The Loft (2014) Poster

(2014)

User Reviews

Review this title
128 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
Convoluted mess of an erotic thriller
lnvicta3 May 2015
The only reason I knew this movie existed is because I was looking up what Eric Stonestreet had done aside from Modern Family, so I decided to give this a shot. The premise of the movie is the best part about it: Five guys have the keys to a secret loft where they can freely cheat on their wives, but one day they find a dead girl on the bed and have to figure out who did it. To this movie's credit, the first half is engaging and curious. They develop some shady history between the guys and show how the loft came to be, but as pieces of the puzzle start coming together and the more answers we get, the more the movie suffers. I mean I've seen botched premises before but The Loft takes it to a new low.

The five leads in this movie do what they can. They are likable actors and they have some moments of conviction here and there, but the script is so horrendous it's astonishing that they can keep a straight face delivering these lines. Wentworth Miller is the weak link, and I don't know if it's his fault or his character just being really weird and uncomfortable but that's another thing: you don't like any of these characters. They're all despicable, cheating, lying, douchebags that are only friends because they all have those sh*tty traits in common. And I use the term "friends" loosely because these guys seem to hate each other as much as the audience does. Half the time they're yelling and arguing at each other, the other half they're just dull and plodding along with the script. It's sad because you want to like these guys but they really are just sociopathic dickheads. Honestly the only one with a conscious is James Marsden's character but even then still he's a deceiving slimeball. However the cokehead brother completely embraces the psychosis angle and gives a very nice standout performance considering the material he was given.

The women in this movie are horrendous. There is not one memorable female character - they're all either stupid and married to these guys or stupid and f*cking them behind their wives' backs. It's hard to care about a movie where every character is totally unlikable.

Like I said, the first half of the movie is very promising. The pacing was appropriate, it was easy to follow what was going on, it gave you time to become invested in the mystery, then all of a sudden things get crazy. Like unbelievable, ridiculous, stupid levels of crazy. First of all there are like six endings to the movie; it goes on for a good 10-20 more minutes than it should, and the worst part is that each "ending" is worse than the last. They try over-explaining what happened and it ends up getting so twisted and convoluted that it collapses onto itself. At a point you just stop caring about who did what - you just want the damn movie to end. The entire third act is a disaster in every conceivable way.

This movie was watchable, mainly because of the cast, but the ending is so frustrating I had to give it a low score. I really tried to like it, it's just hard to care about a movie when you're just watching a bunch of stupid people do stupid things. And the police interrogation scenes were atrocious.

If you don't care about plot and just want to see a bunch of good looking people act like complete jerks for an hour and a half, you can get a kick out of The Loft. If you want a thrilling murder mystery that makes you think, stay far far away - The Loft does not deliver.
161 out of 207 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A box office flop, especially with critics, and yet..
DBLurker5 July 2017
.. a movie that's far more entertaining than most of the crap produced these days.

Really nice acting, cringe-worthy characters (in a good way) played by talented & believable actors with a nice suspenseful/thrilling plot. I honestly thought I would hate it when I started watching it on BluRay, but wow, I sat through it all without even taking a bathroom break.

Not going to spoil anything, except for the fact that this movie is another reason why the so called "critics" should not be listened to.

Oh and watch it with your wife for the best experience.
19 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Like a cheap Rubik's cube
drownnnsoda3 February 2015
"The Loft" is a remake of a Belgian film, and focuses on five married men who go in on a ritzy high rise loft for the purposes of pursuing their affairs and sexual escapades. When a girl winds up dead in a pool of blood in the loft, the five men panic as they attempt to unravel who she is and where she came from.

Taking some cues from Hitchcock (and not exactly with a fraction of Hitch's poise), "The Loft" is an overall entertaining film, but the script at times is the equivalent of a cheap Rubik's cube— it looks fine, it's a fun puzzle, I guess, but it's really just not that impressive overall.

The film shifts between past and present, unraveling the narrative through flashbacks which are sandwiched between the current dilemma of the four men arguing in the loft over the corpse of the dead blonde. The pacing is a bit choppy, and the transitions rather abrupt. James Marsden and Wentworth Miller are among the film's greatest star power here, but the cast overall is really underwhelming, and the performances are at times borderline campy as the men play up their roles as buffoonish plutocratic mattress hounds.

The finale cements my feelings of the film as an underwhelming thriller that seems more suited for television than the silver screen, but I still can't say it was totally not worth the time. In spite of the hammy performances, the disjointed narrative, and the overall sensibility of utter lifelessness that the film has, it is still by and large an entertaining flick. Nearly impossible to take seriously, but for entertainment's sake, it's passable. 5/10.
59 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Silly but entertaining puzzle
NonkelJulien17 October 2014
Having seen the original movie 'Loft' by Erik Van Looy (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0926762/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1), I was hoping for a fresh take. But a fresh take is obviously not why they hired the same Van Looy to direct this version. This is essentially the same movie, just without subtitles.

In short, the building blocks of 'The Loft' are a set of plot twists. They are mostly silly, suffering from a few red herrings that hurt the story's credibility, but it's still entertaining to watch them unfold. Largely because the movie flows well for the most part, with only a few dull moments in the first half.

Although I preferred the exterior design of the original loft, the overall cinematography of 'The Loft' feels a little warmer and more comfortable. Only a little though, because the characters in it are stone cold. James Marsden is the warmest character in the frame, but like everybody else he doesn't get enough to work with to make for a convincing character that the audience can identify with. The characters are The Loft's biggest flaw (as they were in the original), which is especially disappointing since making you care about characters has often been a strong and successful focus in Bart de Pauw's earlier scripts. There are just too many of them, and as a consequence most of the dialog in the back story scenes is expositional and feels awkward. There's never an opportunity for development. The characters are just there to lead you from one twist to the next.

The overall acting suffers as a result. Strangely I felt that Rhona Mitra, with barely any screen time, delivers one of the better performances, with obvious anger below her coldness, yet just enough restrain. Wentworth Miller does what he does best. He doesn't seem to care much, but still feels like a good fit, even with the little information we get for his character. Matthias Schoenaerts' presence is undeniable. But as a guy who seems to be on edge pretty much all the time, his marriage seems plainly unlikely, and his past couldn't be revealed more clumsily. Still, he's a welcome contrast to the otherwise held back main cast. It's a pity that he was clearly suffering from sickness or fatigue in a few scenes, where it's blatantly obvious how much he had to strain his voice. It's arguably suiting his character, but it's still distracting.

The concept of this story lends itself to a much darker movie, and this just feels like a missed opportunity. I can't help but wonder how this would've worked as a film noir. You have five characters that could easily be despicable and instantly more interesting, and the women couldn't be more fatale. Of course, film noir doesn't sell anymore, so instead we get a bright and shiny thriller that doesn't thrill, that keeps you guessing, but doesn't make you ask questions. It deals with edgy themes, but it barely skims them and focuses on polish instead.

7/10. It's definitely an enjoyable watch, but only for people who're into the whole whodunit thing. Not if you're looking for anything more. It's successful at what it is and doesn't pretend to be anything else, but I can't help but sense the potential for something more.
81 out of 122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Suspenseful
shellqueenk1 February 2015
I was surprised how good this film was. I usually figure out who done its before the reveal but I didn't with this one. It can be a bit confusing jumping around from past and present but that adds to the mystery. Its a smart movie and we don't get those that often. Performances are good- most actors seemed to be a bit out of their typical roles. Wentworth Miller was very different from Prison Break and its nice to see Karl Urban break away from SciFi/Fantasy franchises. Eric Stonestreet was very different from his TV role and James Mardsen showed the conflict of someone going against their norm. Also, it was nice to have a movie this length- not so long its hard to stand up when the film is done. Its a shame the studio didn't really back it and do any advertising. I never saw a TV spot- just a preview. They also kept pushing back the release date. Its a shame this one will just probably fade into DVD obscurity because its good and entertaining.
69 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The plot is fine,, honestly there were more than a couple of thrilling moments .. well at least i think it went better than what i'v read here in the reviews before.
Aktham_Tashtush22 May 2015
The movie started nicely,, with flipping between the moment of now in the investigation room and the moment where they found the body in the loft and the one year and between flashbacks .. Even though it had five different stories it was actually easily understandable.

The Idea of the movie is fresh and new for Hollywood and the plot flows smoothly in the first half an hour of the movie there are no much puzzles to think about but who really between those five guys did it !! until you start to think maybe it's one of the guys mistresses. then you jump to accuse everyone who speaks Latin, then everyone becomes a killer in your eyes :D .

So to be fair the screenplay writing appears so tight and consistent .. with just a couple of unexpected surprise in the end ;)

With the same director as the Belgian version of the movie Erik Van Looy and pretty much the same writers i'v heard they kept it just as it went in the original. Even though i kinda preferred to watch the original movie because the originals always better but i mean who can stand almost 2 hours of translated Dutch movie !! :P

As for the cast, the Leads whom i only know from TV they were all engaging and well invested in their roles, Karl Urban, James Marsden, Wentworth Miller and Eric Stonestreet and even the short appearances of Matthias Schoenaerts who was actually in the original Belgian movie "Loft (2008)".

Overall it went fine,, well at least let's say better than what i'v read in some reviews .
29 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Effective thriller that achieves what it sets out to
jtindahouse8 March 2015
From the opening moments of 'The Loft' you can guess pretty much exactly what you're in for. A "whodunnit" mystery with plentiful twists, where not everything is as it seems. Knowing that much doesn't hurt a film at all. In fact it makes the next couple of hours something to be very much looked forward to - or at least for me it does. You could say the format of the genre is lacking in originality, but you could rarely say two films are the same and anyone who says they saw the ending coming is almost always lying or exaggerating a fleeting suspicious they had. This is why I love mystery-thrillers.

'The Loft' is a fun watch - nothing more, nothing less. It achieves exactly what it sets out to. The 5 lead actors were all pretty solid and gave credible performances. I think I will always see Eric Stonestreet as his brilliant character from 'Modern Family', so I struggled a bit at first to take him seriously in his role here, but he's good enough of an actor to get past that. The dialogue was tightly written and every detail that could otherwise have been questioned was covered well. The only fault I could find was the score sometimes drowning out the dialogue which can be annoying in a film like this where you are trying to catch every spoken detail. Altogether though a fine movie.
34 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A Big Game Of Cluedo
SushiStoner10321 February 2015
The Loft is a murder mystery, directed by Erik Van Looy who also happened to direct the original Belgium film (loft) 2008. This remake follows the same story of five uncommitted husbands who struggle to sustain a relationship and to keep it in their pants. They are conveniently given access to a secret love dungeon where they can seek their mistresses and cheat on their wives. Shortly after somebody is "murdered" in the loft, the five begin to suspect each other and from there on the over complex CSI episode arises.

Ill start off praising the positives, since the film did have potential. The cinematography is miraculous. The unique sense of direction makes every shot look great. The script is somewhat lethargic but thankfully the "majority" of the cast pull it off. Each character was evenly distributed and explored, creating fairly interesting protagonists and slight emotional attachment. The score raised tension when necessary and kept me guessing on the edge of my seat. But after the 100th twist, the suspense and fascination quickly dissolved. The loft has simply out smarted itself, a simple, yet at times intriguing plot desperately seeks for every twist and turn it can find and uses them, I don't even think M. Night Shyamalan could've handled it. Things started to drag and seem all over the place. It is one big puzzle with one too many pieces. Overall a fun, entertaining sexual thriller. Nothing more, nothing less.
30 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Friendship, Little Secrets and Twists
claudio_carvalho9 May 2015
Warning: Spoilers
The architect Vincent Stevens (Karl Urban); the psychiatrist Chris Vanowen (James Marsden); the real estate agents Luke Seacord (Wentworth Miller) and Marty Landry (Eric Stonestreet); and Chris' half-brother Philip Trauner (Matthias Schoenaerts) are married and best friends. Vincent proposes his friends to share a wonderful penthouse loft in a brand new building designed by him to become their rendezvous instead of using their credit cards for love affairs and one night stands in hotels. When they discover the body of a beautiful woman cuffed on the bed in the loft, they have argument to find who is the responsible and secrets are disclosed affecting their friendship.

"The Loft" is an engaging thriller with a good story with many twists despite of the flaws and the weak conclusion. It is not easy to write a complex screenplay developing many characters with twists without plot holes. The greatest one is how a high-standard building in the present days does not have security cameras and guards to show that the alibis are not consistent? Chris is a psychiatrist and does not identify that Sarah Deakins is not dead? The conclusion is also unconvincing. My vote is six.

Title (Brazil): "Prazeres Mortais" ("Deadly Pleasures")
18 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
louheuvelmans15 October 2014
Great movie. Heard about the original and really enjoyed it ! The script is very good and I believe there are little of these movies made. I really like thrillers like Seven, the bone collector, etc. and this one has a spot between them. I have not seen the original one so I can't really compare but as I read the original one has the same script but this American remake is much more loaded. I was really moved by the atmosphere in the movie, starting at a party where you see the main actors discussing there naughty hidden life and sharing a key of a beautiful loft. There is some recognizable thing for most men there I guess and I think many people can imagine that if you could take part of it, it would bring much fun and excitement.
68 out of 133 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Awesome Movie
trooflawed31 January 2015
This is the first review I've ever written on here, so I'm just gonna be short and sweet, the movie is phenomenal. It's suspenseful and keeps you guessing the whole time, really grabbed my attention, I'd recommend for anyone who's into the genre. In a little more detail, the plot of the movie is based around 5 guys sharing a loft where they can bring their mistresses (which is refreshingly original, even though it's a remake of a remake) and eventually end up involved in an investigation that could land them all in jail. From the time I walked in I had rather low expectations, however by the end the film had exceeded all of my expectations, and went on to wow me. If you're looking to get spend two hours trying to solve a case and getting lost all over the place, then you'll enjoy this one.
50 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just Awful - Let Me Count the Way....
Mehki_Girl2 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
All of the characters are sleezebags and/or stupid. The hooker with the heart of gold, the five cheating frenemies, the stupid, clingy, unhappy wives, the dumb sleezy pickup artist who was stupid enough to think some rich guy was going to leave his wife for her.

Dumb, dumb, dumb...let me count the ways...

1. You don't try to stage a dead body after 10 hours or so...there's something called lividity, which means the blood has pooled, so when you find a body lying on its back and you turn it over on its stomach, the coroner, unless, he or she is as stupid as you are, is going to figure out this dead body, which when it was alive supposedly committed suicide, didn't.

2. See above. this also goes along with cutting it's wrist after the fact. The body was already dead, dummy, just leave it as it was. Don't cut it's wrists and hack it up. Again, forensics will determine the blood flow, that the heart wasn't pumping, that the blood is old, blood splatter, etc. Remember you are trying to make this a suicide - not a murder by a butcher who hung around to do more damage to a dead body long after the fact.

3. She was dead and left a suicide note, why did you have to do anything with the body???

4. If you are going to kill someone with an injection, don't do it in their arm, put a spot where the sun don't shine and hope a thorough examination doesn't find the injection spot.

5. After moving a dead body after it's been dead for hour, sob all over it and leave your freaking DNA, skin, and haircells, why don't you . We already know your stupid.

6. How do you still have a key to a crime scene, where you and the actual murderer could get in? Wouldn't the cops change the locks and secure it would more than tape, confiscate the keys???

7. A murderer decides to explain everything to a guy wearing a coat, has a cellphone and possibly a wire??? Really bad film-making and writing.

8. Why trust a coke-head, out of control moron to cover up the crime? What did you expect a nut-job like him would do? Why didn't you recognize the problem after the fact either? Isn't one of you idiots supposed to be a doctor, haven't you watched The Forensic Files, Law & Order, any cop show??? Ever heard of DNA??? See #1 and 2 above

9. You're all liars and cheaters, why would *any* of you trust the other guy???

10. The character with the supposed moral compass (he's shtupping the hooker) is as sleazy as the rest of them. Please don't attempt to make it the good guy. He's cheating on his wife and kids. Really? Did he think he was just going to have a cup of coffee with a woman who told him she wasn't wearing a panties in public? He resisted her "charms" for, what, like 10 seconds?

11. The hooker with the heart of gold...really?

12. Is that ending supposed to be upbeat? Get her tested for STDs man. Millions of women in the world, you're bored with your wife, and you pick a hooker?

13. Why aren't they all going on trial or in jail for obstruction of justice and abuse of a corpse, lying to the police, and any number of broken laws?

Stupid writing, stupid direction, stupid acting. Bad, just really bad, so bad, I had to sign in just to write how bad.

And everyone looked unshaven, greasy, smelly, and like they needed a good bath. How anyone wanted to sleep with any of them for money or not is beyond me. Ewww...
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A very disappointing mystery thriller without the mystery or the thrill
stephendaxter22 February 2015
If you ever want to know how to make a well directed and well acted mystery thriller without the good directing, acting and absence of mystery and thrill then study this film. How this director managed to take a very interesting premise and create something so dreadfully boring completely baffles me. Firstly, the structure of this film just made no sense whatsoever, it jumps back and forth from the past, present and future in an attempt to slowly reveal the mystery, but 90% of the time these flashbacks were so boring because you had no idea how they were related to the mystery until the very end. The overall directing of this film was so poorly done that there was no sense of thrill or interest in what was happening, meaning you could not at all care about the mystery that is supposed to be carrying the film. When you do finally get some sort of reveal as to what is going on, it is supposed to shock the audience, but even though i did not see it coming, it had absolutely no effect on me at all; i just thought about how dumb it was and how it made most of the film make even less sense. THEN the multiple utterly stupid twists that occur within the last 15 minutes are just desperate attempts to continue 'shocking' the audience. But rather than making the audience realise things that they didn't notice before it just completely confused everyone, because the flashbacks are supposed to provide clues that make you question things that then get answered / revealed in the end but no-one was questioning anything because they didn't know why the flashbacks were relevant.

You may hope that the performances save the film seeing as though there are actors who were great in some of their previous roles in movies and TV shows, but nope, they are all just atrocious. I want to believe that it has to do with the writing of the characters because all of your main cast sucked. Almost all of their lines seemed forced and cliché and that just took you out of the film. I did like Rachael Taylor in the film i thought she stood out over everyone else so whenever she was in frame i could stay awake, also Karl Urban had a couple of OK moments but not enough to redeem himself for the rest of the film. This film was a complete and utter disappointment in terms of the plot and performances, now i have to check out the original 2008 version and see if this movie converted crap into more crap or ruined a good original idea. - 2.4
29 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Enjoyable
85122225 May 2015
Greetings from Lithuania.

"The Loft" (2014) is definitely an enjoyable mystery flick. It tells a story of 5 guys who rent an loft, when something bad one day happens. Trust no one, when you have these kind of friends.

The story was not bad at all, i likes the simple yet somehow fresh idea. Pacin of this movie is good, at running time 1 h 45 min this movie barely drags and is entertaining from start till finish.

Overall, "The Loft" is a satisfying mystery thriller - "who dunnit". Perfromances are very OK, but nothing that very good. Script is interesting. This movie doesn't go deep into conciseness of these guys, but it's enjoyable ride nevertheless.
17 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Please Read
hollandersh1012 February 2015
I saw this two weeks ago when it first came out, at the time, IMDb had it at a respectable 7.2. I know that films often have inflated ratings when they first come out but I gave it a shot. I am being honest when I tell you that this is the worst movie I have ever payed money to see. Guys, its so bad, I got an IMDb account just to tell you how bad it actually is. The entire theater groaned through the "tense" scenes, we laughed collectively at the shoddy camera and downright comical acting. Had I not gone with a group of friends, I'd have been out of that theater within the first 10 min. anyone that gives this film a positive review is trying to sell you something, or thinks One Tree Hill is God's gift to man. Seriously, this is a cautionary tale, its not a guilty pleasure, its a down right awful movie. Plain and simple guys, skip it, or don't say I didn't warn you.
71 out of 152 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst movie I've seen in a long time
Zbigniew_Krycsiwiki6 February 2015
After sitting unreleased and collecting dust for three and a half years (and currently sitting at a rock bottom 0% on rottentomatoes) this sleazy, wannabe thriller wasn't worth the wait. The trailer looked intriguing to me, but the film is filled with repulsive characters (one is a coked-out rapist, another is a slimeball who makes it public that he wants to bang his "friend"'s kid sister, another is a closet homosexual who secretly films his "friend" banging random girls in the loft - why would any of these people associate with each other in the first place?) and a screenplay with a new twist in nearly every scene, which merely becomes over complicated and far too confusing after the second twist. After that, I didn't even care who the killer was, or why.

There is absolutely no structure to this film, it's not told in even remotely linear fashion, and the first scene gives away parts of the ending, making the climax partially predictable.

Not even good in a turn-your-mind-off-and-enjoy-it type of way, just over-plotted and sleazy. And do any of these guys ever shave? Not every guy can pull off the five o'clock shadow look.

Filmmakers tried for a deep and meaningful, profound closing scene, and failed miserably.
20 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Thriller With Good Twists
stevendbeard30 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I saw "The Loft", starring Karl Urban-Bones in the new Star Trek movies, Xena:Warrior Princess_tv; James Marsden-Cyclops in the X-Men movies, The Notebook; Wentworth Miller-Resident Evil:Afterlife, Prison Break_tv; Eric Stonestreet-Modern Family_tv, Identity Thief and Rachael Taylor-666 Park Avenue_tv, Transformers.

This is a pretty good thriller that is a remake of a 2008 Belgian movie, which was then remade in 2010 by the Dutch. Karl plays an architect that makes his best buddies an offer they find hard to resist. He gives each of them a special key to a penthouse loft-aka an apartment-that they may use anytime they feel the need for an extramarital affair or if they just want some quiet time away from their wife or boss. James is a psychiatrist, Wentworth is a shy and quiet one and Eric is a womanizing flirt. All are also married, but with different degrees of happiness. James and Wentworth resist, at first, but soon find a reason to use the loft. One day, Wentworth drops by and finds a dead body in the loft, so he calls everyone and they all put their heads together to figure out exactly what happened. The keys are electronic and need a master key to make a duplicate, which is under lock in Karl's safe-someone had to have gotten in with a key to commit the crime. Did anyone loose their key? Or lend it to someone? Did one or more of the wives discover what the boys are doing at the loft and seek some kind of revenge? Rachael plays a woman that James falls in love with, after meeting her at a party, and no, she is not the victim. It has a lot of good twists and turns in it and I really enjoyed it. It's rated "R" for violence, language, sexual content-including nudity- and drug use and has a running time of 1 hour & 48 minutes. I would buy this on Blu-Ray.
19 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst Dialog Ever
jpmurphy6512 February 2015
When I left the theater, I made it a point to find out if the screenwriters were native English-language speakers. For their sake, I was really hoping they weren't, and I'm glad I was proved right. Because this is the most cringe-inducing dialog I've ever seen. The dialog from this movie seems to have come from two places: bad self-help manuals, and the worst-of-the-worst "Letters To The Editor" at Penthouse magazine. I literally could not believe what I was hearing. I thought this might be a spoof of other erotic thrillers. I mean, these are mostly good actors who've worked on high-profile projects. Couldn't they have offered up some input at some point, and politely said to the director/screenwriters, "Hey listen, I'm really sorry guys, but people in America really don't say things like this to each other?" YIKES.
26 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
flat, one dimensional characters
lizdandrea994 October 2015
All the characters are shitty stereotypes of disgusting men. The characters are one dimensional, badly written, the dialogue is awful, it's a completely flat movie. If you watch the first five minutes you'll know exactly what happens. It tries to be unpredictable but is not. I wouldn't even bother watching it. Sadly, the only actor that they cast correctly was James Marsden. Otherwise, it made the classic "Jersey Shore" type character look bad. The cast was mainly Caucasian the acting was bad with the exception of James Marsden, Rachael Taylor, and Isabel Lucas. I believe that most likely the other actors are bad actors, it's more due to the fact that the writing is awful. It has a Twilight-esque feel, writing style which creates pathetic characters who portray mental illness badly and this would have been better if it had been a comedy.
14 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
More like "the lift"
tiffanypoynder22 May 2015
Warning: Spoilers
More like the lift Lek. This movie centered around misogynistic males who perpetrate the patriarchy, this movie is very anti-feminist. As a woman I am offended. As a human I am appalled. The dialog was horrendous, deplorable even. Isabelle Lucas was rubbish, but wore some nice dresses. This film had no fewer than 19 "major plot twists" that all failed to land a shock with the audience. Very underwhelming. Wentworth Miller delivered possibly his worst career performance to date. Half the film was like "omg he's like so gay" then major plot twist 18 comes out "bam he's not gay he's a psychopath". Would I recommend this movie? Absolutely not. Would I recommend any other movie with these actors and actresses in it? Absolutely not. Would I ever watch Prison Break again? Absolutely not.
14 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A Mediocre Thriller
dfa1203746 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I never really fancied seeing The Loft because from what I saw on the trailers it didn't really look to be anything that good. It was my wife who wanted to see it, so I thought I'd give it a try, and I was quite surprised as it ended up being a decent enough thriller. I mean it wasn't anything spectacular, but it was worth watching.

The story is quite basic on the surface...a group of married guys buy a loft apartment to use for their, shall we say, intimate adventures with other women, but when one of the men finds a woman dead handcuffed to the bed things start to go downhill quickly.

Is it an amazing story? Not in the slightest, but what keeps it interesting are all the wee twists and turns the story has with the main one at the end. Is it a gripping story? No, but it still does enough to keep your interest.

I'm also surprised to see other reviewers mention that the film was very slow paced as I didn't find that at all. It moves along at a steady enough pace without ever getting boring, so where the "very slow movie" part comes into it I'm not sure.

The cast is pretty decent, and I'm glad to say that Wentworth Miller was at least MUCH better here than when I saw him last which was in Resident Evil: Afterlife. Even though his facial expression always stayed the same with that permanent frown (I think he's incapable of any other expression when acting in all honesty) at least his acting was better this time around. As for the characters they all play, well, apart from one or two, none are really all that likable, including the female roles, so you kind of end up not caring what happens to any of them.

Anyway, The Loft does have it's moments, and overall it is a watchable thriller, but it's really nothing to get too excited about.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Underrated Good Movie!!
MarwanMohsen9117 January 2018
Underrated Good Movie with a great choise of actors, every one of them did his part perfectly. the Plot is good with very thrilling moments and that what makes me thought of its very underrated
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very entertaining
bart-942-94494828 January 2015
It has been a while that i've seen a movie that could keep me interested for the entire duration. It was a refreshing and intriguing and makes you wonder what the hell you would do in that situation. The movie makes you realize that how quickly a good friendship can go wrong, and is spot on when trying to visualize this. The movie has a very strong story that underlines the plot where it is going and I don't want to uncover to much for this film. I suggest go look it up in theaters or bluray and decide for yourself!

Karl Urban is again epic and one of my all time favorite present day actors and can easily carry the lead here. The girls in the movie are all very easy for the eye ;)

9/10 since I rarely give 10/10
21 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Unbelievably revolting.
anais-bironneau30 May 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I have never seen a film as sexist and revolting as The Loft. The wives barely exist: they have almost no personality, no life except when their husbands are involved, and the same goes for any other female character, the luckiest of them being Anne who gets a little more than 5 lines. On the other hand, we get to know the five husbands very well: their personalities, qualities and flaws, their backstories (one of them being amazingly used as a rape apology because yes, there's rape and abuse in this film and no one seem to really care because "You can't rape a whore"). Besides all that (which is already very much), the plot doesn't work one bit as we jump from one plot hole to another, and even the actors seem to wonder why they're here since their acting is hopelessly bad. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone, unless you're a rich white American man cheating on his wife who might enjoy the myriads of sexist jokes.
13 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
It's just not good
cheer8819 July 2015
I found this movie while browsing Matthias Schoenaerts' profile from "Far from the Madding Crowd" and decided to give a shot. It was a disappointment. I wish he wouldn't have taken on the role. There is a reason why it was released recently after finished several years earlier. It's just not good.

It's a B level movie at best. All the actors and actresses look like from those runoff audition agencies. The customs, setting, and make up said the same. It is remade from the same Belgian movie which was a big box hit that year. It is directed by the same director, Erik Van Looy. I wonder why he did such a lesser work. The script is unimpressive and raw. The sexual contents are somehow cheap and inarticulate. The storyline is over-plotting. It would look much better if they would put more efforts into details. Good movies come from good scripts and storylines. This one is short of both. Maybe that is why it couldn't attract good actors and actresses.

There are no shortage of successes of remaking foreign movies into Oscar winning masterpieces like "The girl with the dragon tattoo", "The Departed" just named of few. I am afraid that Mr. Looy already missed the train.
12 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed