Allegiant (2016) Poster

(2016)

User Reviews

Review this title
202 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
Divergent... Insurgent... Washing Detergent
ahassan-123421 April 2016
Warning: Spoilers
The worst of the Divergent series to date, in Allegiant we finally see what lies beyond the walls which encircle Chicago. Answer: 120 minutes of utter tedium. We follow our protagonists- doe-eyed Tris and perpetually dull Four- through the wastelands and into the hands of sinisterly-titled Bureau of Genetic Welfare, led by Jeff Daniels' character David.

What follows is multiple occasions of Tris being called up to David's office for meetings- like an episode of The Apprentice- but instead of getting fired she exchanges some of the dullest exposition dialogue heard in the cinema so far this year. The set of David's office is so over-designed and green-screened to the point that it just became a distraction.

There are large swathes of the film's running time where nothing seems to happen, no surprise considering this is the first of two parts of what is one book. The decision to split the final novel into two is for reasons which can really only be described as monetary, a gamble which appears not to have paid off judging by the box office takings. Miles Teller's character attempts to inject some comic relief into the proceedings but even his jokes fall flat. An absolutely turgid affair.
186 out of 230 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
ridiculous nonsense
baberchik29 March 2016
Warning: Spoilers
OK so the first movie ("Divergent"), despite what the people who read the books say, was basically another soap opera - slash - action movie directed at what I am guessing teen audience. Just like Mockingjay, just like Maze Runner. But despite the absolute soap overload in some parts at least the plots were somewhat original though they all had that tell-tale post-apocalyptic-dystopic- 1984ish plot commonality, but all of them kinda "did okay" at least in each own way and at least managed to have SOME major and original plot differences that made them over all okay and entertaining to watch.

But this movie... oh boy. Flying "cars", even more conspiracy nonsense, small flying discs that create placenta (or was it "plasma"? lol) bubbles around people, small spheres that create a forcefield/illusion/barrier/something, more evil manipulative characters that make no sense, new evil characters, new absurdities of human behavior.... and genetic manipulation? Genetic projects? Memory wiping gas-serum-something? Or how about this: poisonous wasteland covered in radioactive puddles and 100% scorched earth and not a single vegetable left alive... but guess what, people live there, in tents and stuff. Probably doing pow-wows to entertain each other or some other nonsense.

I am at a loss. The plot of the movie Vs the actors and the way it was filmed is like... like... eating a pancake, a pretty good one, but there's just one pancake and the rest is a bucket of cream, chocolate, syrup, candy canes, cake sprinkles and whatever else dumped on it. OK another analogy: imagine if a hyperactive 6 year old had to write the plot of all Star Wars movies. Sure there would be action by the boatloads, but the plot would make absolutely no sense. A total overdose of hyped up nonsense, and this is exactly what this movie is. Literally 30 mins into the movie the plot just went supersonic and went in one eye and out the other. Absolute garbage that made no sense at all. Plus the plot now has like 100 different cliffhangers to hang on to, so they'll be milking this movie until the next coming of Christ or until the audiences are just numbed by the continuous river of nonsense that this movie is.

Oh and last thing - IMDb mods, better wake up and do your job. Some of the reviews here are so flat, so like a rant a used car salesman would make that they are obviously paid/fake and are not honest... like not at all.
59 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Inexplicably bad
The first two installments in this series were if nothing else enjoyable. The first one, in fact, was well acted and directed, with a satisfying plot and held its own. The second which did have a wayward plot and a messy script was still salvaged by the acting and the cgi-fuelled set pieces which were cool to look at. But this movie fails in every possible aspect.

Firstly, let's consider the acting, Shailene Woodley who was the most stellar aspect of the previous movies, is extremely dull and lacklustre. She seemed completely disinterested throughout the movie. The script didn't require her to do anything more than recite a handful of lines but she did engage the screen only periodically. Her character who is shown to be strong and defiant previously, turns into this mute easily-manipulated by stander who does very little in this installment. Theo James as Four, however, I felt performed decently well with what he was given, even if he still grumbles most of his lines. Jeff Daniels and Naomi Watts arguably manage to fit the bill of their generic and plain characters.

The CGI, which has been a plus point of this series so far, is squandered in this one, with the surrounding green scene being glaringly visible in several scenes. From a visual concept and set piece point of view, something that Insurgent did manage to execute well, this one once again falls short. With the acting already poor, we do not even have some eye candy visuals to enjoy.

Now, the plot. Convoluted and poorly unraveled. Nothing seems to make sense. Character motivations are inconsistent with previous installments and seem to change with the requirement of the script. Whatever exposition is provided is achingly plain and vague spurring endless questions about a variety of plot points, so much so that they threaten to put whatever sense the preceding movies made in much jeopardy.

SPOILERS AHEAD- Here are some questions and oddities with the regard to both certain nagging minutia and also larger plot points which completely spoil the overall experience of the movie. The wall climbing scene early on in the movie, which while having been the best actions sequence, was still annoying. Tris is running from the wall to the generator which is powering the fence/wall, three vehicles full of men are shooting at her but their aim as required, is pathetic. Four, who unlike Tris, isn't even running, is also untouched. Soon after, atop the wall, the group decides to begin celebrating their victory prematurely with only Tori returning fire and staying rooted in the gravity of the moment, and as inevitable she gets shot and dies. Why? Why would these characters behave SO very oblivious to the danger at hand. Having been 'rescued' by the Bureau of Genetic Welfare, they're shown the poorly rendered video clip explaining 200 hundred years worth of history. So, genetic mutation in humans was introduced and people were divided on this and then they fought and destroyed most of the world? Some select pure individuals formed the Bureau and the rest died/or were placed in the Chicago experiment to gauge if they were 'curable'? For 200 years? They ran a massive experiment to find if a pure human was possible from among the 'damaged' individuals? From what I see, the life that the damaged lived inside the wall was a much more civilized and peaceful society until Tris wreaked havoc in the first movie, while outside the wall, people seem to be living in a wasteland. So I'm supposed to understand that the 'pure' people set up a massive civilized city for the 'damaged' while themselves living in a barren landscape fighting people at the fringe??? Even the Providence was a tiny area of fairly futuristic looking infrastructure. It is later revealed that David wants funding for his project. Funding? Funding for? For reinstating the factions by wiping the minds of the people of the city? But he did just that without having received funding from the providence, didn't he?? So was it funding for renovation of his own floating castle home at the Bureau? And back in Chicago, Joana sees that Evelyn is killing people that worked for Jeanine, so she, the Wise one, decides it is time to divide whatever people are left, in half and have them fight each other to the death?? And then that gas. That gas which is supposed to be inhaled but is so heavy that it harmlessly settles down at feet level, giving ample time for the warring people to run up a flight of stairs. Evelyn gets shot by Peter in the back/leg, but clearly doesn't seem to have any injury when shown from the back. Tris shooting the ventilation system through the wall absolutely the weakest resolution to the conflict. And magically, the gas recedes quickly and all those people who had previously been fighting each other to the death, come out of the buildings all smiles and happy, some even smiling and pointing at God knows what. So absurd.

Overall a very disappointing and frustrating mess that reeks of ignorance on the part of the filmmakers who seem to have concluded that they can string up any random events in a dystopian setting amidst a bunch of teenagers aided by mediocre visual effects and some set pieces. Hopefully, with the change of director, the final movie will be better.
53 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Well.... that was horrible!
lauravankessel18 July 2016
So... Without spoiling the book OR this movie; the movie sucked, the book did not. There is way, way more sci-fi then necessary, and BAD sci-fi that is! It's really poorly done, bad CGI and stuff. And where the story from the books was at times confusing, this was downright dumb and mad no sense. The biggest book-moments were cut out, probably to make room for the bad CGI... I kind of expected it to be bad, 'cause the 2nd one wasn't that good either. It also seems the actors get less and less convincing with each movie. Contrary to the Hunger Games (that also differed from the books somewhat, but functional imho), these don't live up to the books at all. If you read them, don't watch the movies. If you've watched the movies but started liking them less and less, read the books instead! They're worth it!
43 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
As a Reader...
tytoowls12 July 2016
I read all of the books because of how curious I was to see if the movies matched up. What I really enjoy in an adaptation movie is how it brings a story to life; Allegiant takes the story which was quite interesting, and throws the story line in pieces. The suspense and anticipation that I experienced with the previous two films and stories is not the same as with Allegiant. Besides the story line taking a tangent from its original story, the revised story line is bland and predictable. I do not have high expectations for the sequel if they continue to deviate from the original story so drastically. I really hope that I will be proved wrong, but I am thoroughly disappointed.
38 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Another ridiculous movie
ericaharris190826 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I am trying to keep from falling asleep from this boring, stupid, stupid, did I say stupid movie. Asinine, ridiculous, this movie could be renamed, "How to bore your audience to death" or "Movie for braindead corpses". I feel stupid for watching this so called 'movie'. And I am watching it for free and I still want my money back. Terrorist groups don't need any old torture devices, they can use this movie. Bad acting, check. Stupid plot line, check. Very big, gigantic plot holes that make absolutely no sense, check. You don't care if everyone in the movie does a horrible, painful death, check. Through out the movie you will roll your eyes, sigh heavenly, saying things like "Why are they doing that?" and "That makes no sense.", check. †**Spoilers, you knew the one chick was going to die when they got on top of the wall. No bullets hit Tris or Four although they were being shot at at close range and with machine guns, and they didn't get shot as they climbed up the wall. Despite the land outside the wall being completely jacked up from nuclear war, the land is completely toxic, yet people are able to survive on the fridges in tents!!!Where were they getting food and water!!! These people are supposedly exposed to all kinds of toxic fumes, toxic land but they all look normal!!!? Oh, but the Genetic Manipulation place was able to survive the nuclear fall out and create a grass growing (again ON WHAT IF THE WHOLE WORLD IIS A NUCLEAR HOLOCAUST!!!) And the motivations for the characters, stupid, stupid, stupid. David, who you KNEW and the new section were evil. Absolutely nothing shocking. You knew who was going to die, you knew who was evil. And why did Four go back to Chicago? And how did he survive walking through the nuclear wasteland with no issues!! We are living in the last days, common sense is out, insane people rule the world and make the movies. Finding an actual good these days is like trying to find the holy Grail or a needle in a haystack.
21 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Yet Another Clichéd and Predictable Young Adult Film
ThomasDrufke20 March 2016
The age of the young adult franchises are upon us now more than ever with yet another entry in the 'Divergent' series being released. Maybe it's just me, but I'm growing tired of weak films filled with same old clichés and unoriginal story lines based around the genre of 'young adult sci-fi'. Sure, a lot of people can say the same thing about the overabundance of superhero films, but there's a clear difference in quality. But the bottom line is that I'm just not the audience for these films.

Allegiant directly follows the events from Insurgent after the demise of Kate Winslet's Jeanine character. Naomi Watts reprises her role as Evelyn and pretty much follows the same unfortunate path that Jeanine did as leader of the dystopian Chicago. Four and Tris, played by Shailene Woodley, lead a small group of survivors into the outside world which was teased at the end of the last film. From there, every cliché you can possibly think of, follows. The characters who you think will die, die. The people who you think will be good or bad, end up being good or bad. There is nothing surprising or noteworthy about the film's plot.

The positives do however come from some of the performances. Theo James continues to be a pleasant surprise and does as much as he can with a weak script. He has a definite future in the film business. Woodley is solid as she usually is and so is Jeff Daniels and Naomi Watts. The problem is that the film around them is average at best. The pacing is painfully slow at times and nothing really happens until the final 20 minutes. Of course, it's set up for an unnecessary and unplanned 4th film purely for the reasons of making money, because there could have easily been an ending here. Overall, a weak script and horrible green screen moments end up making a disappointing third entry in the series.

+Music

+Performances from James and others

-Green screen moments

-Pacing

-Nothing original and full of clichés

4.8/10
90 out of 125 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Too Long and Boring Franchise
claudio_carvalho9 July 2016
"The Divergent Series: Allegiant" is another part of this too long and boring franchise. The saga of Tris and Four and their friends is repetitive and predictable, using clichés and special effects. The screenplay is poor and stupid. For example, David is capable to close doors and remotely controls the city; why does he need someone to release the gas in Chicago? The worst is that the story does not end and there will be another sequel to gross more money for the producers. My vote is four.

Title (Brazil): "A Série Divergente: Convergente" ("The Divergent Series: convergent")
36 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I Want My $ Back
tmna-959-1809868 April 2016
Two hours after the movie ended, and I'm still shaking my head. Disgusted. Seems writers, director and producer DID NOT READ THE BOOK. I do not expect a movie to follow the book exactly, but the other 2 movies mostly did. The 3rd movie had very little to do with the first two. No point to the changes, it did not make the story more powerful, it actually neutered it. I can't see how Veronica Roth could have been happy with the Allegiant movie. Poor Naomi Watts, her lines were so horrible. Her Evelyn was just whinny. Miles Teller had nothing to do. The world they created in the movie, the airport and the fringe, not at all accurate. Again, the changes were pointless. If you are a fan of the Divergent Trilogy, do not bother with this movie.
22 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
4/10
James_De_Bello9 March 2016
I will not blame anyone who has given up hope with this franchise and passed on checking out this. I went because I am Sheilene Woodley's number one fan and supporter (check my reviews of her films for proof on that), so anything she does I will see, included this franchise which for me, in the first two entries, proved to be a mix of some few good elements, Woodley's performance being center on that, with some bad filmaking overall and a story that was always so bad it made me laugh.

That element is partially back, once again through the entirety of the duration of the film almost nothing makes sense. The story is just so bol*ocks I am inclined to laugh at it. Yet this time around I didn't even manage to do that. It just makes no sense whatsoever, nothing that is going on on screen is ever motivated, but even worse, it doesn't fit with the other two films and just emerges as an absolute mess.

Even Shailene Woodley who in the past managed to elevate the non sense that was going around her, with the help of Theo James' charisma, can't do anything with this material. She isn't bad in anyway, it would be impossible for her, but no one on screen manages to make heads or toes of their character, simply because their isn't anything to be understood, it is just a screenplay that mixes random exposition to ever changing motivations because the story requires it. Even the cinematography, for the most part, is as dull as it can be: basic coverage of dialogue scenes and where it tries to do something new like some good tracking shots it fails miserably because they look terrible.

What remains good is the imagery that the series has offered throughout, don't misunderstand me: for the major part the CGI is mediocre and touches bad in many points, but the art concepts and the visual ideas still work very well and provide that minimum flare that mixed to some laughing at the story and Miles Teller not giving a sh*t for the third time, which I must admit is the best part of the film, manages to get you through the film indifferently.

I wouldn't recommend this to anyone unless you are a true fan of the series, the film in itself is boring and uninspired with yet another laughable ending.
91 out of 150 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Ahh.....
khororus19 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
For this one, I will not need many words to write a review. This one is plainly stupid. Unnatural human behavior, unnatural dialogues, plot filled with holes like a good Dutch cheese! Just one example: Director controls shutting of doors in an underground technical tunnels of the distant city, yet he needs to infiltrate a city with a person to talk one of the leaders into pushing a button to get a gas flowing into the city! Would be a good idea to have that function also on a remote control, wouldn't it? Or… if everyone will forget everything, why not fly a freaking squadron into the city and have this button pushed? A separate word of praise to movie industry censors! Killing where blood is seen – R rated and kids can't watch it. Killing when no blood is seen – kids are safe to watch. How could one make it all be more ridiculous? The guys gets a headshot from 1 inch distance, falls dead, but no drop of blood to be seen anywhere… Come on guys, someone needs to get real….
24 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Nope. Don't do it.
stallbaumer13 July 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Dear lord I want those two hours back, I just can't, there is so much wrong, everything, the whole thing. Just no. No. Did they know they were making a film people were actually going to watch? Why so bad? Answer that in the next film! Dream sequence maybe? I am right, not the other people who gave it 2 or 3 stars,they do not know what they are talking about. Trust me. I am required to write more so here is a rhyme. Allegiant was so bad, I wish I was not so sad, that I watched that whole film, and now I feel like I wish I had more time, to help tell you the crime..s.. these people should be charged with, hating the world, murdering my mind, with their pointless story and waste of time. The end
17 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
If you are a fan of the books...
FigNewton20 March 2016
I won't bore you with another detailed review of "Allegiant" It's been well covered already but I will say that if you are a fan of the books...

No need to freak out! Was "Allegiant" the movie perfect? No. Not by a long shot. It obliterated and basically stripped many of the complex and more interesting layers that brought the characters body and soul in the book. We were left with a very skeletal, fractured and less interesting story. The movie did veer from the original work quite a bit but the substance of the story was still there...it wasn't lost. We still get the point of what the purpose of the experiment cities were designed for. We get the struggle for power and the fight for humanity to fight for its survival against what seems like insurmountable odds. We get the theme of loyalty and family, ambition and greed vs sacrifice and selflessness. All the elements are there.

Was I annoyed that this movie is part 1 of 2? Not really. I look forward to seeing how the writers and director will adjust the story. Many fans were unhappy with the ending of the book anyway and would like to see it fixed. We'll have to wait and see if the powers that be stick to Veronica Roth's vision or create an alternate. But really, there is no need to feel disappointed or distraught. It is after all an adaptation!

Theo James as Four was awesome, though I felt his character wasn't given much substance in this flick, still he was fun to watch. Bill Skarsgard who played Matthew was a nice surprise. I loved every scene he was in and Miles Teller stole the show as the always self-serving jerk, Peter. We didn't get much from Zoe Kravitz and Maggie Q was great as Tori. Shailene Woodley was OK. She could only work with what she was given. But the fellas carried this movie from beginning to end. Even Jeff Daniels had his moments.

Overall, I thought it was entertaining. Not perfect but I give it a pass.
35 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not what I was Expecting
artieup20 March 2016
I had to go watch this movie series just to justify the mixed ratings I read.

Well, I have to say, In My Opinion, there was more going on in this movie that was unrealistic and slow than favorable / enjoyable moments.

So, personally, I won't hold fire against the comments that rated this movie below a 7. I actually would say they are right on target.

I have to say movie quality has certainly went down over the last 6 yrs. I'm beginning to believe many directors and movie industries are expecting movie goers will watch anything with engaging previews to suck us in and torture us with the rest of the movie being BAD.

I am a sci-fi fantasy type movie lover, loving the tech and all that stuff, however, there is a threshold as to what I enjoy watching when it comes to this type of movie genre and this movie just don't quite get there for me. Divergent followers or not, this movie fails for the length of time and plot it delivers to be enjoyable.

As stated before, I don't believe in rating movies terribly low, so I give this movie series a generous 6 without going into more details.

Thanks
35 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This is how you ruin a novel...
limkris14 August 2016
I am angry... If they were going to divide the movie, they didn't have to do this... They say they 'covered the story' in this movie, they basically skipped a whole plot... For example, in the book Nita does hate David, but she actually Tries to destroy the Bureau by blowing up a part of it as a distraction (which basically kills Uriah, the guy's not even in the movie to begin with) then trying to release this death serum, Tris stops them of course, and a bunch of other stuff happens... Only then does David try to 'reset' Chicago... And Tris is supposed to die in the process of saving the dam city, then there's this bit at the end involving Evelyn, if they were going to make a series they could've used that... There's just so much stuff wrong with this movie, the most annoying of course are the small but plentiful errors, like never seeing Tori's brother on the other side of the wall, that happens in the book....
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
That was an experience..
alci35021 March 2016
I used to joke I want my money back when I saw bad movies. But I was so angry with this one, I didn't care about the money. I wanted my time, my Saturday evening back! As a matter of principle I never leave a movie in the middle, but the more I saw the senseless "acting" and "story", the more I became irritated.. I love sci-fi, I could even watch the cheapest one and still be satisfied. But when they make "something" as horrible as this, something with no connecting storyline, no sense of the slightest sign of logic, no consequence/connection to any scenes that just played, the constant building up to nothing over and over again. I just felt like being treated like a moron with a 3 second memory, who could be 'woawed' by the scenes, but doesn't know or care what happened 3 second before that. I came out the movie angry and stressed. This is beyond bad, this deserves a -10. Not only that, this movie should be banned from human history. Save yourselves!
19 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Third exciting outing of the moving trilogy in which the former thorny questions are resolved
ma-cortes17 August 2019
This third part contains impressive fights , chills , frenetic action, high body-count , breathtaking state-of-art-special effects, enough characterization , and violent happenings . Allegiant third part , is the follow-up on the trilogy in which Tris will be forced to make hard choices about courage , love , loyalty , and Allegiant. It is a Sci-Fi , action and drama movie based on a novel by Veronica Roth. Stars sixteen-year-old Tris , Shailene Woodley, who lives in a dystopian Society formed by untouchable castes , five factions confronting among them. Dealing the previous two episodes with Tris who lives in a destroyed city of Chicago, in a difficult society divided into factions and, nowadays, she searches answers on the ruins of the town. As each faction represents a diverse way of handling things. Candor are the honest. Erudite are the intelligent, in which her brother, Ansel Elgort, belongs. Abnegation the selfless, in which her parents : Ashley Judd, Tony Goldwyn belong. Amity the kind. And finally Dauntless the brave, in which Tris enlists herself after an extremely dangerous training . The Erudite led by Kate Winslet , have declared war against Abnegation because they think that they have essential information about Divergent. Then the Erudite scheme a massacre against Abnegation. Along the way Tris and her fiance , Theo James , search answers in and out of Chicago .Then, Tris unlocks secrets , uncovering horrible deeds and along with his partners and with the help from others on his side carry out a strong fight against a nasty alliance . While in Chicago governs Four's mother , Evelyn , Naomy Watts , but things go wrong , that is why Evelyn contends the leader of another faction , Johanna : Abigail Spencer . After the earth shattering revelation of Divergent and Insurgent and beyond the Wall enclosing Chicago , Tris , Four and her brother Caleb , Ansel Elgort , escape from the city to find another fateful destination .

Third inferior part , formed by ¨Divergent¨ , ¨Insurgent¨ , and this ¨Allegiant¨ , plenty of noisy action , thrills , battles and emotion . Here our starring Tris faces one impossible challenge after another, as she unreveals the truth about her past and future , ultimately, the meaning of the strange and mysterious divergence, as well as the dark perspective on her sad world run by dark forces ; though it turns out to be tiring, confusing and a little bit boring. And finally, the conclusion and unexpected denouement with a lot of surprises . This is a homogenized and without much sense science fiction for bored adolescents . The film takes parts here and there of the two previous installments. It was another kind of the Hunger Games variant , based in a dystopian future world of a strict cast system . It attempts to close the thrilling trilogy , but it ends regularly , including flaws and failures .Starring Shailene Woodley gives nice acting as the valiant teen who is really haunted by her past, as well as she must confront her inner demons. She is well accompanied by a good support cast to be with her in the three entries, such as : Ansel Elgort , Ray Stevenson, Jeff Daniels , Miles Teller, Zoe Kravitz, Ashley Judd ,Daniel Dae Kim , Abigail Spencer , Bill Skarsgård Mekhi Phifer, Maggie Q, Ben Lloyd Hughes, and Naomi Watts .

It contains a pounding and exciting musical score by Joseph Trapanese . As well as an adequate and colorful cinematography by Florián Balhaus. The motion picture was middlingly directed by Robert Schewenke, though Neil Burger who made the first entry was meant to direct the flick , but coundn't due to scheduling conflicts with postproduction on Divergent 2014 . Robert is a German craftsman who has made a few films , such as The time traveler wife , Tattoo , Flight plan , Insurgent , Allegiant and his last one made in Germany , and The captain .
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
This is good, but had the potential to be better
ladygiggles18 March 2016
I enjoyed the hell out of this film. It had me constantly engaged and interested in the story. I like the conflict between the characters, but glad they didn't make it dramatic. My biggest problem is there are such big ideas in this movie, they needed more time to develop some of them. A few scenes here to flesh out the conflict more. I am pretty sure they didn't do it because they have to follow the currently trend right now, mindless action set pieces with very little story. I appreciate the writers and director trying to accomplish something bigger, but there were still some missing parts. I still enjoyed the movie a lot and appreciate the effort.
23 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I didn't think this movie was based on book, not a video game
sundevilemily27 January 2017
When I saw the first divergent movie, I really liked it and I became really excited to see the adaptions of the next two books (insurgent and allegiant).But after I saw the 2nd movie, it was a lot different from the book and I started to get confused on why it wasn't going to be like how the first movie was. But after I saw this movie,I realized that it was nothing like what it was based on and it looked liked it was based on a video game.I became really disappointed on how the divergent series became a series I don't recognize anymore.If Divergent just became a TV show instead of a movie before the first movie came out, then it would have had a better chance at being more popular and talked a lot about. But that never happened.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I enjoyed it!
purplepassion1239920 March 2016
Upon seeing Allegiant, I had mixed feelings about it. At first upon seeing the reviews I was a little in shocked at how much criticism it was receiving, but sometimes your opinion can be different from the critics who review the movie. So I saw the movie, and as I watched the movie I started remembering scenes from the book, since I haven't read the book in a while. There was scenes that surprise me, which I thoroughly enjoyed because I love surprises. And although, yes the movie strays away from the source material, we as people should be more open-minded about book to film adaptations. As a fan of the books it can be nerve wrecking to have a good book turned into an awful movie, but I like to think about how much time was put into making a film. An actor/actress works hard to follow the script that is given to them, the director has a vision in mind for the film, which is hard work in itself. And putting the film together takes a lot of shots to achieve in the amount of time they are given. This is why we have deleted scenes to begin with. I praise this cast for not giving up on this project and continue to do their best to pull off a movie adaptation of a best- selling series.All in all, I enjoyed this movie and recommend it to people who love stories and fans who can still appreciate a movie despite its obvious changes.
23 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not for book fans
alukenia2 July 2016
It changes substantially the story, enough to change the soul of some characters. Nothing on the movie ends up having sense and it's actually boring.. Some of the green screen work is really bad. Nothing looks real enough.

It departed from the book in the previous movies but it was almost acceptable.. this is awful.

It may not be terrible for some people but i'm sure that fans of the book are not going to like it. Even those wishing to change the book's finale.

I have to say the acting work is not that bad. They do what they can with what they have. Tho I'm not a huge fan of Shailene Woodley or Theo James, they are not bad actors. So they managed to go through the movie unscathed.. It's too bad they have changed it that much. The relationship between the characters has so much more to work on in the third part of the book than in the movie.
14 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Pretty good, better than expected.
Alyy3311 March 2016
I didn't have very high expectations going into this, but I must say the movie kept me interested and engaged all the way through. As a fan of the first book, I thought the first movie was pretty decent and had potential, but after Insurgent being a very big disappointment, I didn't really expect to like this much.

However, the story is pretty gripping and the action is on point. Even though Tris is annoying at times, she is nowhere near as annoying as in Insurgent. I loved the character development of Caleb and Four, the relationships between the characters, as well as the new characters introduced in this movie.

Overall, it's a pretty good installment to the franchise if you loved the first movie.
21 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Significant Improvement on the last Movie
jeph_b28 March 2016
I'm not a big fan of this franchise, but the first movie was reasonably solid and entertaining. The second was hugely disappointing and actually fairly boring.

As for Allegiant, I think they've somewhat rescued the franchise with this film. It answered a lot of questions and moved the story on. We find out the truth about what a Divergent actually is and the truth about what is the other side of the wall. There is some good action in the movie and it's still feels very much a twilight, hunger games style teen movie. The acting is fairly average for what you would expect.

The overriding feeling I got though is how on earth have they got 4 movies out of this franchise? We haven't come a long way in the story so far yet we've sat through 6 hours of movie time. I don't therefore have high hopes for the 4th and (hopefully) final installment. Large sections of all 3 movies could have been cut out and merged and we could have seen 2 really good 2 hours movies. Instead it will go down as another disappointing franchise spread needlessly over 4 movies. Money...
21 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
If you love the book forget the movie
maerakoz24 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
They deviate so much from the book that the only things they have in common is the name. They obliterated the whole plotline by their stupid happy ending. Without her death Four doesn't grow, doesn't become what he needs to be. You just made everything they went through meaningless by letting her live. THIS is why people hate movies made out of books, because people ruin them!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
"Divergent" series falls apart with misguided "penultimate"installment
Movie_Muse_Reviews4 January 2017
Chances are if you've made it to this third installment of the "Divergent" series, you're pretty 'allegiant' to Veronica Roth's teen dystopia books. Or you just like watching the sweaty shirtless backs of Shailene Woodley and Theo James. Either way, no judgment here. I voluntarily watched it.

Director Robert Schwentke returns to the series after making "Insurgent," which he handled with acceptable competence. In "Allegiant," he gets an even lesser script to work with and can't do much of anything to counter how far-flung the story has gotten at this point — both Roth's actual story and the film's reworked version of it.

With the goal of turning around these films annually, the studio turned to new writers and asked them to not only adapt the series finale, but split it up into two parts, and only write part one (as far as we know). This task, given to Adam Cooper and Bill Collage ("Exodus: Gods & Kings," "The Transporter Refueled") and Noah Oppenheim ("The Maze Runner") — and possibly another writer who didn't end up getting a credit on the film — pretty much writes the film's death sentence.

"Allegiant" the book has its problems, as Roth cracks open the world she intricately built in the first two books and places her characters in an almost completely new world with whole new stakes. We follow Tris (Woodley) and Four (James) as they break out into the "fringe," where they eventually discover the Bureau of Genetic Welfare and learn of the circumstances that led to the development of the world they were born into. During their field trip beyond the fence, however, war looms back in the city where Evelyn's (Naomi Watts) Factionless are at odds with those clinging to the old way of life.

Despite a couple different story lines and a large portion of the story that splits up Tris and Four (which no Hollywood studio would allow to happen for a significant length of screen time), there really aren't two good movies worth of material without expounding significantly. Rather than adding compelling new material, however, the script just draws out certain inevitable "twists" from the book and ensures the story's plot points play out in action-friendly ways. Actually, almost the entire plot of the book gets used except the ending, which is lopped off to make room for a rousing fourth movie that has no precedent in the novel.

So not only is it a forced script (Jeff Daniels is awesome when he gets the dialogue, but watching him in this versus an Aaron Sorkin project is like night and day), but it deviates enough from the book to confound the only people still watching the series — the book's fans. Not a wise choice.

"Insurgent" nearly zapped the film of any character-driven elements and in "Allegiant" there's almost none of them. The best opportunity Woodley gets to act is a weirdly long decontamination shower scene. The script doesn't entirely lose the conflict between Tris and Four, but it's short-lived and ineffective. A plot device rather than the core of the narrative.

The first-person perspective of the novels was always going to make these films difficult to adapt. It showed with "Insurgent." But the quality of the popcorn-munching elements drops off in "Allegiant," in part due to fatigue and in part because the story doesn't resemble its former self. The story and backdrop can change if the characters' journeys stay intact, but that was already falling apart before cameras rolled on "Allegiant."

You'll be ready to be done with the "Divergent" series come the end of this one, and seeing as it's the third film in a book trilogy, you kind of expect to be relieved of that burden, but alas. Whatever Lionsgate/Summit can throw together for "Ascendant" won't be worth watching, save for the final moments so fans can have *some* closure.

~Steven C

Thanks for reading! Visit Movie Muse Reviews for more
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed