Stuck in Love. (2012) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
98 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Good Flick
I will be short and sweet (kind of like the film was) and won't go into a summary as the rest of the well-written and accurate summaries have been thus far. I thought this film was really good. The casting was great, as was the plot and story line. It was a touching story, where despite the indiscretions of a married couple, you had them rooting for each other to find their way back to each other and to bring their family together.

The movie went fast and even though you hoped for a happy ending, you weren't quite sure how it was going to turn out. I won't spoil it, but the ride to the end was worth it. It is a cute, summer drama that is worth checking out.
56 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The quintessential "sweet little indie," overflowing with authenticity
larry-4115 October 2012
As I make the festival rounds every year I search for that elusive "sweet little American indie." I don't come across them very often, certainly not often enough, but when that moment happens there's a little pitter-patter in my heart as I know I'm witnessing what could be the launching pad for hot new talent -- writers, directors, actors -- who will go on to produce exciting, creative work in the years to come. I found that here in "Writers."

First-time writer/director Josh Boone has crafted an exquisite film which successfully combines several themes that few are able to tackle successfully. Like David Gordon Green's "Snow Angels," my #1 Top Pick of 2007 and one of my favorite indies of the past decade, we see three couples struggling to cope with the primordial human connection -- the innocence and fear of first love, the seesaw of a mature relationship, and the pain of an estranged couple. Ironically (or perhaps not), "Writers" is privileged to have enlisted Green's longtime Director of Photography Tim Orr. But this is a much lighter picture than "Snow Angels," making it especially accessible to young people and families.

Greg Kinnear is William Borgens, the classic what-have-you-done-for-me-lately author who hasn't had a hit in ages but refuses to allow anyone to sense his self-pity. His wife Erica, played by Jennifer Connelly, is the quintessential partner cast aside at the expense of William's inattention and indiscretion. Their teenage children Samantha and Rusty, portrayed by Lily Collins and Nat Wolff, are discovering their own offbeat paths into the wacky world they've inherited. High school student Rusty, in particular, is a struggling writer himself who is beginning to experience the first frightening pangs of adolescent desire. Dad isn't the best role model, after all, but this is a father-son relationship that has promise if either or both can get their acts together. Samantha is in college and headstrong in the ways of a young woman determined to control her life and career at the expense of entering the dating scene and submitting to the wants of a man. Enter Lou (Logan Lerman), the earnest intellectual who'll stop at nothing to win her over.

From top to bottom -- Kinnear, Connelly, Collins, Wolff, Lerman -- "Writers" is perfectly cast. All inhabit their roles as if they created them. In fact, to some extent, that's true as the dialogue's authenticity is at least partly rooted in Boone's generosity in allowing the actors to improvise some of their material (a technique favored by the aforementioned David Gordon Green, as well). Wolff, in particular, takes advantage of this opportunity to add a good deal of the narrative's comic relief with his ad-libbed lines. Interestingly, he did the same in last year's Toronto hit "Peace, Love, & Misunderstanding," in which he played virtually the same character -- a naive youth, physically inexperienced, gently and innocently exploring his potential with the tender yet intimidating opposite sex. Lerman, 19 at the time of filming, played a 15-year-old in his other world premiere selection at this same festival, "The Perks of Being a Wallflower." In "Writers," he goes in the opposite direction as a 21-year-old who couldn't be more different from Perks' Charlie. In that film, his role is similar to Wolff's as the vulnerable virgin. Here, he's a self-assured, bright college student who is destined to charm Samantha off her feet. The fact that he can convincingly portray both these characters in two pictures at the same festival is testament to his talent and versatility. As his would-be suitor, young Lily Collins is an able foil to Lerman's advances and wins over the audience with her sharp wit.

The adults who anchor the film deserve far more credit than they're given. Jennifer Connelly, who won an Academy Award opposite Russell Crowe in 2001's "A Beautiful Mind," is a beautiful soul inside and out as the wounded spouse who still has a place in her heart for a potentially loving husband. He still holds a torch for her, as well, an intensely personal plot device that could easily lack credulity in the hands of lesser professionals. Oscar-nominated Kinnear proves once again why he is one of the industry's go-to guys. Few actors handle comedy and drama equally well, and he has no problem convincing the audience as a tormented has-been. He may be down on his luck but retains the earnestness that brought him fame and a loving family not that long ago. He's poised for a comeback and it's a role tailor-made for Kinnear.

The film is technically well-balanced between slick Hollywood production values and a relaxed indie look. Bright lighting belies the turmoil beneath the surface. The quaint beach house setting used in many of the scenes is awash with a color palette of earth tones and rustic furnishings, a counterculture milieu befitting this family of intellectuals. Mike Mogis and Nate Wolcott's score is combined with a soundtrack of indie music featuring Conor Oberst of Bright Eyes, whose attraction to the material led him to write original music for the movie.

Tim Orr is truly a master cinematographer. His signature style is the ability to capture beauty in nature and everyday objects -- a dripping gutter here, a playground swing there -- and photography that is comforting, enveloping the actors in a warm glow that matches their affections. Nobody does it better. Boone was truly fortunate to have Orr on board.

"Writers" is overflowing with the authenticity of real life. You'll laugh, you'll cry -- often in the same scene -- and, most of all, you'll empathize with at least one of the characters. There isn't one of us who hasn't experienced the feelings and emotions exhibited by the members of this richly complex family. That's key to this ensemble that features many of our best and brightest young independent film actors. For what I expect a "sweet little American indie" to accomplish, "Writers" is simply perfection.
63 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Cold November night flick.
sianpretorius21 September 2013
Stuck In Love is the perfect film to be placed in my November film category. This category is specifically for films that make you feel good, make you shed a tear or two and are full of clichés. 'Stuck In Love' is all of these things. I will start with the plot: The film is based on a broken family where the father played by Greg Kinnear (typical dad actor) is still head over heels in love with his ex wife played by Jennifer Connelly. His two children, Sam and Rusty, played by Lily Collins and Nat Wolf have responded to the divorce in different ways and the film follows all four characters as they fall in and out of love.

The script written by, and directed by Josh Boone (new comer) is clichéd to say the least. He uses various quotes from literature to make his characters seem intelligent and interesting. Personally, I love these sort of characters however, I understand other viewers who would find these characters pompous and not very relatable.

Now on to the acting which I think was rather good. Characters who really struck me where Rusty played by Nat Wolf. I feel like he really excelled in the whole second kid syndrome. I didn't necessarily find his characters a refreshing and new character, although I found he played the part extremely well. Kudos to you man. As for Lily Collins, compared to her other work I think it's safe to say she's making better choices. I mean what was abduction all about? I think her character was more interesting, she played the douche bag girl which was interesting as it's usually the douche bag guy. Logan Lerman was well Logan Lerman. He wasn't the central character which, I think made me like him more. But hey, what can I say? He's totally adorable but nothing to call home about. Greg Kinnear is also Greg Kinnear. I'm pretty sure he plays the exact same dude in every freaking film. I swear William the dad from Stuck In Love is Steve the dad from The Last Song. I love Kinnear and would love him to just do something a little bit more interesting and out of his comfort zone.

Overall, Stuck In Love was a clichéd film from clichéd land. But everybody loves a clichéd film now and then? I really enjoyed it. Josh Boone is going to direct The Fault In Our Stars which makes me feel a little relieved and a little excited. Stuck In Love scores 6 Kayne Faces.
25 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Dear me if I hear "authentic" one more time someone will have to die
xhidden9912 February 2014
Because if this is anything it's a fantasy by writers about writers for people who think they want to be writers. Everyone is brilliant I insightful charming warm caring and infinitely forgiving of the people who screw them over the hardest. They even tend to the sick and have hot chocolate with the black maid. Except for the Lilly Collins character. She's a narcissistic bully trying to be Diablo Cody age 20 going on 55 trying to be 17. Everyone totally gets and loves everyone. Girls will sleep with you before the first date. Anyone under the age of 25 instantly knows every social and pop reference including all literature for the past half century. And I don't know what smartphones they have but they sound better than my home theater. Ms. Bell steals the show with her smart funny role but her character is sadly not realistic with the nearly 20 year difference of her "buddy". Kinnear plays to type: depressed. Ms Connelly also plays to type; angry needy clingy yet bossy and passive aggressive. But the takeaway is that if you want to be a published novelist with your first and only book all you need is to be smart and sassy.
39 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great and Realistic Independent Drama
Slasher_Lover239 October 2013
Stuck in Love follows William Borgens (Greg Kinnear), an author who is still wallowing through his separation from his wife Erica (Jennifer Connelly). William and Erica's children; Samantha (Lilly Collins) and Rusty (Nat Wolff) are also aspiring writers going through different phases of love. Samantha resents her mother and refuses to believe in love, even when she is being pursued by hopeless romantic Louis (Logan Lerman). Rusty, also a believer in love, tries to pursue his crush Kate (Liana Liberato). During the course of the film, the characters begin to learn lessons about love and the long road called life.

Stuck in Love is a marvelous independent drama that deals with the different dynamics of love and how it affects us all. The whole cast does an excellent job with the material and really bring the characters and their emotions to life. Greg Kinnear turns in a great and sometimes comedic performance as we watch his character struggle the line of believing in love and moving on. But the most impressive performances come from our younger stars. Lilly Collins most notably turns in the strongest performance as a young woman who is struggling between different types of love, the ability to return love with her pursuer Louis, and the love her mother is trying to earn back. Logan Lerman returns with as much of a charming performance as he showed in The Perks of Being a Wallflower as the boy who is trying to win Samantha's heart. Nat Wolff plays a similar character who is trying to win over his own crush, despite the obstacles that may come in his way. What makes Stuck in Love so different from other love stories is that it's not just some cheesy romantic story, it deals with the different dynamics of love and heartbreak that we all will go through in life. The script and the actors do an incredible job of bringing this all to reality in a way that we can really feel what they are going through and give us something to relate to.

My rating: 10/10
25 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Incredibly fake nonsense
mtta115 July 2014
Warning: Spoilers
From the first scene, wherein a grown man crawls in the bushes to see his ex-wife have sex with the blinds open, and his old dog barks at him through the window, and then miraculously appears outside on the lawn and chases him down the street without reason, viewers are "stuck" with a movie so unreal each scene reeks of incongruity with the strength of a dead skunk. This is the kind of movie where teens rip bongs on their roofs, talk casually about sex and suicide with their parents, and make out with obviously 28-year-old dudes in their high school hallway. And of course things GET SERIOUS later on, as if anyone could possibly sit through the duration without considering a post to ripoff report for wasting everyone's time and money. Perchance if I were Shanghai-ed at sea for weeks on end, I would not finish this movie due to the fact that I would prefer to focus on my own nausea and stare at a puddle of my own vomit.
17 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
no
ttrabue-106-2087429 October 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Just, no. It has worthwhile aspects. It's about intelligent, literate people. I imagine they can find Brazil and count to 100. The scenery is beautiful. Everyone wants a California beach house. The cast is beautiful. The story is interesting but it's also immoral, shallow and predictable. I'm not a big Greg Kinnear fan, please shave. The opening peeping tom scene is just creepy. Ick; no thank you; my eyes, my eyes; dude there are things you cannot un-see. Is it just me, it's wrong to have casual sex with your married neighbor. Don't do it; failing that stop claiming to be "waiting"; failing that at least feel bad about it. Our lead displays none of those emotions. I get it, your ex-wife is banging a hunk with a six pack; you can't just stand there. I am not a stone. If Kristen Bell says 20 minutes I'm in trouble but you do not get to cheat on your spouse simply because he or she did first. These people are shallow. Although; perhaps not by Hollywood standards. Life offers lots of bad experiences too; to those, just say no. Here's a spoiler we never get any clues as to what happens to Kate, she's disposable. The worst part is I didn't expect to. I spent my evening correctly predicting huge parts of this movie and it wasn't all due to good foreshadowing. Here comes the dog. She gets drunk. She's dead. It feels like a copy of a copy. It doesn't ring true. It's deeply, desperately, passionately in love with whats-her-name.
27 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Stuck in indifference
SteveMierzejewski24 September 2013
If you can believe any of these people are real writers, then you are far less cynical than I am. Would Scribners really publish the sexploits of a 19-year-old? Would Stephen King call a 16-year-old to tell him how much he loved his story? Not in my world where there is something we call, reality.

Yes, this is about different types of love. Strangely, all of the love connections shown here are dysfunctional. Maybe that's the point that the filmmakers are trying to make. Who knows? All the actors seem to be acting out their roles well enough; however, they seem to have no inclination to interact with anyone else. Maybe I was not in the right mood for this film, but I never felt any true connections between any of these people. All attempts to wring feelings from us, the audience, just fell flat because, in truth, we had very little sympathy for anyone. Maybe it was because they were trying to cram too much into one movie. Maybe if they had focused on just one or two of the relationships, we would have developed some emotional connections with the participants. As it eventuated, however, we ended up stuck in an emotional limbo that did not, in any stretch of the imagination, approximate love.
27 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
a must watch !
sweet-s-j-19827 September 2013
i really loved this movie i enjoyed every second of it ! it actually has a meaning ! its more than just a movie about family and love and relationships ! its not like any other romantic drama ...I'm in love with this movie ! very recommended i wish there was a book for this movie.. i think that the reason i loved this so much is that it is so realistic ! the characters are so rounded ! the actors are so well picked they really look like a family to me the work together so well! one of the best movies i have watched in a long time !

I always enjoy that kind of deep meaningful realistic type of movies that give you a good cry in the end ! I even had goosebumps 90% of the movie ! its so touching!
17 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Silly people
cekadah24 November 2013
This flick is just sour with silly, self indulgent, spoiled, rich people. Not one came across as 'real'. All a put on from start to finish.

The entire story revolves around one dimensional characters concerned with their 'feelings', their 'relationships', their 'fun', and running around in their own insulated world of rich people in big houses. And each one are extreme - either extremely over experienced in life as Samantha and Kate are. Or extremely under experience as Louis. Either way none of them are believable.

And the father William makes a big deal on how he has waited for two years for his wife to come back because she's his only love. While he is banging the little beach jogger - everyday! And did Samantha's boy friend really think his mother wasn't going to die? Thats established as soon as we see his mother.

No I can't like this silly movie - and who couldn't figure out the fate of little miss drug girl and that the wife would be back at the finish.
19 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Likable cast and feel good story
phd_travel19 September 2013
The fact that such a likable collection of actors and actresses is assembled should indicate this movie is worth a watch.

Although the story isn't ground breaking it's not irritating and doesn't lose steam. It's a story about a writer (Kinnear) and his family and their romantic and family relationships.

The daughter is played by Lily Collins who is very pretty and acts well. The still very beautiful Jennifer Connelly looks like she could be her mother in real life with their dark hair and thick eyebrows - good casting. Wish she would act more these days. Greg Kinnear is quite writer like with his beard but he looks a little too scruffy. Nat Wolff as the son is a bit dorky looking for such an attractive family. Liana Liberato is a bit irritating as the druggie girlfriend though. Patrick Schwarzenegger has a small role as a jerk boyfriend of Liana. Logan Lerman play's Lily's sweet boyfriend.

Everyone is kind of nice and sweet even when they aren't being nice and it's refreshing to see a movie with nice people and a watchable cast.
15 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't Waste Your Time
mfrizze27 August 2013
I saw this movie last night and was looking forward to a light romantic movie. What I saw was a piece of garbage. If you think it's great that your 16 year old son is having sex with a girl who is more experienced than him than this movie is for you. This same 16 year old is shown smoking lots of pot like its no big deal. He even smokes pot with his 19year old sister who picks up guys for the sex because she's afraid of getting into a real relationship and getting hurt. The dad (Greg Kinnear) is waiting for his ex wife to return to him even though she's remarried but in the mean time he has scheduled bouts of sex with his married neighbor. The writing is contrived and just plain awful. I see why our teens are screwed up if they watch crap like this.
41 out of 102 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Reality does not bite
mrshev9 March 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Sometimes you're in the mood for a gentle, character drama with a simple premise. This is that kind of movie. A writer trying to manage two teenage, aspiring writers who are themselves wrestling with the breakup of their parents marriage.

So, there we have it. Sounds like it could be good if written well with some conflict and some emotional draw. Unfortunately this movie is rubbish.

We have Bill (Greg Kinnear) idly hanging out in his $15m dollar beach-front show home, overlooking the sea as his two good looking and talented children get published via nepotism and back channels. Occasionally his beautiful neighbor jogs round and has no strings sex with him as well as giving relationship and fashion advice. Bill, however, is holding a flame for his (obviously) beautiful ex wife(Jennifer Connelly) and cannot move on.

Boo hoo.

Really, I cannot think of a film where I felt so little for the characters. The only character with any bite is Lou (Logan Lerman) who has something about him...but the rest of the cast act about as well I could. Connelly has about as much screen presence as a bucket of paint and Kinnear appears like he is waiting for a part on Grey's Anatomy. I just ended the film thinking: this is going straight to daytime TV as a film to pad out the schedule between cheap cooking shows and Storage Wars.

Avoid.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
An amiable diverting film about a family of writers and their experience of love over the course of a year.
SConIrish14 May 2013
Warning: Spoilers
In its short life this film has undergone several name changes. For its debut in Toronto it was entitled Writers, then it got changed to Stuck in Love to now A Place for Me. Personally I prefer Stuck in Love. Bookended by the thanksgiving holiday it's an amiable diverting film about a family of writers and their experience of love over the course of a year.

Poor William Borgen's (Kinnear) is having trouble writing after his wife (Connolly) left him for another man. He is having a "friends with benefits" relationship with his neighbour Tricia (Bell). To pour salt into the wound his daughter Samantha (Collins) has just had her latest novel published. But Samantha is unhappy to, unable to be emotionally intimate with men and permanently angry with her estranged mother. A class mate (Lerman) a fellow writer and part time musician attempts to get to know the real Sam. William's son Rusty (Wolff) a Stephen King devotee is in love with the pretty troubled Kate (Liberato) who decides to take his father's advice 'a writer is the sum of his experiences: go get some.' Over the course of a year the writer/director Josh Boone explores the travails of this family of writers.

Boone's film recalls a better film of its type Curtis Hanson's Wonder Boys which had an acerbic script from Steve Kloves. That told the tale of a writer struggling to deal with his wife leaving him amidst a bout of writers block. Amidst the comedy it had an edge which this film lacks. It feels a little underdone a draft shy of memorable.

The cast are all fine though, Kinnear underplays nicely, and he is an observer to the action going on around him. Kinnear is one of cinemas best reactors. Connolly and Collins even look remarkably like a mother and daughter, Collins (daughter of Phil) has the juicier role and Boone gives her some smart dialogue to highlight the intelligence behind the beauty. Wolff a newcomer is a promising newcomer as Rusty.

By the rather trite yet optimistic conclusion love has been rekindled, delivered heartbreak and even the death of a loved one is rather coarsely explored. As the family gather around the table overlooking the glorious ocean, about to gorge on a turkey the music rises and the melodrama of the last year has finally ended.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Studying the various dynamics of love
estebangonzalez1014 October 2013
"Your sister is a great writer, and it's because she is courageous in life."

Stuck in Love is one of those movies that is a bit difficult to review because there is little positive or negative things I can say about it. It is not great, but it is not bad either, it is just an average indie rom-com that never managed to get me emotionally involved with the characters. I was a bit disappointed because the trailer for this film looked so good. It made me think this was going to be similar to The Squid and the Whale since it dealt with writers and divorce; and it could have been similar with the only difference that the kids in this film were older. But the script wasn't nearly up to par with that film. Stuck in Love lacked that slick and edgy humor. There were some interesting moments thanks to a very likable and strong cast, but at the end this film felt like another formulaic Hollywood rom-com with everything fitting together too neatly during the final Thanksgiving dinner scene. This is Josh Boone's directorial debut and he had an impressive cast to work with, but ultimately his script was the weakest link here. It wasn't a terrible film, it managed to capture the several different dynamics of love through the very different characters and their love interests, but it was all uninspiring at times and predictable.

The film introduces us to a modern day American family of writers, the Borgens. William (Greg Kinnear) is a successful writer who has spent the last 3 years of his life waiting for his ex-wife, Erica (Jennifer Connelly) to return. She left him for a younger man, and he often stalks her hoping she will one day come back to him. Their oldest daughter, Samantha (Lily Collins) hasn't been able to forgive her for it. She hasn't spoken with her mother and doesn't believe in love or relationships. She is outgoing and likes to hook up with guys, but avoids any kind of relationship because she knows how devastating heartbreaks can be. She sees it every day in her father's moping face. She has just finished writing her first novel and is getting it published. Her younger brother, Rusty (Nat Wolff), is also an aspiring writer who also happens to be a huge Stephen King fan. He isn't very popular at school, but falls for the very beautiful and outgoing Kate (Liana Liberato). She seems out of his league, but she is also looking for someone different who could help her get out of trouble. Following his father's advice, Rusty decides to take risks and experience more of life and so he begins to pursue Kate. Samantha on the other hand is being pursued by a helpless romantic named Lou (Logan Lerman) who believes in true love and is also a writer. The film focuses on these various family dynamics and how each relationship begins shaping their lives.

Greg Kinnear gives a strong performance as usual, playing the caring father who can't seem to get over his ex-wife's abandonment. He hasn't been able to write since and therefor can't move on with his life. He has a casual relationship with his married neighbor played by Kristen Bell, but the film really doesn't focus much on her character. Jennifer Connelly doesn't have much screen time either as her major concern deals with her trying to reestablish her relationship with her estranged daughter. The central characters are actually the young kids who surprised me with very strong performances. Lily Collins is very likable in her role here and you can't help but root for her and her love interest, Logan Lerman. They looked cute together. Collins plays Jennifer Connelly's daughter here and it is surprising how much they really lookalike. I had to check if they weren't actually related in real life. Despite their great performances, I thought the true standout here was Nat Wolff. He plays the insecure kid who is willing to take risks in order to conquer the girl of his dreams. There are some great moments in this film, but the uneven script cost this film and ultimately it just felt like another forgettable Hollywood rom-com.
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Pretty Average! 4/10
leonblackwood23 November 2013
Review: Although this is quite a heart warming story about a dysfunctional family coming together under personal difficulties, I did find the pace pretty slow and it seemed one toned. Each individual characters storyline was very well written and I did like the way that the father has his own personal problems, but he is the one that is holding the family together and he is always there for everyone, but I did fall asleep through the movie because I got pretty bored after a while. It wasn't that the film was that bad, it was just that I lost interest halfway through the movie and I just wanted to knock all of the characters heads together. Everyone put in a good performance, but most of them have played this type of role before so there isn't any major surprises. Anyway, it's worth a watch but it's nothing amazing. Watchable!

Round-Up: Over the years, I have grown to like Greg Kinnear's movies, but he isn't that versatile. He definitely isn't an action hero or a comic genius, but you always get a deep and warm performance from him. As for Jennifer Connelly, I'm not her biggest fan and I always seem to find her movies quite boring because she doesn't really seem to do anything. The other teenagers in the movie were pretty average and none of them seemed to stand out. That is due to the storyline which doesn't demand a performance that will shock or amaze the audience. In some ways, I found this to be more of a movie for the family or a chick flick, because I couldn't find anything to relate to the script, as a single person. You do end up sticking with the movie, because you wonder how the whole things panes out, but it's not something that you would rush to the cinema to watch.

Budget: N/A Domestic Gross: $80,000

I recommend this movie to people who are into there deep drama about a dysfunctional family who need each other. 4/10
9 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Great cast doing good in a very complacent storyline
vostf19 May 2014
The problem with Stuck in Love is that you just want to enjoy a sweet little indie movie with good actors playing heartfelt characters. The cast delivers - although I would say Greg Kinnear's character is close to wooden - and you enjoy their precise rendition of the script. Jennifer Connelly is underused here but she is very convincing as usual. Lilly Collins is the only reason the movie gets going, and the only reason why you would want to keep on watching. Fortunately the actor playing her brother is good too so it does not take away from the global interest she sets.

Well, there is nothing else. Take a less talented cast and the movie would be simply unwatchable. The stubborn falsehood of the script is here from the very start: What, a writer's block/mid-life crisis again? A peeping tom set to educate his children alone in their coming of age? A family where everybody is an artist, has the talent to get a book published before 20? A fantastic house on the beach and very little deep concerns about life except for their little private lives? This is all so fake.

The worst is yet in the gross character arcs. I guess you can't really fault that kind of movie on originality. But having every single character just go from A to B in a snap and no real evolution, this is bordering insult to audiences. Yes the writer-director shoots the individual scenes OK - frankly I insist the cast does 99% of the job - but the editing, the lack of idea to suggest time convincingly - as in "meanwhile" or "3 months later".

In the end - provided you got there - you just feel as if you had left a salesman throw his sales-pitch at you. He was not exactly boring, just uninteresting from the start; it was vaguely entertaining to watch him and now you have to speak and you just have to say no but you realise you lost that many minutes. So you feel angry about yourself: that was simply not worth watching, you knew from the start but some tiny detail kept you hooked (his outrageous tail, his eyes, his accent...). And if I watched Stuck in Love in the first place it is because there are many suckers who gobbled the whole bait and graded it above 7 because they can't tell a crude sales pitch from a refined storyline.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Good actors; baaaad and boring movie
lifemore21 January 2014
OMG this was a bore. Total and utter bore. Nice looking, handsome people; boring and contrived storyline. You get to care NOT about any of the characters. In fact, the movie is so desperate that it tries to sneak in a story about a sick person to try to make us care. Really, I find it hard to believe so many people liked it enough for it to receive a 7.3 on IMDb - to date.

Most of the actors have done very good films before, so I know it's not the execution. It's a bad plan that went even more wrong during the act. For instance, tell me about any other father that does not care his son smokes pot - unless he's a total hippie. It's stuff like that. This movie is a bunch of BS and don't waste your time. 7.3, please. Ruined my night and now I am going to doubt the ratings on this site!
11 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Pretentious . . .
purrlgurrl25 October 2014
And a waste of a talented cast. Really, if you're not a "beautiful people" New York socialite with literary pretensions (with a great beach house in the Hamptons and a designer wardrobe) you'll be hard pressed to find anything you can relate to in the movie. All you need do is look at the box office numbers posted on IMDb to see the film appealed to an audience numbered probably only in the hundreds, all living within 150 miles of Manhattan. In spite of all the under-stated yet conspicuous wealth depicted on screen I wonder if anyone involved got paid given the movie's almost non-existent receipts. Don't bother with this. It's a real yawner with zero wide audience appeal.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
so predictable...
missvoon11 May 2014
Well I was so excited when I rent this movie, just because the plot line seems nice, and there was a high score on IMDb. Also and especially because I love books, I love writer's stories on screen, I love love stories and I love Jennifer Connelly. But this movie was so full of clichés, so predictable in all the love stories that are described from the beginning to the end. Plus the books or stories they write don't seem that great, however they have no problem to be published. For me this movie was overrated, and maybe that is because US movies terribly lack authentic low-budget and simple movies...so when an American viewer sees a movie that only SEEMS to be simple, authentic, he/she tends to think it is great and special without giving it a more profound analysis...while it's actually kind of boring and cliché...I have seen much better with lowest rates.
8 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great film about first love and last love!
blueknowser23 September 2013
I loved this film! The casting was very good and all of the characters convincing. Nat Wolff, while unknown to me and maybe most did a bang up job as the inexperienced teen encountering his first experiences with love and sex. Lily Collins in the role of older and very cynical sister was great. It is a film about a family that shares writing and reading as a passion but all have their own vulnerabilities and needs. All of the characters except perhaps Logan Lerman's also has a degree of dysfunction that needs to be addressed. This film kept me involved from start to finish. Greg Kinnear and Jennifer Connolly were very well casted as the divorced parents while Liana Liberato and Logan Lerman did a great job as the young love interests to Nat Wolff and Lily Collins. Altogether a great film that was well worth watching and I recommend it to anyone that likes good intelligent drama.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Love with a spoon of reality and two spoons of smartness
Moh_19939 December 2013
Stuck in love,the title was attractive for me.I was looking for a romance movie to watch,ant it seemed to be a good one.After watching this movie i would like to tell you "Go watch it and enjoy".This movie is the best type of romance movies ,it is a movie that shows real life love not that crazy impossible love.It shows you 3 types of love that you may encounter (or encountered before) in a very realistic way.if u have experience in love you will understand what am talking about,love in real life is full of pain,disappointment,coincidences and mainly "imperfection" .This movie will show the whole parts in a very true and wonderful way.And you will really see love from the point of view of smart writers(characters are all writers).In summary,I think Josh Boone is going to have a great future in movies.He made me "stuck' in the screen focusing on every event. Why only 7?you might.Honestly,the way they made drug abuse a normal thing was so bad .It sends a message that "Its OK to use weed from time to time"??thats a real bad thing that gave the movie -2/10 .I wish directors consider that drugs is not a funny game or stress relief way.It is a real danger that is ruining people out there . Thanks for reading
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
When you suffer with characters like this you deserve a good payoff.
Hellmant18 October 2013
'STUCK IN LOVE': Four and a Half Stars (Out of Five)

A romantic comedy-drama film about a family of writers and their complex relationships with others (involving love). It was written and directed by first time feature film writer Josh Boone and stars Greg Kinnear, Lilly Collins, Nat Wolff, Logan Lerman, Jennifer Connelly, Liana Liberato and Kristen Bell. It also features cameos by Patrick Schwarzenegger (the son of Arnold Schwarzenegger obviously), as a school bully, and the voice of Stephen King! The film is a great examination of love and family relationships and all their ups and downs. It's an amazing film from such a young debut filmmaker (He's almost three years younger than me)!

Kinnear plays a successful writer named William Borgens. He's had several books published, and found some small celebrity status, but hasn't written at all since his wife Erica (Connelly) left him for a younger, and buffer, man (Rusty Joiner) three years earlier. He spends a lot of his nights spying on his ex-wife, and her new husband, and his afternoons sleeping with a married (younger) neighbor woman (Bell). He's taught his teenage kids, Samantha (Collins) and Rusty (Wolf), to be writers since they were newborns and Samantha has just had her first book published. She won't tell her mother about it, and hasn't talked to her in years, because she blames her for breaking her father's heart. She's also skeptical about love (due to her parents' breakup) and just hooks up with stupid guys looking for sex. That starts to change when she meets a musician and classmate, named Lou (Lerman), who has a crush on her. Her younger brother is a hopeless romantic though and has just fallen for a classmate of his at school, as well, named Kate (Liberato). Kate just got out of an abusive relationship (with Schwarzenegger) and has a drug problem but Rusty thinks he can save her.

The movie is cynical at times, especially in the beginning, but it does build to a beautiful happy ending (which I think is wonderful). When you watch movies like this you deserve a happy ending. It's filled with all of life's ugliness and negativity but also it's magic and beauty and when you suffer with characters like this (in a movie like this) you deserve a good payoff. That is the case with this movie but it still seems mostly true to life. It's got it's Hollywood moments, and everyone is just a little too good looking, but it's moving and truthfully touching as well. All the performances are great and the directing and screenplay just hit all the right notes. The soundtrack is filled with awesome and fitting songs as well. It's just one of those movies that's a real treat to watch and makes you feel good (despite it's sad moments). Boone is really a director to watch out for!

Watch our movie review show 'MOVIE TALK' at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mZa4L9FExKY
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
At least this film has a great soundtrack
iamjunandokensan26 September 2013
There's nothing new or fresh about this film but there's definitely something special about the debut director, Josh Boone. He gave a promising directorial effort and so-so film for a new comer. Who am I to critic the new comer directors, I mean they all have their own unique ways. While I'm only 16 still figuring out how to be a critic legend like Roger Ebert.

There's a few laughs in this film which keeps me entertained. The cast's performances are good. I love how Kinnear is consistent on what he's doing. Lerman is always amazing, after watching the perks of being a wallflower a few months ago. I realized that Lerman is going to be a future Oscar-winner, at first I thought he's like some typical teen actors but he proved me wrong. Just by looking at Connelly's eyes, they show endless emotions, it's scary yet attractive, her eyes make the audiences want to watch her more.

I rate this film 5/10 or unfavorable.

http://betweentwofilms.blogspot.com/
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
In spite of an array of average romantic-comedies these days, Stuck in Love tries its best to be humble yet having it's fair share of ROM-com uniform.
WhaDoYaGot19 April 2014
Once in a while a special romantic comedy arrives with the up most intention of bending the rules of the genre. Predictability is lost and truth is portrayed - the rare essential in the ROM-COM environment. Try mixing this with a typical family flick and you might have a few problems. Next add a few curse words, sex and drugs to get it going. In the end, Stuck in Love, has it's proportion of predictability yet is a noble debut for Film-maker Josh Boone.

Novelist, Bill Borgens (Greg Kinnear), is the center of the film amongst his two kids and ex-wife Erica (Jennifer Connelly). From time to time he spies on his ex and her new, much younger partner. You could say he's in a boring mid-life crisis. Then there's the two kids - Samantha and Rusty, both aspiring writers with different views on love. Yes, the bunch are stuck in love.

With reasonably good acting, the cast were well chosen. The smaller parts were given well to Kristen Bell who pops up a few times with good cause and a surprise cameo may interact pleasantly yet a tad cheesy. Nonetheless, the cast is crisp.

Its a decent plot to say the most and when things try spice it up it falls short. These few hardly innovative circumstances aren't resolved the way we wish. They offer capability to provide more state-of-the-art stature, but as you guessed, and knew all along, leave you dry. However where it is decent, it's a good watch despite a sappy ending.

All in all, Josh Boone makes a worthy debut. He's a stack of potential waiting to find the correct film - which is great. He deserves to be somewhere in the 'film-makers to look out for' list whether or not his debut isn't anything significant. It's the seeds for a promising plant.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed