19-2 (TV Series 2014– ) Poster

(2014– )

User Reviews

Review this title
33 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Not a typical "cop" show.
StevenR-645 March 2014
I've never seen the original french series, so I can't speak to how it compares to that, but I can say that it holds up on it's own as a great drama series.

The show is not action based in the way that you might expect from a show about a police squad. Sure there is a fair amount of action, fights and gun play, but that's not where the shows strength is. Instead the show is about the characters and the drama between them. This is not typical episodic TV where the characters face a new challenge at the beginning of every episode, and then resolve it by the end of the episode so everything is back to being the same. In 19-2 the storyline stretches across multiple episodes. If you start watching the series he middle of the season it will take you a few episodes to get up to speed, probably a good idea to watch the earlier episodes online first.

The cast of 19-2 is fantastic and the story unfolds more like a feature film than TV.

if you're looking for a shoot 'em up action show then there are other shows you might like better, but I can easily recommend 19-2 to anyone looking for a deeper drama series.
30 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One "depressing" show worth watching
robin_should20 June 2014
OK I have read the other reviews and agree that this show can be depressing. I'm not even sure why I started to watch this but I then discovered each of the characters had their own crosses to bear, whether self-inflicted or through a series of circumstances and events, they all fight the daily fight of life, and the fight to stay alive in their jobs, stay faithful to friends and just do the right thing. The storyline makes this really hard and that's what makes this show so compelling. The actors are good, the script more realistic than most other police shows because people in real life have personal problems and jobs to cope with at the same time. I know this is set in Monteal and was a show in french first but my french is so rusty I would have given up after a few minutes, so, thank you for letting us poor English speakers into the world of 19-2.
23 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Refreshing take on a cop show.
jody-bilyj4 March 2014
It's refreshing to finally see an English language show that's filmed in Montreal actually be based in Montreal storyline wise. This show steers clear of the stereotypical cop characters and shows us many shades of grey rather than the standard black and white we too often see. I love the cold blueness of the shots.

Seems like this might be shot with no filters and I love that look. Looking forward to seeing how the show plays out. It almost feels like we're getting a behind the scenes glimpse into the day to day lives of police officers. The show seems to be staying true to The French version and that's a good thing since I also really have liked that show too. Good stuff!
23 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bravo to Bravo
benny-nordberg4 March 2014
I feel like Canadian TV has really stepped up its game in the last few years. I was blown away by 19-2 from the first scene and have not looked back. The character development has me fully committed to the outcomes of their lives. The story line really taps into the grittiness of real life and the challenges of the not so generic population. I love that this steps away from the white picket fence middle America and expresses some serious honesty. This show could have been really typical but it has been anything but - the feeling when I sit down and watch every week is that of a movie. I would rival this show to some original Netflix series that have done very well (Orange is the New Black). I will also never complain about a Nick Barron "butt" shot or watching Beatrice throw down for all of us girls out there. Bravo is setting a new standard with its actors as well and the attention to the details. I say Bravo - to Bravo and the cast of 19-2. You should all be proud, I know I am.
18 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Surprisingly GREAT Canadian series
karenmulhern3 April 2014
From the first episode 19-2 distinguishes itself as a unique look inside a unit of urban patrolmen, giving equal glimpses of their lives on and off the job. This show is more character study than police procedural-- yes there are calls to answer and nerve wracking situations, but they exist as vehicles for developing our understanding of what makes these men and women tick as individuals and partners. The dialog is extremely well written and acted--the actors speak like real people in real situations. Occasionally scenes switch from what is happening IN the moment to what the characters are thinking OF the moment, a plot device that only works if a scene is expertly written,which is definitely the case here! Episode 10 just aired this week and a major (yet completely unanticipated) revelation occurred that I suspect will shift alliances and friendships within the unit. I have no idea what will happen next, but I'm sure it will be interesting!

This series is developing quite well, and I wouldn't be surprised if it's around for quite awhile!
16 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome Show
sinpumaorig4 March 2014
I will admit that I have met a few of the actors that are in this show so at first I was afraid to watch it in case it was bad and I didn't like it. But I was so pleasantly surprised. It surpassed all my expectations! It is beautifully shot. The acting, from everyone, is great. Some performances are better than others but I feel like everyone is pulling their weight and I actually want to know what happens to them. One of the characters is so mean I really hate him and only a strong actor can make you feel that way. It is gritty and dirty and cops are portrayed in all different lights. We can see how people can overreact cause they don't have the full story and we also see how the cops can power trip and act badly. Overall this is a show that is worth your time and I will be watching it season after season!!
17 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A carefully crafted program, but with a ton of exaggeration
I subscribe to Acorn TV and saw that this program was featured. "Why not watch it?", I said to myself. So I watched the first season and was initially enraptured with the characters and the demons that they struggled with as they did their daily work as cops.

There is absolutely no way a bunch of people that have these problems can function adequately as a police force. We have a wife beater (JM), an alcoholic (Tyler), a lesbian (Beatrice or "Bear"), a totally incorruptible cop (Ben), a sleaze bag commander (Gendron) and a loose cannon (Nick) who is probably the worst of the bunch not only because he gets himself involved with so many undesirables, but manages to screw a bunch of women in the process (I counted six sexual encounters with this character who screwed a fellow cop - Audrey-, his ex-wife - Isabelle- his son's girlfriend's mother(!), a visiting police detective - Elise, and a couple of other women).

This guy alone made my head spin and the story unraveled just because this kind of stuff never happens in real life. Not only is Nick sexually charged (according to what TV wants you to believe), but he also has bouts of aggression and depression which almost drives him to suicide in one episode. Totally unrealistic and most improbable in ordinary, mundane life.

Then there's the political side of the show which is more realistic and believable when it comes to corruption. Commander Gendron is a sleaze bag, a back stabber, a snitch. He's the kind of guy who, as a kid, was probably beaten up a lot of times because he was a tattle tale and goody two shoes in grammar school.

This guy is so sleazy and untrustworthy, that his own daughter (a heroin addict) hates his guts and even said "I could never trust you." Nice family relationship! Acorn has all four seasons and I managed to wade through the first two and a half. In all honesty, I like the show, but the characters and their antics just aren't realistic in real life.

I visited Montreal a couple of times in my lifetime and from what I saw in this program isn't what Montreal is about. 19-2 makes Montreal a bad place to live in, like one of our cities stateside. Nothing could be further from the truth. And also, the antics that go on in this precinct are, in a word, exaggerated.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Southland...With sympathy!
jonmccann4 August 2016
It is hard for 'smaller' TV stations to get on the global TV series map, but Canadian TV has been having a good stab it for a few years, 19-2 brings home the hard fought efforts!

Just a joy to watch, yet not action packed in every episode, instead it gradually draws you in, like a family history that you never knew about but gives you more interest as more information is established! That's exactly what 19-2 is, it takes it's time, weaves a web of many different stories, doesn't tempt you for more too soon, just leaves you waiting for the next install/thrillment and never gets involved in silly sub plots outside of the 'family'! And all in 40-ish minutes per episode. That doesn't mean you wont bond with the characters, it just means it has limits and lets you decide the rest for yourself.

If you don't love the series after the first season, you don't know good TV, if you don't love it after episode 1 of season 2, you're not watching the right TV for your mind! One of the best made dramas on TV!
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Blah - disappointment
dtdenver-987-92554616 August 2016
I use a personal cheese-o-meter when it comes to cop shows. Does the buff black guy (because that's a requirement on TV) have shorter uniform sleeves than the other cops - to show off his hard-earned gym muscles? If yes, I brace myself for a steady and swift progression of clichés and stereotypes. Such was the case with the two episodes of 19-2 that I could force myself to watch. "Character driven" dramas can be tricky if the characters are sullen lumps whose lives are one problem after the other. The beauty of Montreal won't draw me back to that boring show - which is a shame because I try to bond with any show not filmed in California.
14 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not your ordinary 'crime' show
ciorniiliv10 August 2016
This show seriously deserves the great reviews, a brilliant show with incredible actors who give outstanding performances all through the series. This show surprised me on a grand scale, with impeccable story lines and even better executed characters. The character development throughout the show keeps you second guessing everything you are ever told about the shows' protagonists and have you yearning for more. The portrayal of street life is what I imagine it to be like in the real world. 19-2 has amazing twists and turns, it shows that even the black and white cases have some grey areas. The cinematography within the episodes themselves is beautiful and seriously warrants recognition. Each and every episode tackles a fresh angle and perspective on a story which is both realistic and completely fictional, through the balance is not perfect, it does come close.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Amateurish everything
qui_j27 August 2016
Watched this on Acorn and had high hopes for it. Unfortunately, it just has too many negative points to it. I would love to be able to access the French version as I understand it's much better, and more authentic. The English version really asks viewers to really stretch their imagination. The show is shot in Montreal but no one in the city seems to speak French. French signs abound but everyone speaks English with no trace of an accent. Wouldn't it have been better to do a complete revamp and set it in one of the English speaking Canadian cities? The acting is amateurish, and the editing really atrocious, using flashbacks at the most inappropriate times. That only confuses the viewer more, and really is not a very clever way to tell a story.The scenes end and start abruptly which underscores the amateurish editing. Will try to see where the French version can be viewed as this version really does not live up to the hype at all!
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not at all realistic *spoilers*
camsabo200930 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I heard this show was supposed to be the Canadian version of Southland and gave it a try. That could not be further from the truth. This is nothing more than a ridiculously cheesy, unrealistic and overall terrible police show along the likes of such tripe as Rookie Blue. In the first episode, for example, an officer shoots a suspect and is back at work the next day. Time off for an investigation? Of course not. Even more infuriating is when the viewers later learn that the officer actually kept his weapon after the shooting and cleaned it. This character is supposed to be a veteran officer with years as a police officer, yet he doesn't think he has to turn in his weapon after an officer-involved shooting? Come on. Even Flashpoint got that part right, wherein an officer who is involved in a shooting has their weapon and uniform taken for the investigation.

I only watched the first episode due to how ridiculous this show is. If you like unrealistic shows that portray policing absolutely incorrectly, you'll love this show. If, on the other hand, you prefer your police drama's to accurately reflect the job, don't waste your time with this one.
11 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It's really only so-so
dimiturmechev29 August 2014
Based on the French series of the same name (to say really based, storyline by storyline, not just loosely) is definitely a helper here, since the current writer had possibility of improvement upon. I can't say it didn't help it, but some auxiliary story lines seem just... dull. They are forced to show us scenes where it is nearly explicit that nothing serious has happened, however from their point of view it is shown as if it were some major arc in the plot (characters panicking for no reason and all). Also, an awful lot of stalling and beating around the bush with those "imaginary" characters that I think, one or two scenes could've been good, but not 5 or 10. Finally, I think there is too little room for logical progression in the show being given the fact that it happens in Montreal and touches only the English speaking community (which is minoritary in Montreal, like it or not). I think they should've made some characters speak French, or show a funny side situation where one cop speaks French and one doesn't, and the one who doesn't getting stuck with a French-speaking person, etc. etc. That was totally muted. So yeah, 7 out of 10 is my score. Patiently waiting for Season 2...
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
For depressives only...
viligeidiot13 February 2014
Be WARNED! The above 'reviews' are obviously paid for or are shills for the show as 2 out of the 3 are from people who literally just joined IMDb March 4th to give their glowing reviews for ONLY this show. Ratings must stink if they have to pay people or cajole employees of it to get positive postings on this garbage. I have now watched 5 episodes and absolutely NOTHING positive or happy happens to ANYONE! It's so utterly ridiculously Canadian... we're either yukking it up or locked in this navel gazing depression as far as TV goes. I have no clue how good the French version of this show is, but the English 'remake' is utter circular bin fodder.

To summarize, a small town 'golden boy' provincial cop moves to the BIG CITY (Montreal) and gets paired up with a 'lone wolf' cop who just had his partner shot. The events in this show are so unbelievably disparaging as to be comedic.... they just go from one horrible situation to the next, all the while with plonking, melodramatic piano/cello/violin plaintively whining in the background.

It's almost like Degrassi Junior Cops, you know the teenage drama where almost every episode some kid gets knocked up, hooked on drugs or loses an eye? Same garbage only there's absolutely no moralistic lesson to be had except for maybe the world is a trashcan and cops are clinging to sanity either through heroic integrity (golden boy), sheer determination (lone wolf) or via some kind of self abuse like booze, drugs or sex (every single other cop).

I give this show less than one season unless the government is stroking it with our hard earned tax dollars in which case I expect at least three seasons of depressing decrepitude.
21 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good start bland continuation
meme-361379 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Having watched the brilliant series Southland, I really wanted to give this a go, the first two seasons were well done, we got a good insight into the characters who they were, their personal demons and relationships, it was sublime and written nicely. The third season felt like it had plot twists here and there, and there was a focus on the plot and a few character arcs in between, the middle half of the third season didn't feel as good as the previous seasons and the first few episodes of season 4 have not been as good as this show once was, riddled with clichés, ***spoiler*** for once I would like to see a show where the female character going through personal demons doesn't end up with the male front runner ,after a few drinks, also going through a deep personal tragedy and then the usual banter of a few mistakes were made follows. I don't like it and I don't get it can writers not do more than this, how about showing two people form a deep friendship and a bond based on their loss,I mean it feels like putting the two characters going through hardship in their life together was the simplest way the writers went.

I hope season 4 gives a good character arc to Jean-Marc Brouillard by developing his arc fully, and not chalking it down to a stereotype. Hoping this show ends well and meshes the characters out well because the actors are good I feel the writers need to give them well written characters.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad. Just....bad.
gdump7 February 2014
I only watched the first episode and half of the second because that was all I could stand. I don't care how popular the French version may be, this version is trash. I don't find either the characters or the situations believable. Worse, none of the characters are the least bit likable so I can't see myself ever caring what happens to them. What action there is consists mostly of cops yelling frantically at suspects and each other and generally acting like lunatics.

I know that good series can sometimes take time to build and may start out rough so I was prepared to try to give it some leeway, but I just couldn't do it. Maybe it will develop into something watchable, but I'm not prepared to wait for that to happen.
16 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love this show
virginiacottrell13 April 2018
Just great TV, are they not bringing it back? Excellent characters and script is pretty good, the Canadians are coming out with some good productions
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It's grown on me!
TheTopDawgCritic31 July 2017
I really didn't like this show at first. My first bad impression was "Montreal Police that speak English, with most cops having zero French accent... lame"

Well, everything else about this show out-weighed that obvious flaw.

I'm not a fan of slow paced films, but this one did it very well. The sound was on point with the tension, directing and cinematography perfect, and the acting spot on!

What's even more intriguing, how Jared Keeso has evolved from a serious playing cop to his character in Letterkenny... wow.

Props to all those involved for yet another top-notch Canadian production! 9/10 from me
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
19-2 Truly Quality
glensimpson-722099 August 2016
I was semi-surprised I suppose, to see the negative reviews. I waste very little time on TV these days, but there a few shows which I am very much drawn into.19-2 is certainly one of them. Along with Ballers, Game of Thrones, Ray Donovan, Bosch, (quite like the one with Lucifer on regular cable too) 19-2 is excellent. And, it's Canadian. The first time I came across Jared Keeso was LetterKenny. Classic for sure, if you played hockey in this country (Canada)! But wow, dude is a solid actor! He, and Nick Barron (not looking up his name right now) are excellent! I've been literally shocked by a couple episodes over the few years, and that rarely happens. Very real, and gritty, really good show! Honestly don't get what the haters are hating on. Unless it's compared to the French version which I just can't speak to (much love to my French Canadian brothers)! Give it a watch. I suspect you won't be disappointed!
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not a very well described show
alisitcia4 December 2019
This show is nothing like what it claims to be, this show is nothing about policing or really about much other then who is sleeping with who in the police station, and who's cheating on who, and who's sleeping with who's family members and ex's.

There is almost no substance to the show, which is very disappointing because for the few moments that they do start to show Nick and Ben being *real* people it is actually a nice show, but then it quickly degenerates into "Is this even a TV show unless we squeeze 4 sex scenes in to on 44 minute Ep, even though utterly nothing is added to this show other then "Look people are bonking again!"

While I am rating this very measly at a 2 Star of 10, because it claimed to be a Police Drama, when in truth it's nothing more then Days of Our Lives or Bold and the Beautiful - except with a police skin lathered over it.

Writers: You did a great job messing up what could have been fantastic, with your need to shoehorn sex scenes into literally every episode of the first season, I struggled with your garbage show, and I won't be bothering any longer.

If this sort of literal trash TV is what you enjoy, you will love watching a show about nothing besides people trying to get into each others pants and utterly horrific and toxic relationships that you can see from the first episode where they will end up.

DO NOT RECCOMEND FOR ANYONE WITH MORE THEN THREE BRAIN CELLS.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Too much screwing
russellharvy-3901721 November 2019
Had potential but poor writing, everybody screwing, to much queer
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Outstanding
tamsmd11 August 2019
OMG. The third season is superb. Outstanding acting by all the actors. This is one of my top 5 of any series I have ever watched. Emotionally raw and so glad I stumbled upon this gem. Thank you to everyone who put this series together. Montreal is a beautiful city too!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent
pnpete910 July 2019
Have very little to complain about this series except that on several episodes the background sound, particularly traffic can become very intrusive, otherwise excy
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Subdued & surprisingly graphic!
viper-577267 October 2016
Initially enjoyed this show, good to have a more low key cop drama that entirely focuses on the individuals and not some big case. This approach is both a positive and negative, positive was the ability to explore characters more, however I understand life in general is tough and more so for police but odds should mean at least one is a happy & rounded person!

This does make it pretty depressing, could have done with some more lighter and comical moments, i expect this is the way a team would handle their tough lives.

I also found it oddly put together, some plot points seem to just vanish, making it feel poorly edited, granted focus is on the people but sometimes you still need to know whats happening to understand whats going on. This is not even major plots, just random things are started then just never mentioned again.

My massive problem was the violence in episode 9 in the first season. I love many shows known for their violence (GoT, Spartacus, Banshee and such) and whilst I reckon all these shows could tone it down to be less gratuitous, at least its part of their identity and you could argue how they do it makes it a bit tongue in cheek and your always prepared for it. Nothing prepares you for how graphic this episode was, this may have been the intention, but personally this episode had one of the most uncomfortable scenes I have watched in a long time. It wasn't required in my opinion and didn't fit with the tone of the show.

I would have scored higher but this surprise dark turn and the lack of more engaging story lines let me down. Massive fan of the Shield & Wire, both these shows had great character development around interesting plots and neither used overly shock tactics in terms of violence.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Sex or cops?
jkirkpetty28 September 2018
Is this a show about "let's have sex with anything we can catch"? Or a police drama?? Could be a decent show but OMG let's slow down on the constant sex... really?????
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed