Star Wars: Episode VII - The Force Awakens (2015) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
4,508 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
A Rerun With A Continuity Gap
jen-foller2 December 2018
I am not the world's biggest Star Wars fan, but I have watched the old episode 6 (and the 2 before it). Star Wars: The Force Awakens is number 7, but in number 6 Leia, Luke and her resistance rebels were victorious. In this film they are again rebels and just have one base again and so forth. What is going on here? The scenes are borrowed, but the acting is inferior also. I am writing this and becoming confused. What happened?
176 out of 199 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I Rather Watch the Dotard's home video boinking Ivanka than this
brannickimari7 May 2019
All cashing in, no soul.

If you want to call your film Star Wars, but are happy to leave the existential matter behind, it creates a product without much of a value..
67 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Something Very Wrong In Hollywood And The American Movie System
James-Navarro29 October 2018
Forty years ago a man named George Lucas launched a saga of fantasy, hope and adventure. It was inspired, but new, different and still original.

Fast forward forty years and the system, output and control is dominated by people who just clone (remake/reboot/sequel), who have no love or care for the 'product' (Kathleen Kennedy, JJ Abrams, Iger, et cetra) and are mostly versed in marketing, launch, cost/benefit analysis and universes.

Audiences have responded by pouring a billion dollar into a system that forgoes good acting, a semblance of story and a sense of originality for franchising, sales technique and cliches presented as modernism. No, let's not forget theme parks and co-branding with burger chains and car dealerships.

Does anyone here think for one second JJ Abrams is a trekkie or fan of the force? That Kathleen Abrams has a clue what a Jedi is? That the regularly scheduled weekly gender switch film actually anything to do with originality and not because Hollywood studio execs actually do it as a matter of doing the routine? That any of this has to do with the love of film as opposed to cost projection analysis? Does anyone actually think it is a coincidence that every single super hero with super powers has become a comic and that children take their parents and watch them like they have attended a clown's comedy tour?

The Force Awakens is a nonsense piece of frizzled offal offered by cynical self-important offenders. Yet, the fault is not with the pathetic pushers. The fault is with the audiences who attend, watch and purchase a movie that is nothing more than this week's gender switch row on an accounting balance sheet complete with yet another death star that has the same flow as three death stars before it and a member of a clone troop squadron that looks nothing like the man he was cloned from.

It is time to go outdoors for a jog, to learn how to grind coffee at home or plant a tree in the backyard and nurture and tend to it until it fully grows. You know, doing useful and new things...
167 out of 189 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A Few Things This Reboot Lacks
donnie_two_bits3 December 2018
Reason For Existence

Good directing

Good actors

Good actresses

Sense

Logic

Consistency With Star Wars

Consistency With The Force And Jedi Philosophy

Politeness (to not steal money from people)
215 out of 246 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Why not?
james-mcewan3 November 2018
In a country that votes for a dotard who imported Chinese steel, stiffed American suppliers and workers, hired illegal aliens in Florida, married a foreigner who worked here illegally, declared bankruptcy three times and of course is making his merchandise in China, but is voted for by "nationalist" voters LMFAO we have a sequel that is a remake that is devoid of any merit,a rt, imagination, hope or acting/directing capability and yet makes a billion dollars.

Enough Said.
248 out of 285 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just A Tool To Make Money For Disney
zde-0324511 December 2016
I do not have a hard time placing this film. On one side it's so typically hollywoodish - it's a super-production with Star Wars-related content that would make it probably to many Fan film festivals. It's very conventional in its Sunday morning TV message and the morality tale that it tells is quite conventional, and of course, we know the end of the story, either because we have watched Star Wars or because we have seen enough films from Hollywood or for both reasons. On the other side it's a film by JJ Abrams, so there is a dose of mainstream story-telling and inexplicable plot developments in its characters. The special effects are 100% created for the movie and uninspired.

So it's the story of Episode IV without any twists.

What makes it worse are elements of fan fiction in the story telling, distracted (but not awful) acting from Leia, Rey and others and the computer-generated special effects which succeed to create a level of thrill to a story. Did we need this story and episode? At this level of amateurishness the answer is no.
454 out of 529 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Boring and ignores the last 6 episodes
quinceycobain8 June 2019
I am writing this review to counter the last of the reviews written by JJ Abrams. I don't know what anyone liked about this movie. It was completely boring, unrealistic and way too ignorant. It did not even have a new plot and made no sense for anyone who watched episode 6. It is just a huge weird, confusing and dull movie. Wasted my life's precious hours.
64 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Hollywood Needs To Get A Grip
rosalind-softchoice27 December 2018
This is unimpressive. Most unimpressive. Scraping the bottom of the barrel. There was so much the director, writer and studio could do because there is a wealth of good material out there in Disney fiction, books and comics, but because they wanted to insert a Disney princess who is a Mary Sue they couldn't do that so instead we get this. Why remake a film that you know you cannot match and is readily available on DVD??
125 out of 141 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I do not understand
vxk-0986229 June 2018
Disney has money. Disney has lots of money. Why didn't they hire a good director and good actors? Why do they bring inferior amateurs to film and play in Star Wars? Could someone explain this to me? Also, whya re they remaking and yet calling it a new episode. It is so confusing that the rebels won and now they are rebels again. Could someone tell me?
373 out of 434 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Jar Jar Abrams Shows up For Yet Another Gender Switch... How Original
dcn-1305517 February 2019
This is a creepy and unfunny movie. The Mary Sue has it easy and is wonderfully (cough cough) magical. This is Hollywood at its hammy worst. The joke of a cast barely bothers to make facial expressions. Harrison Ford is game, but has nothing to work with and the robot does what it can. But mostly I spent the movie cringing at the horrible script and Jar Jar's repulsive obeying Kathleen Kennedy's orders.
76 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What hollywood Shareholders Needed
robert-l-levy2 November 2018
The treasury department awakens.

After the painful sell out by George Lucas to the evil Disney empire we get this modern day cliche-laden standard issue gender switch reboot that will inspire a whole number of accounting departments to demand even more remakes and gender switch films with simplistic story lines. It's a sad movie where Star Wars becomes a simplistic and childish film where everything happens too easily for the ugly Mary Sue. Don't listen to the positive reviews by Disney contractors in India and The Philippines it's a sad attempt at bilking cash from morons.

That is all.
181 out of 207 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not Good
Dotard-Krusher197328 October 2018
Yes, Disney hired a perennial remaker to remake the original once more, but then none of the actors were very good either. I am not sure whether the director failed (in this respect too) or the casting crew were working on a tight budget.
141 out of 160 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disney Sucks
monica-sarna-to14 May 2019
0/10 Now THIS is RUBBISH! This movie is rubbish, childish, and well crafted to make money only. The film is incredibly stupid with joke after lame joke, Mary Sue, rip off and a horribly lazy plot.

This movie will make you hate Disney, and remind you how terrible JJ Abrams is. If you actually like Star Wars you will demand Disney go the way of the VHS.

It is safe to say that J.J Abrams has fulfilled his mission in bringing back Star Wars to its former glory! Cannot wait for Episode 9!

Rating: 10 out of 10
69 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Just so-so
Tereesa-kadlow-2-10128 November 2018
Perhaps I am not the biggest Star Wars film fan out there? I didn't have a father to take me to watch the original when it was released (and was probably not born yet). This film was not terrible exciting. It is probably better if you associate nostalgia with it. I am sure though that they gave character development short shrift.
133 out of 151 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Jar Jar Abrams Never Watched Star Wars Before
sufyanmesiah16 June 2019
Or he would know that the rebels won in Episode VI!

This is the Worst Star Wars-related show so far

I hate every scene of this reboot, there is always a joke, it does bore even if it says "Star Wars." This remake is the reason why I don't drive to the cinemaanymore, it reflects the era very well unfortunately. I hope they cancel Star Wars and let it recover from the emarassment for years.
110 out of 124 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Flatulence In A Galaxy Far Far Away
wayne-slater-can30 June 2019
There is a poor orphan girl who scavenges and has no money, house or friends...

But she is one of the best pilots in the galaxy and can pilot a spaceship into space ... even better than its owner and master of many years.

Yup said girl can maneuver space ships in deep space no problem.

I guess she learnt deep galaxy space travel on the side when she was done for the day scavenging and dumpster diving.

Barf at Mary Sue and her bf director
74 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Like dragging a corpse around
ixg-0000625 February 2018
Look in the real world what do you do when someone is dead? You bury the person or cremate them. You don't play cards with them or serve them dinner or take them to the friends' house.

Star Wars is dead (but we respect and cherish the old films, memories and legacy) and Jar Jar and his corporate raider buddies are still dragging around its corpse. Admit it, without ideas, vision or respect for Star Wars and its universe it is just a corpse.

It's done for and people who enable these corporate money traders by attending the showings are killing it for the universe.

I do want to say that the actors are not to blame. They are poor and untalented, but hey they need to put food on the table so I get it.
294 out of 342 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Two Hours Of My Life I Shall Not Get Back
gnt-159975 November 2016
As a woman I am embarrassed that every time they want to insert a woman hero into a movie it has to be so forced and so bogus. It's like we cannot have a woman who can act, can look good or be evolved. The acting in this movie is terrible and amateurish, but actually looks good compared to the greedy slithering money hunger of JJ Abrams and Disney. This would be the worst movie of the decade if someone had not already produced Noah and Ghostbusters 2016.

The only positive thing about The Force Dies A Boring Death is it will help me save $15 on tickets when the next forced sequel comes out. Respect yourself and boycott that crap.

JJ, shame on you. Money is not everything in this world.
273 out of 317 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz
qsc-4733031 July 2018
I have seen this. It was 1977/1980/1983. And the chick was called Leia and flaunted her thin beautiful body.

What is the reason they remade it with a Battlefield Earth craft that decades later still has power and runs???
288 out of 335 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I actually came to this movie the opposite of most people
gmu-6663321 July 2018
I watched a video on Vimeo that mocked and ridiculed this film so I borrowed the DVD from the library to see if it is that bad. It was completely true. This film is utter shambles. I cannot understand why the sequels are all universally bad and yet they keep making them. The question one supposes is why do people keep watching them. Do people have so much extra time on their hands? I am going back to my policy of not watching sequels. They are terrible.Compare this film to A New hope. The cast and crew should be ashamed of themselves. For instance, there is a guy who bought a darth vader mask at the toy store and he keeps forgetting he needs to be masked and takes it off. WOW
170 out of 195 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Thanks Guys
csm-556524 July 2018
Now that Di$ney and Jar Jar Abrams made a billion on this the lesson they learned is that copying older films is the way to go. How many more remakes do you think Di4ney will push now?? A hundred, two hundred? A million? Di$ney was already the master of money stealing, sucker trapping remakes with all the Hunchbacks and Robin Hoods they have released. Now that this remake worked JJ Abrams will be hired to hide another ten plans in ten robots and introduce so many death stars with the exact same flaw!!! PS: Next time get a hot girl in a microskirt. At least, that is something to look forward to if we have to put up with the gender switch
260 out of 302 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The Fantasy Of A Treasury Department
Abdul-Trump27 January 2019
If you want to experience a treasury department's fantasy, this is it!! :) For that it made money lots of it. The acting is even pretty bad, given that the writing is clumsy.
119 out of 135 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Disney's attempt to shove more Made in China Merch
mariusjolan8 June 2019
Trashy remake

I hate trash remakes and especially those which themselves too seriously, and this one does just that. I will probably remember this gender switch reboot forever, because it was so bad, it can never be unseen.

At least next time get us a pretty girl instead of the angry chick with a chip on her shoulder.
72 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Is It Not Time For A Preview Clip Of Episode IX?
dotard-wimp20 December 2018
Disney is about to upload a whiz bang video of Episode IX so as to start the hype machine and brainwash the low IQ masses with marketing. Then everyone will run to the theater for the latest side adventures of Mary Sue and the preteen crew... nah won't work let's get real. You can only food some of the people some of the time. JJ Abrams truly tipped his hand with TFA and bored the masses and embarrassed himself now that everyone is on to him. TFA showed no story telling ability and zero character development. He and the endless sequels are finished.

Sorry JJ. McJob is calling.
140 out of 160 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Rubbish
ixr-6626426 February 2018
I am not against re-makes automatically, but I am against re-makes because they are so bad and such a poor copy of the original. The re-make of The Thing from 1982 (I think) was a good one. JJ Abrams and Disney send us a pile of stinking poopoo with such bad actors that I was embarrassed for all concerned. This is purely a PC 2015 movie which by law (not by necessity or story) needs a superior woman. However, it backfired on the film makers because their heroine here was so bad, boring and magical. The Mary Sue picked up her light sabre, which she could not even name, and voila she is the lord master jedi of the universe. Some might say it was misandrist.
140 out of 160 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed