NTSF:SD:SUV (TV Series 2011–2013) Poster

(2011–2013)

User Reviews

Review this title
13 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
It's meant to be a spoof!
scooter9117025 September 2011
Okay if you want "serious" then go watch Bones/CSI/NCIS/etc, however as a couple of the reviewers haven't really sussed out, then I will point out that this is a complete mickey take of those shows!

The clichéd lines, the impossible way that crimes are solved using "Real" science, and the fact that the scientific people are drop dead gorgeous, but "no-one sees it" are all are up for attack in this series.

The actors seem to enjoy themselves, and ham up their parts more than Porky Pig, which adds to the fun.

It's not an inditement into Modern Criminology, nor is it meant to be an in-depth study of characters and their actions, but it is a great spoof on the shows which try to pretend they are, and as a bonus you should really listen to what S.A.M. says.
63 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Hilarious CSI spoof.
RockStrongo19 August 2012
I love this show.

Crime dramas like CSI and NCIS have been ripe for parody for a long time, and this show is absolutely spot-on.

In San Diego, a crack team of law enforcers fight crime using excessive force, absurd scientific equipment, and a garage full of expensive SUVs.

The characters are all totally clichéd, from the gun-toting, shades-wearing leading man (Paul Scheer) the hard-boiled and one eyed agency chief (Captain Janeway herself, Kate Mulgrew) to the geeky science tech played by Rebecca Romijn - that's right, I said Rebecca Romijn!!! There's nothing subtle about the humour here, it's all pretty purile and ridiculous, but it's well written and delivered with deadly seriousness by all the cast.

If you enjoy the likes of Archer or Sealab, this is probably for you...
33 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
General Overview
Dorkclock18 November 2012
If you are reading this or are looking up this show then you probably have a dry sense of humor. This show is perfect for people who like pun jokes and dry, sometimes stupid jokes. I myself find this show to be very funny. Like most adult swim comedies this show provides a ton of nonsense and fabulous jokes weaving in ridiculous plot lines. The cast couldn't get any better either. I had to write this review after reading one that someone else wrote. He/she had given it only 1 star. Now I don't believe that people who don't like this type of humor should even be watching this show, so why are you writing a review? If you know the actors, you know what you are getting into. Also it was created off of the spoof commercial from Children's Hospital, so you know the direction they are headed. This show is meant to be stupid and fun and it is.
26 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Something special!
oundjianm3 October 2013
I do not claim to be an expert in csi type shows or cop shows but one thing I can assure you is that the amount of gags in this show are so sarcastic and idiotic that it is by far the most surreal wana be reality show I have ever seen.

You know how people quoted Borat for years and years...? Well this show has lines that top Borat's best! I don't even like Paul Scheer, I have seen many of his old works, from "The League" to "Human Giant" and even his guest appearance on "Party Down" I have always found him the least interesting character in each show, yet, he as seriously surprised me in how perfect he ended up being for NTSF SD SUV!!

If you can enjoy ridiculous infantile post-modern humour than this show is for you. Give it a few episodes to get into, some people's gut instinct is to reject the silliness but trust me its worth watching more and getting into the mind frame of Trent!

Ps: Another great thing I personally have found about the show is that when you watch it sober it is hilarious but if you watch it drunk it it takes on this much more dramatic tone!! I can watch the same episode twice in a different frame of mind and interpret the episode differently. Like I said this show is something special, it's the Shakespeare of the ADD generation.
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious I Love This Show!
verbusen9 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
OK full disclosure, I either love or hate stuff on Adult Swim, this show I LOVE! Summary: If you liked or loved Sealab 2021 you will enjoy or love NTSF:SD:SUV I've only watched two episodes and caught it late into season one so maybe it has grown or I just caught two really funny episodes but the ones with Jeff Goldblum and Jerry O'Connel were really awesome 15 minutes of hilarity.

OK shows I love and have loved on Adult Swim, Space Ghost CTC, Harvey Birdman Attorney at Law, Aqua Team Hunger Force, Robot Chicken, The Venture Brothers, Minoriteam, Sealab 2021, Saul and the Mole Men If you like or loved Sealab 2021 you will enjoy or love NTSF:SD:SUV

Shows I have hated, Moral Oral, and several others that I thought were for medicated viewers, there are several and I have watched them so little that I don't remember their names but you get the drift, there are also several shows that were not hated or loved but just sucked.

This show doesn't suck I love it, f the two haters trying to kill such a funny show, 10 of 10 well worth your 15 minutes for several good laughs.
19 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Very funny
OrangieTooDope30 July 2018
Spoofing all those stupid cop shows was a great idea and they executed it perfectly. There's even tons of cameos by people who are actually famous. Good stuff.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Crazily funny
cherold2 September 2017
This take-off of task-force dramas is about as crazy as you can get. Like any good parody, the series mercilessly mocks conventions like the tough- guy-with-the-one-liners or the tough commander. But it's also got the sort of lunacy of something like Police Squad. The actors are funny, playing their characters full out, and the series likes it's weird running jokes, such as everyone's insistence that Rebecca Romjin is painfully unattractive, or that the Navy has its own president.

Having just watched the final episode, an extra-weird parody of the Blair Witch Project, I'm feeling sad, because in a world where even the best series tend to feel a little interchangeable, NTSF satisfied that itch for insane, savage comedy that often goes un-itched (Rick and Morty is another one, also gone).

If you like really crazy comedy, check out an episode.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
So much potential, but all of it missed
jonkun227-55-8665524 August 2012
In an age where satire thrives in such forms as The Colbert Report and The Onion, I had great hopes for this show. Discovering an all-star (even if they are B-list) cast only elevated that expectation. But, as was already insightfully observed by another reviewer, this is more like a bad youtube sketch than good comedy.

Satire doesn't work without an understanding by the writer of the subject to be parodied. Referencing certain clichés isn't the same thing. Throwing in behavior that is completely inappropriate for the subject, like agents shooting anything that moves, takes this completely out of the realm of satire and lands it squarely in the domain of mindless comedy like Jackass and Fox News.

The great irony here, perhaps providing the only real comedy in the entire production, is that creator Paul Scheer is also the host of the popular podcast, "How Did This Get Made?" Paul, it's a good thing you're the host of that show, as that's the only insurance you have to keep this show off of that one.

Seriously, this makes Scary Movie look like Young Frankenstein.

Again, as another reviewer put it, the only funny thing here is the title. From there the jokes proceed swiftly downhill.
17 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This show is meant to be stupid and fun and it is.
topbonustopbonus26 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
One that someone else wrote. He/she had given it only 1 star. Now I don't believe that people who don't like this type of humor should even be watching this show, so why are you writing a review? If you know the actors, you know what you are getting into. Also it was created off of the spoof commercial from Children's Hospital, so you know the direction they are headed.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best of leading movies The best of the world
topbonustopbonus26 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The best of leading movies The best of the world Very fun. Never met any movie that was the most fun. The clichéd lines, the impossible way that crimes are solved using "Real" science, and the fact that the scientific people are drop dead gorgeous, but "no-one sees it" are all are up for attack in this series.

The actors seem to enjoy themselves, and ham up their parts more than Porky Pig, which adds to the fun.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The level of the humor was at nickelodeon-level, fun for kids but not for grown up's requiring some intellectual thinking and freshness
exquisite-213 August 2011
OK, so I watched the first episode, I won't try and catch it again.

The idea of making a spoof series based on all the popular crime-scene-investigation shows that run day in and day out seems like a sound idea. Well the promise stops just right about there, I won't judge the actors participating in this one, they are just trying to earn and make a living, and I already know Kate Mulgrew has the acting skills to pull it off if delivered a good script. Ah and now to the script, its awful! hence the 1/10 rating! I don't know how to elaborate on this one except for telling you I didn't laugh one single time! the only semi-funny thing about this is the name of the show!
27 out of 152 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Soooo Bad
alana_s229 August 2011
Good idea - but the worst writing ever. It's like a group of university kids made it and tried to make so many jokes that none of them worked. I feel bad for the established actors in it that are so broke they have to do this for the money. If they attempted to give it a better storyline it may have been a lot better. They also should have tried to expand the concept of the show, or leave it open for characters to develop legitimate relationships. Unfortunately they all seem to be so stupid that this couldn't work and so they really limit their viewers. They also went too far in the first episode, it seemed like more of a Youtube skit than a television show trying to get off the ground. How they got the funding for it I will never know.
18 out of 107 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Failed satire
madameminty11 June 2017
This show attempts to mock NCIS, CSI, 24 and such. Unfortunately, instead of making fun of their clichés, it merely repeats them on an exaggeratedly stupid plot and sprinkles with forced grossness apparently going for shock value rather than humor, failing at both. I cannot overstate how low were my expectations yet how disappointed I am. You won't laugh, you won't go "ewww" with a smile, you won't facepalm at the idiot-ball ping pong, you won't get surprised by the surreal. You'll just lift an eyebrow and feel a somewhat relevant urge to flush the toilet.
0 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed