Abducted in Plain Sight (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
209 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Incredible, But Not In A Good Way
clintstevens21 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Halfway through this documentary I was convinced it was one of those phony 'mocumentarys'. I still can't wrap my mind around how naive...no, gullible some people can be. My mouth was agape throughout the entire film.

I have so many questions there are no answers for. How can reasonably intelligent parents allow their 12 year old daughter to have 'sleep-overs' with a 40 year old man? How can they BOTH be lured into a sexual relationship with the same man? How can a normal girl believe she has been chosen by extraterrestrial aliens to save their species by having a child with this same man? How can the FBI be so ineffective? How can a powerful church apparently have knowledge of this man's past history and continue to allow it to happen? How can parents permit their daughter to continue to see a man like this, even after he had kidnapped her a first time? How can they be OK with him spending the night 3 or 4 times a week in their home, in their daughter's bed AFTER he had kidnapped her. How can a man sit on camera and calmly say his brother was a pedophile but was also a great car salesman?

The saying 'You can't make this stuff up' applies tenfold to this tale. You will watch this film, shaking your head and wondering how some people are allowed to procreate. I'm still shaking my head.
364 out of 379 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Content vs Quality
kroniskvaffel15 February 2019
These parents are among the most naive people on earth, but to give a low rating because you disagree with the content is strange. It's like saying Titanic is a terrible movie because the boat sank.
102 out of 104 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
What did I just watch
sophie91019 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I have never seen such gullible people in my life! And the way the mum still smiles about how she felt about how made her feel after they started their affair was truly shocking!!!
306 out of 326 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fascinating and Disturbing
julielange-may20 January 2019
As a documentary this held my interest from start to finish. I'm a little surprised that folks would rate it low due to the disturbing content which I found to be honestly and painfully presented in first person by family members. I think it's absolutely credible to present the unbelievable effort that some of these predators make on a long term planning level to entrap their prey. I would have liked to see inclusion of the predator's wife and family but I suspect they are too ashamed even now to come out publicly. In my opinion, Berchtold's wife should have been prosecuted as an accessory to have colluded to keep her husband out of jail and to have turned a blind eye to his activity. I'm glad to have viewed this. I only ran into one person while my daughter was growing up who seemed far too interested in spending his time with pre-adolescent girls. I watched this person like a hawk until my daughter was too old to be of any interest. She also had a gut sense to avoid interaction but not all children are born with that. So I say buckle up, be incredulous about what happened but watch. Don't rate this low because it exposes stupidity. Kudos to Jan's family for sharing what some might take to the grave.
133 out of 141 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I couldn't believe what I was hearing.
SpacemanBob20 January 2019
The story of an abduction or two. Involves a monster, a con artist, a master manipulator, naive parents, and a little girl. If this were fiction I'd have called it far fetched, but this is all too real. It's disturbing, shocking, maddening, and somehow strangely close to physically painful to watch. A well made film, the story moves quickly, there's no filler by any means.
78 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
What?!?
fiftycentqueen13 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
These "parents" have got to be the dumbest, most gullible idiots I've ever seen. Are you kidding me?!?!... This man was seducing the whole family!!! First they gave this man permission to take their kid, then they dont return and these idiot's wait 4 days to call the police!! Omg... They should've been locked up. This is some sick s**t!!!
35 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
What in the fat hell?
hilary_b-5178517 January 2019
I'm a member of the church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints and I have never in my life interacted with people this completely gullible and stupid. I wanted to reach through the tv and slap them. The documentary itself is quite well done but it's a hard watch for sure.
175 out of 194 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Viewing is believing.
gregp484016 January 2019
I can attempt a review or explanation of this documentary. Ultimately, anything I say won't even pale in comparison to the actual occurrences of the victim and her family. Just watch it and be astounded. Warning!: Have some sort of lower mandible support in use, so it doesn't break each time it makes contact with the floor.
98 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Made well , but conflicting feelings
breeanntabish20 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Jan Broberg was one of the teachers and directors at my cities musical theater classes 2004ish. Because of this I knew she had been kidnapped as a kid , as I think it fueled her into the acting field and thats where she drew her emotion from . Now saying this , i knew she had put together funding and asked for help with a GoFundMe type thing to get this made to share her story ( but I think a book had been made long before ) and it was shown at multiple film festival and got a lot of attention . It is made well don't get me wrong , and it is sad that this happened and should never happen to any child and children are super impressional especially during the time frame this happened . But boy oh boy I don't think any of them realize just how stupid this makes their parents look . They both fell into temptation with this man and cheated , then continued to let the man into her life over and over and over . Then they got the case dropped against this man and continued to let him do things to their daughter because "they couldn't believe that something like this could happen " even with multiple instances of proof **cough cough marrying their daughter in Mexico cough cough ** These people are way beyond being adults and knew right from wrong . The FBI agent had to literally convince them that Jan had gotten kidnapped . She had been gone for 5 days with no word and had to be convinced by the government that she had been taken ... I mean come on ... Usually with kidnapping documentaries it is someone they don't know , they are working tirelessly to get their kid back and want to see the person either dead or in prison forever . These parents waited and waited to call the cops , it's like they wanted her gone , they got the case DROPPED because they didn't want their cheating to come out to the public , and they disregarded the FBIs advice of staying away from the man. If anything it's the parents fault 100000000%%%% and I hope they live with the guilt forever .
137 out of 155 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
INFURIATING
Daniela2922 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This has got to be the most infuriating documentary I have ever watched! The sheer stupidity of the parents was astounding. I don't know if they were completely idiots or just weak and easily manipulated. I cannot believe the amount of times they allowed that revolting man access to their daughter. The mother was the worst one, engaging in an affair with him after he had already KIDNAPPED her daughter and abused her. The whole justice system was also sickening. Why on earth was he spared so many times and allowed to continue to commit these crimes?! And then to top it all off, he didn't even suffer for what he did. An interesting documentary and different in that you don't often see the families so actively facilitating the abuse, whether this was intentional or not, however it made me so angry!
49 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Terrible Parents
fransisconunez15 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Very interesting/disturbing story. It's hard to watch because the Parents are absolutely stupid. No common sense whatsoever. Who allows an adult friend to sleep with their kids for therapy? This documentary made all of us yell (lol) at the TV. I recommend it, but it's definitely going to make you mad.
230 out of 266 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
My gag reflex is paralyzed
seedbeadforever2 February 2019
After reading the comments left by fellow viewers I felt compelled to leave a review of my own. I was raised in a small, LDS, Idaho town about a decade after this took place. Many of the comments I read stated that they couldn't believe that parents could be this naive, but after a childhood in similar circumstances I can (with a great amount of cringe) confirm that the level of cluelessness shown by the parents didn't come as surprise. Don't get me wrong, they were probably the most gullible people I have ever seen, but I watched first had the iron grip the church had on the community I lived in and the lengths that people would go to in protecting their image and reputations. I was nauseous by the end of the documentary but I can say with 100% conviction that everything they described is believable when you have been there. I find the parents to be petty and criminally stupid. The church would have played a much bigger role than the film let on and I am sure they took measures to cover up what was going on too, even if it was just not reporting the predator to the police. I feel like up until the 1990s the LDS church was a lot like the Catholic church in that they didn't report sexual abuse and just kept moving predators around so they weren't that particular bishop's problem anymore. It really is a compelling documentary and I recommend watching it as long as you don't have any heavy objects around that you can throw at the TV in frustration with the parents and police!
65 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
What the hell did I just watch?!?!
tarasoxfan24 January 2019
By the time I reached the 30 minute mark, if the topic had not been so serious, I would have sworn that I was watching a hoax film. These parents have got to be the most gullible, stupid, ignorant people on the planet. I'm shocked any of their children were lucky enough to make it to adulthood. The serial perpetrator is a piece of garbage who got "lucky" enough to stumble upon the perfect mark. My heart bleeds for the victim. She was let down by every adult in her life. It's a fascinating watch, if only for the unbelievably naive mother and father. I don't know whether to give the parents credit for embarrassing themselves by telling their story or not. I'm still sitting here with my jaw hanging open.
99 out of 112 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Beyond Stupid Parents
eric-7732710 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The documentary is pretty well made but it is very hard to watch. The parents are the stupidest sheep I have ever heard of. I am not sure if I can recommend this movie because during and after the movie I feel angry and want to slap all the adults in the face. What's the deal with the dad? This dude comes to lunch and says he has problems with his wife so you give him a handy in the car to help him out wtf. Then the mother has an affair with the guy for months after he kidnapped and married her 12 year old daughter. She also seams to still have goosebumps to this day about her affair with him. How can these morons actually agree to tell their story? I don't think they still have a clue how this is basically all their fault. The father is more upset he gave the dude a handy than what happened to his daughter over 200 times.
57 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I Find it Hard to Feel Sorry For the Family
garryp0121 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This story is so surreal that it almost starts to sound like fiction!

The parents are just stupid. Full on stupid. Mentally incapable of seeing common sense. You tug off a Saville wannabe and don't think that's strange? No you let him be alone with your daughter!

It is a very well made documentary. Kept me hooked because the family were stupid. They make out this kidnaping, kiddy fiddler is some criminal mastermind but it just the parents having no clue on life!
60 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
How have the parents not been arrested!!?
ewrw-259-68315523 January 2019
The parents (dad) are lying, they knew what was happening and because of their part (dirty laundry) they let him get away with it. Disgusting
73 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
INSANITY
imcmullan1 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
These parents need to do time in prison...I dont buy for one second that the mom didnt known what was going on. She basically was so In love with B that she allowed him to be a predator and prey on her daughter! How can she even believe he loved her after kidnapping her daughter?? Then going back to him after he was sleeping with her husband?? These people are messed up on so many levels. B WAS A SEXUAL DEVIANT...and basically the devil himself in the flesh ...a monster! That poor little girl, she was supposed to be protected by her parents and they pretty much handed her to him on a silver platter. They are all sick .
45 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great Documentary
DylanMcChillin21 January 2019
This was a great documentary. It was very comprehensive in its coverage of the events. After reading some reviews, it appears people are rating low because they're frustrated with the parents. That's not an accurate rating. Is the story frustrating? Yes. But that doesn't mean that the documentary is not well done.
61 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Just when you think that people can't be that stupid!!!
bazingatozulus22 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I believe in my heart that Jan's parents were and are good people and I believe also that they really didn't see it coming, I really believe that. Now with that being said, there's no way I can comment without adding the fact, because it is a fact that they were also dumber than a bag of hammers....criminally dumb. I'm not saying this to attack them or insult them, but anyone who sees this will basically think the same thing, I mean seriously how can you not ??? In the same breath I will also say that the book that Jan and her mother wrote is very important as a warning that, yes some people can be that cunning and yes some people can be that incredibly gullible. As for me I can only tell you that he would have kept his distance from my daughter at the first hint of an improper conduct or else there wouldn't have been anyone left to prosecute, I can tell you that!!!
34 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
There has to be more to the story
merdebrainz21 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I found this documentary fascinating. I can't say that I enjoyed it (who could enjoy this type of subject?), but it did keep my attention. It was also surprising that the subjects (especially the parents) were as honest about their shortcomings as they were. Still, the whole thing just doesn't seem that believable. It seems like there must be some part of the story we are not getting. And if they were truthful about the horrible things they admitted to already, whatever they are hiding must be pretty bad. I suspect that they may have been pressured by the LDS church to keep things hushed up and to keep the authorities out of it.

I guess I'm glad that the children were somehow able to forgive the parents, but I really don't think that the parents deserved forgiveness. They made so many horrible mistakes and were more concerned about the town gossip and protecting their "reputation" that they literally put their daughter's life on the line. I guess they are lucky that the predator in this case wasn't a killer. It could have turned out so much worse than it did. But, I guess they were easy targets as he was a closet homosexual and she was a sexually frustrated wife of a homosexual. Still, any parent that puts sex over their own kid's safety is a very lousy parent.

And that brother of the predator seems like a lowlife. I have a brother and I love him dearly -- but I'd still turn him in if I knew he was a pedophile and had a child in his possession. I might cover up for him for minor crimes -- but not kidnapping and sexual abuse of a child. What kind of soulless lowlife can just casually mention that he always knew his brother was a pedophile because he molested their sister? If I were the authorities, I'd be keeping an eye on him. Maybe "B" let his brother have a turn when Jan was drugged up. It wouldn't surprise me.

Overall it is interesting, but you'll be angry and horrified that people like this -- predator and parents -- exist in the world. But, it definitely is a testament to the fact that the truth is stranger than fiction.
35 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A must watch but my god it's frustrating....
olihen-8322020 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
A good documentary but the parents are absolutely stupid or guilable I'm not sure. It's frustrating to watch them let that man sleep next to their child and to let him take her and to let him manipulate them.
46 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Bad Parenting + Sociopath = sad and disturbing
zack_gideon21 January 2019
Jeeeeeeez. How stupid can these parents be. Shocking to the core. Imagine allowing your 12 year old daughter to sleep with a 40 year old. Are people really this naive? I hope not. I feel the pain and it is conveyed well. Please parents protect your kids! There are very sick people everywhere. Don't let your guard down. God bless Jan. She's strong.
38 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
This Can't Be True
garryp0121 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This honestly cannot be true..... He might as well have walked in and said I like your daughter can I kidnap and rape her for 2 months... I get this feeling her parent would have said yes!

This cannot be true!...
25 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Some people should not be allowed to breed
austinbunch24 January 2019
Good documentary. The world is full of stupid people. The parents should be in prison for enabling the perpetrator. They went out of their way to help him achieve his goals right down to getting him off themselves.
43 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
What did I just watch!?!
shanna-nicole8229 January 2019
This has to be the craziest, most pathetic, and disturbing crime documentary I have ever seen. The parents should have went to jail. As far as story line and documentary format, this was good. It's just super disturbing.
23 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed