Road Hard (2015) Poster

(2015)

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Ace Man Bringing It
jflassen18 July 2017
I think Ace is genius in all ways and this movie is no exception.For all these crappy reviews,(and reviewers) people just don't seem to understand how he thinks. To make a movie with funds raised by fans is no small feat! So resembling his life and true hardships. Loved it! Love the Ace Man.......👊👍
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Was I watching Adam's Podcast in movie form?
Cuomofo24 March 2015
First off, I think that Adam Carolla is hilarious and listen to his Podcast almost daily. However, when watching this movie, I felt as though I was watching his Podcast playing out in cinema form. Now, this probably wouldn't be a bad thing for viewers who do not listen to his Podcast. Almost every bit/joke in the movie I have literally heard over and over from his podcast.

The funniest bits from the movie are when Adam is telling jokes during live stand up shows in the comedy clubs. I know it's a comedy but some things are just over the top, like the portrayal of his quirky Agent Baby Doll. How many wig jokes can you make in a movie? This movie was very disappointing and in my opinion not very funny regardless of every joke already being heard on his podcasts. I know Adam is not an actor per say, but he's bad in this movie. He shows almost no emotion and he's very stiff throughout the entire movie. The supporting actors are also not very funny.

I really wanted to like this movie because I think that Adam Carolla is a comical genius, but in reality, he needs to stick to his Podcast and TV shows because being an actor in movies is not in his wheelhouse.
13 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Won Me Over
larrys37 November 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Bruce Madsen, portrayed by Adam Carolla, finds himself back on the road as a stand-up comic and quite miserable about it. Having gained a lot of celebrity from the TV series "Bro Show", but with no residuals coming in, and facing a huge college tuition bill for his daughter, Bruce feels he must endure the hassles of constant traveling while he waits for his agent to get him a better gig.

The humor here is highly acerbic, raw, and biting, with lots of explicit sexual references and jokes throughout. The film is also very satirical of the shallowness and phoniness of the "suits" in show business, who have no qualms about demeaning others who come before them for approvals.

To be honest, the movie got somewhat tiresome about mid-point, as it seemed to "hammer home" the same themes over and over. However, the filmmakers, Carolla and Kevin Hench, "righted the ship" and got it going again so that it finished in a most uplifting and enjoyable way.

I thought Diane Farr was very charismatic in her role as Sarah, a possible love interest for Bruce, while Cynthy Wu added well to the mix as Bruce's daughter Tina. There's a myriad of comedians in the film, but I thought that David Alan Grier stood out, as well as the great Larry Miller, as Bruce's agent "Baby Doll", who's living the high life and is always surrounded by 3 ginormously breasted women.

Overall, if the raw and explicit humor doesn't turn you off, you might find a number of laughs here, and a movie that definitely ends on a high note.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A Disappointing Visual of His Podcast
TriggerPullerUSMC8 March 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Not sure how anyone can do a spoiler alert most who watch this will be fans will have heard each bit 20 times. So as someone that listens to his podcast I feel like I have heard every single bit in the movie. I basically rented a movie version of his podcast. And the worst part is Adam always hammers the hack moves of Hollywood but then he does a movie with hack moves. Downtrodden dude meets girl? Got it. Dude is forced to make a hard choice and we watch him think long and hard about a decision? Yep there he is pushing his broom at an apparently very difficult small pile of wood shavings. Cheesy manager? Yep and worst part is Adam talked about the wigs so much that it wasn't even interesting to me by the time I saw the movie.

He just goes from podcast bit to podcast bit. If you listen to the show you basically got a full on preview the last 6 months as he jammed each bit at least 3 times. Dogs on planes? At least 5 different 20 minute rants. Teddy Pendergast played by DAG? So many times I lost count. I admit that bit is funny. Anyhow the movie is one tacky Hollywood scheme after another. And frankly he sucked at the stuff he bags on all the time.

And Adam just cannot act- Road Hard is exactly the same character as The Hammer and both sound and look a lot like him on his 2 shows and it made me realize that something very sad is going on here Adam has low self esteem and beats himself up. He is often a broken record and even when he interviews guests he spends much more time talking about himself. I guess if you aren't a fan of the show the movie may seem like a cute indie flick. And most fans of the show are rabid so they'll love it. And bad reviews will be dismissed. I recently stopped listening to the show due to the repetitive nature of it. I don't have it out for Adam I just honestly thought it was a really bad movie. I gave it a 4 but I think I am being generous. Sorry Adam you blew it.
15 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Half The Hammer
justinchend29 March 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I love Ace. I am one of donors in the credits of this movie.

Man, was this movie disappointing. And listening to Adam complain about critics' reviews is incredibly frustrating. (The LA Times's review, for example, is spot on. Negative reviews have nothing to do with Ace's politics.) A few illustrative points: 1. Show vs. Tell. Everywhere The Hammer succeeded -- construction, boxing, career frustration, romance, physical training -- it worked because the movie demonstrated those themes, without "telling" the viewer about the themes. Not so with Road Hard. Bruce was frustrated with his career; he describes his frustration. Bruce thinks he's funny; he says he's funny. Bruce can't stand his ex-wife; he says he can't stand his ex-wife. And so forth. The one exception to this is the nice conceit in which Bruce's stand-up routine is a voice-over for an actual on-the-road encounter with a motel receptionist.

2. Baby Doll. Oh, do I love Larry Miller. Oh, is this character lacking. In everything. It is a bad parody of bad showbiz agent parodies.

3. Diane Farr Romance. Not one part of this relationship was believable. From the way Farr's character off-handedly notes her first husband's death (?!?), to Bruce's heretofore unmentioned passion for woodworking upon his arrival at her workshop, to the climax of the movie ... it felt awfully rushed, like all the real exposition was on the cutting room floor.

4. Bruce. Question: is he the hero of this movie? Meaning, are we cheering for him? If yes, that's a problem, because he's a terrible person. This is the central hang-up in the movie. He treats his friends badly, his fans badly, and his potential employers badly. Then bitches about it. Daily listeners to Ace know it's obvious he loves his friends and family, and they know his other redemptive qualities. Bruce has none of them. His pure bitterness culminates in the dead-on-arrival, needlessly hateful line he gives to the homosexual casting agent. THIS is joke that makes the whole movie sink, for a lot of the reviewers. It may as well have been Bruce saying, "Shut up, faggot." It missed, by a long ways.

Others: the music was off, the stand-up felt like filler, and the reference to DAG's brilliant Teddy Pendegrast routine was limply presented.

All that said, I'll donate to the next venture.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Lethargic Acting, Hackneyed Premises
M_Exchange9 March 2015
A few people have written outstanding critiques about this film. As far as Adam's acting, he seemed as if he wasn't even in the moment of what was happening. He seemed as if he was distracted and/or exhausted possibly due to his other projects. I know that his character is actually tired of everything in his life anyway, but Adam delivered everything in the same monotone manner even when his character's life was improving.

Also, when I was in film school I received outstanding advice: never let a low budget movie LOOK like it's low budget. I never felt as if I was watching a well-produced feature film.

It's just a below average effort to me. I like some its messages such as the pull of L.A. versus a more "normal" lifestyle, which I'm experiencing myself now anyway. But I laughed at this thing only once, and I wasn't in it for the drama.
14 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Amusing and sincere look at the rise and fall of a stand up
jackmeat28 September 2015
My quick rating - 6,0/10. I know this may be biased since I do remember the days of being in junior high and staying up late to listen to Drew and Adam on Loveline late at night before bed. Adam Corolla was always and still is a very witty comedian which is basically what this movie is about. I am not sure just how accurate this movie is but I know a lot of it is his story. That being said, his acting is just him being, well, him. The additional characters in the movie do a good job in support, even to the point of ridiculous (Larry Miller stole the show here as Baby Doll) Even when there was time to show a bit of emotion it still was believable. Overall a funny drama about the stand up world that I am sure is very true for some and worth a watch to fans of comedy.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good movie made in a garage (apparently).
rkhen2 September 2015
Unlike many here, I had never heard of Adam Carolla before I happened on this movie.

I liked it. Yeah, it's a little formula. But it does the formula well. Would it have worked as a big-budget Hollywood rom-com? Who cares? The home movie feel of it is a character in its own right. The performances are all good, the main plot is brilliant (stand-up who's so-so on-stage but hilarious in real life; good set-up for a portrait of a guy busting his head to make it in show-biz), and Howie Mandel kills as himself in a bit part that's simultaneously reality-TV immediate and probably not him at all.

Bottom line: this guy did good with what he had. It's watchable. You'll wish the character well. You'll understand his predicament. You'll be glad you rode along on his roller-coaster.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Adam Carolla is the Rocky Balboa of stand up comic in "Road Hard"
Ramascreen6 March 2015
A few years ago, Adam Carolla starred in a great little movie called "The Hammer" and as I recalled it, he was this nice underdog boxer that you'd just want to root for even though part of you is saying that he probably didn't stand a chance. Now, Carolla has come back from his years of doing his usual podcast or radio personality gig, to deliver us yet another movie, marking his directorial debut, "Road Hard" and it has that same charm again, he plays a comedian whose world around him seems to come spiraling down when his movie and sitcom career has run dry, he's doing his best to hold his head above water and you want so badly to root for the guy to make a comeback but part of you is wondering if he'd stand a chance. And that same charm is what makes ROAD HARD another great little movie in my book.

Adam Carolla co-directed, co-scripted and starred in this comedy that's more or less inspired by his own experiences as a stand up comedian. Carol has had a great career but his character in this film, Bruce, hits a point in his life asking what the hell is he still doing out on the road while all of his other comedian friends seem to be getting good gigs either on TV or in movies. His old teammate now has his own talk show but Bruce has to keep traveling from one hotel room to the next. He's divorced and struggling to provide for his daughter who loves him. ROAD HARD really is mid-life crisis seen through the eyes of Adam Carolla and his writing partner, Kevin Hench. They pretty much did all they could to create this very miserable character, you can't hit a lower rock bottom than the one Bruce is experiencing, but as they say, when you're at the bottom, the only way to go is up and I think Carolla and Hench did a good job of slowly but surely constructing that light at the end of the tunnel again for Bruce, by letting the character prioritize first, listing things that matter to him in his life, before the hopeful conclusion.

I think ROAD HARD is fascinating in that it gives you a non-glamorous picture of the life of a comedian, it's not all laughs and giggles, you would think that because they're funny on stage, they could easily just brush off their day-to-day problems with a couple of jokes but they're just as doubtful and as frustrated, sometimes furious, as the rest of us. ROAD HARD is funny but also surprisingly heartwarming.

I don't think that this is a movie that kicks you when you're down, if anything, I think the level of misery is just the right amount for the audience and the character Bruce himself to see angles and openings either around the corner or ahead of you. And once again, Carolla brings that approachable sense to his character, something that I think Carolla doesn't have to try too hard to exude, because he's the kind of guy who may at first seem like you wouldn't want to gamble on him or take a chance on him, but if you do, it pays off.

Check out more at Ramascreen.Com
14 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Watchable, but not funny or very engaging
jadavix30 July 2016
"Road Hard" is a watchable, though fairly uninteresting comedy.

Few comedy movies are funny, and even fewer American comedians are. The movie and the protagonist don't break either mould, though Carolla is likable as the lead.

I didn't like this one as much as his movie "The Hammer", which was a lot more interesting. It's a movie about a down-on-his-luck comedian travelling around doing shows with varying degrees of failure. He used to be on a TV show called "The Bro Show" and his co-star, played by Jay Mohr, is now hosting a Letterman-style TV show that is the highest rated in the US.

I think the movie needed more moments of truth. There is one monologue Carolla gives about having to compete with Youtube stars as a middle aged comedian. The movie needed more bits like that; many of the aspects of Carolla's character, like him having an adopted Asian daughter, and his weird, wig wearing manager, seem too obviously fake and forced.

There is something particularly embittered about a comedian on skid row. Being forced to find humour in a dark situation, and being funny on stage when their life off it is anything but. "Road Hard" would have done better to embrace this, rather than avoid it.

I'd love to see this material handled by the likes of Todd Solondz.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Funny movie!
ithinkmyemailaddressis1 October 2016
' ' ' Yeah! One of the few movies I've had laugh-out-loud moments in, for years.

Carolla really nails the mid-life crisis moments of a career gone off the rails, slowly, inexorably, unexplainably, or really never having one, as one turns the corner in life to realize it ain't gonna happen. Every man will recognise Carolla's character, sack-kicks, the humiliation and smile to themselves.

The smoking/credit card scene is worth the price of admission.

They don't make movies like this anymore—Although they just did, eh?—as it's just a decent story, with good character development.

John Candy used do flicks like this, that didn't do box-office boffo, but were just good little flicks.

I think this'll do a lot better in rotation, than it did in the theatres.

It's for a different audience than your action-oriented fan but well worth the time.

SweetDoug
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A delayed Rom Com. If you like stand up, give it a shot
iantrader18 May 2018
Ok! I love stories about artists - writers, poets, artists, musicians, comedians - but I really didn't expect to like this. Two of the writers are also the directors and one of the writers is also the star! Recipe for disaster!

Except it's not quite. It's billed simplay as a comedy but it's more a delayed rom com.

The progression through the story is engaging. Adam Carolla (who I have never heard of, unlike some reviewers here) plays an excellent part and Diane Farr is simply brilliant as the love interest. The other actors are excellent, too, even those in bit pats and there are far too many to mention.

It may not be a laugh-out-loud movie - that depends on your frame of mind when watching it - but it is 'amusing' and it did keep me watching. It's a solid piece of work and if you enjoy a touch of rom with your com or simply like to see a little of the world of stand up then this will be worth your while.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Laughing on the outside, crying on the inside
StevePulaski19 March 2015
Adam Corolla and Kevin Hench's Road Hard is a wonderfully dark comedy, not just examining the principles and day-to-day life of being functionally lonely and starved for "something more," but giving us an uproariously funny and simultaneously dark illustration of the life of a struggling comedian. Films like this plunge us into worlds we either didn't put much thought into prior to seeing a film like this or worlds we simply shortchanged and didn't imagine could be so complex. Like I said when the tragic suicide of Robin Williams occurred in mid-2014, it's shocking how many comedians are seen laughing on the outside but crying on the inside.

The film revolves around Corolla's Bruce Madsen, years after his acting career has stalled, leaving him to do a series of standup comedy routines at third rate comedy clubs just to make a living. He spends his nights in budget hotels, plagued by his divorce with his wife (Illeana Douglas) which has left him dead broke, seeing his partner Jack Taylor (Jay Mohr) on his old sitcom becoming a national success while his career flounders), and his own personal, stubborn attitude towards his fans and his current life situation. He trusts in his agent "Babydoll" (Larry Miller) to get him solid work, but all that materializes are more lackluster standup gigs, which pay low and demand a great deal of energy and time.

Right off the bat, while we're given room to sympathize with Bruce during the film, we're also given room to criticize him. Corolla and Hench pen the character with just the right amount of likability and personal damnation that we can recognize that a large part of his problem is that he, himself, prevents him from getting anywhere. Bruce isn't a person to compromise, and while he is often the funniest soul in any room he is in, he looks down upon his audience, his fans, and the people in his life, in an immaturely condescending fashion that does nothing but block him from achieving any kind of success.

Make no mistake, however, Bruce Madsen is also bound to be one of the funniest characters to be profiled on film this year. Bruce greatly reminds me of Larry David's playing his exaggerated self on HBO's Curb Your Enthusiasm, always getting himself into sticky situations because of his own inability to play the social game, admit fault, and constant need to make a bad situation worse by embellishing it (which also makes for great laughs). Consider the scene when Bruce decides to smoke half a cigarette in the bathroom of his hotel room, blowing the smoke into the air vent, and, upon arriving at the information desk to check out, realizes he is fined $250 his single cigarette. Rather than just admitting fault, Bruce has to make a scene, and, while it's a hilarious one, it clearly shows us why Bruce is stuck in this funk; he instigates and belittles, up until the point when he has alienated everyone within earshot.

Countless examples of this run amok in Road Hard, but, like any embarrassing or humiliating story, such antics make for great comedy. One of the many brilliant scenes in the film show Bruce having trouble with one of his hotel keys, and editor Ryan Brown smoothly juxtaposes Bruce's struggles with getting his hotel key to work with Bruce doing a standup routine about faulty hotel keys and the embarrassment that ensues when trying to get the problem remedied. Such a scene shows how us comedy is extracted from our daily shortcomings, difficulties, and hardships, and seeing the comedy routine interjected with the actual struggle shows us just how funny the situation is, whether we recognize it while it's occurring or not.

Road Hard, while bound to be one of the funniest films of the year, is also one of the saddest. It's a story of failing to live up to one's personal standards while being bogged down by one's personal ambitions. Bruce knows he is too good for certain jobs like being the warmup act for his best friend's late night TV show, but rather than trying out the job and seeing if he could work his way up, also earning a substantial, momentary income, he'll refuse and put up a fight, showing him as ungrateful and stubborn when he really knows what he's capable of and trying to live up to his personal standards. It's a sad circumstance that, I fear, many are going to be engaged in as the future comes; so many young people go into college with high ambitions and, while many emerge willing to do what they are permitted to do in a momentary sense in hopes to make big income later on, the select few that hold out and look for that right calling are viewed as lazy and unmotivated. Bruce isn't perfect in the slightest and has his own faults to speak of, but the fact Corolla, as a co-writer and an actor, won't sugarcoat those shows he recognizes those faults and portrays them in a humanizing light.

Road Hard is another film made about comedians by a comedian, showing the kind of lifestyle that entails for a person who does everything in their power to make another person laugh. One character in the film remarks how it's not that the person on stage telling jokes at that particular time is the most important individual but no one else in the room is the least bit relevant. It's all them and one of the few times in the world where all eyes are on you and nothing is expected of anyone else. Road Hard examines different facets and components of Bruce's life that sadden and liven in equal parts, making for a shockingly uplifting experience for the emotions. Above all, however, it's hysterically funny and appropriately poignantly.
8 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Honest, Beauttiful and Fantastic!
m196514 December 2015
Wow, what a surprise. Wasn't expecting much from this film tonight. Got a free AMAZON PRIME subscription and decided to check out some films this week. Tonight was "Road Hard". I thought, if it sucks i can flip it off after 10 minutes, no hassle - just find another. But after an hour I was still engaged. I'm not engaged easily.

First and foremost, this is a very well written movie. The dialog is honest, true - and funny. That's a hard combination to do and do well. Perhaps it's because I'm a middle aged man searching for all the same answers Bruce Madsen was, or just simply appreciated the honesty in the script, acting and dialog. Whoever cast this film should get a huge pat on the back. You know some films where your 10 minutes in and think "who the hell cast this thing, none of these actors have chemistry or remotely fit their characters!!!". Been there, done that. Not here. No way. This is perfection. Yes, there are several well known actors in this film, but several that aren't - and EVERYONE does a fantastic job. The story flows like a river knowing where it's going - and the actors tug at your heart frequently.

It's films like this that re-instill my faith in Hollywood. That make me more willing to take a chance on a film, even though a major, proved actor isn't a part of it. This film is so much better than so many other films I've seen this year with a budget much larger. What a gem. What a diamond in the rough. Don't hesitate, watch this. You won't be sorry!
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The long and winding road
Prismark1027 July 2018
Adam Carolla co-wrote, co-directed and stars as Bruce Madsen. A comedian who made it big with a hit sitcom but since it ended, he is back on the road playing small clubs while his former partner is a successful talk show host.

Bruce lives in the garage of his former marital home. His ex wife does not like him being in her house even to visit their adopted daughter who is looking to go to college. Bruce is happy in the garage, he spent more time there when he was married doing woodwork.

Bruce is funny, his humour is acerbic. Bruce knows this and he sees himself as being funnier than a lot of comedians that are on television. However as his very successful ex comedy partner Jack Taylor (Jay Mohr) reminds him that Bruce did not play the game to stay at the top. Being funny is not enough to sustain a showbiz career.

Road Hard is a bittersweet comedy looking at life of a comedian who is past his prime. It actually is funny in a low key way. Obviously Carolla has seen guys like Bruce or he might even be Bruce himself. However Carolla is not a strong enough actor here, his character comes across as one note. It is also hard to sympathise with his character. Bruce's agent (Larry Miller) and friends are correct that if only he kissed some butt and played the game, he would be more successful.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A movie about a mediocre 'comedian'
emutually24 November 2018
No wonder it is on i-flix! A movie about a comedian who makes all those boring, mediocre 'jokes' or one liners at stand up shows, has a rough personal life, says some ignorant things, and can't seem to figure out why an actual talent hunting agency won't hire him-how many of these do we need in Hollywood? Also, the characters in the film are so one dimensional in nature, it became cringe worthy at one point. This adam carolla guy, does his facial expressions ever change? Even if the script is bad, you can expect to see some good acting, which is not present in the film either. Took me 3 days to finish it because I felt asleep everytime I watched it.

The movie got one thing correct though-you don't need any unique talent to be a comedy show host or have a comedy movie out in Hollywood.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Pathos of the career ending embittered comedian
shakercoola29 July 2018
The sudden shift in tone to romance feels a little forced to achieve a story arc. It feels too convenient, and there isn't much chemistry between the two actors. There is a poignancy to the film, however, and some of the scenes where he performs stand-up are funny for what goes wrong with the set. Trouble is, the standup routines that are trying to be funny, are not very funny, and the other comedians don't seem very funny for what they offer - and this was unintentional I think. Road Hard just feels like it is made with the conventions of a sitcom rather than a movie.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Good movie to watch..remember parental guidance of topless scenes
brooklyn-de-106-92482618 August 2017
First I am surprised the movie had a budget of 1.5 million dollars without any hi-fi's.,.The story is good, the main character played well! For those who love nude scenes, they will be happy with sudden appearance of actress Aria London great naked boobs covering entire screen in the swimming pool!!! Hard to see :)
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed