Best Man Down (2012) Poster

(2012)

User Reviews

Review this title
32 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
one of the best drama's of 2013
bektaskonca7 October 2013
A newlywed couple cancels their honeymoon and returns to the snowy Midwest to make the funeral arrangements for their best man, who died unexpectedly after their ceremony. i should say this film is not a COMEDY, it is a hard hitting drama about our friends and families that we think we know? i was surprised as i was expecting this film to be a comedy and i just wanted to watch it out of boredom and 30 minutes later i realised this was not that film. i decided to watch it until the end due excellent direction, slow unfolding mystery and the very GOOD acting, i say that was a wise choice because it turned out to be a gem. i will recommend this movie to any one who likes drama film and a very good one it is.
53 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Excellent and moving drama
cliff3149 October 2013
It never ceases to amaze us that so many of the "smaller" movies have more substance and interest than the so called blockbusters. Best Man Down is a fine example. Interesting from the start, and with a few different threads in the early stages which inevitably come together and make sense as the movie progresses. Very strong performances from all the cast, with a special mention to Addison Timlin in the pivotal role as Ramsey.

Set mainly in the fairly bleak backdrop of Minnesota, this movie is engaging and thoughtful with a satisfying and believable resolution.

This appears to be the first movie directed and written by Ted Koland, and I hope he does more.

Quality.
48 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
surprising
toby-brace25 January 2014
This is not a comedy. Whoever billed it as such is an idiot. People will be disappointed and some of the reviews I've read were very negative as a result. This is in fact a very fresh and surprising drama about people and the secrets they keep and the sometimes strange ways in which they meet and find love. I was totally surprised at the ending and I felt a definite feel good rush. It was perhaps a bit contrived, but I didn't care. I was too busy just feeling good. A great piece of film making. The acting is superb throughout, especially the young female lead. And the last time I saw the male lead was in 'Live free or die hard' where he was a likable hacker. Well he is likable here too. All round high quality human drama. Loved it.
24 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I can't say enough about this movie. I want everyone I know to watch it. A near perfect movie that I can't recommend enough.
cosmo_tiger14 January 2014
"It was fun, it was always fun with Lumpy. He was the first real friend I ever had." Lumpy (Labine) is Scott's (Long) best friend and best man at his wedding. When he gets a little out of control Scott tells him to go sleep it off so he doesn't ruin the wedding. The next day everyone is shocked at Lumpy's death and now Scott and his new wife are arranging his funeral instead of honeymooning. When they begin to tell Lumpy's friends about what happened they discover a man they never knew. This is one of the biggest surprises I have ever found in terms of movies. I expected this to be funny for two reasons...Justin Long and Tyler Labine. Those guys are so funny without trying to be that I was looking forward to laughing many times even with the subject matter. What I found out was that not only was I wrong about laughing the entire time but I cried at the end. Labine was a great choice because he is so likable and even though he is only in the movie off and on his presence is felt and that impacts everything. I can not say enough about this movie and I want everyone I know to watch it. It does have moments where I did laugh, it's not morbid even though the plot revolves around death, and the most important thing this movie has is heart without coming off as unbelievably cheesy. This is a near perfect movie and I can't recommend this enough. I loved it. I give this an A+.
37 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Amazing movie and not what you'd expect.
thejoshuap212114 October 2013
The premise of this movie leads you to believe that there will be undertones of black comedy, however, it couldn't be farther from that. This was a heartfelt tale that carefully leads the audience from one emotion to the next flawlessly. As I'm sure other reviewers will state, it really is in the smaller budget movies that some actors best work comes out and the best stories are told. I would highly recommend this movie to anyone.

Lastly, to save you the time...

The track that plays at the end of the movie is Come Back To Us by Release The Sunbird. It's a perfect song to showcase the feeling the movie gives you at the end.
33 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A movie about Love. Not the sex, or the taking, just the Giving Love.
face-819-93372618 October 2013
L O V E That is really what this is all about. There are a lot of great actors in this movie. Everyone here is in it all the way. There is just one solid message, and that is that love should only be the giving, and never any of the other nonsensical things that we like to think that it is.

You try making it through this movie without getting misty. These are raw well developed characters, and they are leading you with each step with their full open expressions, and those running gags.

If you were a fan of Juno you will fall off your chair to watch this one again.

Enjoy!
23 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An underrated romance classic
akshay-ak-kumar24 March 2014
I saw the trailer of this movie on youtube a weeks ago and I got interested in checking out the film which I did finally last nite. It was 130 mins well spent.

Best Man Down is an unlikely tale when the Best Man of Scott & Kristin's (played by Long and Weixler) marriage, Lumpy (Labine) dies just after the reception has ended. Lumpy has not many friends and the newly wed couple are now arranging the funeral in Minnesota instead on going on their honeymoon. During all this, they find out of that Lumpy had another one friend called Ramsey (Timlin) in Minnesota who turns out to be a 15 yr old girl studying in high school.

Who is Ramsey? How does she know Lumpy? What was her relationship with Lumpy? And lots of other questions bothers the newly wed couple and especially Scott who wonders did he really know Lumpy whom he met in high school.

Best Man Down works because of its unusual story and simplistic screenplay. Its a slow film and one needs a bit of patience in the beginning. But it grows over you as it progresses and the reason being the writers make Lumpy and Ramsey's relationship a suspense.

Even in the scenes where the couple fight or Ramsey fights with her mother, the writers and directors keep the tone low and it never goes over the top.

The casting is perfect. Long and Weixler are perfect as the newly wed couple who are trying to make their marriage work after Lumpy's death. Labine is effective in his short role as Lumpy and special mention to Shelly Long who plays Kristin's mother. Her character gets the smile on our faces in this serious film with her out of place dialogues.

However, the star of the this film is Timlin. I have seen Timlin in Californication before and I was not sure what kind of actress she is . After watching this film, I can easily say that she is a fine actress in the making. Timlin is in her early 20s but portrays the 15 yr old Ramsey with ease. Her character longs to be loved and cared and you feel for her. The scene where she comes to know about Lumpy's death is brilliant. She initially doesn't react much to the surprise of the couple but when alone, she breaks down.

I hope she gets better films to do in the future because there is talent in her to be explored.

I wonder how this film was missed by the awards in US. This is under rated romance classic because there is no physical love...just unspoken love between two people. This film deserved a couple of nominations of its screenplay.
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fantastic film worth watching.
kenziemay20 December 2013
Excellent film. I wouldn't really call it a chick flick, it's far better than that. The comedy isn't persistent which I liked most, just a refreshing story about a newly wed couple trying to grasp at the loss of their friend, a funeral to take care of and cancelling their honeymoon. The characters were likable and it even threw in a little twist toward the mid-end which you may or may not have seen coming. It's heartwarming and down to earth without most of the cliché nonsense you see in most comedies, a real nice surprise.

Fantastic cast. Justin Long and Jess Weixler make a great team. It was nice to see another movie with Tyler Labine, he seems like a such a fun, lovable guy and what a great actor! If you're hesitant, definitely go for it. I give it a solid 8/10.
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
absolute delight
srsushantraghav26 January 2014
this is my first review and i cannot be more happier to write it... the movie is astonishingly simple and beautiful.don't know why its 6.5,it should be up with 9s and 8s. well after seeing this movie i just kind of felt happy and wished we all be like these people portrayed in this movie.watched it when i was nothing to do and it took me by surprise... really sad that everybody waste money in making action packed cinema (hollywood)and shitty love stories (bollywood)while they should concentrate more on these kind of movies. really really love the movie and the theme too.

one of the very best movies i have ever watched. the best.
18 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Well constructed character-driven Drama
castillooffice9 October 2013
To me this is a really beautifully made Drama. The characters seem very authentic and relatable and the actors, especially Addison Timlin, are just terrific. I guess it's not spoiling, when the scenes are in the trailer, so: At the beginning, there is a wedding, Scott and Kristin are getting married and Scott's best friend "Lumpy" is his best man. He passes away on the wedding night, causing the newlyweds to take care of his funeral instead of going on their honeymoon. In order to organize the funeral, they contact Lumpy's College, Workplace and friends, and that is how they meet Ramsey, a smart girl from a broken family. As I said, the characters are very authentically constructed and they are also where the focus lies. Addison Timlin, as Ramsey, gives such a touching performance and the nonsexual lovestory between her and Lumpy is beautiful to watch. I recommend this movie to everyone who likes character-driven Dramas. The reason I gave it 8 and not 10 stars, is that the end is too quick and easy for me and not very realistic (without giving spoilers), it seems a little bit like a cop out to give this rather dark and deep movie about friendship and family a happy ending, but on the other hand, it makes it really viewer-friendy. I feel like with an 6,4 it is underrated.
18 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great movie
ololcuhi16 November 2013
Warning: Spoilers
The movie is basically about a happy-go-lucky guy, Lumpy. After the wedding at which he was the best man, he got drunk and fell. On getting up he had a heart attack and "died on a cactus"(constant reference was made to this phrase during the movie). His death made his long-term friends realize that Lumpy had given up a lot to make others happy. He dropped out of law school to spend his last days happy. Ramsey was his last new acquaintance with whom he made a very special connection. He visited her every weekend over a period of 9 months and even opted to take her to his place to start college one year early. The movie is a very warm one. You learn what love really is. Lumpy was happy and he spread it out whether you wanted to get it or not. I must say the casting was really good and the actors played out their parts just right! Ramsey did a great job though and I hope to see her in more movie productions in future. If you've not seen this movie, forgotten what true love entails, miss good friends or simply wanna have a good time I advice you go see this movie or just get a disc or something. Its worth the time.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good Script, Good Acting and Good Direction =One Lovely Film
danew1325 October 2013
Warning: Spoilers
At first you feel this may be a rom/com in the making. But it doesn't take long to realize this is developing into a little multi layered gem of a domestic drama that peaks at a funeral late in the film.

Best Man Down is a story on at least three levels dealing with enduring friendship,loyalty and new beginnings. Justin Long and Jess Weixler are great as newly weds in the midst of a tragedy.

Yet,their lives take a turn for the better when they hook up with the mysterious friend, Addison Timlin, of their dearly departed best man...Once again Timlin shows the range she has. However,I wonder when the film was actually made.She's 22 but plays and looks like the 15 year old she's suppose to be. All-in-all a warm and enjoyable film.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Wonderful Story
jeff-20512 May 2018
When I see "expert" reviewers rate a really good storyline so low, all I think about is the fact that 99.9% have NEVER created anything of their own. This is a fine film. Perhaps the premise has been used before, but it is more than a worthy viewing experience.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
How one sad event that changed many peoples' lives.
Reno-Rangan4 July 2016
Originally it was known as 'Lumpy', but this new title seems much better. Even though this title name is somewhat misleading regarding the film subject. I saw it a couple of years delayed, because I was not interested after knowing the title thinking it might be some kind of a silly B comedy. Surprisingly, this was one of the best films of the 2013 I've seen. This is not a comedy alone as it was classified, but a beautiful semi-emotional drama just like the film 'The Guilt Trip'.

The cast was so good, I loved everyone's performances. But in the opening, it looked like a mindless comedy with dumb characters. Only while the film progress, it slowly developed many awesome plots and I was totally impressed with it, especially for the way it ended. Yep, it concluded on a high note compared to the ordinary initiation. I think credit should go the writer-come-director, as well as the actors.

It was a two layered narration that sets in two different cities where one of it was a flashback, but both of them meets during the middle. So what comes later was the best segment. The second half is what made this film a better product. This is not an extraordinary film, but for a small project and its not so popular cast, it really excelled my expectation.

Well maintained suspense, and I don't think anybody could guess them out that easily. Till the final scene, it'll keep you alive, especially if you like melodrama you'll surely enjoy it better than others. Lately Justin Long has been doing some of the interesting small-scale films and this is one of them that you should try it if you're a film fanatic without barriers in viewing any category films.

7.5/10
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
sadly beautiful
soulsmile336 December 2013
a overlooked movie that hasn't been given nearly enough credit. a gentle, low key story about the interconnection between people and the importance that we usually never know we have to someone else. you may think you know where it's going, but you don't. there are subtle twists and unexpected bits that make you "feel" and want to know more.

it's not easy to confine the movie into a specific genre, but i can say that it's a soft spoken movie with significant power to remind you that even though life is often truly messed up, and people are usually not who you think they are... sometimes it's exactly the way things are supposed to be.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Small but excellent drama with a great cast
MattyGibbs10 June 2014
Best Man Down is a light drama which follows a couple whose honeymoon is cancelled after the death of the best man. It sounded an interesting plot and as a fan of Justin Long I was looking forward to seeing it.

This is a well shot film with interesting characters and a nice sharp script. It contains a nice mix of humour and a number of quite sad moments. The cast is mainly excellent especially from Justin Long and Jess Weixler who have a great chemistry as the young couple. Tyler Labine is very charismatic as the Best Man.

Although maybe a bit far fetched this is nevertheless a really enjoyable drama that is always entertaining. The only downsides to me was the relationship between Ramsey and her mother which never quite rang true and the fact that the film had to tie up all the loose ends.

This is a gem of a film that is well worth seeking out for fans of independent drama.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved this movie!!!!!
Kellycro4 February 2014
This is my first written review ever. That says a lot because I watch many movies with my sweetie, and we both loved it! What can I say? This was a great heart warming movie. A wonderful lesson about never judging a book/ or a man by their cover. This world needs more movies like this as far as teaching us all a little more about true friendship and different forms of it.

All we get from movies now is to much violence, and not enough thought provoking writing.

Everyone should see this movie. There is something for everyone.

The acting was superb. I especially liked Addison in this role, and hope to see her in many more.

Only thing on the bad side that I will say, is it should have been longer. I also wished we had watched this instead of the Super Bowl. I'm a huge football fan so that says it all. lol
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
laughed at the begining, cried at the end! what a transition!!
Logomark89025 January 2018
This movie changed its tone in a vary subtle way from begining to end. i laughed cried smiled and fell in love with this movie by the end. this is not what i expected when i started this movie. but as the movie progressed it kept surprising me. worth your time if you want to see a feel good movie witha heart. bcz this one definiely has a big heart.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fabulous
davia6617 September 2014
This is not a comedy, so if that is what you are looking for, watch something else. If are looking for a heart warming movie, with substance, this just might be one you will enjoy. I am tired of all the special effects, in place of dialogues. This movie is a wake up to life, and its true meaning. I really enjoyed it, as you can see with the rating I gave. I can't promise you won't shed a tear or two, but it will not let you down. One line that stuck with me (paraphrase) is, just because you have known someone for a long time, doesn't make them your best friend. Truer words were never spoken. I don't know why IMDb insists on 1000 words, or 10 lines, but everything from here on in is an echo of what I have already said.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
very underrated, a gem.
algirdas-prei15 January 2018
I won't say nothing new in this review, everything you need to know is written in other top reviews. I am writing this just to say that this movie is really good. It should be ~7.5 in overall imdb rating, it's that good as a dramedy, top notch quality in filmography, beautifully shot. Very good acting, especially Addison Timlin was outstanding, she created one of the most compelling characters I ever seen in cinema. This movie is not comedy, it's about 80% of drama, however the drama is not heavy/dark, it's sad but compelling and uplifting, plus some quirky(in a good way) comedy lightens the mood. Watch it, you'll not regret this.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not as funny as the title and cast suggests but worth watching.
Hellmant19 December 2013
'BEST MAN DOWN': Three and a Half Stars (Out of Five)

Emotional comedy drama film about a newlywed couple who has to deal with their best man suddenly dropping dead on their wedding night. The movie stars Justin Long and Jess Weixler as the newlyweds and Tyler Labine as Long's best man. It also co-stars Addison Timlin, Shelley Long and Frances O'Connor. The film was written and directed by Ted Koland (making his feature film directorial and writing debut). I didn't think the movie was really that funny but I did like the characters and drama they're involved in. It's also filled with decent to good performances and it's nice to see Long (Justin Long, not Shelley) taking on more serious roles (he's good at them too).

Long plays Scott and Weixler plays Kristin, the two are getting married as the film begins. Labine plays Scott's best man Lumpy. Scott and Lumpy have grown apart over recent years but Lumpy has generously offered to pay for the financially strapped couple's honeymoon. Kristin is unaware of this and isn't happy with Lumpy being Scott's best man; as he's an obnoxious drunk who gets wasted at their wedding. He also drops dead that night, outside the hotel the wedding party is staying at, and Scott and Kristin have to postpone their honeymoon in order to deal with his funeral (Kristin is not happy about that either). While preparing for the funeral they find out there's a lot about Lumpy they didn't know, including a relationship he had with a 15-year-old girl named Ramsey (Timlin).

Long is great in the film and Labine (like always) is extremely lovable and energetic. Weixler is good as well, she tends to play characters that are somewhat hard to like (at least at first) but she's definitely a decent actress. It's Timlin that steals the movie though. She's 21 but she definitely looks 15 in this film and her character is the most relatable and sympathetic. Like I said the drama in the film definitely works, it's a little bit of a downer but it's also inspiring and attempts to make you cherish life a little more. Not as funny as the title and cast suggests but it definitely is worth watching.

Watch our movie review show 'MOVIE TALK' at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JYWAOd_o4Sk
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Its good, but what's the point?
TheSaraheverett26 April 2014
Do you remember in English class when the teacher would ask you "What is the author's purpose?"; is it to entertain, give information, tell an important story, teach a moral? I think this film seemed to lack an author's purpose. There is no doubt that it is well done and has a great cast. The characters are interesting and the plot could be funny and moving if it just had a purpose. It just feels like a story. "We did this, and then this happened, and then they all lived happily ever after." I'm not saying I didn't enjoy it, but I just didn't get anything out of it. There wasn't a moral or a lesson to be learned from it. There was some real potential there. They could've had a very well set up comedy, or a thoughtful romance but instead it just felt like a flat drama with no end game. It sad really. I was expecting more from it.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Best Man Down strikes a blissful tonal mix that turns one man's death into another man's enlightening journey, as both Justin Long and Tyler Labine flex their dramatic acting.
iamnaresh9 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Ok, we've all been to a wedding where one of the guests gets a little too hammered for their own good, lighting up the dance floor with sloppy movements and encouraging dangerous amounts of shot-ripping - but what if he/she didn't survive the night? The "Best Man" has a ton of duties in a wedding party, but staying alive typically isn't a concern.

Ted Koland's Best Man Down introduces this nightmare scenario, tying together new beginnings and untimely ends in a way that's both comical and emotionally revealing. There's sometimes a difference between being someone's "Best Man" and oldest friend, and Koland explores a friendship that is strong, but hasn't been revisited for a brief period of time. Life can change in a heartbeat, even at the happiest of occasions.

Scott (Justin Long) and Kristin (Jess Weixler) have waited their whole lives for a happy wedding ceremony, choosing the destination route in Arizona. Among their friends and family is Scott's Best Man "Lumpy" (Tyler Labine), who proves to be taking full advantage of the open bar. Guzzling libations and stumbling about the wedding ceremony, Scott is eventually forced to cut his best friend off and send him to bed. It's here where Lumpy continues his buffoonery, but after injuring himself and ending up locked out of the hotel, he starts stumbling around the desert landscape, and drops dead. Awaking to the horrible news, Scott is forced to cancel his extravagant honeymoon to ensure Lumpy gets a proper funeral, dragging his new wife back to Minneapolis instead of a sunny beach - a choice that turns into a period of discovery and reflection for all parties involved.

Ted Koland does so much right to ensure Lumpy's death never loses importance, and that's why Best Man Down works so well. While the title may sound like some silly friendship comedy, Koland's script does much more than just send Scott and Kristin on some wild goose chase while delving into Lumpy's past, instead revealing strong themes surrounding mortality, true friendship, and happiness. Our perception of Lumpy changes dramatically as his drunken foolishness is explained and a much more somber situation is revealed, as we learn to love Lumpy in death.

It's Labine and Long who make Lumpy's life so meaningful, both on different levels. Labine obviously portrays Lumpy's drunken wedding night antics, establishing the bad, but then through the magic of flashbacks, it's Labine who wins us over with charming sweetness. Easily assuming Lumpy's untimely end was brought about by partying too hard, falling victim to some type of drugs, or any other life ruining devices, Labine's ongoing establishment of a loving, caring Lumpy reverses the intoxicated spell originally put on our doomed character.

Long, on the other hand, has to show the impact Lumpy's death has on his supposed best friend, even though Scott quickly begins to realize he's not exactly sure who his Best Man turned into. More importantly, Scott begins to realize that life could end at any moment, and starts to make quickfire decisions, backing his reasoning with comments like, "That's what Lumpy would have done." Scott's struggles with his new marriage, Lumpy's death, and crumby job all culminate in a romantically touching gesture honoring Best Man Down's most critical character.

It's Lumpy's relationship with a girl named Ramsey (Addison Timlin) that completes the proper tonal confusion though, as the young girl presents another bit of plot trickery that ultimately adds another dimension to Lumpy. Being that Labine dies in the opening moments of Best Man Down, we rely on all the other characters to personify Lumpy, and Timlin's ambiguous role becomes the most important piece to this puzzle.

Best Man Down succeeds in balancing emotional drama and lighthearted comedy, considering the borderline morbid topic, but does so in a way that's respectful, positively focused, and rewarding. Such a triumph is in large part thanks to our leading men, Justin Long and Tyler Labine, but those characters wouldn't have been possible without proper guidance and scripting from first time director Ted Koland, who avoids the pitfalls of creating a story about death that's either distractingly comical or depressingly dark. For lack of a better term - it's a beautiful, tonal marriage.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Marvellous and captivating
seekingallthetime15 January 2019
What a wonderful and marvellous film. A simple story yet powerful enough to keep your interest from beginning to end. It is kinda film that make you delightful and light and there are not so many of this type. It is also funny at moments, oh look at Kristin's (Jess Weixler) face in the car when Ramsey said its 2 hour drive, and "What is caftan?". Good acting overall and good direction. I like it, it gave me one of my best entertaining moments.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It gets better
Bryan-31 August 2018
This is a slow build and the payoff is worth it. I really made a connection with the girl and lumpy. The two mains didn't do much for me though. Sad movie, recommended.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed