Okja (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
266 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Okja, a whole new look on livestock
kassymedina12329 June 2017
I have never cried so much, after watching Okja it really opened my eyes to what really happens to livestock in the world. If you are an animal lover i suggest you watch this. If you want to know the reason why a lot of people are vegan you should watch this. After watching this I decided to cut back on meat slowly until i completely cut it off. It's an inspiration, thank you so much to the creators.
234 out of 317 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Bold, Brilliant, and might just turn you Vegan
speakingthequeens28 June 2017
Bong Joon Ho is without a doubt one of the top five or ten working directors today. When it comes to juggling genre and tone almost no one is his equal. With an all-star international cast and its production by Netflix, this may be his most accessible movie yet; however, it may also be his most bizarre. It's the kind of movie that will leave you laughing one minute, crying the next, and then raising your eyebrows the next. It's so refreshing to see a film not conform to easy plot points and pandering like this film could have done so many times. Rather it takes tonal and story risks that consistently pay off. It helps that it maintains a solid satirical tone throughout allowing even the dysfunctional and reprehensible characters to remain interesting and some even likable. The actors are all terrific, particularly Ahn Seo Hung in her film debut. She keeps the emotional component grounded throughout the film and provides the most resonating moments. The only performer who may not resonate with everyone is Jake Gyllenhaal. Gyllenhaal goes all out insane for his role and while I enjoyed the lunacy, many will not be fans. My only complaint was that some of the scenes with Tilda Swinton descended into too much exposition which hinders some of the pacing. Despite the familiarity of the story, it will consistently sneak up on you with wonderful unexpected moments. Its another example of the daring and beautiful films coming from Korea, the best country for cinema in the past decade. If studios don't want to lose out to Netflix, they need to be willing to back the same kind of talent and allow for the same kind of artistic freedom.

Pro-tip: Watch past the end credits
179 out of 255 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You Won't Regret Watching This
JJettK28 June 2017
Being a fan of the director's work, I built this movie a bit too much up in my head. But honestly -- it delivered on everything. It's funny, it's sad; there are happy moments, and deep emotional ones. But despite the drama and comedy going on in this, it also addresses problems going on in our world, and really made me think about these issues.

If you're a fan of the director's previous work, especially "The Host," then you won't be disappointed. Even if you're not familiar with his work, you won't be disappointed. If you can get past the slight weirdness of this movie (which might not fit everyone's taste), I can promise you that you won't regret watching this.
131 out of 192 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A netflix original that is worth your time
mjkhail29 June 2017
I wasn't expecting to like this very much, but I loved it.

There is no much to say about it but to give it a shot and enjoy it. 9/10.

It makes you think about many things, specially the treatment with have with animals and the relationship with our food consumption.
102 out of 149 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pigs on a Wing
Kurtma6 July 2017
Much like the concept behind Pink Floyd's "Animals" album, and with the great choice of music throughout this unsung gem, I was just waiting for the Song "Pigs" to start playing in the one of the scenes.

This film has great production, Acting and covers the rampant corruptness in many of our cultural accepted norms. (even the "Animal Liberation Front" shows some corruption, patterned obviously after PETA)

Great Film, Well done. (NETFLIX is competing with the big boys at a fraction of the cost) Glad to see films like this finding the light of day.

Go See It, especially if you are a animal lover and/or sympathizer
44 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Excellent movie
m-maru28 June 2017
Exciting and excellent film. I was looking forward to this movie and the truth, it was so cute. An excellent cast that meets and each acted excellent. The story so exciting, This film is the real love between a person and an animal. From the beginning to the end she kept me entertained to the screen. Of the best films of the year. Do not miss the post-credits scene. wonderful
76 out of 121 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bold and Entertaining in equal measure, without skimping on the Food for Thought
Zakliz47729 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Okja is the story of a girl and her mutant pig, the titular Okja, told in the same vain as E.T. Or Pete's Dragon. But it's also a satire of Corporate America, a heist film of sorts, and a expose on the moral conflicts of food production. Now to some that sounds like a recipe for disaster, but in the hands of Bong Joon Ho (One of the most exciting directors working today, a statement further cemented by the quality of Okja) it's one of the best films of 2017. Okja in all its brilliance, might be Bong Joon Ho's most accessible movie yet, but it's also probably one of the strangest things your likely to see all year. Here Joon-Ho further demonstrates his mastery of his filmmaking craft, effortlessly juggling tones and genres, composing scenes that brim with drama and excitement , and leaving audiences with another multi-layered commentary on capitalism. Where the film may loose some viewers is in its tonal juggling and in a particular character. Firstly the films tonal sifts are elliptical to say the least, transitioning between outdoor adventure scenes, to low key drama, to high octane madcap chases, to blistering satire, to emotionally grueling drama, and at one point between heart wrenching thought provoking drama to slapstick comedy within the same scene. Secondly Jake Gyllenhaal's performance, as an unstable zoologist/television personality with a sweet tooth for booze, (To put it mildly) is turned up to eleven in terms of emotions, mannerisms, and delivery. Your reaction to this character might depend upon your sensibilities. I've read several reviews that describe his character as grating and unintentionally annoying, but I personally found him to be alternately hilarious and pitiful. These factors might be a turnoff to some of you, but to those who are sick of the overly processed assembly line films that infest our modern multiplexes, Okja isn't so much a substitute so much as a revelation, that big budgeted auteur driven films are still plausible, and that films can entertain us while still conveying a nuanced message. I can't recommend Okja enough, see it, and even if you find yourself disappointed or baffled, at least consider that it's something different from the over processed soulless films that plague American Movie theaters at the moment.
56 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A technically outstanding but otherwise mediocre film
jamesrupert201411 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
"Okja" is a heavy-handed and somewhat simplistic critique of the meat industry in which, due to a highly contrived plot, a young girl's beloved pet 'super-pig' ends up at the abattoir. The satire is neither subtle (I assume that "Mirando" was as close to "Monsanto" as the producers' lawyers would allow) nor clever (the wicked capitalists are just stupid and greedy strawmen) and the characters played by Jake Gyllenhaal and Tilda Swinton are over-the-top to a point of being almost unwatchable. These weakness are unfortunate, because if the story, script and acting were up to the level of the outstanding special effects, the movie might have become a classic children's film. The take-home message of "Okja" is pretty blatant and judging by some of the gushing comments about this film, director Joon-ho Bong was often 'preaching to the choir', but I don't think that the film is either clever or 'real' enough to actually change peoples' minds about meat ("Babe" didn't and an actual piglet is a more sympathetic character than a CGI hippo-pig, however well rendered (excuse the pun)). Also undermining the story and the message is the frequent and gratuitous use of profanity, which seems to have been included more for cheap laughs than for story or character development, and seems out of place in what struck me as basically a movie for the kids.
76 out of 126 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A beautiful fairytale for adults
ReganRebecca29 June 2017
Okja is a sort of scifi fairytale, one that is explicit with its very simple messaging but is nevertheless beautiful and heart wrenching.

Bong Joon-ho begins the film in 2007 when the CEO of a food corporation that is heavily invested with GMO's tries to revamp their corporate image by announcing a competition between 26 of their best super piglets. The super piglets are sent across the world to be raised by farmers and in ten years one lucky pig will win the title of Best Super Pig (and then apparently be consumed). Fast forward to 10 years later when a thirteen year old Mija, a country girl living in near isolation with her grandfather, is raising her super pig in the idyllic landscape where they play, forage for apples, and fish together. Things go awry however when she discovers that Okja (her pig) does not belong to her and will be carted off to America. From here on the movie turns into an adventure story as Mija must brave the world in order to be reunited with Okja.

The film is wildly cartoonish in tone, but if you go along with it and let yourself be enchanted by this world you'll find yourself on a wonderful emotional journey. Some cheap CGI made me at first scoff at Okja, but as the movie goes on she seems more and more real till by the end I was near tears watching the film. Great performances by known and unknown actors alike. Just a great movie through and through.
63 out of 103 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A brave and beautiful delight.
jadejadejade-3726428 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Breathtakingly original. THIS is what I want in a movie. Takes you by the scruff of the neck and drags you non-stop, from lush Korean forests to dark and grimy torture chambers.

It snuck up on me. Lulled me into an understated, Disneyfied stupor. But there is so much more to this move. (I may even renew my Netflix subscription based on it).

I see many complaining about the ham acting of Tida and Jake... but their caricatures serve to emphasize the understated Mija. It is a cultural contrast as well as a social commentary on the all American way of greed is good and the truth is whatever the men with the deepest pockets say it is. Maybe these lampoons ARE how quieter cultures see Americans?

And there are no pretty platitudes to tie it up. We are left feeling helpless, hopeless and not at all happily ever after. Can we in good conscience, rejoice in the freedom of one giant pig (and piglet), while the rest are tragically left behind to be slaughtered?

Opens up many more questions than it answers. A conversation starter. A meat-lovers emetic. A brave and beautiful delight.
49 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Wildly Inconsistent but Bold and Often Very Enjoyable
tuggyb23 June 2017
Bong Joon Ho's follow-up to future cult classic Snowpiercer is part sentimental childhood adventure, part hardcore animal activism movie and part surreal R-rated dark comedy. Without giving anything away, the first two parts work much better than the third, frustratingly so.

Seo-Hyun Ahn is wonderful as Mija, Okja's loving companion, and the first 30 minutes or so that focuses on their relationship is the strongest material here.

Unfortunately, the other performances are all over the map. Jake Gyllenhaal gives a career-worst performance as a "wacky", perpetually drunk, borderline psychotic television host, and he alternates between channeling Jerry Lewis at a 10 and what I can only assume is one of the prisoners from Silence of the Lambs. It absolutely doesn't work at all, comedically or narratively, and he is the very, very, very low point of an otherwise enjoyable ride, completely at odds with the rest of the film. How the studio, filmmakers or actors watched this excruciatingly cartoonish performance and found it remotely acceptable is staggering, but it's a Razzie slam-dunk if I've ever seen one and it severely detracts from the overall experience.

The surreal, eccentric subplot about Tilda Swinton's character and her corporate empire fares slightly better in that it is never cringe-inducing, but still feels at odds with the tone of the Okja-Mija relationship, which is perhaps the only part of the story played relatively straight, for the better.

The film doesn't dance around its unsubtle messages about animals, factory farming and GM foods, to say the least. Some might be taken aback or even appalled at the unapologetic hardcore animal liberation themes, which include graphic, uncomfortable scenes of sadistic animal abuse, and even holocaust allusions. Holocaust allusions in a kid's adventure movie, you say? Welcome to Okja. Did I mention the film is rated R?

Still, if you can be forgiving of some truly curious decisions about tone and plotting, you'll probably enjoy Okja - the best parts of the film, like the heartfelt Okja-Mija relationship and a handful of riveting, beautifully put together action sequences, are so good that it makes the less successful choices more palatable. As of now I'd give it a 6.5 or so, but editing out Jake Gyllenhaal's atrocious performance would automatically bump it up a whole number.
59 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Another distinctive film from Bong Joon-ho about wholesome values vs. society's self-interest
Movie_Muse_Reviews30 June 2017
A teenage girl wants nothing more than to remain with her lifelong pet and companion – the super pig Okja – in Korean auteur Bong Joon- ho's latest film. Everything else is just stuff that gets in the way.

Bong delivers one of Netflix's better high profile original films in "Okja," a quirky yet topical yet big-hearted film. Similar to Bong's 2006 breakout film "The Host," a monster movie about a doltish dad who will do anything to rescue his daughter, "Okja" plays to family themes (a girl and her pet) but presents them through a mature, adult lens (corporate greed, environmentalism, genetic science).

So the context of "Okja" is complicated, but the story is quite simple and human. 14-year-old Mija (An Seo-hyun) has lived with her grandfather on a mountainside farm in South Korea for most of her life with Okja, a super pig gifted to the farm by Lucy Mirando (Tilda Swinton) and the Mirando Corporation as part of a competition to develop the pigs as a non-GMO food source to help fight hunger. When the corporation and super pig judge Johnny Wilcox (Jake Gyllenhaal) come to collect, Okja is clearly the finest of the super pigs in the world, and they endeavor to take her to New York City. Mija follows them to Seoul and attempts to get her friend back, coming up against the corporation and a group of animal rights activists, all of which have different agendas for Okja.

Hilarious and deeply disturbing, violent but also quite warm, Bong has created another distinctive film that makes him one of the most interesting filmmakers that not enough people are talking about. The mixed bag of tones will certainly turn off viewers who aren't sure what to do with a film that doesn't fit in any one neatly labeled genre box, those with an open mind will appreciate the way he tells extremely accessible stories that address complicated themes.

Okja means a lot of things to a lot of people: friendship and stability to Mija; money, science and reputation to the Mirando Corporation; injustice and corporate greed to the animal liberation group; and affordable food to the masses. The plot is essentially these competing interests sorting themselves out.

Part of what makes "Okja" distinctive is the caricaturized supporting roles that make everything feel just a shade unusual. As she did in Bong's last film, "Snowpiercer," Swinton so effortlessly creates a wildly larger than life character portrait that simultaneously feels grounded in reality. Gyllenhaal, on the other hand, is infuriatingly grating as the eccentric loose cannon TV personality, but his character is a signal to the audience of how to look at and think of the world of the film.

Bong has such a specific perspective on society that comes through in way subtle and not in "Okja." He brilliantly whittles the story down to one pivotal moment at the end, and the outcome of all this chaos suggests he's neither pessimistic nor optimistic. Perhaps he would argue that it's not his business to come down one way or another, but simply to use a giant hippo-like pig to at least prove that our world is majorly – and maybe unnecessarily – complicated

~Steven C

Thanks for reading! Visit Movie Muse Reviews for more
39 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Really opens your eyes too the truth
felicialundberg1930 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This movie has seriously shaken me. Like just wow. It holds such an important message and even doe the animal is fictional, the story is not. This happens right now all around the world. And I for once am not gonna stand for this. This movie has opened my eyes even wider too the truth. And from now on, I have decided that the food I eat is not sympathizing the brutality and cruelty towards animals. And I really do hope that people will take this matter much more serious than they do now.
55 out of 98 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Okja is a satirical take on corporate capitalism.
robbieclaravall1 July 2017
Outright and audacious, Bong Joon-Ho's Netflix feature Okja might be one of the funniest films about animal and industry abuse that I'll ever see. Combining a proper sense of quirkiness and wit, the film's clever message resonated through me even after watching it. I wouldn't call it a piece of vegetarian propaganda, though I can see why people find it too preachy to be entertaining. For me, this film is more of a portrait of political cinema, on how the cycle of abuse works in the industry, and how the corporation has two faces: the smiling, jubilant heads they show to the public and the dirty, notorious brains they have, grabbing for money, behind the screen.

It isn't so much as an anti-meat film despite some of the plot points presented (even with an inclusion of an Animal Liberation Front group). The subject of the film is this super-pig hybrid which is supposed to serve as a revolutionary change in the meat industry. Just like the animal, this film is a cross-breed of different genres, it is a satirical movie at first, then turning into an adventure film, and, once it moves to the third act, becomes a poignant view of the relationship between a young Korean girl and her pet. This clash of genres don't always mix well, but I personally thought that the film was really effective in trying to engage its viewers into the story and into the journey of this young girl going through a personal transformation as she realizes that corporations and media aren't always as innocent as they seem. Even the design of the super-pig is superb, it feels real and tangible and it doesn't overdo the CGI, which is great.

The performances across the board are fantastic. Among those that stand out are Ahn Seo- hyun, who really is the underdog protagonist of the film, Tilda Swinton, the head of the expensive industry, and Jake Gyllenhaal, who puts sort of a quirky and charismatic magic into his character, Dr. Johnny Wilcox. The first half of the film is excellent, while the second half didn't really do a good job of tying all the subplots together, so some of the narratives really fell loose during the end. I did like what turned out of Mija and Okja, but I wanted to see some resolution for the other narratives, especially the Animal Rights group led by Paul Dano's character.

Okja is a great spectacle, combining enough weird lopsidedness to it while still feeling realistic in a dystopian, sci-fi, coming of age style. I did like how Joon-Ho tackled issues of corporate capitalism, but this film could've improved on how it transitioned between genres and on how the tiny narrative coincided together at the end. Having that said, Okja is still worth a watch; it is surprisingly funny, eye-opening, and personally one of the best Netflix has to offer currently.
27 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
most definitely overrated
grumpy-31 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
the first half hour of this film is very good if a bit slow, once the pig is taken away and our little heroine goes after her it all goes downhill, it then turns into a pretty standard Disney/kids film, the difference is the really bad dialogue, everything is overstated many times, this is a cultural thing as it is the style of films from the east, subtlety is not their thing. the acting by Tilda Swinton and Jake Gyllenhall is so over the top, that and they have to spout really bad clichéd dialogue, i don't understand the rave reviews here and by the critics, it is not original in any way, it is far too long and drawn out, shame as it started out quite well.
97 out of 191 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing!
RoidDroidVoid28 June 2017
Bong Joon-ho has brought us yet another masterpiece. Before viewing Okja, I was a little concerned that it would be just a sappy feel good family film about a kid that developed too much of an attachment to a farm animal. Now, I'm simply amazed at how Bong manages to always give us such emotionally and politically complicated films.

If you understand his style and knack for subtle commentary, then you will see this as another excellent film in the same vein as The Host.

The obvious commentary is clear but not overwhelming and the subtle bits are in true Bong style. I think many may misinterpret some of his choices, particularly with Gyllenhaal's character and performance, but if you grasp Bong's social and political stances then you'll appreciate the choices.

For anyone who is unaware, all of Bong's movies contain certain elements. There are the overt elements that include humor (sometimes within the least humorous of situations), suspense, emotional connection, the folly of man and a lack of responsibility on the part of a government or corporation. But these elements are supported by subtle inclusions which are dotted throughout his movies like little watermarks and always serve to say the things that should be said without saying them.

Besides these factors, and for those less inclined towards analytical movie watching, there is always a great story and magnificent cinematography. Okja is no exception.

The only disappointing aspect of this movie is that it just came out, I've already watched it and now I'll have to wait another 2-3 years for another Bong movie to enjoy. I have seen The Host at least 10 times and I could watch it again right now. I'm certain to see Okja at least two more times with those with whom I enjoy seeing his movies and I don't think it'll feel like a chore either. In my opinion, Bong is one of the most consistent filmmakers to have ever made a movie and that streak remains unbroken with Okja.
45 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
So...This Is Supposed to be a Great Film? Nah.
ZMmedia8 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I admire Korean director and filmmaker Bong Joon Ho. It's OK to have your own style, and moviegoers appreciate seeing films that offer something different, like the works of Terry Gilliam or even the Cohen Brothers.

Okja is a film with many different purposes. Unfortunately, it never really gives any of these purposes the lead. They are blended into a painful two hours of clichéd characters, terrible scripting, weak social statements and constant changing tones. It's hard to really understand which part of the movie drives the narrative.

One of the tones and themes of the film is that our society and its companies are vicious murderers of those poor pigs, each of which is genetically modified and then slaughtered concentration camp style for those awful human consumers. Well, this is life folks, and I promise you that a slaughterhouse is far worse than what you see on film. Is the film anti- meat, or is the meat production business just incidental to the story line? We really don't know. And, just as a side note, if our protagonists are to save the animals from human consumption, how is it that the little girl, our central character, plucks a fish out of the stream in the early part of the film and serves it for dinner? If this movie had any substance, I would have said that the fish scene was planted there for irony. But, it wasn't.

As for the rest of the film, some of film's best talent were assembled to portray characters that are predictable and clichéd, and the actors were given really bad dialog. It was amateur hour throughout the film. There were no surprises, and those "tear jerker" moments that other reviewers keep sniffling over were barely any kind of emotional triggers.

On a plus side, the CGI animal effects truly brought our pig characters to life, and the audience "buys" the super pig as being real. But, let's be real. Pigs, even genetically modified super pigs don't cry. They don't understand humans (this one understood both English and Korean), and they don't wave goodbye to their offspring that get saved from slaughter. Sure, you will say that the pig emotions are symbolic, however, symbolism isn't achieved by making these film pigs emotional creatures.

Anyway, in the end, when I read all the rave reviews of this film, I feel like the guy at the art show staring at a white canvas that some famous artist has splashed with a brush of black paint.. The people around me marveling at how the painting represents life, the universe and everything...and all I see is a white painting with some black paint spilled on it.
71 out of 144 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
No one wants to eat pets, we all agree. Say more.
shvmsharma29 June 2017
Saw Okja. Such a predictable story line and such a missed opportunity to go beyond basic guilt tripping. No one wants to eat pets. Say more. Jake Gyllenhall would've not been in the movie and no one would notice. Tilda Swinton's caricature speaks exactly what you think she will. There is so much to say on the topic of how meat industries work and Bong said nothing we don't know. Not much to admire in the movie other than Annie's song sequence. Even that okay-ish sequence seems out of place in an otherwise bland movie. Good movie for kids I guess. They'll buy them Okja toys. Wasted opportunity.
51 out of 104 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A script as phony as the world it skewers
cantrell-410 July 2017
The good: The animal and the kid are wonderful. Okja, the CGI character, is marvelously executed, and feels the most alive of the entire cast.

The bad: This script needed a few more passes — and a harsher editor — before it went into production.

The movie aims to be a sharp satire of corporate greed and gung-ho animal rights activism, but its satirical knife is dull. It has nothing perceptive or unexpected to say about any of its characters, and little wit to say it with.

Satirizing the amoral executives should be like shooting fish in a barrel, but their dialogue sounds like a 14 year old's idea of corporate-speak. Satirizing the gonzo animal rights activists should likewise yield some loving farce, but the movie is so thoroughly of their party it finds itself unable to laugh at them for long and instead meanders into hagiography.

Good satire comes with an "aha" moment, when in the midst of laughter we find ourselves face to face something surprising and uncomfortable, but so viscerally true it is undeniable. This movie does not have that. All of its shots at uncomfortable truth feel familiar, and tired. Both its thin humor and its disturbing visuals are built of tropes, not insights.

The two wonderful main characters can't save this film. Its final destination is ham-handed vegan propaganda, with neither the levity nor the surprise to make that propaganda hit home for anyone who doesn't already subscribe to it.

Which is a shame: the movie is reaching for hard truths about greed, food production, and the harm people do by forcibly imposing their moral compass on others. Somewhere in this phony script is a much better movie that actually manages to grasp those truths.
46 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
It just didn't make a good movie.
jjjcpu4 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I never felt more stupid watching this. The movie starts out with fart jokes and cute friendship between an animal and a super pig. I have a feeling the rating is only so high because if you don't like this movie you hate animals. It's not true. This is a bad movie.

**SPOILS** One thing I really don't get is the bad guy, in the end, giving the girl her pig for money. No way her genetically mutated pig is worth less than that small gold statue. Given that THEY refused to sell them to anyone and only rented them out but in the end, she decides it's OK to just sell the animal? I MEAN none of this would have happened. You can't just say "company" doesn't want to sell the pig only wants to rent them but in the end, the company now does want to sell the pig. It is just so stupid. This whole story is so flustered with issues. Like the "ALF" they needed to make some high-tech device to sneak in using this girls 'pig' but near the end, they walk right in. No guards and the door wasn't even locked you're telling me that they have this much trouble getting into these guys buildings when a little girl managed to do it with little to no effort. God this movie has a sin counter of over 9000!
33 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A screed against major food manufacturers...but they don't kill pets
asc8530 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I can appreciate the CGI and technical work they did on this picture. And yes, it tries to tug at the heart strings. But I don't appreciate being manipulated that we shouldn't be killing animals for our food. And to drive this point home, they use a little girl's pet as an animal about to be slaughtered for food. And the end scene when all the animals about to be slaughtered become anthropomorphic and save a baby pig. It's just not how things are in the world, and if you feel so strongly about this, then become vegan. Finally, Jake Gyllenhaal is horrible in this picture, and just mugs his way through. I was excited to see such a highly rated movie appear exclusively on Netflix, and then when I saw it, I was no longer excited.
42 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
wonderful movie
dutchtea-322-78953030 June 2017
A beautifully shot movie that kinda starts like a fairy-tale than turns slowly more dark. A company develops a new kind of super-pig. Ten piglets are chosen to be raised carefully. Until it's time for the company to reveal their new product, modified meat from those same super-pigs. One pig named Okja lands in South Korea and is raised by a small family. The girl that takes care of the animal grows up with it. Than it is time for the company to call back it's investment. The cinematography is breathtakingly beautiful. There is a very clear message too. You might want to skip your meat after you see this. No actor really stands out except for Tilda Swinton. It's a good ensemble. Only Jake Gyllenthaal goes quite over the top for me. Only because the message is a little pushy does it not get 10 stars. I hope Netflix will continue making such fantastic movies
16 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Absurdist comedy with some terrible acting
Leofwine_draca5 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
OKJA is the latest film from Korean director Bong Joon Ho, a man who previously wowed us with his work on MEMORIES OF MURDER, THE HOST, and SNOWPIERCER. Sadly, this is by far the worst film I've seen from him, a heavy-handed moralising message movie that seems like an advert for PETA. The story features a cute Korean girl going on the run with her genetically modified giant pig Okja, while a cruel corporation tries to cut the beast up for sausages.

It's as simple as that, and very reminiscent of Hollywood and films like SHORT CIRCUIT at times. However, OKJA plays out as a zany comedy for the most part and it just isn't at all funny. It feels like a silly kid's film complete with fart and poo jokes and the like but there's swearing and violence throughout, so tonally it's all over the place. As usual, the Korean stars outclass their Western counterparts time and again. Tilda Swinton returns from SNOWPIERCER and is dreadful in a dual role, but Jake Gyllenhaal is even worse with his over-the-top turn and I cringed with embarrassment to see him like this. Shirley Henderson plays the same role she's been playing for decades while Paul Dano veers between creepy and comatose. THE WALKING DEAD's Steven Yuen is better, but he needed more screen time. The other problem I had with OKJA is that I didn't find the titular creature to be either endearing or convincing, despite the best efforts of the CGI animators.
16 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Terrible miscalculation
scandinavianmail8 July 2017
A hodgepodge of talent wasted in such pointless ways that one can only marvel what pitch got the money to make this unfunny, overly long, boring manifest against GMO foods. Tilda Swinton and Jake Gyllenhaal are totally unhinged which might be funny for small kids but this is not a kids' movie as it resorts to brutal violence several times.

Things are not made any better by the titular pig's teenage patron who (for unclear reasons) is played by a one-note Korean child actor with such monotonic obsession that her friendship with the pig only looks worrying.

If something positive is to be said about this misfire then it is that the pig is well animated and integrates with its surroundings seamlessly, but its design has no personality and cannot sustain sufficient feelings to care about its fate.
30 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Boring, Long, and Boring
jean05195 July 2017
Who was this movie made for? It starts as a cute little story about a GMO pig/hippo who's loved by the girl who raised her in the mountains of Korea. The animal is intelligent, understands English AND Korean, and is a gentle giant. Sounds like a kid's movie, right? Well it's full of eff-bombs, harrowing situations, and a couple of characters get the crap beat out of them, showing gratuitous gore. So is it for adults? Jake Gyllenhaal is a great actor, so I'll blame the director for turning him into a shrill, cartoonish, malevolent sadist. Tilda Swinton is a great actor, so I'll blame the writer(s) for making her irredeemably horrible.

Is it a message movie? Is it about the evil of GMOs? Because the pig-thing is the best thing in the movie, and I want one. Is it about the evil of carnivores? Nothing shows us anything but that animals die to give us meat. We knew that.

Nothing good happens here, don't waste your time, and don't let your kids see it.
36 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed