"Mad Men" Person to Person (TV Episode 2015) Poster

(TV Series)

(2015)

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A right dose of ambiguous, cynical, hopeful and bittersweet make for one of the greatest endings in TV history!
jaglenac-honda19 May 2015
Warning: Spoilers
After almost eight years of airing, the time has come for Mad Men to end. And my God, was it glorious.

We continue after the last week's installment. Don's still lost and on the road. He talks to Sally who informs him of Betty's cancer. After finding out, he wants to do the right thing, and come back to New York to take care of his children. But that's not what Sally wants, who has now blossomed in one of the most mature characters on the show. After calling Betty, he pretty much gets the same response.

Following these events, Don goes to California to visit Stephanie and as a reason for his visit, Don tells her he wants her to have Anna's wedding ring, although the real reason is his need to feel wanted, after being rejected by Betty and Sally. She fells sorry for him and takes him to therapy sessions with her. Through various exercises Don is, once again, unable to express his feelings. This brings out the most constant theme of this season, heck - even the whole series. The feeling of disconnection. Stephanie leaves therapy because she feels guilty for abandoning her son, and Don tries to calm her down. He tells her it will get easier as the time passes, but Stephanie doesn't buy it. And neither does he. I mean look at him, still struggling with his identity after all these years. He calls Peggy, who encourages him to come back to his old life and McCann. She even brings out the Coke, which was his obsession throughout the series. He says he can't come back, and we see him broken.

Group leader finds him in this condition, and she takes him to group counselling. A man named Leonard decides to share his story with the group, and in the most emotional moment of the finale, he talks about the feeling of loneliness and difficulty of knowing you're loved. He breaks down, and so does Don. He understands him and shares his pain. Now Don doesn't feel as alone anymore.

The final scene where we see Don is during meditation. New day, new ideas, a new you - says the therapist. A smile appears on Don's face, symbolizing the peace he has made with himself. He's not trying to run anymore. It's the beginning of something new. The smile also hints the birth of an idea. The screen cuts to the famous 1971 "Hilltop" television commercial for Coke. We can only assume Don returned to New York and finally had his chance to work on Coke.

"Person to Person" also worked very well as a closure for other characters stories.

We see Pete starting a new life with his renewed family, we see Joan being independent and starting a new business, we see Roger finding his happiness with Marie and taking care of Kevin. Peggy has finally realized that work isn't the most important thing in life, and she starts a relationship with Stan. The moment where they confess love to each other doesn't feel rushed, and it's completely suitable given their chemistry since the beginning. Sally has become independent and mature. Earlier this season Don told her it's up to her to be more than just beautiful, and in the finale we surely saw she is more than just that. Even though Betty is dying, she's going out on her own terms and she got it her way one last time.

Some people might not like the finale because it's open to interpretation and it refused to give us the complete closure someone might've expected from the final episode. But I think that's just the point. Life never gives us full closure.

Mad Men gave us 92 episodes of great television, always breaking new ground and never losing quality. "Person to Person" just cemented its status as one of the greatest television dramas of our time. It's been a joy watching these characters and their stories all these years, and they'll surely be missed.
59 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
ending
gnbrill19 May 2015
Warning: Spoilers
since that coke ad ran in 1971 and the shows last episode ends in 1970, i thought the ending was that Don went back to maccan and comes up with the coca cola ad.

he based the ad off the communal retreat. the ad is everyone loves each other and has a home, because of coca cola. don realizes at the retreat-- from Leonard-- that everyone really just wants to have a home and be loved and noticed, which he realizes he doesn't have. he thought people really just want to move forward, but he realizes that eventually you hit a dead end (figuratively---eventually you question why your moving at all and have nowhere to go, but realize that where you really want to go is home where you know you are loved, needed, significant) and literally in that he hit the pacific ocean (he wasn't going to move forward past Cali). its funny he finally made it to Cali to (like Ted went to Cali instead of him as did Meagan but he always stayed in NY).

did any one else see it this way???
51 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"I'd like to buy a world a home, and furnish it with love, i'd like to teach the world to sing in perfect harmony"
sportello2918 May 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Don is speeding through the UTAH desert, testing out a new car for an upcoming race.

Sally finally tells Don about Betty as well as tries to encourage Don to let Henry take care of her and the children. Even Sally can't imagine Don being able to be a responsible father. We see Sally gradually and unwillingly grow into Betty's role.

Don is devastated and calls Betty - she quickly reasons that the kids will stay with her brother. The call ends with painful silence while both Don and Betty cry, as they feel helpless to do anything. Don gets drunk and visits Stephanie, Anna Draper's daughter who ends up dragging Don to a weird yoga retreat.

As Stephanie suddenly bails, Don completely breaks down. In an emotional conversation with Peggy it is clear how Don is torn apart by all the lies and the fact that he has no idea what to do next, there is no one that truly cares for him or notices him, no matter how far back he tries to go, people run away from him. This is echoed when we see Don empathize with a men who is torn apart exactly by the same problems.

Pete is given a shiq goodbye as he flies off on a private jet with his wife and daughter. After all, he deserved it, working his way up from the very beginning, no matter how much of a weasel he has been.

Joan is doing coke with her new boyfriend, enjoying all the merits of her new jobless life. Kenny asks Joan to help out with a script, which suddenly leads the ever-hungry Joan to think that she can start her own production company, with Peggy as a partner. Joan's new plans don't resonate well with her boyfriend, who leaves her without being able to 'relate'.

In a sweet and unexpected turn of events Stan confesses his love to Peggy, who in turn, in her signature 'overthinking-it' way comes to the conclusion that the feeling is mutual.

Don is finally relieved and smiling, humming along with a yoga group, Roger is about to be happily married again, Peggy is happy with Stan, while Pete flies of to uncharted territories and Betty stubbornly smokes her last cigarettes.

The final episode did a great job in giving us the satisfaction of near full closure. The Coca-Cola advert sadly signifies the conclusion of the 'Mad Men' era, with the rise of computers and big corporations the need for 'Mad Men' is in 'decline', this makes for a perfect note to end the show.

Mad Men, truly has been one of the most unique, interesting and clever TV shows that Television had had the privilege to offer - a remarkable, slow paced exploration of the advertising era of the 1960's USA along with a deep dive into it's charismatic inhabitants.
41 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The happiest saddest truest ending of Mad Men
i_ianchev21 June 2015
Warning: Spoilers
It's all about what makes us different and what makes us all the same - something like the meaning of life...

It took me some time to come to terms with the final half season of Mad Men. Not because it was something that I didn't expect, or that it was a finale which bothered me. It's just because Mad Men is a show which encompasses all the emotions and steps in life which we as ordinary people take in life. And it is both so far away from my Bulgarian life and yet so close to my human life.

Don Draper, Peggy Olson, Pete Campbell, Betty Francis, Joan Harris and the others are representing all the features of the contemporary female and male person. It's really a show for everybody. And yet it represents something new to television. This show has inner energy which doesn't necessary culminate into some unexpected action or drama scene. Topics such as self acceptance, family, work relations, romantic relationships and interpersonal connection are heavily dissected. This show started as a period drama and ended as a characters' piece. Which is a good development, considering how TV shows tend to lose their face, morphing into multiple genre money making machines.

Anyway - about that finale... I am certain that Don Draper is consciously separated from the other characters. And his fate is more about the inner cosmos, than what happens in the outer, interpersonal space. That journey towards his self acceptance is far away from the development of other character's lives. He escapes from the others, the new office, his responsibilities, his second divorce, his home, his family - he strips himself consciously from his name and face. Dick Whitman wants to come out and show what a hobo he is. But Don is a much more layered person in season 7, than in season 1. And yet he is still that kind of a man who has invented the phrase "what you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.". And what a better nylon than Coca Cola. The dream advertising job stalking Draper since season 1.

Don Draper is that good in advertising because he is as selfish as it gets when it comes to preserving his sanity. When embracing his mirror image and crying out his despair after showing empathy at the retreat, Draper becomes enlightened in a way which is true to his nature. Commercialism is very close to Don's true self only because he ultimately really finds solutions for his problems in advertising.

Yes, Peggy's roller skating moment and her badass entry moment with that famous painting were super cool and very much in the style of Mad Men, but there were some moments which felt a little bit as a fan service - Peggy and Stan embracing each other, Pete returning without a problem to Trudy. Only Betty received a rather dark ending. But Sally really embraced the chance to shine through this final half season.

Since Mad Men is so influential in our modern society - as characters piece, as a style textbook, as a narrative choice - we owe a huge "thank you" to Matthew Weiner. We cannot miss the chance to thank his choice of actors and the way he drove this piece right till the end. After Don's enlightenment life goes on, nothing changes. But something is different - we are all influenced by the way introspection is combined with retrospection in this show. People's life goal has always been to find a meaning in their life, a purpose. Don has found again his place in this ironic world, have you found yours?
14 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The end of an era, indeed.
luisnastro15 September 2017
According to Netflix, it took me exactly 5 months to finish this show. I can say I've spent quite some time with these beautifully written characters. I don't really have anything else to add; every character had an arc and an evolution that made perfect sense. This final episode wasn't sad, it wasn't even happy either; it was just… an ending. The word I'd use is "peaceful". There were many memorable moments: Stan and Peggy finally realizing they're in love with each other; Don accepting his inner demons, which he always tried to avoid, and finally finding some peace; Betty and Don saying goodbye and many other great moments that will always be impressed in my brain. Because after spending five months of my life watching these characters grow (by making a fair amount of mistakes along the way), this is what I wanted: seeing the characters reach the end of their beautifully crafted evolution. That's why I'll always remember this last episode.

I just want to spend a few word on the cinematography of the series, which is one of the best TV has ever seen, surpassed only by Breaking Bad, in my opinion. So I guess it's a goodbye, Mad Men. Thank you for the emotions and thank you to Jon Hamm… and Elisabeth Moss… and January Jones… and John Slattery… honestly, thank you to the entire cast. Such great performances from each actor; I'll miss you deeply.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's the Real Thing
dkwestbrook14 November 2018
What can possibly be said about the ending of Mad Men that hasn't already be said? This episode is absolutely perfect and it's the beautiful and bittersweet ending this incredible series deserves. "Person to Person" is true to the series that preceded it, paying respect to the previous 91 episodes, while also being as unpredictable and subversive as Mad Men always has been.

"Person to Person" is an ending that understands everything that made Mad Men great. The structure of this episode is similar to The Sopranos finale (a series that Matthew Weiner wrote on), focusing on the characters beginning a new chapter in their lives and ending with an ambiguous final scene that leaves it to the audience to decide exactly what happened. And while I thought The Sopranos finale was very good, Mad Men perfects this formula and this episode is amazing.

"Person to Person" is one of the greatest series finales of all time, and it's only fitting that it belongs to one of the greatest TV series of all time.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best finales I've seen ... Best episode of the series.
jtaveras6412 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Instead of reviewing the entire series, i want to focus on the finale of the series.

This episode tied everything up in a gracious way that was expected but not expected if that makes any sense.

For starters I love how the women were developed and grew in their own right, as opposed to shadows of the powerful men in front of them. Its a true step forward from the start of the series.

Love blossomed for some, death and change ... and no finale would be complete without them.

Some characters were strongly developed and shown to be more sympathetic while others matured and showed great progress. (I am attempting to keep the review vague for sake of not spoiling).

Finally, the last journey is that of the main character ... a womanizing, cheater with immoral selfish deceitful tendencies. The main mad man.

His journey ends in complete opposition to the road he traveled finding finally in the end what he needed most :

Sanity.

After embracing his true self and understanding its time for a change, Don Draper ends his run with grace and dignity finally redeeming himself.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Season 7.2: Goes out with the high quality, but yet also sense of familiarity to the characters and their narratives (SPOILERS)
bob the moo29 May 2015
Warning: Spoilers
On the same day recently I watched the series finales of two shows I have watched from the start; one being Mad Men and the other being Justified. I did not plan it this way, just happened, but it did strike me how both shows bowed out with less of a "big finish" and more of a consistent reinforcement of what had gone before (albeit also giving some closure or forward vision to the various plots and characters). With this second part of season 7 of Mad Men, there is a certain feeling of familiarity that is welcome but yet at the same time doesn't totally work. The Agency us under threat, Peggy struggles with her life and career, Joan tries to be seen as more than first look would suggest, and of course Don continues to have everything but yet be self-destructively selfish in what he does.

As the narrative plays out, there is a lot that seems a bit rushed and is used as a narrative device to get the characters where the writers want them to be. Don's obsession over a waitress, or Joan's new relationship both seem sudden and also disposable in terms of the narrative arcs they are part of. That said the various threads do play out reasonably well and there is a certain amount of satisfaction from where they end. In some ways they are unconvincingly tidy, but in others there is a rewarding sense of cynicism there too – in particular relating to Don. I end the show still not entirely sure what we are meant to make of him as a person – do we root for him, or do we hate him for his weakness? I guess the answer is both, and neither. At the end, rather than giving us an obvious moment of despair or dramatic death (which I did expect), the show reminds us what a rather empty but yet creative character he is; he accepts the loss of his loose family unit and turns to new age means to find himself and find peace – but the smile that we briefly take to mean that he has grown or is really on the path to something, is actually revealed (or suggested) to be that he has had a "big idea", and the show ends with an advert for Coke which adopts the new age ideals and "one world" dreams and packages them as a glossy piece of salesmanship for a fizzy drink. I would not rate it as highly a closing as some other recent shows, but it is nicely cynical and honest to the character and the viewer.

The quality of the second part of the season remains as high as ever; great design, sound and look for all scenes. The cast are equally strong, in particular Hamm makes it work around him. Moss is enjoyable, has some great moments and is given probably the most sappy but rewarding of endings (which she delivers in a great way with only the phone for company). Jones is not my favorite cast member, but even she is able to do good work with a slightly soapy conclusion but yet kept away from too much sentiment. Slattery, Hendricks, Kartheiser, and others all continue to deliver very good performances, and although some of their material was not ideal, it was not for the want of them trying. Shipka is worth a mention for her good transition work too – in previous seasons as well, but here it hit me the most.

So the show ends with the same feeling it has always given me – that it is not something I get excited about watching and do not think it is a classic, but yet at the same time I consistently enjoy it when it is on. The final half-season does have a bit too much about it that feel familiar, and at times it comes over like the final few lines of Sinatra's New York, New York (slowed down and sung again for emphasis) but still, it ends in a good place – with honesty to its characters, and a nicely black bit of cynicism, which is really what Don has always been about.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
a bit of a dud
francogrex10 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I watched the whole series with passion and I loved the story-line, the characters, especially Don, Roger and Peggy, they are great. I feel sad that I won't be seeing them again, when you are engrossed in a series/story, you feel connected to the characters and the separation is sad. The last episode was a bit of a dud though. Although I understand the message the writer(s) wanted to pass, I feel a little bit cheated. It's like he's saying: the 60s were ugly and dirty and the final episode which starts the 70s washes all this up. It shouldn't have been that way. But there is a consistency and it isn't a coincidence that the show ends with the peace and love ad of Coca Cola. Yes, as others have said, this was intended for the viewers to infer that the smile on Don's face is his creative mind still at work and he would come up with the ad based on his final experience. But aren't we tired of shows that end vaguely? I had to read online reviews and interviews with Jon Hamm and Mathiew Weiner to confirm that it was indeed their intended message. It's a pity. But that doesn't diminish the quality of the series as a whole. It's one of the best I've seen in a long time and I have learned a lot from it. Thank you to the writer(s), the director(s) and all the actors. It's been a hell of a ride.
7 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Conclusion of a Mystery- A Mystery That is a Wrap Before Rap
DKosty12317 May 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Anyone who has watched this series from the start should realize that it is not going to end conventionally. While all the main folks who will survive until the end are here, they all end up in a sort of mad limbo, a place where rhyme and reason make sense, sort of.

This drama has come a long ways from the 1960's and has pulled off some surprises along the way. Because of that, while some things are explained this last episode, others are left out in the field. One thing makes perfect sense. The big ad campaign for Coke is totally completed logically. It was that ad song which took Coke, a drink which had an image problem associated with Southern Racism, and made Coke mainstream. "I'd like to buy the world a coke - On a hilltop in Italy We assembled young people From all over the world To bring you this message From Coca-Cola Bottlers All over the world It's the real thing - Coke. And they sang...

I'd like to buy the world a home And furnish it with love Grow apple trees and honey bees And snow white turtle doves.

Chorus: I'd like to teach the world to sing In perfect harmony I'd like to buy the world a Coke And keep it company That's the real thing.

While this show took several liberties with history and ironically proved that at the 1968 Democratic Convention, the whole world was not watching the Chicago protesters, some of the main folks are tuned in while others are tuned out. This ends before the need for greed era of Reagan and major corporations takes hold. Up until free trade

It makes sense because while a lot of folks came out of this history this way, this ends before the need for greed generation of Reagan - this ends before free trade era takes over and we are still naive.

This country lost the mad men innocence when that era began and Walmart took over. While the unorganized mess that is here leaves Draper and company in the past, that is the way it should end. The pay phone in one of the last scenes is a reminder of where we are at. Will this ever go on from here? No, this is the right time to end it, with Carson still smoking, and Peggy Olsen getting hot and falling in love at lust, after her brief encounter with the future woman who makes a pass at her. The innocent era of mad men is over, may that always be a memory for us.I can hear the Grass Roots now, singing "Melody For You" on a California Beach. Draper is getting a well deserved rest from all his previous lives now.
11 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Season Seven
zkonedog4 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
When we last saw Don Draper (Jon Hamm), he was in complete meltdown mode in the pitch to Hershey, spilling the beans on his checkered past. As the Seventh Season opens, Don is on leave from the agency that he helped build, trying to put together the pieces of his life and figure out the next step.

"Mad Men" is always at his best when it uses Draper as the central focus and have all the other characters working around him. In short, that is why these seven episodes work so well. All the other cast of characters are use superbly, but Don is at the center of everything.

In terms of balance, these seven episodes are some of the best in show history. I won't go into the details here, but I got the distinct sense that no one gets the short shrift here. It truly is a testament to the writing of this show that they can have such a large ensemble cast and yet make every character interesting and always moving forward.

The decision to break this final season into two seven-episode seasons? I don't like that one bit. I realize that AMC did not want to lose Breaking Bad AND Mad Men in consecutive seasons, but come on....seven episodes and then wait a year?! Just when things were getting into high gear, all of a sudden it is back to holding again.

Overall, though, the first half of season seven is vintage Mad Men. By this point, the characters are so good and ingrained that even questionable choices (a Bert Cooper musical number?!) can be disregarded in favor of the overall narrative. I hate waiting so long to see how all of this will play out, but I sure will be excited when that time finally does roll around again.

After the first seven episodes of this season aired, there was nearly a year gap until the final seven were unveiled. That's a low-down move by any standard, but from a marketing perspective I understand AMC's decision...not wanting to lose "Mad Men" and "Breaking Bad" in a single season. That being said, all the extra time did was build up a tremendous amount of hype...the kind of hype that such a wonderfully strange show like Mad Men does not thrive in.

In this "review" of the final seven episodes, I am not going to give away any plot details. I want to save those for the end of your journey with this show. I would, however, like to take a moment to look at the "big picture" of what these final episodes mean in the overall context of the show.

"Mad Men" is a show that always went off in different directions. It seems like every new season started in a completely different direction then what we thought as viewers. Show creator Matthew Weiner was definitely not afraid to take chances, nor would he dream about "selling out" in favor of popular opinion (of course, having a cable TV contract with an esteemed network like AMC doesn't hurt, either). What this meant for the show, of course, is that it always gave viewers something different. We may not always like "different", but usually it challenged us enough at first and then paid off in the end.

In these episodes, however, Weiner pushes that concept to its absolute maximum. Part of the problem, of course, is that AMC's advertising can really get into one's head (in this case, it isn't much different from a "regular network", I guess). There is such a promo blitz and build up to the finale of a great show that even the greatest ones more often than not don't live up to the expectations. For "Mad Men", this issue is compounded by Weiner's storytelling formula. Right up to the finale itself, he is introducing new characters/concepts for viewers to chew on. Usually, a finale spate of episodes is about closure, but Weiner is loathe to give it. It happens, but parceled out here and there in subtle moments, not whiz-bang drama.

I'm not quite sure how I feel about this yet, hence the 3-star rating for these seven episodes. On one hand, I like that Weiner didn't stray all that much from his formula all along. On the other hand, it seems like there was a rather large anti-climactic feel to the proceedings (again, though, I even caution myself that this could be because of advertising build-up...the same thing happened with "LOST"). I think it would take rapid-fire viewing of this entire season's episodes (not 14 in the span of two years) to better judge how they fit the context of the show.

As it stands right now (just days after the finale's airing), though, I have very mixed feelings. I truly appreciate the deep ideas that the show represents about 1960s culture and human beings in general. I also think that perhaps...perhaps...Weiner got a bit caught up in those themes himself and let the art overshadow the "nuts and bolts" of the final product. I can definitively tell you this: I've never seen the finale spate of episodes of any show provoke this much deep thought. There is something to be said for that.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
***1/2
edwagreen17 May 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Does one actually think that Don Draper, man about town, can find happiness in a commune. Yes, Don's life has turned upside down with Betty's diagnosis. It is as if his little world of booze, broads, smoking, and enjoying everything that life can offer has come suddenly crashing down.

Look, these communes take over your life and you lose your independence. Does anyone actually think that Don Draper, of all people, could adapt to such a life?

John Hamm was excellent in this final episode and I think it will be enough to secure an Emmy nomination and I wouldn't be surprised if he finally wins the best actor award. He deserves it.
3 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Anticlimactic
justlikeyou19293 June 2019
One of the most anticlimactic finales I have ever seen. Falls flat compared to the rest of the show.
1 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
and peace..
Arth_Joshi4 August 2018
Mad Men

Mad Men; one of the most acclaimed series by critics, loved by the fans and buzzed at the award shows, is a character driven series created by Matthew Weiner depicting the inner world of an ad agencies set in '60s in New York. The writing is sharp, elaborative, adaptive and exquisite that keeps the audience tangled in its not-so-likable and faulty world on the edge of their seat.

It is rich on technical aspects like projecting the chemistry among the characters, stunning cinematography, beautiful camera work, references mentioned in the conversations and the classic tone of the series that makes it supremely watchable.

The primary reason why the series stands alone is not only its nature to work in a metaphorical way but to weave out a poem from the sequence, is the genuine soul behind it that attains a certain closure in each episode. The performance objective is score majestically by the cast especially by the protagonist Jon Hamm who is supported convincingly by the cast like Elisabeth Moss, Vincent Kartheiser, January Jones and John Slattery.

The practical conversations, the whistle-blowing dialogues, three-dimensional characters, excellent execution, finely detailed set-pieces, alluring costume design are the high points of the series that helps it enter the major league.

Season 07

The final act is powerful, poignant and offers a cathartic release to the viewers where the only game-changing and ground-breaking highlight is Hamm at the heart of it, who is achingly good and the makers too have wisely offered him enough range and space for him to flaunt his talent on screen.

Person To Person

Similar to an epilogue, the final chapter has only character development to offer and not some glorifying and electrifying moments that are deeply layered and has a lot to offer in its own mature way and offers a cathartic release.
0 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed