Five Thirteen (2013) Poster

(2013)

User Reviews

Review this title
12 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
Nice idea, Nice try, but ultimately fails
eve_dolluk17 November 2013
Well I decided to give this a go as it looked interesting and to be fair it was interesting to a point.

The actually story here was quite a good one, the problem was the method in which they used to convey the story. The direction was all over the place as were the performances from the actors, but overall the pacing and the way it was presented was the biggest mess.

You could actually sit there and see where the director had time and money to get shots right and where they had to rush shots which ended up looking very amateur, there were certain shots that looked straight out of a college project whereas others were top notch. Same goes for the acting at times it was good and at times it was bad, every female actress in this film was terrible ( as well as all having terrible lip jobs ) . The lead actor Malik Barnhardt overacted in virtually every scene that it became cringe worthy, Sizemore again was hammy but at least he was entertaining. Bokeem Woodbine was decent and stood out admirably in one scene.

There were also some terrible editing decisions, scenes that should/could have been left out and scenes that needed to be in there for the whole thing to make proper sense and give it a proper feel.

In the end it was a film trying to be too many films in one go.

The film however bad in many parts was actually entertaining overall but my my, what a mess of what could have been a good film.

I hope the writer in the future chooses not to direct his own stuff and instead puts it in the hands of a decent Director and probably more importantly an Editor who can chop out all the crap and keep in all the bits relative to story telling and proper pacing e.t.c.

This would probably make a decent book to be honest !
17 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad acting, corny lines, very unattractive women, whose makeup seemed to be applied by a circus clown.
alshwenbear122 September 2013
Nothing worth to mention, except for the first five minutes. The actors seem to be playing a "lame role", unconvincing and soap opera like, the music is over melodramatic adding to the lack of talent. Not even Tom Sizemore, (whom I had the chance to meet in LA in 2002, on 22nd street and Union Ave, while he filmed Robbery Homicide Division), adds anything to this movie. The scenes of the bank Robbery , taken straight out from "HEAT" and Sizemore fixation on playing a mix if DeNiro and Pacino while being on antidepressants, or maybe trying to remember his lines. The clichés, close-ups, and photography another let down, so far this movie seemed to be financed and acted by a bunch of guys who had too much time in their hands and not a single bright idea! The only one who is up for the job is Steven Bauer, on the other side of the coin I would said that the worse of all is the "actor" Malik Barnhardt, I wish that he has been shot instead of the cop! Seriously, if I were you I would pass on this one, and reinvest my time watching again HEAT, or THE TOWN or THE Italian JOB, heck I would settle down for Disney's Robin Hood for a better time!
30 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not that good
Seth_Rogue_One22 July 2016
Wasn't gonna bother reviewing this movie initially, because it's not really a movie anyone ever even heard about and it's not one really worth hearing about either.

Anyway the reason I decided to do so still is because there are only 8 reviews in total and 4 of these are with a 99% certainty phoney ones made by people who actually made the movie (the fact the only movie they have rated is this and other Kader Ayd directed movies is a clear hint of this) and the fact that they won't admit the obvious flaws.

Anyway regarding the movie it's pretty bland, a positive thing is the visual aspect it looks pretty neat for a low-budget movie with cool colours and well-placed angles but the movie is just far too messy it has like 8 different sub-plots all filled with plot holes.

Acting is, not terrible I guess overall but not very good either.

Worst part is the pace though it's supposed to be a tight thriller but it's just awfully slow at times and that's often where the weakness in the script and dialog shows itself the most.

Malik Barnhardt and Avelawalance Philips have the leads, and Tom Sizemore has a reasonably big role as well.

If you are interesting to watch it for any of the other cast-members don't expect too much of them, Taryn Manning for instance is just in it for a couple minutes in the beginning and the end.

Overall the type of movie you forgot you even watched, 2 months after the fact (maybe shorter we will see).
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Good Movie with Great Twists
tyrick1004 October 2013
I don't know what alshwenbear1 was watching. The movie was a great movie with a lot of twists that i didn't see coming and some that came back full circle at the end. Of course the movie isn't "The Town" The "Italian Job" or "Heat" in which I actually fell asleep on(and very few will admit.) Waaayyy too long but I love Robert Dinero and Al Pacino acting. Five Thirteen was a well shot movie with great close-ups, good photography and clichés, I don't know where you was raised but they were right on point. Oh yea on the other side of the coin Malik Barnhardt did a great job and actually had me hiding a tear at the end. I liked it and even shared it with my family, this movie is definitely worth watching.
20 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I've seen a lot worse
jguz5831 October 2016
Five Thirteen is similar in concept to Crash and Babel in which several people's lives unexpectedly intersect. That may be a weakness to some people, but nevertheless the film held my attention well.

However, this is not the best of films, either. It got a little weak toward the end with how they did the big tie-up, and the Taryn Manning story was the weakest part of it, but there's some solid acting here (some of the cast, anyway) and some surprises along the way too.

I had never heard of Kader Ayd before this and he hasn't directed very many films (none in over 3 years either, so who knows if/when he will) but this is an admirable effort. I will probably watch it again sometime soon.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Great in idea, filming and surprises, but lacks in pace and acting
OJT16 January 2014
A strange bird of a movie. Brilliant in some of the work, really bad in others. Difficult to give a grade, but it ends up somewhere from mediocre to quite bad. It starts up very good, but goes down from there. Still it's in a way not entirely without interest.

The film starts off with a great tension, when a police man stops by a car where a man is sitting besides a lot of empty bear cans. We understand that there's more to it, because then tension is high, helped our with both the dramatized acting as well as the music. Then with the opening credits we get a stunning birds eye look over the big city, with big sentimental music. Loved the opening. When it starts off like this, it's very promising. But then it's like someone lost it completely.

A nice script idea, though it should maybe have been cut 15-20 minutes, to make it more tight. The film is slow paced, both in rhythm and dialog. It's quite bad-ass In a gangster' way. Maybe the film is trying to be too much? Too many stories in one? Strange ways of using retrospective techniques, as you never knows when it's happening. I think writer, editor and director Kader Ayd should have had some qualified help here, with tidying up the script and some of the other, because with good guidance this could have been a great story.

Tom Sizemore and Danny Trejo are both good psychopaths, as well as James Russo is showing their talents, and knows what to do with their roles. Some if the actors are lesser known, and they are struggling big time under the direction. Not enough to ruin all the tension, though in the beginning, because you hope you'll be able to see through it, but half way you realize it's more than enough to ruin the overall impression.

The film takes on a big job, and the ideas are close to what could have been a very effective thriller, but ending up in an awful mess.

Well, to sum it up, it ends all over the scale:

10) Surprises, and end credits song "Never been in love" by David A Stewart (of Eurythmics) and Charlotte Carter Allen. 9) Idea and inspiration. 8) Talented focused filming, and the panoramas. 7) Opening tension and opening credits. 6) The known actors' acting. 5) The music and overall score. 4) Make up, believability and the incoherent storytelling. 3) Script and the casting of the unknown actors, and their acting. 2) Rhythm, pace and ending pathos. 1) instruction, slow dialog and the overall direction.

Overall score: 3, due to the small parts which made me intrigued, in what is really an unfinished and crappy movie.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just HATERS!!
JakyB7411 May 2014
This Movie is DOPE! People who doesn't liked it, are just H.A.T.E.R.S! I loved it so much that I recommended it to my friends and family and guess what? They loved it! This is powerful! You should also find out about the back story behind this film! The filmmakers had to fight so hard to get this done. That's why the movie has something different. I loved the characters (Bokeem Woodbine was perfect/Steven Bauer/Tom Sizemore/James Russo/Danny Trejo/Taryn Manning), the back stories (Tre/Sticky, Mike/Pablo), the opening shots are strong! LA is a character in the movie. The director knows his things. He controls his art! OK, the editing missed something but it's still good! It's coming out in theaters on June 11th! Get ready! Peace out!! 10/10
8 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Interesting low budget movie
hugosantos7123 November 2014
Much better than I expected, its a good story and even though a low budget production, it did impress me with density of the characters and the way the action progresses.

In general I do like the choice of scenery and the way it was filmed. The theme is not something you see all the time and it did interest me. The music selection is also quite good.

It has many good and renowned actors, even though the main ones are not, I still think the acting in general was quite decent although in certain occasions not very convincing.

It's entertaining and does focus on so many different aspects of life, some of the characters are really confused people and do things in a way that makes you think and somehow shocks.

Worth watching.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Open your eyes stop being a Hater
maluckygirl337 October 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Hey alshwenbear1, You've got a problem with movies? Are you frustrated? I saw that you have pleasure to down almost every movies you have seen ... It's like you want to have the last word but not this time. Because seriously this film is Excellent. :-) The story is great.. The women are strong, men are good looking :-) But the best for me was Tre & Mike, they burst from the screen. They are endearing, I had my tear as Tyrick100 ... There two actors (Malik Barnhardt and Avelawance Phillips) we will see them very soon in Europe because in the United States you can't appreciate their play. Here they will be adored :-) So Bad !!! Malik & Avelawance come to Europe... we love you already ;-) Emilie
8 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
I'M EL LOCO
nogodnomasters3 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The film centers around brothers Mike (Avelawance Phillips) and Tre (Malik Barnhardt). The opening scene is a teaser that repeats itself 40 minutes into the film. No sense attempting to figure out what it has to do with the plot. Mike recently gets out of prison and wants to spend time with his daughter. His ex-wife wants nothing to do with him. He gets involved in a fool proof bank robbery.

Meanwhile his brother wants to do his last job. He is transporting money to "El Loco" (Danny Trejo) a bad guy in Mexico. At age 13 "El Loco" killed two grown men with his school pencil for raping his sister. Then he killed her so she wouldn't have to live with the shame. Shades of Keyser Söze. And a 30 minute plot spoiler...they have to bring back a kidney because no one in the US will give one up for the gross amounts of cash they are shelling out to get one from Mexico. Add some more undeveloped plot twists, some killing etc.

A kidney? Seriously? Everyone has two and you can live with one. I can't imagine getting a kidney donor is not that tough. Now if they made it a liver, I could see that. Danny Trejo who doesn't have 513 degrees as the cover suggests is in the film for only a couple of minutes. The 513 is explained at the end of the film, as it appears no one could come up with a decent clever title. What is the shelf life of a kidney in a small igloo cooler in the desert? They do make coolers that plug into the vehicle lighter.

The plot wasn't tight. The drama outweighed the action and wasn't that great. The film wasn't engaging and you really didn't care what happened to the main characters which were all criminals and weasels. Not worth a special effort to watch.

F-bomb. Brief stripper nudity.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Wow So Imaginative
olivia-scande11 October 2013
I totally agree with you Emilie, alshwenbear1 you really have a problem... You might be feminist ??? Maybe you say that because women are very little in the film but their roles are not so sweet for once they don't cry.. and how can you afford that Malik Barnhardt is bad, I find him touching, very involved, his character is Human and Humble so Real.. we can feel he puts his heart... This movie is special, imaginative, I like the way of filming with several stories is very interesting this vision.. I've even seen twice to understand everything.. Tom Sizemore & El Loco are even crazier than usual.. I will be delighted to see on the big screen.. By the way when we can see on the movie theater in my country.. Sincerely Yours. Olivia
8 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very nice movie
dvasiliou-719634 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Is keeping u attention all the time.. I recommended to my friends
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed