Life in Pieces (TV Series 2015–2019) Poster

(2015–2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
92 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Way to *not* go, CBS!
hosehead-428 June 2019
I've watched this show since it premiered and was very disappointed, to say the least, that it was cancelled. By all means, let's make room for more NCIS and CSI spin-offs instead! Epic fail, CBS. Life in Pieces was smart, funny, well-written and well-acted. I liked the fast pace and the four-story format. I guess some people just didn't get it or the network didn't know what to do with it. Either way, a dumb move to cancel it.
36 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Cancelled? Say it ain't so!
Narce30 June 2019
I was so disappointed when I heard that this show had not been renewed. It is one of the few "comedies" on TV that consistently makes me laugh out loud. The cast is well-chosen and the writing is superb.

Here's the chance for someone like Netflix, Amazon or Comedy to swoop in and grab up an excellent series.
26 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Incredible!
Shellbug526-686-57120019 March 2016
I cannot believe all the negative reviews this show has gotten! It is well written and absolutely hilarious. The entire cast is superb, somehow James Brolin just keeps getting better with age! The show follows one family, parents their three grown children and their families. Every character on the show is interesting. Even the young kids are well written. They are wealthy and somehow it is still easy to relate to them. It is witty, sarcastic, and much funnier than most of the shows it is compared to, though I don't see why it's compared to anything, as it is very original. It is one of the few comedies my husband and I both agree on, laugh out loud funny! Give this show a chance, I don't see how you could be disappointed.
64 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
So Long Modern Family
valloton5 April 2019
Where Modern Family excels in over-acting, towcramping scripts and far from believable charachters, this show is the opposite. It's funny, the actors are in their element . It's how you spell a believable "dysfunctional" family
16 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Gets better every week
mardee-36 December 2015
I really enjoyed the pilot but am enjoying this show even more as it progresses. I haven't watched a "laugh-out-loud" sitcom for awhile until this show - last week I almost doubled over during some of the segments. The entire cast is brilliant and pulls it off every week. I never knew Colin Hanks could be that funny! And I'm so happy to see Zoe Lister-Jones (who I loved in Whitney) and Thomas Sadosky (wonderful in Newsroom). Dan Bakkedahl is absolutely brilliant as are Dianne Weist and James Brolin. Even the kids are good, and I'm usually not enamored of child actors.

I look forward to each new episode, and really hope that it picks up an audience that will stick with it.
34 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best I've seen yet
rickbu-915-75981016 September 2018
Every actor is spot on in their respective role. Some of the best laugh out loud lines delivered by all! The child actors are superb. Believable and hilarious family situations. So far the best tv comedy I have ever seen to date.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Great Full Comedy Cast of Characters
aswilliams4013 November 2015
I love the show I love the Actors/actresses the kids the plots the comedy it's hilarious; the only thing is they could Almost do an 1hr show easily some of their individual skits are great and I feel need to be longer they are so funny. The kids are just perfect; the couples all fit so Great together in their comedy. I look forward to this next episode every week. I was a breaking bad addict so seeing Betsey Brandt in anything is a plus for me. James Brolin doesn't age and is hilarious. Everyone of these actors/actresses are considered people I'd watch in anything they are in; just because of "Life in Pieces". Keep it up guys Great Comedy sitcom.
16 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Have not seen a smarter and funnier show ever !
timhofer-2230323 May 2019
The show is smart, funny and and tugs at your heart as you join this family and their life. The writers are very talented fitting in big topics in little stories. And the cast is as equally talented bringing to life the stories. Love this show!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic
SGSypult25 February 2016
Wish I would have caught on from the beginning, but I will watch all episodes. This is an extremely witty and tightly written show. Very funny. The writing and acting work perfectly together. The cast is a wonderful blend of seasoned and lesser-known actors and they are all terrific. I really hope that the show's popularity has staying-power, but that may depend on the intelligence of the audience. Even the kids in the cast are wonderful. I've looked up the cast members whom I didn't know within IMDb so that I could get to know them a little better. Keep up the good work. I really appreciate what you're doing. I have been recommending to others.
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Laugh Out Loud Comedy
dreamgavino11 November 2015
Nothing but respect and total love for this show... the entire cast is funny (Jordan, Colin, Zoe,etc.) and the writing is awesome! I love comedy shows that actually make me laugh out loud, and I was pleasantly surprised that each episode made me laugh several times. Other shows try too hard or not enough...other shows have a great cast but bad writers...this one has everything right (much like Goldilock's third pick in the house she trespassed in)...I also appreciate the fact that each episode is broken down into four yummy bite sized servings.. this fresh format helps with the flow of the show's comedic pace... Hope this show gets more love from viewers and critics
17 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great show
zusoltisova19 May 2019
I can't believe this show got cancelled. It's so funny and acting is great. Pleaaaase bring it back.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Really funny series, great characters
biba_yu15 October 2018
This is one of rare comedy shows I have seen lately that has made me laugh out loud many many times per each episode. It is almost perfect comedy show with ridiculous but quite lovable characters, and intelligent thou silly but quite funny situations and quality humour. Never feels forced or contrived, quite good actors (even child actors, whatdoyouknow!), love Brandt, Wiest, Sadoski, everyone in general, and Colin Hanks is pleasant surprise too (who would say talent can be inherited?). I hope this show lasts and keeps its high quality.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Where has this show been hidden
daym-6501913 July 2017
This show is easily one of the best of the few worth watching on television. I found this on Netflix, and started watching the show afterwards. Great writing, acting. funny, witty, amusing...If you haven't watched this yet, go do it now!!! Don't wait!! Go!!! I had given up on television completely, and then found this
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best pilot i've seen this year
vladasreck23 September 2015
Only sitcom I like at this moment that is still fresh is VEEP (The League, Louis, South Park, Philadelphia etc are too old). USA TV needs prime quality sitcoms desperately. CAST is more than great.

Dan Bakkedahl is for me one of top comedians in the world in last few years. Legit was one of my favorites in last few years.

This pilot is not so clean family fun as Modern family pilot, nor as pathetic as Parenthood. It offers new perspective and is by far best sitcom pilot I saw in long time. I hope it will keep quality of pilot.

I can't understand why rating and reviews are so bad. Maybe it is too edgy?
27 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love this show!!!
dalisavid-852801 August 2019
Ive been meaning to watch this show for a while. Now binge watching on Hulu. It seems every time I finally get into a show, it gets cancelled. Too many shows on TV, the good ones can't survive.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of the greatest sitcoms in the past few years!
nivethanin31 July 2019
I absolutely cannot believe this show got cancelled. I binged it on Netflix just recently and couldn't wait for more. I just checked for the upcoming season date when I found out the show got cancelled?!? It's such a smart sitcom with a loveable cast. The writers and cast deserve better than this.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Cancelled!!! Can't be
phyllisstamoulatos29 July 2019
I finally laugh out loud and it's being cancelled. Love all the characters. It's original, fresh and watched by all age groups in our family. Disappointed!!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Heady humor
davebeebe444 June 2019
This show is very well written and humorous. If you don't like it you probably don't understand it. I can't believe it's been cancelled with such great reviews. I hope the TV execs give it another look.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love This Show!
roleplayful15 December 2018
Me and my partner stuck this on a couple of years ago as some easy watching, had no idea we'd like it so much!

For those unfamiliar with the premise, it follows a family split into 4 households (parents, daughter and her family, son and his family, second son and his family). Each household gets approximately 5 minutes each to tell their main story of the episode and frequently pop up in other household's stories, with major plot points continuing over a number of episodes.

The dynamic of the show is fun and the characters are all so enjoyable!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Good family TV viewing
ccorral41924 September 2015
Creator Justin Adler (Samantha Who - 2007) comes back to television with a fresh and humorous look at family (four families to be exact). With "Parenthood" off the air and other family dramas overly dramatic "Empire," "Life in Pieces" features catchy dialogue that isn't sappy, relatable family situations, and a cast of lovable characters (including the fab Dianne Wiest, easy going James Brolin, and funny men Dan Bakkedahl and Colin Hanks to name just a few of the great cast). This new series is a reminder that good TV doesn't need to be filled with drama at every turn. "Life in Pieces" is sure to be one of this seasons good family TV viewing experiences.
20 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious and family friendly!!
lewisjay-8709619 January 2019
A great show to watch for all ages!! Story plots are hilarious and relatable. Happy, good feeling show!! So glad it's gotten renewed for a 4th season!!! I hope it continues for more and more!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Pure Brilliance...
moveebuff195320 July 2017
I'm a hard person please when it comes to comedy but Life in Pieces has me laughing out loud. The cast is perfect...the writing is brilliant. Haven't seen James Brolin in anything for quite a while & never knew he was a natural comic. Colin Hanks is just as versatile in his comedic talent. I don't it would do him justice to compare him to his Academy award winning father but to say that he has inherited his father's talent is an understatement. This ensemble of brilliant performers gets it right. Guest appearances only add to the enjoyment. The subject matters that are dealt with hold so true to life & that makes it even more enjoyable. So glad I stumbled on this TV show...especially since I've been hit by a horrible flu & this has definitely lifted my spirits.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
So far so funny
cherold23 September 2015
I've only seen the first episode so far, but it was very funny. The setup is a little strange, so there are all these different stories and you don't know how they connect until the end, but that will probably make more sense now that they've established the premise.

The show has just a little edge to it, most notably in the giving-birth chapter, which portrayed the physical trauma of the experience. It really looks pretty grim, and I'm going to assume that's reasonably true to life because who would make that up. So I give them points there for pushing things a bit.

The cast is very solid, the writing is sharp, and if the series is as good as its pilot then I'm sold.
19 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Fresh comedy. I'll keep watching
Dr_Sagan23 September 2015
It's not great but it's working.

You got some capable new actors like Thomas Sadoski (Newsroom) and Zoe Lister Jones (Whitney), plus some veterans like Dianne Wiest and James ("Barbra Streisand") Brolin.

Surprisingly enough Colin Hanks is credited first despite having the smallest and least distinguish role. I find him subpar, far behind the other actors of his generation.

The writing is quirky with a sometimes heavy tone on sex. Basically is a family comedy told through the separate stories of different family members.

You might not get frantic laughs with this one but the pace is good, the impossible situations funny in a weird way and the producers spare us from an annoying laugh track.

I don't if it will survive the season but I'll keep watching...

UPDATE: My review was based on the Pilot. After I have seen all 22 episodes I'll say IT IS a funny comedy and I hope for a 2nd season.
21 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Good
forsett23 September 2015
Finally a show on network TV that pushes the limits. Story lines have contemporary issues with enough characters to keep it interesting. Format is unique and keeps you wanting more. It has some adult only content, so I would not recommend for anyone under the age of 17. Also has lots of good and recognizable actors. Colin Hanks, Dianne Weist, James Brolin and Thomas Sadoski (from the Newsroom), all seasoned actors. Probably best for the 40-plus audience. I will definitely keep watching. I gave it 9/10 stars.

Network television needs more shows like this, shows for entertainment while tackling real life issues, and making you laugh at the same time. Good writing, not cheesy.
17 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed