isn't funny enough himself to make this work. Personally I much prefer Louie or Maron which are both far funnier and far more believable.
25 out of 79 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A very warm, humanistic and thoroughly enjoyable
paulmcemailimdb23 February 2019
I really love this show! I got hooked watching the first episodes of S1 when doing some air flights. So I ended up subscribing to HBO just to see the rest of the episodes 😀.

It may seem all "sweet", but there are some dark edges also mixed in.

Really interesting characters and fantastically crafted dialogue.

There is no doubt that Pete Holmes and Judd Apatow are two very decent human beings, and that decency vibe shines through when watching this. For some people with little or no souls, this might be a difficult series to watch.

Thank you to Pete and Judd for bringing me such enjoyment in an often grim world!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Best Episode of the Series so far...
drkdglr136 February 2019
The show still hasn't found it's feet for me. It throws too many curveball at you when it comes to just PETE. It reminds me of the first couple seasons of Seinfeld. Until tonight. Everything just congealed.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Funny comedy and good storyline
jesse-8658117 March 2019
The main character of this show, Pete, seems to be disliked by most people he comes into contact with at first, before they warm up to him and then begin to like him. The show is full of comedy and comedians as Pete navigates the world of stand up comedy and seems to progress only by chance and random encounters. I would recommend this show as it is a quick watch at only 30 minute episodes and will keep you laughing and tuning in to see what happens next. Cheers!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great show about life of comedian
imikongoo11 March 2019
I registered in here to rate this show.

We have so lack of "kind", emotional shows nowadays. idk why, but it is what it is, and that's a pity. But "Crashing" is the one show. It doesn't want to be hilarious as hell or making super-interesting scenario. It's simple and kind, and in this simpleness it's great. Really, guys, you need to watch it.

Thank you, Pete Holmes for great journey, and exciting "finale" :)
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Artie Lange: The Drunk Tank
aldunisch13 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Just an idea.

What was artie going through while he was on his drinking/drug habit? Comedy special.

Artie Lange: Sobre up!

Whats it been like since you sobered?
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Humorous spotlight on the comedy lifestyle
swilliky13 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Pete (Pete Holmes) dreams of being a comedian but doesn't truly take his passion seriously until his wife Jess (Lauren Lapkus) cheats on him with a man named Leif (George Basil). Pete is forced out of his home and onto the couches of various comedians that he meets at the comedy clubs he frequents trying to find a place to perform. In the first episode, he has a rough time, getting mugged, bombing on stage, but comedian Artie Lange takes pity on him and invites him back to stay on his couch.

He helps Artie stay sober at a comedy club and runs into T.J. Miller who uses him for a ride and lets him stay at his place. Miller sticks around for an episode cracking jokes and accompanying Pete as he tries to salvage his stuff in a garage sale of his possessions. Pete finds work at a comedy club that is unpaid but allows him to get stage time if he barks on the street promoting the comedy show. He develops his routine and slowly improves throughout the season.

Check out more of this review and others at swilliky.com
7 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed