Love, Rosie (2014) Poster

(2014)

User Reviews

Review this title
135 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Ignore the bad reviews, Your will love it !!
samxxx-671-8262212 April 2017
I do not usually write reviews but these hating reviews got me into that :D I don't get all the people complaining about how predictable this movie was. God damn it if you want some unpredictable ending go watch "shutter island" or "mulholland drive" or something that SAYS that it is a freaking THRILLER!!. This movie is a "Romantic Comedy" and it is just like "Pretty Woman", "10 Things I hate about you" or "say anything" - The movies we loved, even if they were predictable. The point is, its not about the ending, its about living in between the movie; desperately wanting for them to recognize love and chanting for there friendship and adoring their silly fights and commitments.

For all those who just want to enjoy there weekend by watching a beautiful romantic movie and smile I recommend them to do watch this and ignore all the hate and bad reviews. Have fun :)
64 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Love, Rosie and When Harry met Sally: normalcy and making a film relatable
Billylkbrooke22 February 2018
When I finished watching this film last night I had tears down my face and was helpless to my own pondering about what this film was showing. The last time I was so invested in characters in a Rom-Com was "when Harry met Sally" but even though the film was not as artistically proficient, it still impacted me on a far greater level. Needless to say that I experienced "love, Rosie" in a vastly different way to professional film critics, one of whom said: "Do you really want to expose your adolescent daughter to 100 minutes of the beautiful Lily Collins accepting second-best, over and over and over and over and over and over and over again?" The reality is that we do, especially as adolescents, experience just this.

The premise of the film is simple and yet also a little unoriginal. Rosie and Alex are best friends from childhood but they fail to see the chemistry between them. It takes them 15 years from the point they leave sixth form college to realise they have been looking for one another all that time. So far so "when Harry met Sally" but where these two films diverge, and where my interest was piqued, was how the film sets this up. When Harry actually meets Sally, they part ways, return and then part ways again. The third meeting is the lucky one and they build their friendship to love. The story evolves around these two figures slowly building a relationship that gains depth neither expected. The key theme is how love is most stable when built upon friendship.

Love, Rosie, on the other hand, focuses on relationships, and that we often choose poorly. It begins with a run through of Rosie and Alex through childhood, establishing their chemistry through how the characters speak to one another, their body language around each other, and how they react to their choices of lovers. They are already friends, so the film instead challenges them by keeping their love apart by their own choices. To push my point home there is a scene at the start where Alex is contemplating who to take to the end of year school dance; will he choose Bethany or Rosie. This is a form of foreshadowing, but also reveals how these two characters interact. Rosie's tone shows she is hurt that he is making this choice so she tells him that she has been asked by "the hottest guy in the year" (the narcissistic Greg) to the dance. Neither chooses each other and it is clear that Rosie dislikes this (note that the film is from her perspective), even though she says nothing about it until at least an hour into the film. The point of this is that we see immediately that these two characters know each other, have done for a long time, and are interesting in one another but lack the courage to pursue their feelings. A contrasting scene in when Harry met Sally is the day "date" they have, enjoying New York, which concludes with Harry asking Sally to the cinema to find she is already going on the date; this sequence is one where they get to know each other, which contrasts with the already established friendship of Rosie and Alex. This is a highly different dynamic.

"Love, Rosie" focuses on a romance that is convincing consequently, for the dual reason that their friendship is convincing and realistic, and that Rosie and Alex are both very flawed characters; they are truly 3-dimensional characters because they are imperfect and make bad decisions throughout the story. These decisions are relatable too; they experience romances that go wrong or have tough times due to conflicts of character or difficult events. I can't really go further without spoiling major plot points and I've done my best to keep the review as spoiler-free as I can, but I will say that I knew the events intimately for their realism and made the film hard to watch. The story told is essentially a film of normal life, by which I mean that the events of the film are events we have all experienced in some way either directly or second-hand. In contrast to the tried and tested plot the story is highly original due to its reliance on normalcy.

We often watch films for escapism, to endulge in the ridiculousness of cinema; Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, the Martian, Inception, all these films have high stakes that we enjoy for the thrill of catharsis. Even Rom-Coms have this streak of the abnormal from the myriad of hollywood love stories in Love Actually to even the handsome stranger cliche of Colin Firth's character in Bridget Jones's Diary, we are shown love stories of sunlight and roses, of mistakes but a resolution within days or even weeks. "When Harry met Sally" crafts a wonderful picture of two great characters slowly falling in love, but their other love interests are left to the side and unshown. "Love, Rosie" shows these failed loves, and also shows how both Rosie and Alex repeatedly make the same mistake bringing home a relatable lesson; love does not come quickly, but sometimes it is found where it has been infront of your eyes all along.

Yet there is still more to this. We sometimes look for clever cinema that makes us think about ideas complex in philosophy or morality. I've lost count of the number of people who have finished inception and told me they want to know if the spinning top finished spinning. The bottom line is that this is only a superficial question that is put to the side when you realise the answer doesn't matter beyond the context of the film. What I discovered upon finishing "Love, Rosie" is that it is really the problems and realities of life that make us think. A flawed and imperfect life is the most normal thing for us, and this film captures the charm in the imperfection, challenging us to think introspectively about our own lives and love experiences.

Sorry about the long and rambling review. This film made me think more than I expected. THe key point is watch this film. It is charming, funny and very relatable.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A heartfelt, sincere romantic drama comedy film
YJLcool11 November 2014
Based on the 2004 romance novel 'Where Rainbows End' written by Cecilia Ahern, Love, Rosie is about a story of two people who were best friends since they were young. They've known each other for so long and they're absolutely meant for each other, but could never have the courage to admit that they have strong feelings for each other. Furthermore, life is not always how we expect or want it to be, as various unforeseen circumstances or misunderstandings continuously keeps them apart from each other.

Love, Rosie have the same typical flaws that many romantic drama comedies have: several unavoidable clichés and contrivances, a predictable ending. However, as in all romantic comedies, it's the whole journey that truly matters. The film takes the audience through the ups and downs of their relationships and how it affects their friendship over the years. Things didn't happen the way you expected them to be on some occasions, which is rather surprising and refreshing at the same time. The film is filled with occasionally nice witty jokes and heartwarming moments, combine with charming, likable performances from the lead characters. The two leads have great chemistry on screen and it gives the believable feeling that they've known each other for years.

There's a real genuine, non-manipulative, non-domineering relationship between the leads as we witness several loving, selfless acts on both sides when tragedy strikes one of them. However, I have to admit that there's a rather unrealistic depiction about this "friendship" - men and women can't be close friends because the sex part always gets in the way (A famous quote from another romantic comedy film, When Harry Meets Sally...). In reality, it's virtually impossible that a beautiful, attractive young lady can be close friends with a strikingly handsome man without hardly any sexual tension at all, especially when both of them are heterosexuals and they've never think of each other as siblings either.

Overall, the film succeeds in finding the heart and soul for its characters for the audience to relate with, despite its shortcomings. It's a lovely, heartfelt film that doesn't disappoint and it's well worth a watch.

Rating: 7.5/10 http://yjcool.blogspot.com/2014/11/movie-review-love-rosie.html
52 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love, this film
FlickChick8212 November 2014
This is my first review here so bear with me. As I'm sure most of you know, this movie is based on a novel Where rainbows end by Cecilia Ahern. It is just loosely based on it, because the story differs somewhat. I won't reveal anything else, to avoid spoilers. All I'll say is that it works because it captures the essence of the book. The chemistry between the two main actors is unbelievably good and the supporting cast is good as well. I warmly recommend this film to everybody. How probable the plot, that is up to a viewer to decide. It was for me. If you're a hopeless romantic, you're gonna enjoy this one. If you're a realist, you're probably gonna find certain situations a bit too much and out there. Nonetheless I left the theater with a smile on my face. The movie makes you believe that anything is possible and that one should never give up on hope.
100 out of 143 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A good romantic movie
knorr10212 April 2015
As a fan of the original book "Where Rainbows End", I had been kind of disappointed when people told me that there are many differences between the novel and its adaption on the big screen. However, I changed my prejudice when I finally saw it myself. The movie is romantic, with beautiful-filmed scenes (I love the color throughout the whole movie), and moving. The music sounds good (gotta buy the soundtrack!) too. And I love Lily and Sam Claflin as Rosie and Alex, as you can really feel the chemistry between them from the very first minutes of the film. Perfect casting :) I don't care about how unreal the plot is. It just feels good watching a slice-of-life movie like this once in a while.
33 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Slight and predictable, but just amiable enough to work.
shawneofthedead29 October 2014
Romance novelist Cecilia Ahern made a bit of a splash in chick-lit circles when her second novel, Where Rainbows End, was published in 2004. It was a tale of two people who were clearly perfect for each other but could never seem to find their way towards being in love, told in the form of e-mails, text messages and letters. The story itself was predictable, but the format was reasonably hip and refreshing at the time. Ten years later, the book has been turned into a slight but amiable romantic comedy for the silver screen. The film isn't particularly hip or refreshing, but boasts just enough charm and emotion to entertain - even if it isn't a film that will stay with you for long afterwards.

Rosie Dunne (Lily Collins) has been best friends with Alex Stewart (Sam Claflin) since they were kids. They've always meant the world to each other, but have never become more than friends. At their high-school prom, they ask other people to the dance. Alex moves to Boston to begin his studies in medicine, and Rosie must stay behind due to an unexpected pregnancy. Over the next several years, she raises a child on her own, and he gets married. Through all of life's changes and upheavals, they still pop up on each other's radar, connected via e-mails, text messages and a bond that one suspects can never really be broken.

That's pretty much it, really - the outcome of the film is never in doubt, however long it might take to get there. Indeed, one problem with Love, Rosie is that it does take a relatively long time to get to the point, even though it's tried to simplify Ahern's novel by merging characters and removing subplots. The longer it goes on, the harder it becomes to buy into the various situations, events and misunderstandings that conspire to keep Alex and Rosie apart - whether it's his marriage or hers, the rekindling of old relationships, or plain ol' geography. Their relationship is so heavily peppered with coincidences and mishaps that it could have made a decent dark melodrama about the dangerous effects of co- dependency.

And yet, for all its plot problems, Love, Rosie is a mostly charming affair. There's some real depth to the relationship between Rosie and Alex, one which transcends both friendship and romance in unexpectedly touching ways - whether it's her decision not to ruin his future by telling him about her pregnancy, or the comfort he selflessly gives her when she's struggling to stay afloat in the wake of a family tragedy. Thrown into the mix is the sweet chemistry shared by Collins and Claflin, who are both very cute and very committed to making their roles work. (Collins never feels or looks old enough to play the mother of a teenage girl, even one who had her kid as a teenager, but that's a minor quibble.)

Considering how predictable the story is, it's something of a minor miracle that Love, Rosie works at all. But it does, for the most part, whenever it manages to find the heart and humour of its characters and their almost painfully intertwined lives amidst its many narrative contrivances. It's not great art, or even one of the great romantic comedies, but it's a surprisingly decent diversion - one that should please Ahern's fans and perhaps win her a few new ones.
48 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Predictable but charming
neil-47625 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Rosie and Alex have been best friends since primary school. They nearly got romantic on Rosie's 18th birthday, but Rosie was way too drunk. Since then, both have had relationships, just not with each other - timing has always worked against them.

When I watched the trailer for Love, Rosie, I thought "I now know exactly what will happen in this film." But I like Lily Collins, so I went to see it anyway. And I was quite right - the story progresses along the tramlines which are displayed in that trailer (with one or two little sidetracks), so don't expect any earth-shattering surprises.

But it doesn't matter. Lily Collins and Sam Claflin have an easy chemistry, the film is a romantic drama with some gently amusing moments, the supporting cast is good, and Collins turns out to be able to do a bit of acting, too.

I enjoyed this.
39 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of the best romcoms
littlelo941 December 2014
I love a romantic comedy as much as the next girl. I go in fully expecting the cheesiness and I'm okay with that. But "Love, Rosie" was brilliant!

Not only was it heartwarming, romantic and funny, it was dramatic with great moral lessons about friendship, family, honor, trust and responsibility.

I came out of the cinema thinking "Wow, that was really worth my money."

Lily Collins and Sam Clafin were both brilliant leads and they had heaps of chemistry together.

I would recommend this film to anyone as they will love it. Girls, have no fear of your boyfriend complaining about being dragged to a romcom after this one. I think even HE will be rooting for Rosie and Alex to get together.

10/10 stars. Can't wait for the DVD!
57 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love, Nice film
hoangquandn11 February 2018
I watch the whole movie without knowing that's from a really nice novel; therefore, it has a simple storyline but the power it made is really fantastic and in a few moment, I nearly can feel as precisely as the two main characters did, mostly the actress although I'm a guy, haha. After all, we should...ur...no, we must pursue our dreams especially our love with the best effort, the time, once it's gone, will never come back, that's how real life, as well as such film, taught me.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I just LOVED Love, Rosie great chick flick brilliant
zendatrim27 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I loved this just the ticket for those days when you feel really stressed over life and you spend 1hr 40mins, laughing, crying, laughing and crying, and just totally enjoying a wonderful romantic film.

OK yes predictable but who cares. It was a great British movie with good actors, and great scenery, a bit of England, America, sad bits, laughter bits, omg i nearly wet myself at the beginning and the condom it was so funny and sort of sad at the same time. To bring the guy in from the lift at the end was priceless lol.

One of my favorite movies and I will watch it again.

I think people expect way too much of movies just enjoy it for what it is, a bit of escapism. At least it wasn't full of sex and violence.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love, Rosie
gabrielledossantosnh29 April 2016
"Love, Rosie" is a movie about two best friends, Alex and Rosie. They've know each other since they were kids, and Alex always liked Rosie in a different way, but she doesn't know that. they expect to spend all their lives together, but some things get in the way and everything changes, so throughout the movie the best friends keep coming and going, discovering by distance, the fact that they truly love each other. Rosie is played by Lily Colins and Alex by Sam Clafin. The movie was directed by Christian Ditter and produced by Simon Broots and Robert Kulzer. The movie was based on the book "Rosie Dunne" by Cecilia Ahern. "Lovie, Rosie" is a romantic comedy movie. It is a movie for all ages, but especially for the lovers of this gender.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Hate, movie
rooee14 November 2014
Sam Claflin and Lily Collins play Alex and Rosie, whom we watch grow from childhood friends to awkward adults, separated by sea but bound by heart. Bless. No contrivance is left uncontrived to keep them apart. Bad relationships. Babies. Even worse relationships. It's life, Jim, but not as we know it. Fans of the book may be dismayed to learn that the film deviates from the text in the final act – although by then they might actually be glad we're not going the whole hog.

Conspicuously boring, the film lifelessly portrays the lives of two remarkably cute yet determinedly unremarkable people who seem to be making a conscious effort to build a semi-tragic love story while leaving a trail of half-loved partners in their wake. It's all building to an inevitable kiss. Unfortunately, a combination of poor editing, and rapid-onset attention deficit syndrome on my part, meant I went through the movie under the misapprehension that Alex and Rosie had already got jiggy at the start, which may have undermined some of the climactic impact.

The supporting cast is comprised of pantomime villain boyfriends, poisonously bitchy girlfriends, and an infinitely accommodating pro-life Catholic family. Rosie's best friend is one of those handily not-quite-as-pretty mates (Jaime Winstone) who says things bluntly and whose impossibly simple personal philosophy acts solely to highlight the needless complications of Rosie's own life.

This is a ruthlessly formulaic movie in which I lost count of the occasions that Alex or Rosie would come to the conclusion that they love each other, only to discover in the same instant that the other was committed elsewhere. Each dull revelation is followed by empowering montage, propelled by a listless soft rock soundtrack. The early slapstick humour – all baby vomit and lost condoms – is Carry On funny (by which I mean not funny) and gives way to more "grown-up" jokes of the blandly observational variety. Nothing that hasn't been noticed by countless Saturday night stand-ups.

This is unreal life depicted as a series of poetic coincidences, giving the illusion of fate. It's utterly disingenuous. What, perhaps, wistful 14-year-olds might imagine adult relationships are like. The rest of us are thinking: Get over it. Man up or move on. Somewhere there may be an interesting film to made about the way in which bleeding heart romantics skilfully maintain unconsummated tension over time, but this isn't it.

Claflin and Collins are likable leads, and with a decent script and a plausible story they might have showed some chemistry. But it's hard to connect cinematically over text, Skype, and eye-rolling narrative contrivance. I fear that audiences may find it similarly hard to connect with this film.
155 out of 277 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love this movie
sal-j20 February 2019
Very lovely, moving movie. It may not be everyone's cup of tea, but I found it to be a funny, romantic teen/but not teen movie. It dealt with more adult issues rather than your normal teen movie. I think it's definitely worth a watch.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Lowest denominator shoddy tosh
tom-paul-bailey22 February 2015
Warning: Spoilers
The supporting cast is a jumble of ham-heads, over playing vileness just to hammer home the point that the protagonists love is meant to come to fruition. This point alone underscores the absolute naff unbelievable absurdity of this trashy little film. That said - as way of consolation - the main actors pull off their toffy anguished tormented soul routines to at least the low standard Hollywood has set for romantic comedies; they are both watchable. The adaptation was worthy of the book, but that wasn't very hard now, was it?

As the film aged, the actors apparently ceased to. Consequently, it reached a point where I thought the children of the leads would surpass their parents, and the small couple (strangely) reliving verbatim the lives of their parents, would reset the entire film, going round in a perpetual loop of worthless forgettable tripe that should have been discarded in the 90's.

There are red flags signifying a dying art-form plastered all over this film, bogged down in cliché as it is. But if you're in the mood for something vapid, with a climax that will satisfy your sentimental idealism, it may well do just that, satisfy.
21 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A heartfelt, sincere romantic drama comedy film
dax_knsky5 April 2017
This is my first review here so bear with me. As I'm sure most of you know, this movie is based on a novel Where rainbows end by Cecilia Ahern. It is just loosely based on it, because the story differs somewhat. I won't reveal anything else, to avoid spoilers. All I'll say is that it works because it captures the essence of the book. The chemistry between the two main actors is unbelievably good and the supporting cast is good as well. I warmly recommend this film to everybody. How probable the plot, that is up to a viewer to decide. It was for me. If you're a hopeless romantic, you're gonna enjoy this one. If you're a realist, you're probably gonna find certain situations a bit too much and out there. Nonetheless I left the theater with a smile on my face. The movie makes you believe that anything is possible and that one should never give up on hope.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Weak
bmari-2406021 December 2017
How anyone can find this movie romantic is beyond me (this is coming form a female of the intended demographic). It is your typical vapid shallow superficial Hollywood take on love, without having any of the sheen, glamour and high production quality of a Hollywood rom com. Therefore, it falls flat and is very tedious and hard to watch.

Not only is it completely unfunny, disjointed and filled with unnecessary profanity, it is also implausible. Surely the fact that Alex always chose some other girl before Rosie meant that he didn't really like her all that much and therefore could not be so in love with her for so long. I know that is how it works in that little land called reality. Therefore. I could never truly buy into this 'love story' if you can even call it that, although love montage would be more suitable. I also do not care for the actor who played Alex much. He doesn't possess a leading man quality and was not convincing in this role.

Romance must truly be dead in this day in age if this is what people consider to be romantic.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
promising actress lost in dramatic story that doesn't show drama
ingmarbeldman-753-92721226 October 2015
First of all i would not judge this film to strongly, since we're dealing with a sort of coming-of-age drama (although not being a real good excuse, right? producers..?).

When the drama starts of we land in a cliché high school, teenage drama with shy kissing and flat expositions of insecureness etc... The two protagonists are portrayed in their childhood. fair enough. but flat. really flat.

The initial moment of miscommunication between the two protagonists, which is supposed to serve as a foundation for the rest of the drama, is just one single moment of 'both-are-too-shy- to-speak-out-their-love'. It's just one moment, not very dramatic and way too thin to make them be insecure to each other for the rest of their twenties and thirties. From there they loose me...

Important moments, where drama could be cooking and ambivalent moments and intentions - which are the key element for drama - could be exposed, the writer just jumps over those moments and continues the story with only the consequences of that drama... and leaving me dissatisfied. It gives the film very irrational time-leaps. It's like me looking at my girlfriend saying: ...ehh...what just happened? Did i miss something? Contributing to this feeling is the horrible make-up. At some point the story takes a jump of 5 and guess what? Nobody changed. Literally. a few scenes further the make-up must have thought: 'shit, we forgot something!!' and suddenly, out of the blue, Collins has a few gray hairs behind the ears...

Altogether, this makes the flow of the movie slow and unbelievable. It makes the actors being mere puppets then initiators.

With that comes the very dissatisfying acting of Claflin and his love-affairs, as most of the other extra's. Collins stands alone and stands. She is, as far as i can judge, ready for a strong character drama. Promising lady!!
12 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Chappy Watched: Love, Rosie
chappywatched7 May 2016
Warning: Spoilers
So here is 102 minutes of my life I won't get back!

What surprised me most was the unpredictability of the movie… SAID NO ONE EVER!

So as well as being predictable, I found it kind of shitty that these two people, who both know they love each other, enter into these relationships with other people knowing full well that it's not the person they really want or love.

After a while, while taking forever to actually get to inevitable point, the scenarios and events that are keeping these two apart start to become less and less plausible.

Another thing I disliked was that this movie takes place over 12 years and yet they don't age the actors. All they did was change their hairstyles. Now I'm not expecting wrinkles and sagging but at least some laughter lines or something.

Having said all this, the two lead stars, Lily Collins and Sam Claflin, do have chemistry together.

Oh and the soundtrack was pretty good, featuring the likes of Lily Allen and Beyoncé, so at least the movie had that going for it!

Don't waste your time, I wouldn't watch this movie again.
19 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
You won't care that you can see the ending coming
herbiethecar2 November 2014
Warning: Spoilers
A clichéd rom-com. Shocker. For all those reviewers out there saying that this is a bad film because it's predictable, I'd like you to point me to one that's not. Yes, you can see the ending coming from a mile off but that's really not the point, because if you go to see a romantic comedy for a twist ending then you really shouldn't be watching these kinds of films. This was refreshingly English, with two brilliant leads in Collins and Claflin, who had great chemistry on screen and were very much believable as almost lovers. It was a really touching story as well, and it was nice to see a film about two nice people who were incredibly selfless - I saw someone complain about how many times other things got in the way. This was because the other things getting in the way were what the two characters thought was best for the other, they just wanted each other to be happy, no matter what else was going on around them. Yes, the plot was a little bit all over the place and some of the time jumps felt unnecessary, but it was hardly a deal breaker, in some ways complimenting the hectic nature of these star-crossed lovers' lives. A lovely film that really warms you up inside, and well worth the watch if you enjoy rom-coms, although it's unlikely to sway any non-believers in the genre.

And you know what? Clichés exist because they work. And this film very much works.
14 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Very disappointing
marsabgab8 February 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I know, that movie based on the book doesn't need to necessarily cover it step by step...but showing totally different facts and making it sound like a romantic comedy with a very happy end?No... For me the book was both tragic and entertaining at times... But there was nothing "they lived happily ever after"in it.. Rosie and Alex missed so many chances ( as it happens in life) and they finally had courage to be together in their 50's... And yes- that was the very happy moment for me as a reader and I almost jumped when they finally got together...But the movie didn't gave me that jump... I have ready many books and then watched many movies based on them books...and that's why I can honestly state here: Read the book ( I think it's one of the best C.Aherns books) and watch the movie..But don't expect nothing special...
19 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Massive disappointment
kovacsagi889 February 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I've never read the book that it's based on but after seeing this movie I feel even less motivated to read it.

I was actually really looking forward to watch it as I really liked the trailer and I do love Lily Collins. I think she's really talented, beautiful and has great potential as an actress.

About 20 minutes into the movie I got massively bored. The story to me is rather cliché but the worst part is that it doesn't really have any actual content. A 3 minute long music video has more content than this movie. It's also most times just a video montage with goofy, cheesy music in the background. It's really not well written or directed. Just your everyday chick flick. And just like anyone else I do like a good chick flick every now and then but even for that this movie was bad! Does kinda feel like they've messed up the final editing. Honestly it is a waste of time and a really boring movie. I'll never know how it got above 7.
11 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Should be in every girl's to-watch list
sameer_msuk22 August 2015
Dear Girls,

I would like you all to watch this beautiful movie which I have seen.A fantastic cinematography with some eye-warming locations.Some brilliant scenes where it will just touch your heart."I wasn't ready to be Dad anyway" this scene *-*. You won't be disappointed trust me. It's just wonderful.It's just that life doesn't give you second chances unless you're lucky enough but that one shot on true love is really something,it changes lives! This movie opens your heart, gives you the confidence that he/she is waiting just for you.

Love,Sameer!
13 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Perfect example of everything wrong with movies these days.
hthbrr21 March 2015
Warning: Spoilers
OK so we have nepotistic casting? Check. We have actors desperate to be leading ones even though they can never carry a movie? Check. A trailer that reveals the whole movie/predictable/no suspense ending. Check. A unrealistic plot by any stretch of the imagination? Check. The whole movie is dedicated solely to launch there actors careers/not about the actual plot? Check.

Yeah I mean this would have been an acceptable movie to just watch and not expect much out of it. But it was so painful to watch, as per the reasons listed above. The movie was SO irritating!

Lily Collins, people like your face too bad you can't act. Very telling is that she actually auditioned for the role of Bella Swan in Twilight! Meaning giving blank stares and not actually acting. Dare I say I need to give Kristen Stewart some credit next to Lily she can act up a storm.

I kid you not, whole SCENES were her making BLANK stares. And this was supposed to emit 'emotion'? Yeah that just emits that you can't act. Also her hair being in her face, are you kidding me?

The rest of the actors do what they can with what they have. But when the plot makes such little sense, you can't really do much. I mean they went though so much and still they did not get together? What? I mean ONE of the things that happened to them would/should have sent them into each others arms. So why did that not happen? Oh right check the list "unrealistic plot". Also if they got together there would be no movie.

That's another reason this movie is so tedious. It's not over until they get together. Wow talk about waiting for the Jeopardy music to end. So stupid.

Another thing I resented was the sound levels. Their words are whisper quiet. Then there is blasting loud music. Did an intern do the sound mixing?

So sad this formulaic 'career launching' torture got so much funding but better movies don't.
20 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
even if you like chick flicks, don't watch this.
suhelanwar20 September 2015
Warning: Spoilers
the director and writer have tried their level best to try and make the lives of the two poor souls( the 2 lead actors) extremely complicated, what they didn't realize is that they are making the two look really stupid.

The intellectuals behind the movie go way out of there way to make Alex's partners look extremely bad, is it because the his partners are that bad that he realizes that he loves Rosie or he loves Rosie because of Rosie. I am really surprised that this movie has a rating of more than 3 on IMDb.

under-acted by 2 non-actors, if movies are only for looks, you are better off hiring models.

This movie might be worth the watch if you are cooking some food and you want some noise in the background. otherwise, please don't waste your time at all on this.
15 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
The Plot is proper, with unexpected events,, but there's a lack in comedy.
Aktham_Tashtush1 March 2015
good Rom-Com in general, Honestly though, i was always in love with Lily Collins she's a babe .. what a beauty :D ,, The casting was successful.

I didn't really see that much of comedy bits in it but still there was some of those "Aww" moments like it's nice and cute ..etc.

The plot have so much productivity and abundance of ups and downs, there was over 5 to 6 times when you keep expecting that "okay that's when they're finally gonna get together " and boom it's not ,, that gave the movie the element of unpredictability !!

The story is catchy and Thoughtful, but still rating the movie with a 7.4 looks a bit high :P

Again overall the movie is good but the comedy is so missing... it does get high rated in the UK but in the states i don't think so...
8 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed