High School DxD (TV Series 2012– ) Poster

(2012– )

User Reviews

Review this title
36 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
An absolute favorite within the genre!
Rako9125 October 2013
First of all, this is an action comedy, harem ecchi romanced, school anime with quite the amount of fan service, if this bothers you, you should not consider this as you will see quite the amount of nudity.

If you on the other hand are not bothered by this, please keep on reading!

Ever since finishing High school DxD New which is the season 2 of this show, I have been trying to find another decent ecchi, harem show. Sad to say i have been very disappointed, and i dare say the reason is that this show unlike many others of it's kind, do have a plot. I also felt like the characters in this show developed quite a bit throughout the show which I find rare in this genre. (Still a lot of show's I haven't seen)

What I also think helped this anime which i liked; - Likable characters! (Especially Issei and Rias)

  • Character development


  • Well animated


  • Good voice acting (Japanese, no clue about dubbed)


  • Actually has a plot! (Rare for this genre from what i've seen)


  • Pretty cool action scenes


  • Protagonist not a total wuss


Probably forgotten about some but anyways, an absolute favorite of mine in this genre and one anime I highly recommend, if you can live with some fan service.

Probably a 8/10 to be realistic, but I am a huge fan giving it a 9/10!
40 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Look past the fanservice, and there's actually a story
tomdude014 August 2012
Let me just say right off the bat that this show's target audience is young men. It features attractive girls and plenty of nudity.

With that being said, the show starts off seeming like just a fanservice anime with some elements of a story thrown in, but a story quickly develops--Hyoudou Issei is a perverted high school student who finally gets his first girlfriend, a girl named Yuuma. However, after their first date, she kills him, and it is revealed that she is a fallen angel. He is revived by the gorgeous Rias Gremory, a red-haired beauty that is the president of the Occult Research Club at Issei's school. She tells him that she is a demon, and that he has been revived as a demon to serve as her underling.

The show is funny and has plenty of action and, uh, "certain" scenes are prevalent throughout. Unlike an anime like, say, Highschool of the Dead, the fanservice in High School DxD actually serves as somewhat of a plot device (considering Issei's character, I guess that's to be expected).

The story develops further as it progresses, eventually turning into a kind of cutesy, somewhat cliché romantic-ish plot. Although the whole nudity thing might fool you, the show's foundation is actually very strong, benefiting from an intriguing story and one of the most likable cast of characters in anime--although I might just be saying that because I'm a member of the target audience.

Overall, this is a very light-hearted story about demons, fallen angels, and breasts--although whether you want to make it about breasts is your choice. My only complaint is that much is that, as far as origins go, much is left unexplained. But hey, there's only so much you can do with 12 episodes.
27 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An enjoyable series
jackstarr77716 July 2012
This show certainly isn't for everyone. I couldn't recommend it to anyone other than young men, who will most certainly at least enjoy the constant nudity. But that shouldn't put everyone off. The series starts off seeming perverted, but as it progresses it starts getting soppy, cutesy and romantic. And so what? It's a boy's show, meant for boys at the kind of age where hot girls and breasts are all that matter, and in that area, it works.

The main point of criticism I have is in the writing. Some of the dialogue, is, well, pretty embarrassing, but on the whole it's okay. And I couldn't help feeling that the plots could be better; that many things about the demons weren't explored as much as I wanted them to be. In fact, the writing goes out of the way to include something to with boobs or whatever, but I guess that's what the exploitation genre is all about.

But still, the animation was very good, as was the music. Some of the battle sequences were thrilling, and the interactions between the main protagonist and his friends were pretty hilarious. On the whole, I enjoyed it; not for everyone, but if you're into this sort of thing, give it a go.
31 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Anime/Not for everyone
RecapAnime4 September 2014
Okay to get it out of the way, this anime is heavy on the harem which is why I would never recommend this to anyone, this is the kind of anime that you would stumble upon on your own. But having the harem in it is what gives the anime that extra boost and should not be judged for it. A show should be judged by the story and the quality of it which is why I gave it a 9 out of 10.

That being said, this anime is freaking awesome. The story does take an episode or two to get going but once it does, it is fantastic. A story about angels, fallen angels and demons, adding into it with violence and sexual content and boom you got "Highschool DxD". Along with very likable characters like Issei who's dream is to become the "Harem King", to even Satan himself, every character has a personality that the viewer can enjoy.

Now what makes this even better is that if you do decide to watch this anime and get into it, you'll be happy to know that there is a third season being developed and if you're like me and prefer dubbed over subbed November 2014 season 2 will be released in dubbed.

In all from the two seasons that I watched I am very pleased and anxious to watch the third season when it starts and hopefully will continue after that.
22 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ecchi Action Adventure
derekbellas24 December 2016
It's unfortunate that some people can't see past the sexual comedy in the show to realize the story is quite well developed, and the action and characters all have motivations.

Personally, I like a good sexual comedy anime every once and a while, and DxD delivers. Some of the jokes are subtle, while others are nearly straight up pornographic, which I don't always have a problem with.

The show is well animated and has an excellent English dub for those who prefer to not read sub-titles.

All in all, DxD is amazing and one of my personal favorites. I highly recommend this title to any anime lover (above the age of 13)
14 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
light-hearted devil story...
joelherro28 March 2012
Warning: Spoilers
that sounds like an oxymoron to me too, but if you watch this show you'll understand...

Issei is a typically lecherous teenage boy who gets killed by his new girlfriend who happens to be a fallen angel...he then gets reincarnated as a demon by the beautiful Rias Gremory, head of the high school occult club and demon heiress, as her pawn. The other members of the club are also demons and have rankings based on chess pieces. From then on he tries to get soul contracts and strengthen his demonic powers, but he's basically a nice guy, and all he really cares about is boobs, which I can totally understand haha...

this show was a lot of fun, and I really liked the animation, characters and constant nudity...Issei isn't a superhero, but he's no weakling either and he isn't afraid of the girls like most anime hero guys...reminds me of Akuto from Demon King Ichiban (this whole show is similar, and I liked that show too)...overall, I say give this a go if u have the time, its pure escapism...
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing anime, and I hate to admit my favourite anime that I have watched so far.
lolwuty11 January 2016
The story hooks you, this isn't your run of the mill ecchi. This is the best ecchi out there, well of this kind anyway.

So first off the bat, you have a character which is almost speaks your most kinky and perverted desires. Issei has no bounds and it really adds to the comedy and the viewer character relationship. Then you have devils, breasts, but not pointless. An example of this is "Highschool Gf The Dead", OK you get it its an ecchi what do you expect but DXD isn't like that, the main character loving boobs uses it to his advantage creating very comical scenes. Then the action is on par with any other anime I have watched, so be it Attack on Titan, Bleach, Sao, Code Geass, DBZ anything... So OK you do get the random fan service, OK I enjoy it, but even if you do not like ecchi there is more to it. If you like ecchi you are in heaven.

You may be thinking, well you may watched some good stuff but your just a kid who watches ecchi and can't appreciate classics like cowboy bebop. Wrong, I have watched it, its good, but There is an experience that I can't get from anything I have watched, so be it deathnote, akame ga kill, aesthetica rogue hero. Highschool dxd got me most hooked and causing me to want a new season.

Seasonwise, 1 is best for me, 2 is good as well but in the lightnovel you don't get the same action anyway. Season 3 was very good, but it could have been so much better.

For viewers who not sure about Highschool DXD I recommend you finish season 1. It's a must, the last couple of ops are worth it.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Please keep animation style of season 1-3 in season 5. Season 4's animation style was horrible.
thebatrazzpurohit5 December 2018
This series is awesome. Only one request please don't keep animation style of season 4. Please keep animation style of season 3. Because season 4's animation felt very bad.please please please I request you guys
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Lot of humor ,romance a great story makes it an excellent show.
anunayanand12 October 2016
High school DXD is one of the best anime has a great story line as well as with some great characters.It is an anime with a lot of nudity and boobs but it clearly doesn't mean that it lack in content.Issei the protagonist of the show is one of the most hilarious character.He can make u laugh even in the most intense scenes you can think of.The show is somewhat related to mythology as well as it's about the three factions present in the world the devil's,fallen angels and Angels.

The reason this show is loved by so many people is cause it attracts people in masses.If you are looking for a romantic show or with a lot of actions or a show with mythology or looking for a show with lot of humor.you will love this show.its also ranked as the most perverted show on the Top Tens website.Doesn't it makes the show sound more awesome. I started watching this just because my friend recommend it to me .And I was like if it's a harem anime it will just just have nudity and no story at all.But I have to accept I still thank him for recommending this show to me.I literally got hooked from the first episode and couldn't stop myself until I didn't finish all the 3 seasons.I have become an absolute fan of this show.Everyday I search about the official announcement of season 4 of this show.I will always be eagerly waiting for the new season.I really can't understand how this show can even lose its popularity. Guyz if you like the show make sure u rate it the best on IMDb to force the producers of this show to make a new season as soon as possible.I guarantee this show won't make u bore even a bit at any moment .
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
best anime ive ever wacthed
tigerless22 July 2018
I have watched tons of anime's and hand on heart highschool dxd is the best ive ever seen as it has a great story the girls are hot (lol) and there super cool fight seens every ep is good/ i would recomend this above all animes has long as u not a 7 yr old or get scared when u see a naked woman
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A fan service heavy anime that is actually pretty good
MarkyMarkus20 May 2014
I wasn't too sure what to think about this show going into it. I found the plot synopsis pretty interesting so I thought I would check it surprised me in two ways. 1) the fan service was much heavier than I expected, not that I mind, but holy hell(no pun intended) I am talking tons of full frontal nudity and sexual imagery, and 2) its actually pretty good. It has an engaging plot, good characters, and comedy that extends beyond prat falls and accidental boob grabs. The story centers around Issei Hyodom, a pervert turned Devil and Rias Gremory, A voluptuous devil who is head of a prestigious family. They are solid characters who are much more than your typical harem anime archetypes. Is it the best anime out there? No, but it is a good watch that I would recommend, even if you aren't a fan of fan service. Though admittedly, If you don't like fan service, I could imagine some not liking it. I would say just try to look past it and enjoy a pretty good show.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Quite Good and Entertaining
chrisnegaard9 March 2019
I didn't think I would like the show because it had lots of nudity in it, but just watching it I realized it is really a great show
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Titties....
kinggrad-563753 April 2018
Who need hentai anyway, this show this great! If I was given one show to watch everyday for the rest of my life this would be it, what a truly astonishing masterpiece you have here.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Just the best !
montadhr4 June 2018
Thanks for that super anime Actually it's the best ever
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A guy that gets killed by his first girlfriend, gets resurrected as demon.
cleit14 August 2017
I'm giving this anime a 10/10 because of various reasons.

First reason: The main character is not perfect. He is so imperfect that makes the character believable.

Second reason: The plot is good, the universe that the anime is set in can get to be immersive.

Third reason: Characters, characters in the series are not so relatable, but their personalities are remarkable and likable. Every character in the series is distinct from one another.

Four reason: Rias Gremory, she is one of the best characters in the series. She is likable. Not only for physical appearance but also as personality.

Fifth reason: a lot of people dislike Issei, he is a pervert, but his character is deeper than that. If the occasion requires it he will leave his perversion to act.

Sixth reason: Characters have backstory. All of their stories are well explained and what lead them to be there is understandable.

Seventh reason: Ecchi. The ecchi is really well managed on this anime, actual ecchi affects the plot in a way.

Eight reason: Characters are not perfect, that's one of the reasons they are so likable. You can just see this by how they are physically example, Issei is smaller by just a bit than Rias.

I can go on for another 20 more reasons but I will stop here.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My favorite anime
mrtmmie21 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
*HEAVY Spoilers AHEAD*

This is not a personal bias or anything. This anime is incredible, and one of the only ecchi animes to have an outstanding storyline. I mean angels, fallen angels, and devils is such a creative idea for a storyline.

What really drives this anime (besides the almost constant fan service) is Issei's perversion. Issei's lechery drives life and humor into this anime. If issei was not to exist, this anime would suck.

The battle sequences are incredible (like the Juggernaut Drive to avenge Asia) and focuses on revealing characters' usually dark backstories. Unlike some amines, most episodes are unique.

After the household of Gremory finally accept their differences (especially Koneko towards Issei) this makes the battle sequences more interesting and emotional because each member would die for another.

This anime is just spectacular.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Mindblowing
suman-6983513 December 2015
All hail Issei! I just love this series. And I expect at least 5-6 seasons of this wonderful anime. Bring some more Girls so that Issei can fully utilize his special abilities. Then he can make the Red Dragon Emperor superior of all. High School DxD is a superb combination of love,comedy,friendship.

I am already a huge fan of this series. It is a nice experience for me to watch the Lovely Rias. But the other girls are definitely good. This anime series has made into one of my favorite anime series. Well done.The expectations are growing higher and higher for this series.I hope the next season 4 will be awesome as the previous three seasons. Kudos!
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Dxd is just so good
yussef-2845828 October 2016
Warning: Spoilers
probably contains spoilers: Dxd is just too good it's not just a fan service show it's actually has a plot and story and it'll only get better according to the Light novel it's about a 17 years old boy Hyoudo issei obsessed by b**bs , unfortunately he was killed in his 1st date by his GF Raynare that turned to be a fallen angel and he was reincarnated in devil by high class devil Rias Gremory to make him her pawn alongside the group of Kiba,koneko,Akeno and Asia that's where the story and adventure and fan service begins with devils-fallen angels and angels and the most important the Dragons. I was actually was going to give him 10 but the exaggerating use of nudity made it 9.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Perfect
normksis11 February 2017
EDIT 2018:

The fourth season (Hero) is not as well animated or rendered as earlier seasons. Quite a large step backwards in quality as far as the animation is concerned. I suppose the first two seasons are Classic. It's a shame the animation suffers very noticeably in the latest season.

I'm 36, and have a doctorate. I also have a knight elf mohawk,am covered in tattoos, and I'm a university lecturer.

The dialogue in this anime is perfect. This is exactly the way that my friends and I talk to each other at home (boys and girls). Everyone is a sordid pervert, which is completely normal if that is what your friends are like too.

I've seen many anime, favourites including Fist of the North Star, Monster, Parasyte: The Maxim, Death Note, GTO, Code Geass, Samurai Jack, Fate/Zero, etc. This is one of the best I've seen.

The characters are fun and interesting and lighthearted, so I always feel happy and gleeful when I watch it. The animation is good,and the banter is otherworldly. I don't think the banter in many anime reach this standard. The innuendos are slightly more subtle that those my friends and I enjoy drinking beer outside after work on a Friday, which is smart.

Of course, if you like boobs and hot females; you will love this. It's hilarious to see the excitement the male characters feel when see a someone hot, in this animation. It's just like real life was when one was younger. To be honest, the only difference with getting older (I'm 34) is that you kind of have to act somewhat more maturely. Mind you, as we get older, we certainly don't suffer from the embarrassment or lack of self-confidence experienced by these characters.

You could certainly pick holes in this anime, but I think they made a great job of creating something that has a great deal of truth to it.

As a person who doesn't believe in the supernatural (Gods, Devils, Jesuses, etc) I particularly like the stance that the devils are good and the angels are evil. There's far too much television and film based around Christian mythology, which is irritating. It seems like a cop-out most of the time, because we've had and still have much richer creative ideas than those conceived by the individuals whose literature formed the bible. Nevertheless, this fresh take on Christian mythology is refreshing.

If you consider yourself a non-sexual, or strongly feminist or religious person; I would advice watching this, if only so that I can imagine you cringing at ideas and actions that mirror real life; but are so alien to you that you abhor them.

Enjoy!
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Fansevice heavy anime that ranges from some genuinely exciting parts to the most ridiculous situations
twinshk220 September 2014
This is a really hard show to explain. On one hand, it is completely ridiculous with the fan service. The outro and intros to the commercials are literally just naked pictures of the heroines. On the other hand, there are some really exciting moments where you can really sympathize with the MC. You'd have to watch the show to actually experience it, and even though I usually have horrible second-hand embarrassment which this show should have triggered, I didn't really feel it. It takes itself completely seriously at times, and at others, it devolves into a oppai fueled mess(but still amazing though). It's quite hard to describe it really, other than this anime is all over the place and is a great ride through all of it. Only complaint is they should have gotten some better artists(Oreimo& Date a Live animators, I'm looking at you).
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Please please
tonyx-2407019 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Brother please try to understand.... I don't know when the season 5 announced... But please brother... You know season:- 1,2,3 graphic ars so good so realistic..top notch.. but in season 4 they break my heart... All graphic are changed.. all characters are changed... I don't like the new characters.. all fans don't like the new character.. in new I think all characters are forget his/her character... It's not like High school DxD... Please brother understand my feelings and tell them... I think Passion studio is making the new season.... Please tell them TNK studio's graphic and characters in season 1,2,3 is better.. then the season 4 graphic... And passion studio is not doing great job... Please understand and.... Give us a nice and great seasons of High school DxD please please... I am alive for High school DxD... Otherwise I am going to kill my self
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I love this Anime I am alive for this Anime
tonyx-2407019 October 2019
Brother please try to understand.... I don't know when the season 5 announced... But please brother... You know season:- 1,2,3 graphic ars so good so realistic..top notch.. but in season 4 they break my heart... All graphic are changed.. all characters are changed... I don't like the new characters.. all fans don't like the new character.. in new I think all characters are forget his/her character... It's not like High school DxD... Please brother understand my feelings and tell them... I think Passion studio is making the new season.... Please tell them TNK studio's graphic and characters in season 1,2,3 is better.. then the season 4 graphic... And passion studio is not doing great job... Please understand and.... Give us a nice and great seasons of High school DxD please please... I am alive for High school DxD... Otherwise I am going to kill my self
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Amazing till season 4
juliodelrio12 October 2018
Amazing anime, it brings comedy, action and romance to an entertaining level. The characters are especially lovable you will find someone to connect to. Overall the series is great and potrayal of the characters are on point that is until season 4. It still brings about it's humor and romance but can take it to a point as a joke compared to the last three seasons. The character designs are denigrating, from a dignified character turned into a useless princess type look, a cute "sister" turned into a marshmallow with half their face now swollen. Honestly if this type of stuff bothers you then you might have to get used to the new styles to continue the series, but if you're all into the "Ash gets younger every year" then you might enjoy the change. In the end, this last season is the worst part of the series, and denigrades the work from the past.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
What did I expect?
aroswald-339602 June 2019
There really isn't much to expect from a show like this. It's got the one thing someone may possibly need. Anime titties. And there's a lot of them. So much, that the show was banned in New Zealand, according to IMDB. It's about this perverted boy who gets killed and is resurrected, but he becomes a demon, I think, and he's part of some gang, and that gang is mostly women, and he sees all of them naked at least once. All the while, they fight people. This show is a guilty pleasure of mine. It's dumb, but it has good moments, aside from the moments that everyone sees this show for, and it has moments so stupid, that it becomes entertaining. Although, the show does have a lot of dutch angles. Some of them are worse than Battlefield Earth, if you can believe that. Also, boobs. What else is there to say. This is probably the worst review I've ever given to anything. But that's what happens when you're reviewing High School DXD.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An enjoyable, fan-service heavy anime
Tweekums6 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Protagonist Issei Hyodo is a typically perverted high school student who can't believe his luck when he has his first date with an attractive girl… unfortunately for him she is a fallen angel and she kills him! Things do get better though; he is reincarnated by Rias Gremory, the most desired girl at the school who just happens to be a senior devil. Now Issei is one of her junior devils; a situation he is quite happy with. As things progress we learn that Devils, Angels and Fallen Angels are in a state on conflict.

Over the course of three seasons Issei finds himself fighting a number of foes as he tries to impress Rias and various other girls who work under her. As well as plentiful action there is plentiful fan service with most of the girls appearing naked at some point; especially the well-endowed Rias. It could be easy to right this off as just another ecchi show but if you can get past the nudity there are some good characters plenty of laughs and a decent plot. The main weakness is that the fight scenes to drag a bit as the characters spend too much time talking about what is going to happen rather than just getting on with it. Also the humour is frequently toned down a bit too much during these scenes. This isn't enough to spoil the series though. I'd certainly recommend this to anime fans who aren't put off by the occasional bare breast and likes a mix of comedy and action. Apparently there will be a fourth season at some point… hopefully not too long from now.

These comments are based on watching the series in Japanese with English subtitles.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed