November Criminals (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
46 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Not horrible, just weak.
johnny-burgundy10 November 2017
November Criminals (2017) This is a crime drama about college bound friends find themselves falling for one another, but after the mysterious murder of their classmate, they defy the authorities to uncover the truth. The film has been released straight to video on demand, before a limited theatrical release. It stars Ansel Elgort (Baby Driver) and Chloë Grace Moretz (Kick Ass). These are two of my favorite young actors of today. Viewers had mixed reactions and critics felt it was very thin. Everyone seems to agree it failed to to reach its potential. There simply wasn't any movement in the film. I want to get an understanding of the crime. They failed to give us pieces to the puzzle until nearly the close of the film. This is actually a film that could have been far better with just a little more time. Both the love story and the investigation needed to be beefed up. It would have helped get the viewers more invested. I would have tweaked the ending myself. Not horrible, just weak.
57 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Likable cast can't make up for the much ado about nothing story
phd_travel11 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I usually love Chloe Grace Moretz's movies but this one isn't great. There just isn't quite enough of a story. It's a real shame with A list cast members even the supporting cast is good with David Strathairn and Catherine Keener playing parents. Ansel Elgort's acting is a little bit better but that's not saying a whole lot. The romance between the 2 is quite cute but the main story is really nothing much. A high school kid gets involved in finding out who killed a classmate. Don't really feel for the cause since there is no establishing story or plot with the deceased. Later he manages to find out who it is quite easily. The climax or lack thereof was hardly anything. I even wanted some kind of twist.

Not a must watch at all.
24 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Bored
jyuktirat20 April 2018
I had a hard time buying into the characters conviction which is what carries the story. It was also slow and at times boring with the storyline.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
He's not a gang member!
nogodnomasters22 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Addison (Ansel Elgort) and Phoebe (Chloë Grace Moretz) are high school students in the capital area. They are friends, then friends with benefits, then boyfriend/girlfriend...even they didn't know. Addison's mother passed six months ago and he is still dealing with it. A friend of theirs gets shot and the police write it off as gang violence and are too busy to conduct a proper investigation, so Addison takes it upon himself to find the killer. He is way over his head...

Addison doesn't go Liam Neeson all over the bad guys to get information. In fact his constant melancholy state was a real damp rag. He was a complete weenie. He liked Bowie which they managed to work in a few times, but not enough. Rather boring. Generous rating.

The teens are in bed together, no nudity.
21 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
why is this even called november criminals?
gufi-044294 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The acting game was on point. I also liked this kinda teen vibe the movie gives. But other than that, oh my god. The storyline was not just plain but even ridiculous. Explain this to me. We have this guy and in the beginning of the movie we get the impression that he's a mature intelligent kid with a good taste in music. But then after the homicide of one of his friends, he decides he should get involved with gang members so we could solve the murder. In the whole process it looks like he doesn't realize how hazardous the situation actually is. These gang leaders were constantly point out as this very dangerous guys a person shouldn't mess with. I mean, if it was in real life, they would probably kill him for knowing too much. But in the movie, he just thought he could go meet them and what, they will be like "Hi, sweetie, yeah, just a second, we will give you the name of the person who killed your friend, give us a moment, please"? So, yeah, the whole message the movie gave me was how naive some people can be. And how someone didn't make the effort to put more thought in the film.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
There no movie here
willemburgers20 November 2017
There is good acting, there is fine cinematography, and music too. But there is no movie. It's a crazy thing. There is no story. Must have been a writers strike going on and the cast just kept acting and the crew just kept filming, and then the can was full. This movie is good for film school. All the professional capability in the world still can't fill a vacuum. I feel bad for the people who worked on this movie and then they have to show it to friends and family, everybody trying to be polite.
35 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not as good as some people say, not as bad.
buzzellwilliam16 June 2018
Okay, I agree with many of the criticisms posted on here, the plot is thin and unimaginative. But the acting is good- Ansel Eghorn is okay, the others are good. The cinematography is good, even the music is good if somewhat forgettable. A good Saturday afternoon watch, especially if you can pick it up free at the local library.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
this is horrible... this s a great elementary school project movie
luisms-5687815 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This s a great elementary school project movie, I can't take this seriously as anything else.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Is this even a movie
tilak13 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I was wondering if this even be called a full featured commercial movie. I got my answer when i explored it on IMDB. There was nothing to explore. I came to know that this is actually a direct to video movie with a very limited ,almost non existent theatrical release(Yawn!!). Actually limited release after the video release(i could not stop laughing!!) No wonder you can imagine how bad this movie is. Even the makers knew its crap so it went direct to video. I am confused about the genre of this alleged movie, you can call it anything you like. Its certainly not a thriller/mystery. This movie is more like a film school test movie. Even more surprising is that its based on a novel,which its certainly not. Looks like script writer just read the first few pages and filled the rest on its own. Its an insult to the novel writer. He should file a lawsuit for mentioning his name in the credits. Biggest problem of this movie is non existent plot. To find the killer all you have to do is ask around and foolishly follow the lead. Never mind if you are dealing with dangerous drug dealers. What's the point, just go around and ask the guy,

" yo dude i am looking for the guy who killed my friend would you be kind enough to tell me who it is. I promise i won't tell anyone that you told me."

Also the sissy guy took her girlfriend to drug dealers place who passed obscene remarks to her girl, but hey we are cool, never mind. Did i mentioned the best part of the movie, our hero use obsolete tech gadgets. A "pager", are you kidding me, who the hell use a pager. For once i thought movie is set in nineties, until her girlfriend pulled out an Iphone. The guy used to be rich so looks like he was cutting costs.

Its a big pile of crap, and lastly i would appreciate if someone could even tell me how the title is even remotely related.
19 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Moretz and Elgort shine in a very fine movie
jtindahouse8 November 2017
I really liked 'November Criminals'. There were certain scenes that blew me away how well they were crafted and how impactful they managed to be. The film's strongest quality is undoubtedly the chemistry between its two leads. Chloë Grace Moretz and Ansel Elgort were an absolute pleasure to watch. In fact they were so good I remember thinking to myself at one point that these two must be together in real life because they are just so good together.

It's very clear that this was based on a novel. I didn't know that for sure while watching but I was almost certain, and sure enough turned out to be right. It just has that feel about it. I find that movies based on a novel often have grittier characters who have been through a lot more trauma in their life than characters in screenplays written directly for the screen.

The characters are great, the cast is outstanding and the story is interesting, well paced and though-provoking. It really is hard to find fault with this movie. An already short run time absolutely flies by before you know it. I would thoroughly recommend giving 'November Criminals' a watch.
41 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Better than I expected
me-589-1456439 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This isn't the finest piece of film-making you'll see, but it's far from the worst. The cast is small, with Ansel Elgort and Chloë Grace Moretz an ideal pairing for the lead roles.

The story establishes itself quickly and unfolds at a steady pace. The climax should have been sharper, but it's passable. The characters could have been developed more deeply, especially considering there's some history on show that wasn't touched on in sufficient detail for it to be meaningful. Though well handled cinematically (and some would say realistically), the inevitable sexual relationship the lead characters embark on wasn't really necessary in terms of storytelling aside from what was a solid ending. That being said, the writing and directing were adequate, and the cast as a whole didn't disappoint.

If you're looking for a film that skews younger, isn't too long, isn't overly emotional or complex, and gets the basics right in most cases, November Criminals is worth a look.
13 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Let's hope for December
gopiamar-110 November 2017
I thought it would be an intriguing film with the well defined actors and i will be glued to the screen as the the plot was supposed to find the killer.Addison(Ansel Elgort) never did.till the climax.The Director(Sacha Gervasi) completely wasted all the talents in this cinema.that's really a waste of time watching this stupid irrelevant screenplay which never went with the plot.i could agree at a certain point of screen logic.but this fails all the way.just skip it.save your time.The Director(Sacha Gervasi) seems to be from stone age.Either he should get into a film school and learn basics or he should at least learn a few film making skills from watching movies.
27 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
flat
brittanybegley-5309920 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The casting was fantastic, they all had amazing chemistry, and had they screwed that up I likely wouldn't even be giving this 4 stars. This story was flat, when I was in middle school I remember learning about plot lines how its supposed to be a wave, but this was like a straight line. There's too much going on, as well, his mom died, he has an undefined relationship with Chloe's character, his friend is murdered, random school stuff, apparently he used to be rich and his dad maybe worked for a paper but we get no clarification on any of that, Kevin (the friend who was murdered) isn't a gang member, but seems to be a drug dealer, which is never explained, like is he a drug dealer? if not what's with all the drugs? how does he end up in this situation? And the guy who set up the murder the second he's introduced you know its him, but is he really that dumb that he would have a kid murdered mid day infront of a ton of people, and then when another kid start snooping around provide him with enough information that they catch him? It's all wrapped up too neatly there's no climax to the story and so many just unanswered questions. Like odd how Phoebe's best friend is questioning her about Addy's behavior, and then ends up with a giant drug delivery from the dealer responsible, is she more informed then we know? Did Kevin get into drugs with her? I feel like if the answered more things, rather then creating more questions this would have been a better film
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Soporific
MonsieurMS15 November 2018
This had all the makings of a really cute and interesting film. Instead, it managed to take some interesting plots and turn them into pedestrian and boring scenes. There is no pacing, no suspense, no tension. The acting is perfunctory. The directing is routine. Everything is by the numbers. It's a shame, but there just isn't anything here.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Broad appeal
Gordon-116 February 2018
This film tells the story of a young high school boy who is determined to find out who killed his school mate in an execution style shooting.

The high school guy's motive for doing so is explained in the film, but I find it rather unconvincing. Hence, I find the story a bit forced, and that he behaves recklessly and irresponsibly. Fortunately, the story does not concentrate on the hunt for the killer, and has some teenage topics as well. This broadens the film's appeal, and I enjoyed watching it as a result.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Novembers Crime
vazgav14 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
One of the worst movie to release this year, underdeveloped characters, hopeless story-line, at first I taught the main character was gay and wanted to come out of the closet, That would have been some plot twist.

Why is main character stuck with late 80's technology ?

Why does he have a hot friend ? (how did that develop)

Why is he focused on knowing what happened to his friend ?

God this movie is boring A.F, Class cast but poor story-line and characters. The movie has no enjoyable part at all.

Plot drags till the end, Who killed Kevin, well Fk knows I mean literally even the main character does not know.

How such plots get approved to get a budget and make a movie for all to regret entering the theater.
12 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
not enough research
natcalgary29 November 2018
This movie could have been so much better if the writer or director or who-ever had done their research. The way the whole "gang" scenes played out felt like it was written by someone who was upper class or just so naive they they don't understand the way gangs work. Too bad because the acting was not that bad..... but didnt feel real enough for me

4.1
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Just Enough
horizonbts-206-62833618 November 2017
I love both of the leads in this one, Ansel Elgort I have loved him ever since "The Fault in Our Stars" and Chloe Grace Moretz ever since "Kick Ass" and "Kick Ass 2". In actuality I think they helped carry this movie and script. The story just gives us enough for the ride, but felt as though they could have given the stars a better vehicle and more to go with. It is about a friend that is tragically killed in a robbery where he works and then after leaves the main character questioning the murder. Most of the movie is about our main character Addison played by Elgort digging in to find out more about the tragedy and the why's. It's believable as I found myself thinking if a good friend of mine was murdered I would want to know why. Again it leaves us with just enough intrigue to peak our interest as viewers. I payed to stream it online with a friend and neither of us were disappointed, even my friend liked it more and would have rated it a 10 over the 8 I gave it. Again I think our two main characters are great talents and I will seek them out in any movie they star in. Perhaps you will wait to see it on a DVD, but by any means do so as I think it's quite an enjoyable ride!!
11 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Painfully boring
al_luk26 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Ansel Elgort has been an actor that could almost do no wrong over the past few years where as Chloe Moretz was a talent who is slowly fading into the abyss.

I wanted to like this movie and gave it every chance to succeed however it is just painfully boring and nearly unwatchable. Ansel's mum died and then his friend is gunned down in a coffee shop. Ansel then goes on an endless search to try and find the person who killed his friend.

Ansel and Chloe's friendship is never really explained and then for some bizarre reason they become F buddies. There sex scenes are full on cringe and there is absolutely no chemistry between them whatsoever. It's odd too because they had such great chemistry in 2013's Carrie.

Both Ansel and Chloe have over the top irritating parents who's roles serve no other purpose than to annoy the viewer. Finally there is no action, no suspense, no drama just two imbeciles wandering around trying to solve a murder. The dialogue is comically bad at times.

Garbage.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Uhhhhh
gpropeack16 March 2019
I thought I really liked this movie but now I can't remember anything that happened in it. The dads acting was pretty good I think.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Very poorly thought out storyline
alysewheeler1 October 2018
Very poorly thought out storyline. Contains no lesson or main idea. Its' like they were given an hour to write a movie about romance, drama, and crime. Very boring and not worth the waste of time.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Liked the cast. Did not like the movie.
erikacunanan2912 July 2018
MORE REVIEWS AT booksequalhappiness.blogspot.com

REVIEW: This movie really didn't make much sense to me. I don't know what's the purpose of it. Ansel Elgort and Chloe Moretz are both amazing actors and the only reason why I watched this movie was because of them. The plot wasn't anything new. I didn't care much for the characters because we knew nothing about them. We were just led to believe by Addison that Kevin wouldn't do anything like that. I think at some parts Addison made stupid and rash decisions that could have almost gotten him killed. I felt like I wasted my time after watching it.

SHOULD YOU WATCH IT: If you don't want to waste your time, no. WOULD I WATCH IT AGAIN: Definitely not.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
The story is very weak
MooWoolf115 March 2018
Director, cinematography ok. Love Chloe, the guy is pretty weak. His emotions on his face.. had nothing to do with the movie.

But the worst was the story. It was so damn weak. The biggest twist was also so bad.. Gave 5 for Chloe..
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
I wasn't very amused with November Criminals,
mohamedmassoud-7147025 February 2018
NOVEMBER CRIMINALS- 40% I was very excited for this movie for the amazing actors like Ansel Elgort and Chloë Grace Moretz. However, the story was average without any revealing plots or interesting rising actions. I liked how Sacha Gervasi showed the character development, and the closure. The movie is Okay. Story wise and execution: 9.4/35 Acting: 10/25 Camera work: 10.5/20 Sound: 9.6/20
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Interesting story premise, not developed particularly well.
TxMike15 May 2019
I managed to catch this movie on Amazon streaming. It has a capable cast, including Ansel Elgort and Chloë Grace Moretz as teenage classmates and friends who decide to help each other understand the "sex" experience, plus David Strathairn and Catherine Keener as their respective parents.

The key storyline here is a classmate is gunned down while working at a local popular spot, apparently targeted. The police don't seem overly invested in solving the murder and early on assume the victim must have been in a gang, and it was gang related.

But Elgort's character knows he wasn't a gang member and sets about a dangerous path to find solve the crime, and Moretz's character gets involved as a matter of course.

There is something about the script and the pacing that just doesn't ring true, even considering that is it a fictional story. While it was mostly an interesting time-killer I could not recommend this movie.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed