Alvinnn!!! And the Chipmunks (TV Series 2015– ) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
30 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
It's a good show
sandyuuu-7907415 August 2018
Honestly tell me this cartoon is liked more than the 80s version. . It perfectly shows the relationship between all the main characters, from the first view, you can understand their characters, see everyday situations, amazing animation, the characters are all cute, each has its own individual character and each episode is different in its song. In General, the cartoon is awesome.
17 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Some of the better cartoons on Nickelodeon
bestjuly15 August 2018
This is a very good cartoon about an unusual trio of chipmunks: Simon, Alvin and Theodore. The result was a very musical cartoon, funny and funny. You can watch it with the whole family. Get a lot of positive emotions, from which you can be delighted. There are moments where you can laugh heartily. I liked everything in this cartoon. Beautiful story, great characters, songs and humor, unlike other cartoons on nickelodeon where there is fart jokes.
15 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I love it
alfe-1225116 August 2018
Since the release of this show it has become the best for me. Because it has funny lines, cool dialogue, a lot of songs, interesting stories and a lot of jokes which you can only get a lot of positive. 10/10
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
awesome / my suggestion
amirizah15 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
It and awesome animation cartoon for all age gender and suggestion to make it more fun try make some episode focus on the girls interest on the chipmunks just like secret admire but this time show how the girls like the chipmunks
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Witty, Charming, Cute
reb-warrior5 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
OK, they don't look exactly like the chipmunks I remember from my youth. They are more humanoid looking. It's jarring at first, but keep watching. Watch a few and you'll get use to it and see how great this new version is.

The dialogue is witty, and hip. Alvin, Simon, and Theodore are charming. When I was little I adored Theodore. Still do, but now I have an new appreciation for Simon. He's very witty and sarcastic. Love it. Of course Alvin is the mischievous one as usual. Most importantly the stories are actually good.

As for the 3D animation, I say superb. I noticed the brilliant job they did with details such as shadows and texture, right down to the chipmunks hair in close-ups. I swear to god the lip movement is so good that I think I can actually read their lips. I also tend to notice the background scenery. From the boys' room, the wall pictures, and shelves, etc. Great job.

I'm an adult. I watched the cartoon series as a child. I caught this one day on TV, and found myself utterly charmed by it. I think both kids and adults alike can watch this and enjoy it.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best animated show in a long while
andremain18 October 2015
I love this show. This is the best animated show IMO. It sends positive messages and good vibes. I encourage everyone to watch it at least once and you can thank me later. Everything from how the characters look to the stories and the songs are spot on, it all comes together so perfectly. It basically improves upon every aspect of the 80s series, and you should love it even if you didn't like the movies. Every episode is like a roller coaster ride. Even though every character has some intentional, signature character flaws, by some magic it's incredibly easy to empathize with and love all of the characters. Nickelodeon US has enough sense to air it on their main channel, where it deserves to be, but it should have a later timeslot than 4PM. It's a show that adults and kids alike can enjoy. It grew on me very quickly. I give Alvinnn!!! And The Chipmunks 10 stars.
24 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Once You're Used to it, Brilliant
emily-engels15 May 2016
Warning: Spoilers
*review contains mild spoilers*

I've been a fan of the Chipmunks for six years, so when they announced a new TV series, I was really looking forward to it. Same actors from the 80's? That was probably my favorite piece of news - Ross and Janice make the Live-Action Chipmunk actor's seem pitchy and out-of- character. In short, the voice acting is incredible and I love that every voice you hear are one of the four Bagdasarian's (Ross, Janice, Vanessa and Michael)

The design took me a good week or two to get used to, but once I moved past that, I found that the show was just as infectious as the 80's was. (Also, the animation gets better as the show progresses, especially in Alvin's face).

I'm definitely not pretending that it's better than the 80's, because some episodes really do fall short for me, personally. Kickin' it Old School had too much crude humor, and some really do seem just pointless, such as House Guests, Mancave and Dragon Dad. The other episodes are riddled with good morals or simply effectively funny plot lines (My Sister the Weirdo immediately comes to mind). Considering this show is just getting into its second season, I feel like the content of the episodes are already very successful compared to those in the first few of the 80's series.

Also, the fact that there are over 104 original songs planned for the entire show is cause alone for respect. It's a huge workload and one that most other cartoons aren't dealing with. Not to mention all of the songs are wonderful, and the genres they've covered make the "band" extremely unique and a good source of Music education for young viewers, who should be exposed to more than just typical Pop music.

I think the show is great. And where it has flaws, there are few. I hope that the show will eventually turn its episodes (as it did in the 80's) from 11 to 22 minutes long, because some of them already can feel rushed, or are just begging to be expanded on.

Would absolutely recommend.
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Surprisingly Enjoyable and Fun to Watch!
doaneangelo-5037317 April 2017
I thought this would be another crappy show from Nickelodeon, but when i watched a couple of episodes, it wasn't that bad. I don't get why people hate this show so much, it's good, i recommend kids watching this. Nickelodeon should put more good shows like Loud House and Harvey Beaks not shows like Breadwinners!
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Blew my mind!
aqualz17 October 2015
Scrolling through the channels, I found something that sounded extremely familiar, Alvin and the Chipmunks. I absolutely loved the episode that came on, Candy confessions. I watched the 80s movies when I was young, and didn't remember much, as in I didn't know the chipettes names, but I was absolutely astonished with this show. I think it's probably the only good cartoon left on nickelodeon and one of the best shows left in all. Basically I watched all of the episodes and died of laughter. I think Jeanette should show more of her intelligence in further episodes, and I'm also kinda bummed that there haven't been any more new episodes in over a month, but it's still and awesome show and I recommend it to everyone.
17 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great show for kids and teenagers
spuriafiore19 April 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Although this show is aired by Nick Jr, it is a really surprising show for all ages and for people who like the 80s chipmunks. The characters' personalities are the same as in the 80s show, I really like how they are focusing on Jeanette and Eleanor, especially when it comes to their respectively clumsiness and tomboyish personalities. The dialog is clever and it's what makes this series really work. Simon is sarcastic like in the good old days and Theodore is as lovable as ever. I like their new design: while I admit they could have been taller, they have great facial expressions and they look more unique there than in the 80s series. However, I could have done without their tails and some modern devices like smartphones or Tablet. The stories so far have been great, especially Albritina, which focuses on the love-hate relationship between Alvin and Brittany, A is for Aliens (which has plenty of good humor) and Jeanette Enchanted (which focuses on the sweet side of Jeanette). There's an original song in every episode, and so far I think they are the weaker part of the episode, I prefer their 80s cover over their new originals. While the 80s design and 80s songs were perfection, I think that story-wise, this series is better. Too bad it's on Nick Jr, this is a good show for all ages...unlike FOX movies. Watch it and you won't be disappointed ;)
17 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Chipmunks rule!
ballard-3053922 January 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I love this series. It might not get thru to some younger kids. An example is on one episode(spoiler)Simon tells Alvin that Theodore's girlfriend was "hitting" on him. My niece was confused because she saw no physical hitting. She thought Simon was lying and being six years old it took awhile for her to grasp my explanation. Alvin is a maniac in this series and has no off button! I Don't know why people are put off by the new hybrid look. They are TALKING chipmunks! They compose and sing songs. They clearly are not normal which is why this cartoon works. Do people believe in a talking sponge? I think the writing is good and the music is great. I also like the way they address bullying. My sister and niece have been victims of this. It helped my niece to see the chipmunks standing up for themselves. She said "Just because they are little and look different then other people doesn't make them weird." As a grownup I find the episodes light and witty.I think the animation is good too. Lots of color and attention to detail. My favorite is Mojo missing;Who's the animal. I cant wait for more to come!
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Nick JR is now a serious rival to cbeebies
dreamgirl-5673913 April 2015
My first IMDb review, here goes:

With more and more great shows coming onto Nick JR recently (Blaze and the monster machines, Paw Patrol, Dora and friends go into the city, bubble guppies). Nick JR really is becoming the essential go to channel for anyone ages between 2 and 6.

Cbeebies has really gone to the dogs with shows as old as Nina and the Neurons (2007), 64 Zoo Lane (1999), Balamory (2002), postman pat (1981), Tweenies (1999) still being shown on a regular basis. Plus the presenters of cbeebies drive shivers down my spine every time a microphone is put near there mouth

Now on to the show. I have only watched the first two episodes with my two year old sister, but I can say I'm impressed. Firstly it doesn't treat young people like idiots, even going to the point of making satirical social commentary on shows that act as if the viewer can actually speak to characters on TV.

The show could probably get away with being shown on Nickelodeon as it feels a bit more targeted to older children than anything else on the channel. For example the theme tune is meant to sound like an 80's song.

Overall great, engaging show that compliments blaze and Dora and friends nicely. Well done Nick JR UK
16 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
it could be better
annafor-7159910 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I liked the Chipmunks and Chipette's better when they were younger not as teens.Some of the episodes are confusing .Like the Super Girls one.They show Jeanette creating these Superboots .Which I thought was a really neat invention .Now they send the mixed message .They show Simon finishing them for Jeanette as she can't seem to figure out what she is doing wrong while telling her she can do this herself. I like that they are  being encouraging ,but at the same I am confused ,they are telling Jeanette she can do this while showing that she can't .So what are they trying to say and now Jeanette didn't  create them anymore now Simon did .I was really looking forward to seeing these being Jeanette's creation now they are Simon's.Maybe instead when she was ready to give up Simon could have encouraged her to keep going unit she got it right .So the ending is disappointing plus the fact they only show the girls daydreaming of being Superhero's they never actually used the suites they were making for anything .I liked the original show better than this one .
12 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of the best shows yet
mohdims-6410913 January 2019
It's mainly one of the best shows in the planet. Alvin may be a troublemaker but hes always loveable
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not as good as it could be
mandyher-2565610 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I miss the 80's version it was better than the new one .Like the episode sister act, the episode it is incredibly sexiest .Eleanor moves in with Alvin and his family in which Dave starts using this poor child as his little servant girl . This is sadly done .Dave is watching his poor girl down on her hands and knees scrubbing his kitchen waiting for her to make him tea ,high fiving her while she is vacuuming his living room ,and forcing her to get Alvin to do his homework .The interaction between the adult and the girl are mostly while she is cleaning his home .He makes some dumb comment to Jeanette that the house needs another woman's touch .Does Dave even remember he is even talking to a kid ?He probably wanted someone else to clean for him .Then when the girl's want to hang out with the adult he wants them gone now that they aren't scrubbing his kitchen, he no longer has interest in wanting them around .We could have seen him and the Eleanor enjoying watching a movie together or playing a board game instead of all these scrubbing and cleaning screens .The make_over part is cute but short lived .Does it even make sense that she would be getting Alvin to do his homework since she is younger than him or she forced to do it because she is a girl.It is like when she told Brittany not to wear an outfit to school in one of the episodes .Why would she be telling an older kid what to do?Plus ,kids shouldn't have to parent siblings .It's not their job they didn't have children .They should be allowed to be children .

The episodes don't always follow the plots and are sometimes rushed and the ending can be somewhat disappointing . There is an episode where they find a treasure map the story line is good at first but the ending is rushed so by the end your wishing you had just changed the channel .The writers could be doing a better job .
11 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
mixed reviews
daineyou4 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
  This show has made a teenager don't decision .I liked the Chipmunks as 8 year old kids, but please don't make us relive this show as teenagers .It was bad enough being a teenager ,nobody wants to relive it on a cartoon .Maybe the best change they have made to the show was Eleanor before she was  a miniature sized, loud mouth adult, now she is shown having some kid traits before you were looking for her childhood that she must have lost along the way as a baby,Theodore used  to have some abilities but is now he is shown to have none ,Simon is pretty much the same character ,Jeanette used to be a bit brighter tool in the shed but she mostly alright ,and Alvin and Brittany have lost there ability to fight with each so we have lost some of the magic from the original show plus I used to like Brittany's sarcastic mouth but she has lost it  .Some of the episodes are better than others so brace up for the ride if you choice to tune in .
10 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Bland as old bread
benjamin_james-490153 August 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Warning: The following contains spoilers; if you haven't seen this show you might want to before reading this review. As a fan of Alvin and the Chipmunks, I was really disappointed by this show as it doesn't not live up to the standards of the Chipmunk franchise nor does it work as a show on its own. Let's talk about the two episodes I saw, Talking Teddy and Principle Interest. Talking Teddy is about Alvin and Simon reprogramming Theodore's talking stuffed teddy bear by using a keyboard to type in what the toy should say next. This was done to make Theodore learn to grow up, but Alvin takes advantage of this and makes Theodore do all his chores and other useless assignments. Simon then gets back at Alvin by making another keyboard and scares Alvin straight while at the same time, convincing Theodore via Talking Teddy to give the toy to some other kid that needs it. That scene was rendered pointless as Theodore buys another Talking Teddy from the store. The main problem with the episode is the writing; the episode starts out with trying to convey a message about growing up, but literally ignores it by the end of the episode. Theodore never accepts not having Talking Teddy around,let alone is he aware of Simon and Alvin reprogramming his toy in the first place. Also, Dave never notices Talking Teddy saying more words than it usually says even though he's probably heard it several times a day every since he bought it. The next episode, Principle Interest, is the "main character has a crush on someone out of his league and tries everything in his power to please her but it turns out she's already taken" plot. I mean that literally, that's the episode as a who; they don't do anything different with the plot nor do they even try to make fun of it. They take a plot that's been done to death before in other TV shows and movies and do nothing to make it unique or interesting except make it beyond creepy. Not only it Alvin a kid, he's a chipmunk; anthropomorphic, yes but he's still an animal and when he kissed her hand, I couldn't help but think that this is borderline beastiality. All in all, this show just really dull and unimaginative which is really not like the Chipmunks at all. The writing is bad,the animation feels really stiff and it not funny; not even the songs are memorable, and that's what makes the Chipmunks iconic. I'd also like to point out that for a show titled "ALVINNN!!!! And The Chipmunks," Dave doesn't yell the infamous scream of Alvin's name. The only positive thing that this show has going for is the voice acting; the Chipmunks and Chipettes have never sounded better and they sound as if they were still in the 8080s cartoon or the movies that I saw. Overall, this show really wasn't worth the wait; don't bother letting your kids watch it because they'll just get bored and even hard core fans of the Chipmunks won't find enjoyment in this show. It's best to stick to the original cartoon from the 80s than this mediocre and uninspired show.
15 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Episode List
demona_312 August 2015
The series is an animated comedy about a single father named David Seville, who is raising three Chipmunks. He can lose his patience sometimes, causing him to say "ALVINNN!!!". There is a song in every episode. The series takes place in modern times and discusses modern topics such as Dave's technology issues and school bullying. Others are parents embarrassing kids and parents needing dates.

There are 20 episodes in season 1.

1. Principal Interest/Talking Teddy 2. A is for Alien/Jeanette Enchanted 3. Sister Act/Lil' T 4. What a Gem/Family Spirit 5. The App/Don Juan Theodoro 6. Albrittina/Simon for President 7. To Serve and Protect/Kickin' It Old School 8. Clowning Around/Bully fir You 9. My Sister the Weirdo/ Turf War 10. Who's Your Daddy?/Good Luck Mr. Whiskers 11. Mystic Mountain/Candy Confessions 12. Mojo Missing/Who's the Animal 13. Slippin' Thru My Fingers/Driving Dave Crazy 14. Safety Third/Mister Manners 15. Tree House/Saving Simon 16. Back to School/Bromance 17. A Room of One's Own/Carts and Crafts 18. Going Green/Tattle Tail 19. Super Heroes/She's Got Style 20. Kiss Conspiracy/House Guest
9 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
for older kids not younger ones
katieann-5137611 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The show is not all that bad, but beware ,it's geared toward older children not younger ones.The Chipmunks are now teenagers .One example of this is in the baby whisper Alvin asks one of his brothers I can't remember which one is that her children ?Do you think she has kids  ?Or something to that effect when referring to a girl who is babysitting her twin baby brothers .I am not exactly sure how old they are suppose to be but I am guessing between 12 to 14 years old .As if he is asking without saying it has a girl his age had sexual intercourse already and has a set of twins .There are kids this age who have children so maybe not totally unrealistic and some who have had sex.I am hoping in this age range less than more but I don't think your 6 or 7 year old would get the joke or should be asking what it is suppose to make reference to .So you may not want the little ones watching it .It's different from the 80's cartoon .
9 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
alvin and his weird animated cousins
paigeturcotte29 December 2015
I expected good from this show but it's a total nick nightmare ( my cousin says). The animation is terrible and the music is anything but good. My family who would watch this show (6 years-10 years) all dislike the show. It's gotten so bad my sisters have Stoped watching nick all together. Lastly the personality of all the chipmunks are seriously just annoying. It's too bad that a channel that used to be so great, but now shows this for 5 hours straight! I'm giving it two stars Because the voice acting is alright. The plots are very stiff and full of holes. The show means to teach lessons, but never does. Instead we get repetitive episodes with no point whatsoever. They are supposed to be teenagers, but have the personality of a first grader, and the intelligence of one too. The voices of all the people are really squeaky and annoying. The only good quality of the show is the Chipmunks have okay voices, but other wise this show is a Nightmare. I think the worst part is the animation, as the chipmunks look like mutant warthogs. My dad described them as a cross between a human and a chipmunk, except the human was ugly. All the other reviews for this show were from a adults point of view, but I have kid evidence that this show sucks hardcore. How does it get 10 stars?
13 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love It!!!
laurenthorsteinson2 November 2019
I'm usually not interested in most of the shows my son watches, but I'm so in love with this one!! It's full of nostalgia for me with even more humor, and it's fun to see my son love the same characters that I loved when I was his age. The storylines are typical "Chipmunks", but I feel like this version is a lot funnier than the last. The music is really well done, with original songs that go along with the episodes themes. It's a really cute show that makes you laugh, and allows you to share your childhood love of The Chipmunks with your kids. My son and I have quite a few inside jokes with each other from this show, which to me is special. I hope "Alvinnn!!! And the Chipmunks" is on for years!!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Lighthearted Fun with a Moral
MrAtkin866 June 2019
Perfect show for my kids. Fun, entertaining, cute. And every episode seems to carry some sort of moral, from bullying to selfishness etc. Everything a kids show should be! As a viewer of the original show and movies, i love that the original voices are back at it, even using the old theme song. For anyone giving this less than a 5... you do realise its a kids show and not just made for your nostagia trip??
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing!
antwonechadbailey20 April 2019
Lovely! and amazing it is one of the best shows I've ever seen
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Falls Flat!
Athomewithkym20 January 2016
The story lines are so-so; the characters themselves are cute, but the animation is super two-dimensional and flat. I know 3D is more costly, yet the quality would be so much better and more enjoyable to watch. I'm a teen and enjoyed the movies, so decided to give the TV version a try when I feel like vegging and pretending for five seconds that chipmunks can talk and live like people. My parents grew up with the original Alvin &the Chipmunks, but my mom actually finds this show painful to watch! With so many other cartoon series available, I'm surprised they don't either spend a few extra bucks on this one, or just cancel it altogether. I've been watching a lot of Boomerang cartoon reruns, and there's no comparison between the old-school hand-drawn cartoon cels, and the new and "improved" computer-generated animation. Nick beats Disney hands down when it comes to shows with live actors, but could learn a ton from Disney when it comes to animation!
6 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Boring, just boring
dror-1941717 April 2017
Another series that does not have severe violence on the one hand, and on the other, regardless of that, is boring. First of all, the attempt to make fun of this series aspires to 0. There are a few individual episodes that are a little fun of them, but in most episodes the series is just boring and so childish and not original. The series dulls the boring story of Alvin in every chapter, his hobby of interest without insulting my balls. Why the hell do you care about him? Why is he such a prime figure? He's bored with madness! Alvin is really an arrogant kid who cares only about himself, why the hell is he a main character? Simon, I think, is a much more interesting character, the only character in the series who has managed to make me laugh a little. In any case, the series is very childish and it is not understood why it is broadcast on Nickelodeon, it is intended for children up to the age of 12. Childish boring and really not original, overall tells a story about an arrogant child and his hobbies that do not interest anyone. The other characters, Theodore is also a pretty boring figure, Simon a reasonable figure, Father Dave just a bad character. They repeat every episode of his slogan, Alvin, who is so predictable and not funny, the character is not really original, tells about an ordinary father who pays more attention to one son, even though he shows in most episodes a hatred of Alvin. The rest of the characters, the girls are all boring, regardless of feminism, there are female characters in other series that laugh more than males, but not in this case. Again, the main character there, Brittany, again lack of originality, tells about a arrogant and disgusting girl, and again her hobbies really do not interest. The rest of the girls, the little girl, is actually a reasonable figure, the one with the glasses, like most of the characters in the series, B-O-R-I-N-G Rating - 4.5
4 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed