Roots Poster


Episode List


Season 1

30 May 2016
Part 1
In the river region of the Gambia in 1750, Omoro Kinte and his wife, Binta, have a son named Kunta. Kunta is kidnapped in 1767 and sold to British slave traders. After he arrives in Annapolis, Maryland, Virginia planter John Waller purchases Kunta.
31 May 2016
Part 2
Redcoats attempt to persuade slaves to run away and join the English army; Kunta escapes but slave catchers apprehend him and amputate half of his foot to ensure that he never runs off again. John Waller sells Kunta to his younger brother William.
1 Jun. 2016
Part 3
George becomes an accomplished trainer of gamecocks and earns the nickname of Chicken George; George marries Matilda, a preacher's daughter, and fathers many children; Tom Lea loses a wager with an Englishman and sells George to save his farm.
2 Jun. 2016
Part 4
Chicken George returns to the Lea farm after 20 years; Tom, nurses a grudge against his father; George and Cyrus join the Memphis Colored Battery; Tom returns home after the war to embark on a new life with his family.

 Season 1 

See also

TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page

Recently Viewed