The Other Woman (2014) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
221 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
I Love These Women,they are delicious!.
olalara26 April 2014
The Other Woman is a 2014 American romantic comedy film directed by Nick Cassavetes and written by Melissa Stack. The film stars Cameron Diaz, Leslie Mann, Kate Upton, Nikolaj Coaster-Waldau, Nicki Minaj and Taylor Kinney.

The Movie Plot: After discovering her boyfriend Mark is married, Carly tries to get her ruined life back on track. But when she accidentally meets the wife he's been cheating on, Kate, she realizes they have much in common, and her sworn enemy becomes her greatest friend. When yet another affair, Amber, is discovered, all three women team up to plot mutual revenge on the cheating, lying, three-timing Mark. Things get a lot crazier when they discover that Mark isn't a three-timer he's a four-timer

I really loved this film the women were deliciously cute and their acting was amazing. I laughed a lot and honestly I was surprised that this movie is rather excellent and has been under-rated. The movie poster is simply perfect. Believe me this film is a masterpiece. See it and you will spend the best of times and I guarantee you will quite enjoy this film and you'll love these irresistible ladies.
156 out of 277 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it- well worth a watch- a comedy with substance
lejazzyistepic224 April 2014
I know there are lots of negative reviews (critics, I mean) about this movie which made me unsure about going to see it. Basically what I can say is that reviews can't tell you how you are going to experience this movie- I found it hilarious. I came to a point where I couldn't breathe as I was laughing so much- a nice bit of stress relief. I didn't find that there were laughing moments the WHOLE way through- I don't know why the critics didn't like this though- at least it's not just a mindless comedy. It has a genuine plot line which is followed through- a comedy with substance- it's not just one funny scenario after another and this emphasises the hilarity of the funny moments that do come up. Would definitely recommend it- left me buzzing after wards- can be enjoyed by everyone. I found Leslie Mann was the shining star of the movie- so was Cameron Diaz (slightly less so than Mann). Kate Upton, I think contributed very little- don't know why she got the billing that she did. Nikolaj Coaster-Waldau also stood out for me.
78 out of 153 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
And The Razzie Goes To...
blackdoug15 May 2014
This is exactly what it advertises itself to be. At least that was refreshing. It's completely mindless and almost every single character is either extremely shallow or irritating and often both.

As badly as this is written, somehow Leslie Mann makes it work for her character. She manages to make the viewer actually care about her somehow. She simply puts it all on the table and her boldness mixed with her charm manages to rise above awful material. The rest of the cast is, frankly, terrible. The cheating husband is such a dumb cartoon character. Cameron Diaz has grown genuinely unpalatable. Kate Upton tried her gorgeous best but it's clear even the director had to try and cut around her acting shortcomings. I smell a few Razzie nominations for this mess.
66 out of 128 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Completely hilarious if you can forget about your sense of reality.
Shopaholic3520 April 2014
I really don't care how unrealistic or clichéd this movie is because I loved it. It was absolutely hilarious and stayed true to it's chick flick roots.

Leslie Mann deserves major credit because she is incredibly talented and carried a lot of the movie. Don't get me wrong I also enjoyed Cameron Diaz & Kate Upton's performances but Leslie is in a comedy league of her own. So incredibly impressed was I with the movie that I was even able to alter my personal feelings about Cameron Diaz (I don't know what it is but she annoys me).

Be prepared to throw your expectations and sense of reality out of the window for this film. If you do I think you will love it.
55 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I was all smiles throughout the day!
wintermoist20 April 2014
Although it ended up too soon for my expectations, the director never left me hanging wondering how they ended up. It's just effortless-the hand gestures, the facial expression. I think that the actresses will find a hard time moving on from their role.

This is one of the most heartwarming comedies I have ever watched. When I came inside the theater, I thought it will bore me to death. Only to find out that when I came out, I was still smiling my heart out. If ever I will have children, and they reach the appropriate age, I will watch this with them until my dentures fall out of place.

A movie that will empower women, teach them to think on their own and never let themselves be hurt by men. Simply amazing.
60 out of 119 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A fun, enjoyable movie made for laughs
megan120713 April 2014
I don't quite know why people are rating this movie so poorly I went into this expecting a dull chic flick but I was presently surprised, it doesn't have the most complex of plots and it won't win points for originality but it is a great movie. It is made for fun value it offers genuine laughs, good acting a fun and exciting plot and a heart felt feel, it is made to be enjoyed and that is what I did, I enjoyed it, it's only real problem is Niki minaj (sorry if I spelt that wrong) I don't really like her normally but one person that affects the movie so little can not bring down its overall rating I would definitely recommend this movie to anyone looking for a good movie and I would urge you to not be technical with the movie just enjoy it !
58 out of 115 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A Senseless Woman's Revenge Fantasy
dylandesign14 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Dressed up as a comedy movie, the narrative surrounds three grown adult women who attempt to resolve an affair by playing childish pranks and eventually driving the man to self harm and bankruptcy.

Instead of speaking with the cheating husband about the affairs, our female protagonists think it funny to...
  • Involuntarily alter his body by overdosing his drinks with female hormones.
  • Dilute his shampoo with hair removing cream, causing him to lose his hair.
  • Flush his toothbrush in the toilet...
  • Pour dangerous amounts of laxative into his drink at a restaurant.
  • Have a drag queen sexually assault him without consent.


All the while, the women are portrayed as strong supportive characters, with a cringey slow-motion beach shot where they all hold each other as if to say 'yeah girl power! we're all in this cruel vendetta until the end!'.

After the slew of assaults upon his person, they climax by confronting him, causing him to have a nervous breakdown, and they literally stand around watching as he breaks his nose and then trips into a glass pane that shatters and cuts him up. They literally just stand there watching. Nobody offers to check if he's okay or call an ambulance. I guess that's okay because he's a man.

The worse thing about this movie is that it is NOT a good portrayal of women, and there is something seriously wrong with society if we do find this funny.
13 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved this movie!
sharon-reevelamesa26 April 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Leslie Mann is amazing! What a refreshingly wonderful actress! Her comedic timing is perfect. I bet she just ad-libbed most of her scenes and it was so mesmerizingly good. I would love to have girlfriends like this. Nicki Minaj was excellent too. I enjoyed Cameron Diaz too. I just loved the whole movie. It was perfect: no violence, no horror, no big special effects, and nothing upsetting. I am not a movie snob, just a regular girl who wants to see a entertaining movie that leaves me feeling good afterward. This movie did that. If you want a light-hearted comical romp where the girls prevail in the end-see this movie.
49 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funniest movie I've seen in years
I went to this movie not expecting a lot, but thinking it would be okay. It was hilarious. I haven't seen anything this entertaining in years. I honestly cannot remember the last time I laughed this hard at a movie. Cameron Diaz is starting to look a bit old to play these parts, but she pulled it off for this movie and she was fabulous in the part. Kate Upton isn't the best actress in the world, but no more than she had to act, she did fine, however, the person who made this movie was Leslie Mann. This is the first thing I've seen her in, but she was awesome. The movie was clean and it was delightful. The only downside to it was that the audience was laughing so hard, you missed some of the lines. The end of it was a little over done in my opinion, but we are talking about 2 minutes out of 100. I would strongly recommend this movie. I plan to see it again.
72 out of 148 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Loved it!
dais_k21 July 2014
Yes, the characters are over the top. But it didn't bother me at all! This film actually needs those over the top characters to fit the plot. And I do think the acting women pulled it off! Unfortunately I do agree with reviewers which mentioned bad acting from the male character. But it didn't bother me that much to make the movie less enjoyable.

This is a typical chick flick, and the kind you want to watch on a lazy Sunday. Because I love that kind of movie from time to time, and I think this one is just the wright fit, I gave it a high rating.

But I can understand this movie is not for anyone. When you're going to watch this, just don't take everything too serious! Just have a laugh..
39 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Review
karinacoronabusiness28 April 2014
I saw this movie a few days after it came out on theater and I had really high expectations (uhm Bridesmaids helloo...) and to be completely honest.... I LOVED IT!!!!!! Its a total chick flick with comedy through out the whole thing it is such a fun movie to watch with anyone. Leslie Mann was awesome I didn't think he could play such a goofy role :) I recommend this movie to anyone who wants a good laugh and wants to see some ho and talented actresses!! Its start off with Cameran Diaz and the SOB their all lovey and what not soon after were introduced to the WIFE she's a total dork so sweet but naïve. It becomes obvious that the SOB is only using her for his own good (you will learn what I mean if you watch it) but Kate Upton aka boobs is not introduce until waaaaaaaay later one and shes the young one with not much to say lol ooo and nicki minaj mini role was also a killer for the movie felt like total DIVA CONTROL MOVIE LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!
46 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Surprisingly good...and funny!
aishareneemoore13 April 2014
This movie actually made me laugh out loud throughout. Cameron Diaz was funny, as usual, but Leslie Mann's performance pushed the film from a 6 to an 8. Even Nicki Minaj (not a fan) has some acting skills, though she is known already for her many "characters." Taylor Kinney...who is he? Hmmm, he was so-so; his acting started out very rough in the film. The other actors were great.

An unlikely storyline, the band of wife and mistresses becomes believable. Coincidentally watched The First Wives Club a couple days later and this movie is like the updated, raunchy, and edgy version of that. Great storyline and it (and the characters) developed wonderfully! I say... go see it. Or at least watch it on video!
44 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Well
daytyrell_kennedy26 April 2014
When I first say The Other Woman Trailer, I was not too sure if I was going to like it. I like chick flicks but they have to be good, and I mean GOOD. The movie was really entertaining and kept me laughing through the whole movie. I really only went to see Nicki Minaj, this being her first big movie, but I was surprised that I actually liked the whole movie. The crazy funny girls, three beautiful woman all very fun to watch. My favorite would have to be Kate, She stole the show from star Carly with her funny antics and funny personality. To sum it all up The Other woman get a 10/10 from me for being funny, having a great plot, and a wonderful cast.
55 out of 113 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
If You Liked The First Wives Club... Warning: Spoilers
This was a hilarious movie of revenge and consequences. One thing we know for a fact is that there are a lot of women who have been cheated on, and there are a lot of women who have unknowingly been the other woman. As women, we're told not to blame the other woman for the affair, but instead the blame should be placed on the married man, because, after all, he knew what he was doing the entire time. "The Other Woman" is a lot of women's fantasy on film; a depiction of women getting together to get back at the cheating, lying man in their lives, who brought them heartache due to his selfishness and deceit. "The Other Woman" is cleverly written, has a lot of relatable humor and shows that out of the heartbreak that comes from cheating, not only can their be vindication, but a friendship can develop between women due to that unfortunate, yet common bond. Cameron Diaz was the funniest I think she's been since "There's Something About Mary" and "The Other Woman" if worth going to see if you want to laugh out loud. This is the best 'wife revenge' movie since the "First Wives Club". So if you liked "The First Wives Club", you will love "The Other Woman"!
44 out of 89 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely Amazing.
savannahwilkins11 November 2014
Do not listen to critic reviews they just down movies for attention . This movie is hilarious, witty, and interesting. Seeing how the girls bond will make you almost wish this was happening to you! I just imagined all the fun they had and me in their place, it was an awesome movie. I signed up just to review this movie if you don't read anything I say just take this advice. Watch the movie yourself. Cameron Diaz, Leslie Mann, and Kate Upton played their roles stupendously and each had their own unique skill to bring into the sisterhood and none were as dumb as one might think. I would rate this movie a 100 out of 10 if I could I cried during the last 10 minutes just seeing how each life was changed as a result.
30 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious 2👍👍 up
pia-lee052225 April 2014
This movie was absolutely freaking hilarious!!!! Leslie Mann was awesomely funny. Cameron Diaz and Kate Upton were funny as well.. I absolutely love Nicki Minaj character Lydia!!!...The men in the cast were great, and then the "Legend wait for it Dary"***Barney Stinson Voice*** Don Johnson as Cameron Diaz dad.. Wanted to see the 7o'clock show but it was sold out and went to the 8o'clock show... This is the one best chick flicks in a long time...You can't always go by others reviews, you have to see our for yourself!!! This is definitely worth the money..Hopefully they can make a sequel... Will definitely see it again and buy it when it comes out on DVD!!!👍👍👍👍😄😄😄😄
53 out of 110 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funny and Comedic At The Same Time
ezrialover1226 April 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I just recently saw "The Other Woman" and I found that the film was funny and comedic at the same time. Cameron Diaz, Leslie Mann, and Kate Upton have the perfect chemistry as a trio of women who all find that they have been played by the same man with Mann's character Kate as his wife and Diaz and Upton's characters as his mistresses. The scenes that are completely hilarious are when Kate is putting estrogen pills in her husband's smoothies while Carly has put laxative powder in his drink. Taylor Kinney as Kate's brother Phil is so hot in this movie that any girl or woman even would just swoon when he's on the screen. Nikki Minaj may only be in a few scenes but she doesn't steal the show from these veteran actresses. You will have a great laugh when you see this movie because I know I did. Any woman who has ever been cheated on will gladly root for the downfall of this cheater.
45 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
When Men Cheat
cyclerrollie12 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
When men cheat, what happens in this movie usually doesn't happen, but it did for these three ladies, and it makes for an enjoyable watch. The plot isn't filled with holes, and there are a lot of laughs, especially out of what Kate Upton says because she's really only known for the Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Editions and therefore starts off playing a bit of a ditz, sort of like Leslie Mann's character, who is the insecure one of the group that's tricked into signing papers for her husband's company that she's the CEO of.

Enjoy this film with friends. It's the perfect buddy comedy even though the cast is largely female and men aren't really a big part of it at all. It'll be part of Cameron Diaz's best of collection in the coming years.
36 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is funny enough to have been called CARLY'S ANGELS!
Carycomic28 April 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I'll admit it. I went to this film expecting it to be a bigger flop than KNIGHT AND DAY. But, man! Was I proved wrong.

Cameron Diaz is perfectly believable as the modern WSF yuppie who has it all. Looks; brains; a high-paying job; and a sexy boyfriend (played by Nikolas Waldau) she's been dating for two straight months. But, when Waldau blows off meeting her father (the still-versatile Don Johnson, now playing the same type of lovably lecherous old codger James Gammon played in NASH BRIDGES), she goes to spy on him. Thinking he's simply being commitment-phobic.

Imagine her surprise at meeting her boyfriend's cute-but-naïve redheaded wife (played by Leslie Mann)! Followed by the two of them meeting--and befriending--the buxom-yet-sensitive Kate Upton!

I won't spoil the rest of the film for you, except to say that Ms. Mann practically steals the show with her character's ditziness.* And, Ms. Diaz still looks as good in a bikini as Ms. Upton! The latter is not just eye-candy, however. She's very articulate. And, Waldau is almost _too_ believable as the unfaithful con artist they now love to hate.

Of course, I must confess that Ms. Diaz and Mr. Johnson are the only two names I recognized in the opening cast credits. Ms. Upton, Ms. Mann, and Mr. Waldau all being completely unknown to me! But, I sense all that's going to change for these three in the very near future. So, go see this film and suspend all disbelief. Because that's the best way to shamelessly enjoy it...like I did.

* "It rhymes with 'schlintercourse.' " Lol!
43 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Don't Waste Your Time With This Potboiler.
tampinator21 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
What an excruciating film this is, thank Christ I sort of watched it for free on TV. Every cliché in the book from the bloody annoying largest dog they could find to any opportunity to do some kind of faux girlie intoxicated squabble involving lots of garbled script. the sole thing that kept me from turning it off was to see what kind of clichéd comeuppance the two-timing husband was going to get. It certainly didn't disappoint, the ending was predictably bland. All the girls having seen off the scheming husband end up in clover one way or the other, the antihero presumably on skid row. I don't blame the acting, except Niki Minaj.....what was all that about, why was she even in this film...the guilty party was the director who's supposed to be in charge....dreadful.
11 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Feel-Good Comedy That Reminds Us That BFFs > Bros
alcheadle28 July 2014
I love love love this movie! I figured that it would be fun to watch, because you can't go wrong with Cameron Diaz and Leslie Mann as the lead characters...but it exceeded my expectations by like 2-3 stars. My boyfriend even caught himself belly-laughing out loud a handful of times during this movie. It was just what I needed: a lighthearted, feel-good comedy that ultimately becomes a story about female friendship and self-empowerment. If you're a girl who's ever been betrayed, felt insecure, down in the dumps, or felt like you've lost the upper-hand in a relationship, go see this movie! It will pick you up, dust you off, give you a pep talk, and remind you of how important it is to have good girl friends that make you laugh and pick you up when you're down. It might also make you paranoid that your perfectly charming husband is having a secret affair... but try not to let it have that effect on you. :)
38 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wow! (small spoiler, outlined with **
emmymaddyxx31 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is absolutely amazing! Loved it so so so so much! Watched it tonight at the movies. As well as it being a chick flick, **it tells the story of three girls coming together because of one stupid guy.** I think it had an interesting plot and left me on the edge of my seat the entire time. My favorite part would have definitely been ** the humor Kate had. it left me and everyone in the almost full cinema laughing our heads off**. Definitely worth watching and is age appropriate for people 13 year old (I have heard some people saying it is inappropriate), apart from a few scenes. If you haven't seen it yet, you need to!
37 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Slow starter but very very funny
kayleigharthurs7 May 2014
This film is a true romcom as you can literally split the film into two halves the first half is the rom the second half is the com. However this adds emotion and understanding to the film as it really sets the scene. The second half really does have some eye watering laugh out loud moments. The acting was great and the filming is superb. Despite being a 'chickflick' i didn't find it particularly predictable or too cliché. In fact there was one part of the film that was so unexpected i actually jumped a little in my seat in the cinema but so did a few others. Strongly recommend the film to anyone, my husband watched it with me and he too was just as impressed as i was. A*
40 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Complete Hilarity........
JustTexasChamelion6 January 2015
I absolutely LOVE this movie! I am stunned that people are rating it so low. I found it very entertaining and was surprised at how much I laughed. Just when I thought it had hit the funniest point and would slow down it got funnier. All of the characters were perfectly portrayed in my opinion.You have your lying sneaky guy who has a great wife whose soul purpose in life is to support his career. The girlfriend who just adores him is clueless he is married. Someone plans a big surprise and the roller-coaster of hilarity begins. I won't give away any of it but if you miss this one you are doing yourself a disfavor!!! The antics the characters engulf themselves in are such a riot. The scenery is great. Every situation so well planned out this movie ..in my opinion..is simply flawless.

Keep your remote handy because you will laugh so hard you'll need to rewind to catch something else that just happened it is DEFINITELY a MUST SEE!
28 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Most Negative--"critics"-- Reviews Tend To Be Wrong
ulysses-th2020 June 2014
Another hilarious Cameron Diaz movie. I loved it! As much as some or many "critics" can go on about not liking this movie, so can those who liked it, so we'll stop there. WATCH this movie. The other hilarious one was Bad Teacher. Both amazingly funny movies. I tend to see a lot of dislikes on movies and music where a Hispanic (an obvious Hispanic or those with an obvious Hispanic name) is the lead star (tho not many Hispanics have lead roles) or singer, both from "critics" and/or "professionals" and the mass population. I just watched it and felt like saying what actually is vs the "critics'" usual arrogant and ignorant views. Watch these movies: you wont be disappointed. (I actually like Cameron Diaz' body over Uptons)
44 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed