Your Pretty Face Is Going to Hell (TV Series 2013– ) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
19 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Awesome show. Great acting. A must view for comedy lovers.
tagger75-699-7652224 June 2013
Awesome show! I have never seen the acting of Henry Zebrowski (the actor who plays Gary, the main character) but I was amazed at his abilities and the subtle movements and faces he makes that really sells the jokes. The back up cast of Matt Servitto (the devil), Dana Snyder (Gary's old roommate)and Craig Rowin (Gary's intern) really complete the ensemble of excellence this show has achieved in my eyes. I am a huge fan of the work of Dana Snyder, and it is great to see him on the screen as a person, rather that a squid, a milkshake, or some weird programmer in a viking hat (code monkeys). I really hope this show lasts for more than one season, and that Henry Zebrowski gets the recognition he deserves out of it. The first episode I watched about 5 times in a row, and didn't get sick of it. I was fiending for episode two and was not disappointed when it finally came to air. I am now eagerly awaiting episode 7, and will loyally follow this show till it's end.
51 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Only live action short that should be on AS
MajBlade221 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I have been quite critical of the fact that AS has live action shows. To me the whole point is to have adult cartoons. However, when I came across this, I found it instantly funny. Compared to eric andrea show, and Tim and Eric, this is actually funny And even compared to some of those out there cartoons they show on their late night super stoners, this actually has a plot and good acting. I was disappointed that they have only made 7 episodes and haven't seen anything since. I am now hearing that it may be another year before more episodes come out. Like most networks even adult swim falls to that age old truisim, If its good they cancel it, if it sucks it gets green lit for 3 seasons
22 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I LOVE this show!!!
jimmyconwaykitty9 September 2015
I am so happy there is another season of this show, it's really FUNNY! There are so many tag lines, I love Matt Servitto as Satan, he really nails it - AHA! I like everyone one this show. I wish it was longer than 12 minutes. This show is the only reason I watch Adult Swim, until there are new Squidbillies. Even though the name is a mouthful the premise is hilarious and I like that Gary is nice, I don't remember what he did to go to hell, maybe they haven't explained that yet. This is one of the few shows I would actually buy the DVD set of, its pretty quirky and I love Gary's mistakes - Hail Satin!! I guess its kind of like The Office only in Hades and everything is on fire and the other workers are just trying to not get tortured, but there are so many opportunities for jokes, and the elevator is always full of scary things that come running out at you and of course you have to scan an ID to get the elevator to come to your floor and the ID machine will only read your card after the 700th time you scan it. This show is FUNNY!!
21 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I'm not in Hell watching this...
rayhaze6 June 2013
Another clever witty 15 min romp from the best network a 40 year old kid could find. The main character is a lovable screw up that reminds us of a lot of " fat guy" characters from the past but he brings his own persona to the table in Hell and kills it. The rest of the cast are so much fun to watch you actually want more than the 15 minutes allotted. There is nothing else like it right now and you can see it developing and getting better each episode.

I know several other viewers currently willing to sign over their souls to Adult Swim pending they make more episodes.

Haze
33 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hell Hath No Fury Like a Workplace Comedy
JSutton7805 October 2015
Speaking as someone who never warmed up to Adult Swim's live action shows, Your Pretty Face is Going to Hell is a gem that makes me laugh without fail every time I watch it.

No two episodes ever feel the same, the acting is hilarious, and the over the top special effects are great (most notably the spider creature that appears from time to time). Henry Zebrowski's portrayal as the oafish demon Gary reminds me of so many people I've met in my life. Gary is a lovable loser who never gets lucky but by God (or in this case by devil) do I find myself rooting for him. Opposite of Gary there's Claude, played by Craig Rowin. Claude acts as Gary's antithesis. He's sharp and cunning and constantly trying to better his position in the office, sometimes at the expense of his fellow demonic co-workers. I like the chemistry between Gary and Claude on the show, I feel that they're very organic and relatable to anyone who has ever worked in an office.

However, Matt Servitto's portrayal as the head honcho Satan makes this show for me. My father worked in corporate and was in charge of a lot of people. Throughout my life I saw glimpses of his work life and annoyance/happiness with his employees. Servitto's performance reminds me soooo much of the way my father behaved. Just his unimpressed facial expressions and the way he stares at his employees gets me rolling with laughter. I do realize that this is a very personal opinion, but I think anyone who's ever had a strict boss can relate to Servitto's Satan.

The only downside to Your Pretty Face is Going to Hell is its run time. I would really like to see it lengthened to thirty minutes. Some would argue that it is best suited for a small run time, but I think it has the potential to spread its leathery, bat like wings and expand.

To sum it up, Your Pretty Face is Going to Hell is a unique comedy with no equal. I highly recommend it.
17 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Always delivers in the oddest way.
bletcherstonerson12 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Adult swim on Sunday nights is the greatest experience I have ever had losing sleep on the start of a work week. This show lampoons the corporate work environment, religion, pop culture and everything in between set in the modern Christian projection of Hell. Not for the squeamish or those without a sense of humor. The character Gary, (with one R, not 2) Is one of the most like-able characters on television. I look forward to ending my weekend with a laugh, and this is an awesome way to end the weekend and start the work week. If you like Downton Abby, South Park, or Fox News, you're going to hate this show, but if you like the strange experimental humor that is quirky then Adult Swim has a place at the table left open for you.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Arguably the best show on Adult Swim
homerchrist15 April 2018
I don't know where the hater gets his idea that this is garbage nor do I know how this can be called a sample of GOP politicking since the show was around before the last election. Some people just have to find a way to politicize even the most absurd things I guess. All I do know, for sure, is this is one great episode after another. Gary, very ably played by Henry Zebrowski makes this show pop with his perfect timing and delivery. Claude, is another great character. He's Gary's intern and he is constantly undermining Gary and sucking up to Satan, to no avail. Satan by the way is played by Matt Servitto . He does a superb job. There are several episodes that stand out and I honestly can't think of a miss in any of them. The only problem I have with this show is that it only runs for roughly 12 minutes. I could absolutely watch this show everyday and never get bored with it. I eagerly await the next season.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Almost makes you want to go to Hell.
OrangieTooDope1 November 2017
I love this show. The writer and/or creator's interpretation of Hell is hilarious. Eddie Pepitone playing himself cracks me up every time. Sometimes it gets a bit gross but not enough to stop being funny. It's a shame that this show isn't a half hour. Even though I like most of these short shows, I never liked the short format. Anyway, one of the best AS originals. Watch it.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bring this show back! Evil dead meets the office!!!
domenico-cicione3 May 2019
What a hilarious show. I think this show is original and funny, great acting!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Raunchy and Hilarious
erinee-221634 October 2017
This show is Very funny! I think the actors are great! A show about a competitive office environment in Hell is an unusual but hilarious premise. You think your boss is bad? Another Adult Swim classic. I hope that it isn't canceled anytime soon. It's like Office Space with a whole lot of blood and gore.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Adult humor not for prudes!
kjaxin6 July 2018
Just getting started with this one and so far it's genuinely funny. It has an almost adlib approach with a good budget which comes off kinda like Quickdraw. The episodes are short so you shouldn't get tired of laughing. This show is stupid with a purpose. Those lacking appreciation for quick-witted comedic dialogue will find this difficult to watch. I would suspect that of one particular reviewer.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best take on the GOP/moral majority/Trumpian mindset that MADE our current administration possible!
damnedcat77722 June 2017
Could possibly be the best weekly commentary aired on cable TV that deals directly with the mindset behind those responsible for our current state of affairs during this national nightmare. Mr Sorvino proves his chops again and again and the rest of the cast is just so perfect. Great example of how proper casting alone can determine the fate of a series. Perfectomundo. Watch all the regulars in 10 yrs appear all over the cinematic zeitgeist, TV to film and beyond. The special effects crew get an especially special tip of the gore filled hat for totally understanding what needs to be done (live animatronics) and what doesn't (cgi). Bravo. When the skin covered box set comes out, I am SO going to be putting that on a credit card. That is, if the entire banking system isn't reduced to one simple 3 digit phrase, tattooed on all our hands by then. It could happen....
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bring this show back
domenico-cicione4 May 2019
Amazing show. This show needs come back. The cast is brilliant, the show is great. Funny!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Positively disturbed.
cobracommanderusa20 July 2019
Watched your episode: Conceal and Garry. I legally can't own a gun. But your episode has spoke to me. Why can't we. Side note, love the devil characters.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sick, perverted and funny as HELL
digitalbeachbum16 July 2019
I've never seen such sick but funny minds. This show is beyond crazy perverted. It is over the top, nuts. I can't stop watching
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great
vettesteve18 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Love the show I must have watched the Marathon on the adult swim channel about 20 times can't wait for another season. I was surprised to see all the actors are veterans or been in a lot of stuff. I think that's what makes the show better.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
THE WORST 12 min of your life
voodoojew26 June 2014
The premise could be funny but no one associated with this show has any talent what so ever. the story is crap and redundant, nothing ever progresses story wise. The "comedy" never actually happens in the 12 minutes its on. Each episode spends it's time building to one huge joke at the end of every episode so far not one has ever been funny or entertaining. Do not watch this show . The acting is terrible in the way that someone just turned a camera on and hoped magic would just happen and they would have a show this makes 12 oz mouse and Xavier seem like they should have been nominated for Oscars. Hope this show gets cancelled soon.
7 out of 115 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best short comedy series I have ever watched!
shaun-8699726 May 2019
I'll sum it up in one word - hilarious! A+ for originality. Put together a Halloween costume with the shirt, dockers, shoes, some mismatched horns and don't forget the red shiat... I can't seem to find any merch for the show? bobble heads and t-shirts. Tell me who the hell I need to pay. You guys are missing out on millions maybe even billions!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
I got exactly what I expected.
pazzintexas18 September 2018
It's not an award winner but the 15 min. format keeps it interesting. A good fill in for an always good AS lineup. If your watching AS shows already then it's worth the watch.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed