Rocket (2016) - News Poster

(I) (2016)


2016 Student Academy Award Winners Named: ‘Cloud Kumo,’ ‘Where the Woods End’ and More

  • Indiewire
The Academy has named the 17 students voted as winners of the 43rd Student Academy Awards, which this year received a record 1,749 entries. The submitted films came from 286 colleges and universities within the United States and 95 abroad; along with the usual suspects — AFI, USC, Nyu, Chapman — the winners include students from the likes of Tel Aviv University, DePaul University and Maharishi University of Management.

All winners are eligible for the Oscars in the Documentary Short Subject, Animated Short Film or Live Action Short Film category. Previous winners include Pete Docter, Cary Fukunaga, John Lasseter, Spike Lee, Trey Parker and Robert Zemeckis. Full list below.

Read More: How the Academy Pushed the Diversity Needle with 683 Member Invites


All These Voices,” David Henry Gerson, American Film Institute

Cloud Kumo,” Yvonne Ng, City College of New York

The Swan Girl,” Johnny Coffeen, Maharishi University of Management


“Die Flucht,” Carter Boyce, DePaul University

“Once upon a Line,
See full article at Indiewire »

See also

Showtimes | External Sites

Recently Viewed