Like a Country Song (2014) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Fame isn't Always Fortune
sackenziwalker25622 August 2014
Like a Country Song is a great film in the sense that it shows the life of a famous musician from many angles and perspectives. What I mean is that it shows both the good and the bad. Jake Reeson the main character in this story has the good life, the fact that he is rising to fame. However the worse parts of his life involve his problems in his own relationships, and addictions. I went to the theater because I wanted to watch a good drama and I heard that the film Like a Country Song recently came out in Appleton Wisconsin. I love how the film shows that there are always two sides of the story; like the side of Jake Reeson the up and coming country singer, and Bo Reeson the father who wasn't there for him. The only thing I wish that the movie did better is make the standoff scene between Jake and his dad Bo Reeson more dramatic.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
From Forgiveness to Fame
kbwuugus545421 August 2014
The movie Like a Country Song is a film that shows the miraculous power of forgiveness that every person will most likely encounter sooner or later in their life. I'm from Texas originally but I don't like country music too much, but after having seen this film I sort of changed my mind. In the movie Like a Country Song Jake Reeson is an up and coming country singer who is quite destined for fame. Despite his natural talent for music and song he struggles to achieve his goals due to addiction, drinking, and partying. It's up to him to get over with the demons of his past in order to move on with his life. This means being able to reconcile with his father who left him at a young age. The film has a good solid plot, with all the pieces of the storyline very well connected together. The only drawback is that the film focuses so much on Jake Reeson's personal life, but it has a lot of good music scenes which is what I like.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Elimination of Grudges
TeonJaya22 August 2014
There is this great movie that me and my friends saw in Texas a few days ago, and it's called Like a Country Song. There are many things to be said about the movie Like a Country Song that keeps echoing many themes of life like redemption, forgiveness, and one's ego. What's interesting to see is how the star Jake Reeson changes from an up and coming star who feels like he almost owns the world to someone who nearly loses everything including his career. What I like is the fact that the film shows that one's ego and anger of the past can get in the way of one's future. This is something that many people don't believe but it is very true. The only thing I dislike about the film is that it should focus more on his musical career and less on his personal life. Apart from that it shows the power that forgiveness has on one's emotional inner pain.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
The Power of Music Within Us
maddexsernandez78922 August 2014
I was almost tempted not to watch this movie at first because I'm not a Billy Ray Cyrus fan but he did a brilliant job. I'm from Nashville Tennessee by the way and my girlfriend sort of dragged me to see the film, and it first I was hesitant but in the end I decided to go. I really enjoyed the title song he sings in the movie. The song is special to the film and seems to reflect the pain his character went through in the movie. The pain came from his inability to get over the past, and he sings about how his life was falling apart. But then the special moment comes when he finds the nerve to keep singing that same song until he discovers that his life might be coming back together pretty soon. It goes to show that music can help heal the wounds of someone's past mistakes and sometimes one song can make all the difference in the world.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great for a family
forsythkathryn11 August 2018
Great movie about forgiveness. Many lessons to learn. I usually think of Billy Ray as being a little cheesy, but he did a great job in this movie. It was surprisingly great.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Moving in mysterious ways
bkoganbing8 October 2016
If you like country&western music with a little bit of the gospel thrown in than Like A Country Song should fill your needs. The film is not too tightly wrapped together in terms of direction and editing.

Billy Ray Cyrus country star and now better known as the father of Miley Cyrus plays a washed up country&western singer who after a terrible family tragedy left his family to seek solace as an alcoholic. He succeeds in becoming an alcoholic, how much solace he got is open to interpretation. Wife Jennifer Taylor told their son who grew up to be Joel Smallbone that dad had died.

Wouldn't you know it, the kid grows up to be an aspiring country singer and reunites with Cyrus under unusual circumstances. As this is a Christian film it all works out under the auspices of a Deity that moves in mysterious ways.

The music score is the best thing the film has going for it. The film does lack direction, the players are sincere enough.

For church audiences only.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Talent in the Rough
JockyaChan22 August 2014
I have to say the only downside to the movie Like a Country Song is that I never personally liked country music much. However I live in Nashville, and one of my friends persuaded me to go see the film and I thought I wouldn't like it much, but I was pleasantly surprised. The movie is extremely motivational, not to mention truly inspiring. It shows how a person's past can get in the way of one's future. In the film Like a Country Song the main character Jake Reeson is a talented up and coming country singer, but the only thing getting in the way of his success is his past. He has to deal with the trouble he is having of forgiving his father for abandoning him at a young age. The only thing I disliked was I wanted the film to emphasize the how it's not easy to forgive some people. Specifically someone who hasn't been there for me as a parent my whole life.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Redemption is Not Perfection
raajd21 August 2014
I enjoyed watching this film for many reasons. First of all the actors were great, and very believable. Another thing I liked about the movie Like a Country Song is that it not only represented the concept of the up and coming country star, but it placed emphasis on their lifestyle. The idea that nobody in life is flawless or perfect, and the importance of redemption and forgiveness. This is very true for many artists that come from the famous city of Nashville where I live and have witnessed some of these great performances myself. However what I must point out is that despite the excellent quality of the film I just wish there would be a couple more extra scenes showing how Jake Reeson becomes a famous star. Apart from that the life lessons were really good, and I like how the film shows that the most talented people in the world are capable of making the simplest mistakes in life
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Reconciliation through Redemption
MrBenNa21 August 2014
The movie Like a Country Song, has it's upsides as well as its downsides. One of the downsides is that not everybody likes country music, unlike myself cause I'm from Nashville; the city in which part of the story takes place. The upsides are that the plot is very well connected. Something else I likes was that it presented the characters individually at first and showed how they view the world from their own perspectives. However I wished the story would place more emphasis on the character's musical career. What I enjoyed though is that the movie allowed every character to develop in his or her own way. The story progressed swiftly enough without giving away too much of the plot, and it will keep you watching the movie until the very end
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Forgiveness is the Key to Action and Freedom
webpun21 August 2014
After watching the movie Like a Country Song, I still can't get my mind off, of the feel-good country music that works like a perfect plot device in the story. What's perfect is that I live in a place where music is everything in Nashville. There is always something happening in this town. Music is a very powerful device that can trigger either good or bad emotions in a person. In the movie it serves as an echoing reminder of the conflict in the story. Towards the end of the film there is a scene with Bo Reeson, the father of Jake Reeson the young up and coming future country star. In the scene Bo Reeson reprises his own role as a country singer and sings about his life and the past. This one song sums up the whole reason why he left his son Jake Reeson, why he drank, and above all how his whole life turned upside down because of one event.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The Drug of Fame
Nuekeee22 August 2014
Like a Country Song is not only entertaining, but has a lot of moral values. It can teach people a lot about morality specifically about forgiveness and redemption. These qualities are important no matter how old someone is and what one's profession is. I saw the movie trailer and the film came out in Austin Texas, so I went with some of my friends to the local theater since I liked country music my whole life. You can be a famous or soon-to-be famous country singer like Jake Reeson in the movie. Yet this person might still be lonely, or have a life full of addiction or personal problems that might get in the way of one's future successes. This is true for almost any famous or talented individual.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The Musical Gift of God
kaddoxgnzalez3222 August 2014
I was really just shocked by the role that music plays in the movie Like a Country Song. Despite the fact that I normally don't listen to music by Billy Ray Cyrus, I really loved listening to him due to this film. I'm from Wisconsin but part of the film takes place in Nashville where I once lived so I thought it might be a good idea to go and watch it. I can relate to the movie as I once pursued an artistic career myself. I was persuaded to keep watching because he not only put on a great performance but he did something more than that. He actually showed the truth that musicians and artists have other struggles, and these things can take a toll on us.  It goes to show that it's easy to criticize someone not knowing their situation. However the character Bo Reeson eventually goes through his own transition and reconciles with his family.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The music was so bad I could not watch the movie
climbingivy21 February 2015
Warning: Spoilers
This movie did not need to be made. It was terrible and all I can say is the so called country music was so heinous that I could not take the movie seriously. Bad acting by that no talent Billy Ray Cyrus who made the asinine mullet popular back in the decade of the 1990s.The fake accents by the majority of the actors. The outfits worn by the actors especially the women actresses were just awful. They all looked like they were auditioning for the Beverly Hillbillies. I will say this again, I would try to get into the story and then another lousy song would come on and make me cringe. I have to say that in the year 2015 there is no good music from anyone in all types of music. Do not waste your time unless you like fake accents, bad costumes and terrible sounds that they call music. If you want to torture Islamists for information, just have this movie playing.I would not recommend this movie to my worst enemy.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Talent in the Rough
Mertcans22 August 2014
I have to say the only downside to the movie Like a Country Song is that I never personally liked country music much. However I live in Nashville, and one of my friends persuaded me to go see the film and I thought I wouldn't like it much, but I was pleasantly surprised. The movie is extremely motivational, not to mention truly inspiring. It shows how a person's past can get in the way of one's future. In the film Like a Country Song the main character Jake Reeson is a talented up and coming country singer, but the only thing getting in the way of his success is his past. He has to deal with the trouble he is having of forgiving his father for abandoning him at a young age. The only thing I disliked was I wanted the film to emphasize the how it's not easy to forgive some people. Specifically someone who hasn't been there for me as a parent my whole life.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed