Lake Alice (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
31 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
Unbelievably predictable
davey18413 May 2017
I have never seen such a poor, so called horror film, lots of over the top screaming and very little action or story line. Very predictable victims and very predictable assassins. A child of 11 could create a better script.The film only lasts 75 minutes and believe me, that is the only good point. If you have an hour and a quarter to spare, do not use it watching this movie. You will regret it.
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Waste of time
ilikeyourshirt31 May 2017
Wow, I really have no idea what movie some of the positive reviewers were watching here. This movie that clocks in at barely 80mins was painful to get through. Awkward acting, terrible editing...just bad all round.

Firstly the "action" really doesn't begin until about 65 minutes into the film at which point you're thinking to yourself "when is everything going to happen?, "At what point are people going to start dying?" By the time this does start occurring, you really don't care. I personally WANTED these unlikable characters to die..

The editing in the last 30 minutes...will make you care even less about the outcome, characters pop in and out at different environments, even for a horror, I was like "how the hell did they get here?" "Characters act more moronically than they usually would in a horror, and that's saying something. The poster of this movie looked great, hence my reason for watching it...but as the saying goes, 'Don't judge a book by its cover'...in this case, the cover is way better than the content.

As for spoilers...whatever you do, don't read the IMDb "Storyline" it essentially gives away the "big reveal" and I'm assuming the viewers who watched this movie and stated it was an unpredictable ending, hadn't read this...not that one really needs to, to guess who the killer may be.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Lamest I've seen in a while
MoviesRT22 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I love to watch horror flicks, but sadly 99% are really bad. This one is not only bad, but the acting and dialogue is so stupid you start to feel sorry for the actors.

Right from the start I felt like the characters were badly defined, but I kept at it thinking it would get better. Sadly, it only got worse.

I'm not sure how movies like this get the funding and actually make it to the theaters. Must be someone they know in Hollywood.

The actors appeared out of place and distracted the whole way through this disaster. Every character looked like they couldn't understand what they were supposed to do. Almost like they were embarrassed by what they were saying and doing. Nothing in this made sense. The plot, the dialogue, even the reveal of who were the killers.

I can't believe I even stayed to the very end to see a final "twist" because that didn't make much sense either.

There were several good reviews for this, but they must have been people involved in the production because no one in their right mind would consider this anything more than a very poor student film. Almost laughable, but instead you feel pity for the actors.

I wasn't going to write a review at first, but thought maybe I could save someone a few hours of wasted time. Take heed and stay away. The only horror is how bad it's done.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A competent slasher with a did not see ending
chrisstock-0458010 May 2017
Watching this film last night kept me entertained through the 80 minutes of this slasher. It was decent in the genre did have a few slower moments but the finale paid of big time. The acting was good across the board the tension brilliant at times. But I would have liked to have seen more intense moments or jump scares, there were enough to justify my 7/10 rating. The ending was superb did not expect that one bit and that's why this film deserves credit for taking bold risks where some just stick to the formula.

A good slasher with quality acting.
20 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't waste your life on this..
benthien_nilsson3 July 2017
The guy who selected the score for this movie shouldn't give up his day job, don't know which musical toy box he found and used for most of the movie, but it get both ridiculous and weary fast.

The movie itself is the worst I've seen for a while, it's corny, involuntarily funny and not in a good way.

I ended up fastforwarding through the last 45 minutes, just to see who the baddie was and that was pretty predictable.

My advice, don't waste your time.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A good home invasion horror
suegreen-3038814 May 2017
We rented this on Amazon and we liked it for the fact it was not just gore and bad acting in fact the acting was good and the gore good for the scenes needed at times. The feel of the film is cold and that works, I would have liked to have heard more creepy music but the tension was still there. I did like the characters especially the police officers (or should I say cops) they were fun and really messed with the family in this. The leads were good the daughter was a little weak at first but got much better towards the end and gave a solid performance. Some very smart twists the end we did like!! Overall a good holiday slasher with quality acting and good old fun for the Christmas holidays.
13 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
For an in-the-woods slasher, this is much smarter than your average bear
barrylyman13 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
For every 300 horror stories filmed, there may be one which is worth your time and attention.

Look no further.

This movie was riveting and extremely well-acted. The cast were obviously committed to their roles and the script, direction and photography was first-class.

45 min. cruised by before the 1st victim fell. Which is fine, because it gives the audience 45 min. to enjoy the tableau. It also creates 45 min. to establish the characters and no fewer than 5 suspects, one of who we imagine will be the eventual killer.

I don't, ever, reveal spoilers. Suffice to say, the ending is a surprise and is ultimately a gratifying conclusion.

I have to say, though, that in my 3 visits to Wisconsin, I have never witnessed mountains as portrayed in the cover shots. I don't doubt their existence...I was probably overwhelmed by the pastures, the livestock and the mosquitoes.

Enjoy.
15 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not even scary!
wendy-manis2322 June 2017
I think this is one of the worst "horror" movies I've ever seen. The plot was predictable, the acting horrible, and the editing was so bad, the movie didn't make sense half the time. Thank goodness I didn't pay for it, is all I can say.. I can't say one good thing about it, except I was glad when it was over. Don't waste your time.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
We All Seen That Before
nogodnomasters3 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
"Lake Tomahawk" and "Lake Alice" are the same film. There is an axe in the film (once maybe) and I don't recall seeing the lake other than in a postcard scene. In any case this is really a cabin in the woods who-dun-it and has nothing to do with the title.

Sarah (Caroline Tudor) comes home from California to Wisconsin to spend time with her parents at their cabin home. She brings along her boyfriend (Brad Schmidt) who proposes. The film then spends 45 minutes creating suspects for the killings we know are about to come. Then they happen. Two resurrections and one WTF ending later the film is over. The twist wasn't really a twist as it has been done in a dozen films or more. It is okay when it is done well, but they pranced it around too much and in fact it didn't make any sense to do it as far as the plot was concerned, it was done strictly for the audience. It was hard to judge the characters as they lacked consistency.

Guide: f-word. No sex or nudity
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
low on everything, doesn't offer a lot
trashgang12 September 2017
I only watched it for Eimeen Dietz, best know for her ultra short performance in the classic The Exorcist (1973) as Pazuzu. And she do gives the best performance in this flick. Sadly it's the only positive thing I can say.

You have to wait over half the flick before things go wrong. Before that it's all about having a Christmas diner with the family and the new lover of their daughter. Going back to the cabin do offer a few issues in town with the family. But nothing comes out of that. When you think it's going to happen, in fact, nothing happens at all. Once the terror comes in it's all low on horror and gore and the must have shower scene doesn't offer a thing too.

It did had some potential but the director chose to make it a low on everything with too much blah blah going on. Throughout the flick you will find out yourself who the killer is. There are a few twist but you won't be surprised about it.

Lake Alice is out there but not for the geeks...

Gore 0/5 Nudity 0/5 Effects 2/5 Story 2/5 Comedy 0/5
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
So Stupid
batesjoshua16 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was absolutely terrible. It is so bad that I am actually writing a review which i never do. I can't blame this on the actors because they were just playing a role and they played it to the best of their abilities, but the writers did a horrendous job. Why did it seem like everybody in the girl's hometown had sex with her? And when the murderer came, he killed the dad and mom immediately so the writers thought oh uh so we still have about 40 minutes left (or however much, i gave up), so i don't know let's just throw some other people in there to murdered too. And when they ran to woods for the second time (the first time they had to run back for the mom who ended up dead by driving into a tree?), they actually made it out because the killers stopped looking for them because they were busy with the cop. But no, the writers made the girl not only a slut but a dumb one because she went back to house only to watch the cop die then ran off. I didn't even care to see the rest of the movie after that part.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Decent slasher flick with very predictable ending
stephenw-3018013 May 2017
Perhaps because I am a big fan of the Horror Genra I was (literally) able to predict the Killer in this film 8 minutes into it. That may be hard to believe but if you have watched as many horror films as I have, it wasn't hard. There is a slight twist which I won't disclose and spoil it for anyone so I will simply give my perspective.

I think a "5" rating is justified for this film but may be a little generous. Acting, story line, plot and sound were sub par. Twist endings are always enjoyable but this one was a bit too much. If you have to take a simple formula used 100's of times in a Horror/Thriller and add one more factor to it to say "it's original", then anyone with $25,000 can produce an "original" film I suppose. This does not, an original film, make.

If you use your head a little and pay attention to the characters introduced in the first 10 minutes of the film any true Horror fan with half a brain will see who the Killer is, quite obviously. Pay close attention to facial expressions and subtract the obvious. That is how I guessed it right probably less then 8 minutes in.

To that end, I would not "Dead-Pan" the movie completely, but, don't spend a dime on an On-Demand order or theater viewing of this film. Wait a couple months to buy it in the $3 bin at your local Walmart or Grocery store. That I would recommend.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Pretty good mix of horror genres, and some interesting twists
Indyrod21 February 2018
Just watched "Lake Alice", kind of a home invasion horror film, but mixed in with other horror genres to keep you guessing. Pretty standard plot, until the end, of a family going to a small town in Wisconsin and staying at winter home for Christmas. There is the Father, Mother, the daughter who has brought her boyfriend that they have never meant, and they announce their engagement. There's her former boyfriend still living in the town, and you just know by the various characters, that evil is on its way. I kind of liked it, the kills are pretty good and nasty, and a couple of plot twists at the end. All in all, I enjoyed it for the most part, and for a low budget indie, very well done.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Terrible, dull and ineffective thriller.
MonsterVision9929 September 2017
Lake Alice its a 2015 horror movie released in 2017 for some reason.

Its a dull, cliché horror movie that fails at delivering scares, I really mean it when I say that the people making this trash have no idea of how to make a horror scene work, the execution of many of these "scary" scenes is just terrible. There's even a scene were a woman gets scared by her own reflection.

Its very badly edited, its always fading to black in moments were it doesn't need to, its quite distracting and it just seems really incompetent. Nothing happens during the first 45 minutes or so, I guess they were trying to set the mood and establish the characters, but its so badly written, acted and paced that it just feels like 45 minutes of pure boredom. The killings are nothing special, in fact, the gore its really awful, but not in a funny way.

It has a few decent shots and the acting isn't always terrible, but its not something I would recommend to anyone.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
a fun home invasion thriller
kathyrenn22 May 2017
This Christmas themed horror was certainly entertaining for the most part, it had of course your usual house invasion scenes but the feel was good as it was set in the holiday time. The acting was good mostly and the look of the film reminds me of the eighties in some scenes, the very ending was awesome and i will not give that away. If you are looking for a slasher well this goes a little deeper sometimes as far as a bit better story than the usual horror films from the past and i would for sure check this one!
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Trash
goodryanrock16 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This comment has some spoilers more near the end but this movie was absolute garbage, first of all who celebrates Christmas like this and also this movie and like recording and details and gore was actually pretty decent until the acting came in part, this acting and story line was horrible until about 20 minutes left in the movie but this movie was sooooo avoidable

SPOILERS: The dude got a mf knife for Christmas so why didn't he just use it against the killers, also what house doesn't have a single weapon in it and in this story there has Been like 5 cars why don't you just get tf out that place this movie was ssooooo avoidable
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Very very very bad
johnspwn9 October 2019
Um I didnt trust the base reviews. I could have watched something...anything besides this. One of the worst movies I've seen. Pretty much poor everything.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not as predictable and others say it is
Poe-Etic8 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Seriously, it's not. I have read other reviews on here about it that says it's predictable and crap but it's pretty good. If you really pay attention you'll see what I mean.

The jealous fiance, not jealous ex boyfriend, the ex boyfriend's mom only seen a few times, the dickhead cop you thought you wouldn't see again after that scene at the gas station. All of that is not as predictable as anyone thinks.

What DID make me laugh though was the whole "the phone is dead" part. That was hilarious and I always love seeing that cliche, especially when it's used on a house phone and not a cell phone because it makes it even funnier. I gave this 4 stars because it's actually a good movie for the plot it had. Unexpected twists and not to mention the "no excuse for that behavior" motto against hitting women. That was nice to see that a man can resort to murder but is completely against hitting a woman.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Do not watch this movie
natwils22 January 2019
One of the worst movies I've ever seen. The proper adjective to describe this mess doesn't exist. You've been warned.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Nice dvd artwork,shame about the movie.
maxwellsnake245 September 2018
As a long time collector of horror dvds/blu rays, I have come to the conclusion that eye catching cover artwork doesn't always equate to a good movie.Take lake alice,or lake tomahawk as its known in the u.k. The cover art features a blood stained and gore encrusted tomahawk smashing violently through the surface of an ice covered lake.Striking huh ? Well it was impressive enough to make me rush to the counter to pay for it. Sadly said artwork is vastly more imaginative than the movie contained within. Think of the most groan inducingly predictable slasher movie you have ever seen and then times it by two and you'll be left with 'lake alice'.Ok so not many people watch a slasher flick expecting dazzling originality, but to be as derivative as this is some feat.Originality issues aside ,'lake Alice' commits the biggest sin in horror cinema and that's being boring.Nothing happens for vast swathes of the film and when it does its largely lacking in blood,tension of anything remotely thrilling.Trust me gorehounds will get more joy out of an episode of 'dexter' and everyone else will probably be asleep come the denouement,I know I nearly was.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Evil by the lake
TheLittleSongbird11 June 2018
'Lake Alice' drew me into seeing it, with a cool poster/cover, an intriguing if unoriginal premise and as someone with a general appreciation for horror. That it was low-budget, which from frequent personal experience is rarely a good sign due to that there are so many poor ones out there, made me though apprehensive.

It is sadly however yet another film seen recently, hence some reiteration because the exact same strengths and flaws are here present in those films, that to me was incredibly disappointing considering its potential which it doesn't do anywhere near enough with. 'Lake Alice' is terrible, with a plethora of problems (huge ones too) and doesn't do enough with its potential, which was hardly small. There is very little to recommend in 'Lake Alice'.

Lets start with the positive, and sadly it is the only redeeming quality. The scenery is atmospheric and spooky, despite the rather direct to video schlocky way it's generally shot (apart from the odd nice one) and edited, it was very clear that the film was made in a rush with no care or enthusiasm.

Going on further to the negatives, the story does feel over-stretched and some of it feels vague, under-explained in the last third where the film especially became duller, more predictable, more senseless and less unsettled and never gaining momentum. Too many characters are too sketchy and with nowhere near enough to make one want to endear to them. Their annoying and illogical decision making and behaviours frustrates.

Making the film feel bland and forgettable with not enough heart put into it. The effects are ropy at best, the sound quality is obvious and utilised cheaply (being too loud in the build ups and people's reactions) and all of the acting is lacking severely, seeming to think that screaming your head off a good deal counts as good acting. Caroline Tudor is especially poor.

Dialogue can be stilted and rambling while the pace and film drags on forever, never recovering until finally getting slightly intriguing to the ending when something sort of finally happens. Even the ending however is botched, due to being so incomplete-feeling, illogical and hard to swallow. Found too many of the supposedly shocking moments not surprising or scary and the supposedly creepy atmosphere dreary, due to the excessive obviousness, a lot of dumb and vague moments and explanations and the lack of tension and suspense.

A lot of 'Lake Alice' has underdeveloped plot elements and often nonsensical and confusing character motivations, while too many of the things to make you shocked are far from creative or unsetling

There is not enough threat here and what there is of it tends to be used poorly, while the horror elements are unimaginative and are more odd than scary, completely failing to show any sense of horror. Some badly sagging momentum too. The direction is leaden, got the sense their heart was not in it, and the music doesn't really fit, sounds cheap and like it belonged somewhere else entirely.

Concluding, terrible. 2/10 Bethany Cox
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Why did they even make this
derdesh-802759 June 2018
Warning: Spoilers
So you spend your first 50-60 minutes of the movie just being introduced to the characters with nothing even happening only to have them slashed in as few minutes in the most hilarious ways. The characters just teleport around, one scene they are at the forest and another they are at a house. Let's not mention the killer who just pops up behind every single person like he's a hybrid of a snake and a ninja. The killers are EXTREMELY predictable and guess what the heroine being saved at the last second. This movie is just compiled cliches that turned into this movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What a letdown...
wyler23 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I had such high hopes for this movie, and it turned out to be a pile of garbage. I don't know how anyone can give this crap a good review, it's boring as f***, stupid, doesn't have one decent killing, but has predictable bad guy and mediocre acting... Everything, really, is wrong here. For 80 minute movie I couldn't wait for it to end. One tiny plus - cool poster, but misleading, i thought (and hoped) killer was of supernatural kind but nope, not even that. I guess it wouldn't even matter... Do yourself a favor and stay away, not worth watching.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What a load of rubbish - may not contain any spoilers, but had to warn in advance, just in case.
djquazer0628 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Okay after watching the trailer, which hadn't given too much away, and was actually quite a good trailer, I decided to watch this title, and see if it was as good as before mentioned trailer, and in all honesty I should have stopped at the trailer.

After the opening sequence, you just knew this wasn't going to be a classic! It says it was filmed on Lake Alice in Tomahawk, Wisconsin, why didn't we see more of the actual Lake? The director was probably worried in case the lake got voted star of the show is this abomination of a movie. I was expecting a slasher/horror movie, where whoever the killer was, would ultimately either meet their fate in the lake, or send victim after victim to a watery grave then succumb to whatever hero, but none of this happened, what we got was a fleeting glance of the lake and the surrounding view, nothing to write home about.

The film was as predictable as a magician doing a card trick that people all know that what he is doing is complete bullshit I mean seriously, the acting was just awful and the daughter and her mothers fake crying was actually doing my head in that much, that I was actually hoping and praying the killer would hurry up and do the job, but nothing happened, have seen faster snails, than the killer! After a while it became apparent that there was more than one killer, but we didn't know who it was at that stage, well that's what the director would have loved to have thought, but again it was so obvious who it was, especially within the poor attempts at trying to sway us and believe it was certain people when in fact it wasn't any of those people! And as for the ending, oh dear!

In summary, this film was a lot of rubbish, avoid at all costs, and if you have seen the trailer, don't believe everything you see.. 1/10
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Lake Flaccid
dcarsonhagy20 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
It is one thing to try and sell your movie, e.g. flashy covers, guest "stars," or soaring (albeit fake) reviews. But to out-and-out LIE about the premise of your movie is something I cannot forgive.

What On-Demand stated in its synopsis was "...awakens an ancient evil." Now to me, that would be some kind of a ghost, demon, or prehistoric monster. All that Lake Flaccid did was offer a s**t story that's been done hundreds of times, with vastly no improvement to be found.

Whiny victims, situations that simply couldn't happen, and an ending that if you cannot see coming from a mile away you truly have to be brain dead. These are all the words I'll waste on this heaping pile of dung.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed